Rating:
8.8
Kreator - Hordes Of Chaos
13 January 2009


Disc I
01. Hordes Of Chaos (A Necrologue For The Elite)
02. Warcurse
03. Escalation
04. Amok Run
05. Destroy What Destroys You
06. Radical Resistance
07. Absolute Misanthropy
08. To The Afterborn
09. Corpses Of Liberty
10. Demon Prince
+ Hordes Of Chaos [Video][Ultra Riot edition]
+ Destroy What Destroys You [Video][Ultra Riot edition]

Disc II [limited edition bonus DVD]
+ The making of 'Hordes of Chaos'
+ Awakening Of The Gods [Live at Summer Breeze Open Air 2006]
+ Coma Of Souls [Live at Summer Breeze Open Air 2006]
+ Hordes Of Chaos [video]


Disc II [Ultra Riot edition bonus CD]
01. Hordes of Chaos [demo]
02. Radical Resistance [demo]
03. To the Afterborn [demo]
04. World Without Religion [demo version of 'Escalation' - different arrangement]
05. Amok Run [demo]
06. Alle gegen Alle [demo][Slime cover featuring Nagel and Thees Ulmann]
07. You are the Government [demo][Bad Religion cover]
+ Poster
+ Ultra - Photobook
+ Sticker
+ Postcard
+ 5 € discount code t-shirt


The more I listen to Kreator, the more I like this band and despite what some people can say, I really believe that they're among the best Metal bands (probably better than some famous US Thrash bands…). Their last release "Enemy Of God" was for me one of the best, if not the best, releases of the year 2005 and even if the band didn't do any break during four years, with a legion of live performances, re-edition, DVD etc I think that a lot of people were awaiting this new release. After all, nothing is better than a good old Thrashy release of the German masters especially if it's good and if you cannot be disappointed…. "Hordes Of Chaos" is just an excellent album and proves one more time that Kreator is a real hit machine!

"Hordes Of Chaos", the new Kreator is definitely darker than "Enemy Of God" and probably less easy of access. On a side even if the release features pure hits like "To The Afterborn" or "Hordes Of Chaos (A Necrologue For The Elite)", the whole album is dark and didn't give me the same feelings than "Enemy Of God". It's not really easy to explain it but if the previous release gave violent and revolutionary feelings, this one is more naughty and angry. When you'll listen to "Hordes Of Chaos", you'll become "evil", we don't laugh with this release (especially when you read the good lyrics). But "Hordes Of Chaos" is melodic nonetheless and for sure, this CD follow the road of the two last previous albums. If you don't like the new Kreator, I don't think that you'll like this release especially if you don't like melodic Thrash, but don't worry too, the amazing devastating riffs are still there and the guitars soli are better than ever. No really, the melodies of "Hordes Of Chaos" are great and all the songs of the album are pure blasts!

The production of the new release is really good one more time but probably a lot more direct and loud than on "Enemy Of God". As I know the band wanted something dynamic as possible and they recorded the album in live conditions which gives something a lot more powerful and direct of course. Though it doesn't mean that the sound is bad, at the opposite this is clean as hell but with a naughty angry side which is really pleasant and gives a lot of energy to the record. Despite the fact that the album is short (38 mins) and only features nine songs ("Corpses Of Liberty" is more like an introduction than a real song…), "Hordes Of Chaos" is a great release with fantastic performances by the musicians.

Maybe that "Enemy Of God" was a bit easier of access and featured more "hits" (like "Enemy Of God" or "Impossible Brutality" for example) but "Hordes Of Chaos" remains a great album of violent and aggressive German Thrash. If Kreator can still releases such kind of great albums after so many years, I don't really see what or who will stop them one day… If you like Kreator, "Hordes Of Chaos" is a must and the living proof that Mille and his mates, in addition to be great guys, are also fantastic musicians and compositors. It's good to begin the new year with this release, 2009 should be the year of Kreator one more time!

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Kreator
Album: Hordes Of Chaos


 


written by Jeff | 13.01.2009



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 69  
Users visited: 516  
Search this topic:  


Deadmeat - 26.08.2009 at 20:48  
Written by NiederHaven on 20.08.2009 at 14:55

It's a copy of Enemy of God... Generally...

really????? then tell us why...
NiederHaven - 31.08.2009 at 12:47  
In my humble opinion, I think that the sonority is practically the same... There are a few diferences, but notice, Kreator in all their years of work, they continued the same in terms of music (originality)... And this album don't escapes to the normal tipe of music they produce... If you compare all of their albums, they are a little similar... Not in genre, but in originality....
Deadmeat - 31.08.2009 at 13:36  
Written by NiederHaven on 31.08.2009 at 12:47

In my humble opinion, I think that the sonority is practically the same... There are a few diferences, but notice, Kreator in all their years of work, they continued the same in terms of music (originality)... And this album don't escapes to the normal tipe of music they produce... If you compare all of their albums, they are a little similar... Not in genre, but in originality....

you could say that EoG is a bit similar with VR because the production is almost the same. but musicaly it is not. in HoC i the band tries some new thinks but keeps the succesful formula of the last albums (stay in thrash, many melodies etc). don't forget that in Hordes Of Chaos the bands uses more melodies than ever. much more than EoG. but HoC is a much more angry album. how do they manage it if musically they are the same?
Hermann Langke - 10.10.2009 at 18:36  
Written by Deadmeat on 26.08.2009 at 20:48

Written by NiederHaven on 20.08.2009 at 14:55

It's a copy of Enemy of God... Generally...

really????? then tell us why...

it is just rubbish.
Lord_Regnier - 10.10.2009 at 23:27  
Written by Morphis on 24.04.2009 at 18:48

There are not many bands that started in the 80's with great albuns passed the 90's with good ones and live in the new millenium kicking asses like hell.


Sorry but I strongly disagree. Kreator didn't "passed the 90s with good ones".
This band was awful in the 90s. Nothing they released between "Coma Of Souls" and "Violent Revolution" worths listening to. Especially "Renewal" (one of the most stinking piece of shit I heard in metal).
Septic Skitzo - 06.01.2010 at 13:54  
This album is fucking awesome. I feel that kreator have borrowed heavily from their last two albums though. The first time i listened to it there were bits in nearly every song which made me think ive heard this before. That doesnt really take anything away from the album though. Its fast, its heavy, its melodic and its fun. Just try to be abit more original next time.
Deadmeat - 03.02.2010 at 17:56  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 10.10.2009 at 23:27

Written by Morphis on 24.04.2009 at 18:48

There are not many bands that started in the 80's with great albuns passed the 90's with good ones and live in the new millenium kicking asses like hell.


Sorry but I strongly disagree. Kreator didn't "passed the 90s with good ones".
This band was awful in the 90s. Nothing they released between "Coma Of Souls" and "Violent Revolution" worths listening to. Especially "Renewal" (one of the most stinking piece of shit I heard in metal).

no man you are wrong. kreator are not thrash in that era but the surely worth a listen. outcast is an album with many gothic etc influences and it is very good. surely they are better in thrash but these 4 albums being different doesnt mean they are awfull. there are many people that love kreator only because of this era. and this means something. i dont agree but probably they'll have a reason..
Lord_Regnier - 07.02.2010 at 14:14  
Written by Deadmeat on 03.02.2010 at 17:56

no man you are wrong. kreator are not thrash in that era but the surely worth a listen. outcast is an album with many gothic etc influences and it is very good. surely they are better in thrash but these 4 albums being different doesnt mean they are awfull. there are many people that love kreator only because of this era. and this means something. i dont agree but probably they'll have a reason..


Thrash or not, Kreator still sucked balls during the 90s from my point of view and I will not loose my time listening to the garbage they released back then.
Deadmeat - 07.02.2010 at 14:21  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 07.02.2010 at 14:14

Written by Deadmeat on 03.02.2010 at 17:56

no man you are wrong. kreator are not thrash in that era but the surely worth a listen. outcast is an album with many gothic etc influences and it is very good. surely they are better in thrash but these 4 albums being different doesnt mean they are awfull. there are many people that love kreator only because of this era. and this means something. i dont agree but probably they'll have a reason..


Thrash or not, Kreator still sucked balls during the 90s from my point of view and I will not loose my time listening to the garbage they released back then.

i'd say you'd better go listen to outcast and then say it's garbage. it is a very good album. you cannot deny for example that phobia is a nice song. it's a classic.
Zombie - 31.07.2010 at 02:56  
Anyone got guitar tabs for that album (or at least some of its tracks) ?
Angelic Storm - 31.07.2010 at 04:34  
I was very disappointed when I first heard this album. I think its definitely the weakest of their 3 "thrash comeback" albums. The track "Hordes Of Chaos" itself while decent enough, isnt a patch on the previous album's awesome title track. "Amok Run" is a good song with a great intro, but it just falls a bit short of greatness. The album's overall weakness is shown up best by the final track "Demon Prince", which is the absolute highlight of the album for me. This is the only track which truly conjures up some of the devestating thrash magic of their earlier releases. Definitely a latter day Kreator track to savour. xD The problem with the album isnt the melody, as "Enemy Of God" also had plenty of that, but used it to much better effect. The songs just overall lack any real venom, or memorable hooks. Hopefully the next album will be better.
RavenKing - 31.07.2010 at 04:41  
I think the greatest flaw of this album is vocals. They ruin a lot.
But even with better vocals, this album would not touch the heels of Kreator's 80s stuff.
Angelic Storm - 31.07.2010 at 14:34  
Written by RavenKing on 31.07.2010 at 04:41

I think the greatest flaw of this album is vocals. They ruin a lot.


Mille's vocals aren't as great as they were in the 80's. His screams are more like gargling these days, compared to the vicious rasp of the first 5 albums. But they're really not bad enough to ruin the album for me. Though if Mille's 80's voice was on "Demon Prince" that would have made the song even more awesome than it is. xD
Zombie - 31.07.2010 at 15:52  
Vocals, that's the only flaw i see in the album ... (and since i dont give much attention to vocals in general, i think this is a good album ) ..

Escalation and Warcurse are good tracks btw,
Angelic Storm - 31.07.2010 at 18:01  
Written by Zombie on 31.07.2010 at 15:52

Vocals, that's the only flaw i see in the album ... (and since i dont give much attention to vocals in general, i think this is a good album ) ..

Escalation and Warcurse are good tracks btw,


Well, vocals have to be really bad before it could really make me view the music in a negative way. Mille's vocals arent as strong as they were in the 80's, but they're far from terrible. lol

Both of those tracks are decent, "Warcurse" especially has a great opening riff. The tracks between "Amok Run" and the last track are forgettable though. And "Demon Prince" is the only track on it Id consider as being great. xD
RavenKing - 31.07.2010 at 18:07  
Written by Angelic Storm on 31.07.2010 at 18:01

Well, vocals have to be really bad before it could really make me view the music in a negative way. Mille's vocals arent as strong as they were in the 80's, but they're far from terrible. lol


In my opinion, vocals are awful on "Hordes Of Chaos".
Also, for me music is the combination of all its parts (including vocals) and the feeling it produces. If vocals don't work for me, it can't be enjoyable.
XAV_METALOGIST - 25.09.2011 at 18:48  
Written by RavenKing on 31.07.2010 at 04:41

I think the greatest flaw of this album is vocals. They ruin a lot.
But even with better vocals, this album would not touch the heels of Kreator's 80s stuff.

i agree for the vocals .. but violent revolution is far better than kreator 80's stuff
Deadmeat - 25.09.2011 at 19:01  
Written by XAV_METALOGIST on 25.09.2011 at 18:48

Written by RavenKing on 31.07.2010 at 04:41

I think the greatest flaw of this album is vocals. They ruin a lot.
But even with better vocals, this album would not touch the heels of Kreator's 80s stuff.

i agree for the vocals .. but violent revolution is far better than kreator 80's stuff

not better than extreme aggression though...
Angelic Storm - 25.09.2011 at 20:22  
The only 80's Kreator album "Violent Revolution" is better than, is "Endless Pain"... it's probably equal with "Extreme Aggression", but is definitely not as great as "Pleasure To Kill", or "Terrible Certainty"! It is a mostly great album though. xD

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Kreator - Hordes Of Chaos 6 22.01.2011 by Vivi'
News Kreator - Hordes Of Chaos North America Tour Dates 6 06.10.2008 by Murder
Articles Kreator + Celtic Frost: European Tour, Paris, 20.03.07 5 28.04.2007 by Bad English
Reviews Nocturno Culto - The Misanthrope The Existence Of… Solitude And Chaos 4.5 09.06.2007 by Richard
Events USA, Louisville, KY - Kreator: Hordes Of Chaos N. America Tour 4.5 06.10.2008 by THRASHTILDEATH



Hits total: 9648 | This month: 73