Megadeth - Rust In Peace review



Reviewer:
9.5

2591 users:
9.19
Band: Megadeth
Album: Rust In Peace
Release date: September 1990


01. Holy Wars... The Punishment Due
02. Hangar 18
03. Take No Prisoners
04. Five Magics
05. Poison Was The Cure
06. Lucretia
07. Tornado Of Souls
08. Dawn Patrol
09. Rust In Peace... Polaris
10. My Creation [2004 re-released bonus]
11. Rust In Peace...Polaris [demo][2004 re-released bonus]
12. Holy Wars...The Punishment Due [demo][2004 re-released bonus]
13. Take No Prisoners [demo][2004 re-released bonus]


The year is 1990, and the 80's thrash scene will soon fade into the backdrop. There seems to be no hope for this genre beyond but a few bands, but only one of these bands was needed; Megadeth. Since the last album, Dave have ousted Chuck Behler and Jeff Young, and replaced them with Nick Menza and Guitar Giant Marty Friedman. With Political and Societal themes ready to launch, Megadeth was ready to make their fans Rust in Peace.

Every instrument on the album is simply masterful. Why don't we start with the guitar. First thing; solo's. There are many, many worthwhile solos on this album, including all eight of them from the song "Hanger 18," and the two from "Holy Wars." Rhythms, too, are superb. Dave doesn't fail to keep playing the unique style that he's known for, and that is seen on any track from this album. In the way of Leadlines, Marty Friedman adds his own unique, as well as awesome flavor to the dish.

The solo to "Take No Prisoners," the intro to "Five Magics," the Intro to "Lucretia," all of this is incredible bass playing. Ellefson proves beyond all merit on this album that he is one of the best thrash bassists to date. I don't know if it's because he felt the need to pick up the slack from the last album, or if it's because he went into record this album ready to rock, But if you listen to the song "Poison was the Cure" or "Dawn Patrol" (a song which is dominantly bass) or any other song on the album, you'll see that this is the best Job he's ever done with Megadeth.

This album is why I prefer Nick Menza over Gar Samuleson. Everything Nick does just seems so Naturally attuned to the music, and the intro to the song "Rust in Peace" is nothing short of Magnificent.

Lyrically, this album relives the political edge found in "Peace Sells." Anything from religious warfare, to government conspiracy, to the obliteration of mankind with warheads, this album has it all, and it all is done very well. Brother will kill brother spilling blood across the land. Killing for religion, something I don't understand." Those words are classic and long remembered. However socio-political this album may be though, Dave, being the incredible nerd that he is, adds just a touch of science fiction and fantasy, as is seen with "Hanger 18" and "Five Magics."

Undoubtedly one of the saviors of thrash during the early nineties, Megadeth really outdid themselves on this release. It is arguably the best album they've released to date. I urge the thrash fans who don't already own this masterpiece to run to the store and get it, NOW. If you don't, then trust me, you'll regret the loss.

Album Highlights: Holy Wars....The Punishment Due, Hanger 18, Five Magics, Lucretia, Poison was the cure.

Written by Arian Totalis | 17.01.2009


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Gorey
Rating:
10
1990 is a year to be remembered in the history of heavy metal. And it has to be said that the US Megadeth have made a lot for it with the launch of their cataclysmic opus, Rust In Peace. After three albums of good quality the four guys decided to release a (nuclear) bomb that has become a landmark in the metal world.
Dave Mustaine publicly reveals his genius, accompanied by his old mate Dave Ellefson. For this album, Mustaine has hired a new guitarist, Marty Friedman, and a drummer, Nick Menza. The first impression when you hear this album, is its pure, almost uncontrolled strength, that changes every riff into an earthquake.The guitars are omnipresent, they rhythm, without any moment of weakness, the lyrics, resolutely anti military and full of nuclear apocalypse. In this point of view, the excellent ?Holy wars? is a titanic opening. This track can be considered as a symbol of all the rage and determination that the album contains, as it combines heavy repeating riffs and guitar flights. This only track can justify the purchase of this album. Because it's a boost that allows the other tracks to be linked together with a great fluidity.

Read more ››
published 22.09.2003 | Comments (52)


Comments

Comments: 19   Visited by: 202 users
18.01.2009 - 22:09
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
Why is the year 1991? And what's (79)? And the quote from "Holy Wars" is indeed classic.
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
19.01.2009 - 01:31
Powerslavex
Alexskywalker
Call me crazy but this album is overrated IMO:maniac:
Loading...
19.01.2009 - 16:07
Arian Totalis
The Philosopher
Written by K†ulu on 18.01.2009 at 22:09

And what's (79)?

Sorry about that, that's how I measure word count before I submit a review for a paragraph. Unfortunatly, I forgot to take that out before I accepted. I should have paid better attention.....
----
"For the Coward there is no Life
For the hero there is No Death"
-Kakita Toshimoko

"The Philosopher, you know so much about nothing at all." _Chuck Schuldiner.
Loading...
19.01.2009 - 19:20
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
Written by Powerslavex on 19.01.2009 at 01:31

Call me crazy but this album is overrated IMO:maniac:

you are crazy, and besides the word "overrated" is a good-for-nothing term in describing anything.
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
19.01.2009 - 21:36
Powerslavex
Alexskywalker
Written by K†ulu on 19.01.2009 at 19:20

Written by Powerslavex on 19.01.2009 at 01:31

Call me crazy but this album is overrated IMO:maniac:

you are crazy, and besides the word "overrated" is a good-for-nothing term in describing anything.

Thank you
Loading...
19.01.2009 - 21:42
Elio
Red Nightmare
Written by Powerslavex on 19.01.2009 at 21:36

Written by K†ulu on 19.01.2009 at 19:20

Written by Powerslavex on 19.01.2009 at 01:31

Call me crazy but this album is overrated IMO:maniac:

you are crazy, and besides the word "overrated" is a good-for-nothing term in describing anything.

Thank you


well, this is an hell of an album and almost everybody here knows it, the vote is fair and the review good. I lul'd for the 79 story
----
IntoPlighT said: "Slipknot is 15 years old how the fuck is that Nu metal?"

BEST. QUOTE. EVER.
Loading...
19.01.2009 - 21:57
Powerslavex
Alexskywalker
Written by Elio on 19.01.2009 at 21:42

Written by Powerslavex on 19.01.2009 at 21:36

Written by K†ulu on 19.01.2009 at 19:20

Written by Powerslavex on 19.01.2009 at 01:31

Call me crazy but this album is overrated IMO:maniac:

you are crazy, and besides the word "overrated" is a good-for-nothing term in describing anything.

Thank you


well, this is an hell of an album and almost everybody here knows it, the vote is fair and the review good. I lul'd for the 79 story

Well i'm not saying it is not good, but at the same time it's not a 9.5 maybe 8.5, remember this my personal opinion
Loading...
19.01.2009 - 21:58
Elio
Red Nightmare
Written by Powerslavex on 19.01.2009 at 21:57

Written by Elio on 19.01.2009 at 21:42

Written by Powerslavex on 19.01.2009 at 21:36

Written by K†ulu on 19.01.2009 at 19:20

Written by Powerslavex on 19.01.2009 at 01:31

Call me crazy but this album is overrated IMO:maniac:

you are crazy, and besides the word "overrated" is a good-for-nothing term in describing anything.

Thank you


well, this is an hell of an album and almost everybody here knows it, the vote is fair and the review good. I lul'd for the 79 story

Well i'm not saying it is not good, but at the same time it's not a 9.5 maybe 8.5, remember this my personal opinion


Obviously I think reviews can be commented also for the rating!
----
IntoPlighT said: "Slipknot is 15 years old how the fuck is that Nu metal?"

BEST. QUOTE. EVER.
Loading...
19.01.2009 - 23:45
JohnDoe
Account deleted
Nice review, the rating is OK, it's one of thrash' greatest albums, to me, this is Megadeth's best work. Marty friedman is amazing on this album, in fact I can't complain about the performance of any member. Great work!
Loading...
20.01.2009 - 23:22
Arian Totalis
The Philosopher
Written by Guest on 19.01.2009 at 23:45

Nice review, the rating is OK, it's one of thrash' greatest albums, to me, this is Megadeth's best work. Marty friedman is amazing on this album, in fact I can't complain about the performance of any member. Great work!

Thank you
----
"For the Coward there is no Life
For the hero there is No Death"
-Kakita Toshimoko

"The Philosopher, you know so much about nothing at all." _Chuck Schuldiner.
Loading...
21.01.2009 - 19:03
Richard
Great review! Rust in Peace is a classic, I must've listened to it loads of times over the years and it still sounds strong now. I agree with practically everything you said, except that Tornada of Souls is my favourite song on the album.

Good to see you mentioned the bass work, too - the bass is often a rather overlooked instrument, so when it plays a particularly prominent or inventive role on an album, then it's nice to bring attention to it!
----
Loading...
22.01.2009 - 01:38
Arian Totalis
The Philosopher
Written by Richard on 21.01.2009 at 19:03

Great review! Rust in Peace is a classic, I must've listened to it loads of times over the years and it still sounds strong now. I agree with practically everything you said, except that Tornada of Souls is my favourite song on the album.

Good to see you mentioned the bass work, too - the bass is often a rather overlooked instrument, so when it plays a particularly prominent or inventive role on an album, then it's nice to bring attention to it!

Yeah, this is my favorite album by them, and without a doubt it had a huge impact on the Thrash metal community right before it's strength began to fade. I think it deserves no less than the score I gave it. And yeah, I feel that Ellifson is one of metal, or music period's most overlooked bass players. He was the only other consistent member of Megadeth besides Dave and he was with Megadeth for over 20 years.

Thanks for the Kudos man
----
"For the Coward there is no Life
For the hero there is No Death"
-Kakita Toshimoko

"The Philosopher, you know so much about nothing at all." _Chuck Schuldiner.
Loading...
24.09.2009 - 05:41
icedmaiden
This is not only the best megadeth album in my opinion, but also maybe the third greatest album i've ever listened to.
If there is any metalhead out there that doesn't own this entire album, i really don't think you can call yourself a true metal fan
Loading...
08.07.2013 - 02:00
poetry
What the hell is going on..32 people have voted 1...are you sure you have got an ear..or r u sure u listened to that album..and are you sure you know the music..i m sure you don't play any ınstrument..
Loading...
08.07.2013 - 12:53
Daniell
No, you don't
Written by poetry on 08.07.2013 at 02:00

What the hell is going on..32 people have voted 1...are you sure you have got an ear..or r u sure u listened to that album..and are you sure you know the music..i m sure you don't play any ınstrument..


Those people voted 1 because they wanted another album to be over this one on some list.
This is the only reasonable explanation.
----
Now loving:
Katatonia - Takeover
Kreator - World War Now
Ortega - Crows
Ahab - The Light In the Weed
Anaal Nathrakh - Depravity Favours the Bold
Dark Tranquillity - Encircled
Moonsorrow - Ihmisen Aika
Loading...
08.07.2013 - 13:39
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by poetry on 08.07.2013 at 02:00

What the hell is going on..32 people have voted 1...are you sure you have got an ear..or r u sure u listened to that album..and are you sure you know the music..i m sure you don't play any ınstrument..

even though I agree that a 1 is toally uncalled for here, what does playing an instrument yourself have to do with giving a rating to an album?
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
08.07.2013 - 13:40
Ace Frawley
The Spaceman
Written by Daniell on 08.07.2013 at 12:53

Those people voted 1 because they wanted another album to be over this one on some list.
This is the only reasonable explanation.


Yes, I agree. Such people must be lacking in certain areas of their life to want to do such a thing. I pity these fools.
----
The sun shines over The Fool...
Loading...
08.07.2013 - 13:41
Ace Frawley
The Spaceman
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 08.07.2013 at 13:39

even though I agree that a 1 is toally uncalled for here, what does playing an instrument yourself have to do with giving a rating to an album?


hehe, yeah, and does it make a difference if you are a vocalist rather than an instrumentalist?
----
The sun shines over The Fool...
Loading...
08.07.2013 - 14:24
poetry
Written by Ace Frawley on 08.07.2013 at 13:41

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 08.07.2013 at 13:39

even though I agree that a 1 is toally uncalled for here, what does playing an instrument yourself have to do with giving a rating to an album?


hehe, yeah, and does it make a difference if you are a vocalist rather than an instrumentalist?

i wanna say..it's impossible for an instrumentalist to vote 1 for this album..i don't wanna say only instrumentalists can judge true..i mean any instrumentalist and anyone who has got auditorial or musical intelligence doesn't vote 1..if i explain myself wrong..i apologise from real listeners of Metal..
Loading...

Hits total: 14012 | This month: 94