Rating:
8.5
Blind Guardian - Imaginations From The Other Side
5 April 1995


01. Imaginations From The Other Side
02. I'm Alive
03. A Past And Future Secret
04. The Script For My Requiem
05. Mordred's Song
06. Born In A Mourning Hall
07. Bright Eyes
08. Another Holy War
09. And The Story Ends

Japanese bonus tracks:
01. The Wizard [Uriah Heep cover]
02. The Script For My Requiem [demo]
03. I'm A Alive [demo]
04. Imaginations From The Other Side [demo]
05. A Past And Future Secret [demo]

2007 re-release bonus tracks:
01. A Past And Future Secret [demo]
02. Imaginations From The Other Side [demo]
03. The Script For My Requiem [demo]
+ Bright Eyes [video]
+ Born In A Morning Hall [video]


What makes a good Power Metal album? Catchy guitar riffs, good symphonic elements, mighty power chords? If your answer to this is YES, then you are gonna have a great time with this album, that's for sure. Legendary Blind Guardian obviously didn't want to risk anything, so they took the stuff mentioned before and polished it to near-perfection. Yep, near-perfection. Personally, I don't like Power Metal too much, but I'll be a good little reviewer, and do this completely objectively.

It seems that this album was made to some sort of a strict structure : go hard on the guitars and drums for a while, put a great guitar solo here-and-there, and then to finish, do a memorable power chord. This goes for almost all songs. Of course, this may seem dull, but believe me, it's really not so. The structure may be the same for most of the songs, but the structure's ingredients are more than different enough to capture and keep your attention for the entire album. And make you enjoy it, of course.

I feel the need to briefly describe every element of the structure. The drumming is decent, nothing spectacular, though. Hansi's vocals are in a form of half-screams except in power chords where he sings clearly, and does it very well, I must say. The power chords themselves are not as repetitive as they can be with some bands and they fit the rest of the music excellently. Now, the guitars. Solos are frequent on this album, and rightly so : they are very melodic and beautiful. Riffs are catchy and some of them are pretty crushing, almost like Thrash. Actually, I'm very pleasantly surprised by the song's speed and harshness. Before this album, the only experience with Power Metal I had was Nightwish, Kamelot and Sonata Arctica. This is way more brutal than any of them.

Unfortunately, all that work they did to perfect the "structure" made this album very.... classic. What I mean is that you won't hear even a hint of something new and innovative (if you don't count greater brutality than usual). This is your most typical Power Metal, only perfected. If it weren't for that brutality, I would give the album 3 for Originality. But, if that's not a problem for you, and you like Power Metal, then by all means go with this album. You won't make a mistake, guarantee.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 6
Production: 9


Band profile: Blind Guardian
Album: Imaginations From The Other Side


 


written by Slayer666 | 16.01.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
ZGoten

Rating:
9.3
This is it, Blind Guardian's best effort and the very definition of Power metal. Imaginations From The Other Side has everything the genre needs: heavy drums, perfect guitar play and both beautifully calm and powerful vocals culminating in choruses that you'll recognize even ages after you last heard them.

If we take a look at the history of the band and their previous releases, we can see that this album is the product of a decade of improving. What Battalions Of Fear had started with speed and Somewhere Far Beyond added with more emotional elements, Imaginations perfected. Well, almost at least. The lyrical themes are not quite inspired enough to reach the perfect score and "I'm Alive" feels just a little weaker than the rest of the album, mostly because it lacks its recognizable sound that all the other seven tracks have without a doubt. However, I'm complaining on the highest level here. The lyrics are still far from the typical European cheerful and cheesy style and there are many people out there who love "I'm Alive," I just don't happen to be one of them.

Read more ››
published 27.12.2010 | Comments (15)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 132  
Search this topic:  


Elio - 19.01.2009 at 21:43  
Woah, anoher good review from this dude. I totally agree with the rating this time.
ioannisk - 09.02.2009 at 21:37  
Originality 6?? anyway fair score all in all. And the story ends is a masterpiece...
Uirapuru - 16.04.2009 at 14:41  
I liked it a lot. Heavy still catchy, songs like ''I'm Alive'', ''Mordred song'' (althought i prefer the acoustic version), ''Bright Eyes'' and ''the story ends'' much like their previous album, and the first one with a decent production.
Ellrohir - 30.08.2009 at 22:39  
Not saying this album is "bad", but i never understood, why it is so favorite...BG has better - at least Nightfall and A Night At The Opera
Slayer666 - 09.09.2009 at 15:13  
Written by Ellrohir on 30.08.2009 at 22:39

Not saying this album is "bad", but i never understood, why it is so favorite...BG has better - at least Nightfall and A Night At The Opera

Eh, beats me really.... I don't even understand why people like Power Metal at all. In the case you're wondering why I reviewed this album, I wanted to see if I could do a decent job reviewing a genre I really, really dislike.
Ellrohir - 09.09.2009 at 16:12  
Hehe...what a coincidence...i am listening to this album right now and asking myself, why i didnt liked it before
Lord_Regnier - 12.09.2009 at 05:12  
"Actually, I'm very pleasantly surprised by the song's speed and harshness. Before this album, the only experience with Power Metal I had was Nightwish, Kamelot and Sonata Arctica. This is way more brutal than any of them."

Of course. It's because this album is an old Powermetal album. At that time, PM music was really Power/Speed metal or, like we called it back then, melodic speed metal. Fast and a bit rough. Quite different from the slow, commercial, soft, cheesy, generic, mainstream, utterly boring crap we get all the time since at least a decade. It was before PM took the downward spiral of mediocrity this genre is unable to get out of.

This is true PM in my book. Most of the stuff people call PM nowadays is not even PM to me, more like standard heavy metal, hard rock, or even pop rock at times. (those who were there in the late 80s and early 90s and still remember how it was back then will know what I mean)

I've been a big PM fan long ago but, like you, I hate PM today. I can't stand this genre anymore. When you compare old PM to modern day PM, you easily realize how PM sucks nowadays.

I always disliked Nightwish, Sonata and Kamelot, by the way.

Imo, this album is the last very good Blind Guardian album.

Judging by the song "Sacred", the next BG album will be horrendous. It's even worse than "A Twist In The Myth", which was already awful.
BlankFile - 26.05.2010 at 21:13  
This album is my favourite of BG and their best album alongside with "Night at the Opera" and "Nightfall on Middle Earth". Its a spectacular album, with fast and powerful songs. One of the most pure Power Metal albuns out there. True.
I love every song in this album, theres not one that i dislike, but off course i have favourites such as "Imaginations From the Other Side", The furious "Im Alive", the beautiful acoustic "A Past and Future Secret", "Script for the Requiem" who has one of the best chorus in a BG song, "Born in a Mourning Hall" another BG hymn and last but not least my favourite song of BG of all: "And the Story Ends". This songs blows my mind totally! Personally i think its the best BG song ever. What else can i say? Pure genius album!
Anriii - 26.05.2011 at 19:36  
6 points in originality? You got to be kidding. Find anything that sounds similar to this and please tell me. As this is my favorite PM album (I compare any new ones to this, to see how far they are from perfection), I would surely like to listen anything that sounds same.

And the writer of the review admits he had heard 3 power metal bands only before (which are all great but not as old as Blind Guardian or this album) and says this sounds simmilar to other power metal? Be serious, that is like saying that Vivaldi is not original cause his music sounds same as Vanessa Mae
Slayer666 - 26.05.2011 at 23:18  
Written by Anriii on 26.05.2011 at 19:36

And the writer of the review admits he had heard 3 power metal bands only before (which are all great but not as old as Blind Guardian or this album) and says this sounds simmilar to other power metal? Be serious, that is like saying that Vivaldi is not original cause his music sounds same as Vanessa Mae


I know, I know, but the problem is I didn't know that back then. >_<
Even now I'm mostly a n00b in Power Metal (because I profoundly dislike it), but back when this review was written, I was almost totally clueless about the genre.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Blind Guardian - Imaginations From The Other Side 13 27.12.2010 by
Albums Blind Guardian - Imaginations From The Other Side 12 30.07.2010 by Got Mayhem?
Reviews Blind Guardian - Tales From The Twilight World 8.5 22.06.2007 by Katatronik
News Blind Guardian - Samples From The New Album 7.5 01.08.2006 by CyGuy6587
Albums Blind Guardian - Tales From The Twilight World [EP] 7.5 09.10.2011 by maras



Hits total: 5229 | This month: 55