Jorn - The Duke review



Reviewer:
8.5

60 users:
7.73
Band: Jorn
Album: The Duke
Release date: February 2006


01. We Brought The Angels Down
02. Blacksong
03. Stormcrow
04. End Of Time
05. Duke Of Love
06. Burning Chains
07. After The Dying
08. Midnight Madness
09. Are You Ready [Thin Lizzy cover]
10. Starfire [2005 version]


February 2006, two years after the release of his precedent CD, "Out To Every Nation", Jorn Lande, one of the best singer of the Heavy Metal scene, is back with a new solo album "The Duke". Can we really wonder if we will have an album of a really good quality? Well actually, when you know Jorn, it's obvious that it is impossible for him to fail and if you're doubtful anyway just have a look on the new album and you'll probably understand that you're just in front of a real amazing musician.

Maybe that I'm reviewing a new CD, but Jorn Lande always uses the same recipe than on "Out To Every Nation". His music is a good mix of Hard Rock and Heavy Metal. Super melodic, classy, intelligent and above all catchy, the twelve new songs of the album are, one more time, potential hits. "Stormcrow" for example is a really nice piece of melodic Heavy Metal. Fast and heavy with a complex riff this song has the potentiality to become a classic. On the other hand "End Of Time", with its mid-tempo isn't so powerful but full of emotions. This is the archetype of the beautiful song and believe me, "The Duke" is full of this kind of nice beautiful pieces of music.

I cannot review this album if I forget to talk about the others musicians of the "band". I won't talk about all of them but can I forget Jorn Viggo Lofstad of Pagan's Mind? This amazing guitarist (who will be also on the new solo project of Uli Kusch by the way) is really impressive and no doubt that he is, in addition of Jorn Lande of course, one of the main influences on the compositions of the songs. When you see the result, you have a proof one more time that this band is like a dream team.

No doubt, Jorn is still one of my favorite singers and his work on "The Duke" proves that he is still able to release a great album of Hard Rock at its highest level. I don't have a lot to add honestly, it's just beautiful and this is a nice way to wait the new album of Masterplan that will be released in 2007. If you're a fan of his different bands, if you're a fan of the singer or if you're just someone who loves great vocalists don't miss "The Duke", (like all the others releases that feature Jorn actually…), an excellent album.

Written by Jeff | 27.02.2006


 


Comments

Comments: 22   Visited by: 61 users
15.12.2018 - 23:53
Bad English
Masterchief
Saying best singer in metal world, I dont know, maybe in Norway yes, but there are much better ones from USA, Eng and Ger.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
16.12.2018 - 00:12
JoHn DoE
Written by Bad English on 15.12.2018 at 23:53

Saying best singer in metal world, I dont know, maybe in Norway yes, but there are much better ones from USA, Eng and Ger.


The reviewer said "one of the best singers" in the world, which is true, I mean I agree.
Loading...
16.12.2018 - 00:26
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by JoHn DoE on 16.12.2018 at 00:12

Written by Bad English on 15.12.2018 at 23:53

Saying best singer in metal world, I dont know, maybe in Norway yes, but there are much better ones from USA, Eng and Ger.


The reviewer said "one of the best singers" in the world, which is true, I mean I agree.


There are better ones what bands in HM are bigger as Jörn. He would be bigge rin the 80's IMO
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
16.12.2018 - 08:56
JoHn DoE
Written by Bad English on 16.12.2018 at 00:26

Written by JoHn DoE on 16.12.2018 at 00:12

Written by Bad English on 15.12.2018 at 23:53

Saying best singer in metal world, I dont know, maybe in Norway yes, but there are much better ones from USA, Eng and Ger.


The reviewer said "one of the best singers" in the world, which is true, I mean I agree.


There are better ones what bands in HM are bigger as Jörn. He would be bigge rin the 80's IMO


If you can't make the difference between "best singer" and "one of the best singers", then I don't know what to say.
Loading...
16.12.2018 - 10:22
Bad English
Masterchief
He dont fits in one of best. Maybe best of 100, but one of best are, one of 10
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
16.12.2018 - 10:26
JoHn DoE
Written by Bad English on 16.12.2018 at 10:22

He dont fits in one of best. Maybe best of 100, but one of best are, one of 10


Now you made me curious. Please list 10 vocalist you consider better than Jorn. No Ronnie James Dio please. Other than that, go ahead.
Loading...
16.12.2018 - 12:17
Bad English
Masterchief
Bruce, doogie, bon, brian, klaus, rob, iced earth new and other one, not ripper. I cant remember name. Biff byford bolthendal, rock n rolf, rebellion one. Jörn problem is he is involved in to many bands, and he needs powerful co mussisians to make it work. His work whit masterplan and half of songs are bad is his downfall
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
16.12.2018 - 13:07
JoHn DoE
Written by Bad English on 16.12.2018 at 12:17

Bruce, doogie, bon, brian, klaus, rob, iced earth new and other one, not ripper. I cant remember name. Van zant, bolthendal, rock n rolf, rebellion one.


I disagree on some of your choices since you are mentioning vocalists you like more than Jorn. There is a difference though. I'm talking skill especially. For example, my favorite Black Sabbath era is with Ozzy but I do think, as far as skill goes, he is the worst of all vocalists BS ever had. His vocals worked great in the overall sound of that time, that's why I love those albums.

Doogie as in Doogie White? Meh...
Bon Scott? I love him but no... same with Brian Johnson.
Klaus Meine? Ok, I'll give you that.
Rob Halford? Yes.
Iced Earth vocalists? Ok I guess
Van Zant as in Lynyrd Skynyrd? Is there someone else with this name? I wouldn't put a southern rock and a heavy metal vocalist in the same list though.
Grave Digger vocalist? No...
Running Wild vocalist? No...
Rebellion vocalist? (goes and checks him out ) - God, no...
Loading...
16.12.2018 - 13:47
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Doogie White? absolutely not,
Bon Scott nope
Brian Johnsson hahaha hahahaha hahahhahaha he isn't even allowed to tie Jorn's shoelaces. That man is a godawful vocalist
Rob Halford, when he was in his prime, certainly not anymore
Ice Earth, only Matt Barlow, I'd say
Van Zant, like That Guy said totally different sort of music, impossible to compare, might as well say Michael Jackson here
Grave Digger, doesn't come near
Running Wild, totally not
Rebellion, totally not
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
17.12.2018 - 14:36
Bad English
Masterchief
Finally on PC.
White was close to be in IM if not Blaze would be(according to some i net sites)

All those I mentioned, are better because the bands they are plays better music, like I told Jörn has been involved in tons of band and 50% songs are bad.

Matt Barlow is beest IC singer, even I like new one, he is better as owens, and 1th two there. I say Owens are overated and whit him JP was like groove band from southern swamps. Non of his other bands can jump high.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
17.12.2018 - 14:52
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Bad English on 17.12.2018 at 14:36



All those I mentioned, are better because the bands they are plays better music, like I told Jörn has been involved in tons of band and 50% songs are bad.



No, you didn't say that.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
17.12.2018 - 14:56
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.12.2018 at 14:52

Written by Bad English on 17.12.2018 at 14:36



All those I mentioned, are better because the bands they are plays better music, like I told Jörn has been involved in tons of band and 50% songs are bad.



No, you didn't say that.


I posted it, but it can be MS server eror, or mobile date.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
17.12.2018 - 15:30
JoHn DoE
Written by Bad English on 17.12.2018 at 14:56

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.12.2018 at 14:52

Written by Bad English on 17.12.2018 at 14:36



All those I mentioned, are better because the bands they are plays better music, like I told Jörn has been involved in tons of band and 50% songs are bad.



No, you didn't say that.


I posted it, but it can be MS server eror, or mobile date.


no you didn't, you were not even talking about Jorn's overall music, you picked on his vocals (of all people). Just that.
Loading...
17.12.2018 - 15:32
Bad English
Masterchief
I did wrote and push pist bottom from mobil, but we have often data base eror, it can be lost. I hate write from mobile
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
19.12.2018 - 00:49
musclassia
I was wondering why a 12-year-old review was trending, what a fantastic discussion haha

That said, what I've heard of Jorn's solo stuff was pretty underwhelming, but I'm a big fan of his vocals and his work on Masterplan's debut (and a couple of Avantasia songs, but for some of those there's only so much he can do)
Loading...
20.12.2018 - 22:20
Greg L.
I can't tell if Bad English is the best troll ever on MS or if just totally serious with some brain damage.

Nevertheless, thanks for the entertainment over the years <3
Loading...
21.12.2018 - 03:45
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Greg L. on 20.12.2018 at 22:20

I can't tell if Bad English is the best troll ever on MS or if just totally serious with some brain damage.

Nevertheless, thanks for the entertainment over the years <3

I fear it's serious with quite a bit of brain damage.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
24.12.2018 - 18:22
fandango68
Written by musclassia on 19.12.2018 at 00:49

That said, what I've heard of Jorn's solo stuff was pretty underwhelming, but I'm a big fan of his vocals and his work on Masterplan's debut (and a couple of Avantasia songs, but for some of those there's only so much he can do)



For me, his finest album is still Ark: Burn The Sun, and I doubt now that it will ever be bettered. The s/t Ark album, first Beyond Twilight and as you say, first Masterplan CD are also extremely good in term of showcasing his vocals.
----
First gig was Manowar (loincloths 'n' all), Bristol Colston Hall in March 1983, on the 'Hail to England' tour. Tickets were £3.75, 300 in the audience, Mercyful Fate never showed, but my hearing still got seriously trashed..
Loading...
24.12.2018 - 19:48
JoHn DoE
Written by fandango68 on 24.12.2018 at 18:22

Written by musclassia on 19.12.2018 at 00:49

That said, what I've heard of Jorn's solo stuff was pretty underwhelming, but I'm a big fan of his vocals and his work on Masterplan's debut (and a couple of Avantasia songs, but for some of those there's only so much he can do)



For me, his finest album is still Ark: Burn The Sun, and I doubt now that it will ever be bettered. The s/t Ark album, first Beyond Twilight and as you say, first Masterplan CD are also extremely good in term of showcasing his vocals.


Ark - Burn the Sun is one of my favorite progressive metal albums. Just saying.
Loading...
27.12.2018 - 14:50
Mountain King
K i K o
Jorn is one of the very good rock/metal singers and he was able to keep that power and depth to his voice throughout the years which is very impressive and rare for a metal singer.

However, I can name several singers that I think are better:

- Russel Allen (Symphony X)
- Matt Smith (Theocracy)
- Urban Breen (Serious Black, ex. Bloodbound)
- Edu Falaschi (Almah, ex. Angra - before 2004 cause after that year he started losing his voice due to health problems)
- Roy Khan
- Klaus Meine (of course, specially in his prime)
- Rob Halford (Naturally and specially in his prime before 2000)
- Kelly Carpenter (e.g. Latest Adagio album)
- Michael Eriksen (Circus Maximus)
- Ben Sotto (Heavenly - at least in the studio and I saw them live once in 2014 in Toulouse and they were amazing)

Also that guy from Beast In Black is really good for example, I would place him above Jorn.

I could name some more but for me these singers are an example of a better vocalist than Jorn Lande. Of course, some people prefer deeper voices with a rocky edge like Jorn so it's all subjective, but as far as ranges and vocal compositions go, these vocalists have created more interesting vocal passages than Jorn, who borrows a lot from Coverdale and Dio sometimes.
Loading...
28.12.2018 - 14:53
Greg L.
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 21.12.2018 at 03:45

Written by Greg L. on 20.12.2018 at 22:20

I can't tell if Bad English is the best troll ever on MS or if just totally serious with some brain damage.

Nevertheless, thanks for the entertainment over the years <3

I fear it's serious with quite a bit of brain damage.


Rofl... I am dying at work reading this lol.

Thanks guys, I love you all <3
Loading...
29.12.2018 - 17:49
Starvynth
i c deaf people
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 21.12.2018 at 03:45

I fear it's serious with quite a bit of brain damage.

Recently, cerebral capabilities have been challenged once again but I am pretty sure everything's alright now.
You are welcome to prove me wrong, though.
----
signatures = SPAM
Loading...

Hits total: 4075 | This month: 34