Rating:
8.5
Slipknot - All Hope Is Gone
21 August 2008


01. .execute.
02. Gematria (The Killing Name)
03. Sulfur
04. Psychosocial
05. Dead Memories
06. Vendetta
07. Butcher's Hook
08. Gehenna
09. This Cold Black
10. Wherein Lies Continue
11. Snuff
12. All Hope Is Gone
13. Child Of Burning Time [bonus]
14. Vermillion Pt. 2 [Bloodstone Mix] [bonus]
15. 'Til We Die [bonus]


After Slipknot's first two albums blew us away with their high level of sheer violence, their third album "The Subliminal Verses" had evolved to a much more melodic and mature sound, but still keeping much of that brutality that Slipknot is (was) praised for. It's safe to say that their fourth release "All Hope Is Gone" continues that path. It's still Slipknot, yet it's very,very different to the work that first made them famous.

Indeed, many elements stay the same: guitars still sound blunt and strange, just like Slipknot we all know and love. Drumming is still the one of the best I've ever heard, thanks to mister Joey that is maybe the best drummer that I know off. Corey is back too, with his usual mixture of brutal shouting vocals and an amazing singing voice that is something simply brilliant. Everyone else is here as well, all nine of them. The DJ Sid who spins his disks to make the needed special effects, Chris and Shawn for an extra drumming edge, the good old crew.

It's hard to conclude what is so different about this album from the text so far. While many things stay the same, Slipknot's music is no longer something that makes you want to go out and beat someone senseless (with the exception of a couple tracks). Indeed, now it's much more mature and somewhat more mainstream.

There are a few tracks I really have to mention separately, like "Psychosocial" that has an incredible mix of brutal riffs and Corey's beautiful singing. "Dead Memories" is the slowest non-ballad song on the album, it's pretty catchy, Corey's singing is simply great and it even has power chords (???). And, lastly, who can forget "Germantia (The Killing Name)" and "All Hope Is Gone" that sound just like that Slipknot's early works?

I know that this description was somewhat vague, but believe me that it's really not easy to explain what kind of music this is. "All Hope Is Gone" is a strange mixture of a little bit of everything that someone will love completely, yet others will hate with the same intensity. If you never liked Slipknot, there is a good chance that this one will make you like them, and if you are a fan of their early work, well, you have as much chance liking it as hating it.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Slipknot
Album: All Hope Is Gone


 


written by Slayer666 | 06.02.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 75  
Users visited: 275  
Search this topic:  


Angelic Storm - 16.12.2011 at 19:38  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 15.12.2011 at 15:47
Because people are moronic sheep who let the internet dictate their opinions.


I don't think the internet actually has anything to do with it. The internet merely shines a spotlight on the phenomena. It's more moronic sheep who let peers and "true metal" attitudes dictate their opinions. Slipknot are seen as a "poser" band, therefore many metalheads mindlessly bash them just to appear "cool" and not a poser.

I myself was into metal for years before Slipknot came on the scene, and I like them, so to me it's nonsense the way some to regard them simply as a "gateway" band, that will lead onto liking "real metal" later on.
!J.O.O.E.! - 16.12.2011 at 19:42  
Written by Angelic Storm on 16.12.2011 at 19:38


I don't think the internet actually has anything to do with it. The internet merely shines a spotlight on the phenomena. It's more moronic sheep who let peers and "true metal" attitudes dictate their opinions. Slipknot are seen as a "poser" band, therefore many metalheads mindlessly bash them just to appear "cool" and not a poser.

I myself was into metal for years before Slipknot came on the scene, and I like them, so to me it's nonsense the way some to regard them simply as a "gateway" band, that will lead onto liking "real metal" later on.

I think the internet has a big effect in propagating that kind of attitude though, there's nowhere you can find such a concentrated force of negativity about aspects of metal. Metallers that tend not to spend their time on forums such as this one are often a lot more accepting of such bands. Like it or not the internet plays a huge part of shaping personalities and opinions (especially generations that have grown up with it, something you or I cannot identify with).
Angelic Storm - 16.12.2011 at 19:54  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 16.12.2011 at 19:42
I think internet has a big effect in propagating that kind of attitude though, there's nowhere you can find such a concentrated force of negativity about aspects of metal. Metallers than tend not to spend their on forums such as this one are often a lot more accepting of such bands. Like it or not the internet plays a huge part of shaping personalities and opinions (especially generations that have grown up with it, something you or I cannot identify with).


I definitely won't deny that the internet magnifies the phenemona, but it's really just an extension of the "kill posers" attitude that came to prominence in the 80''s. The internet acts merely as a vessel for such attitudes to spread more widely between likeminded people, on a far larger scale than was previously possible. In effect, propagating it, as you said.

And yep, I agree that the net plays a huge part in shaping personalities and opinions of today. But in the end, it really boils down to the same problem as before the net's existence. Allowing peers to shape your personality and views, for fear of being "outcast" or seen as different. It's the inherent need that so many have to "fit in", that is the core problem. The internet just makes it worse, because there is a mass peer prescence on the internet, compared with probably just a handful, or less, that people would encounter in their lives if they had no net access.
Troy Killjoy - 16.12.2011 at 20:16  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 16.12.2011 at 19:42
I think the internet has a big effect in propagating that kind of attitude though, there's nowhere you can find such a concentrated force of negativity about aspects of metal.

Definitely. Only not just aspects of metal, but aspects of... life.

I used to let the interne dictate my tastes. If it had a good average score on MA I'd pretend to listen to it and say I enjoyed it even though I never bothered to check it out; if it had a low rating on a site like RYM I'd say it's the worst thing ever (also without hearing it).

Then a year went by and I decided that I'd listen to what I want because I like it and if other people have a problem with it, that's fine. Could you imagine if I listened to everything Marcel told me to and ignored everything he told me to ignore? I wouldn't be nearly as happy with what I've managed to uncover in the world of metal.

That being said, the internet makes it incredibly difficult for some people to rise above the majority and voice their own opinion with confidence.
Mr. Doctor - 16.12.2011 at 20:25  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.12.2011 at 20:16
Could you imagine if I listened to everything Marcel told me to and ignored everything he told me to ignore? I wouldn't be nearly as happy with what I've managed to uncover in the world of metal.


*Insert mr.doctor-is-a-marcel-clone-joke here*
Troy Killjoy - 16.12.2011 at 20:26  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 16.12.2011 at 20:25
*Insert mr.doctor-is-a-marcel-clone-joke here*

You listen to Bring Me the Horizon.
Mr. Doctor - 16.12.2011 at 20:29  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.12.2011 at 20:26

Written by Mr. Doctor on 16.12.2011 at 20:25
*Insert mr.doctor-is-a-marcel-clone-joke here*

You listen to Bring Me the Horizon.


Also Lifelover, Alcest, Summoning, Peste Noire and Devil Doll. All bands that he finds awful Some people still believe the rumor though...
Angelic Storm - 16.12.2011 at 20:35  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.12.2011 at 20:16
That being said, the internet makes it incredibly difficult for some people to rise above the majority and voice their own opinion with confidence.


Again, I think the internet merely highlights, and makes worse an issue that existed long before the days of the internet. It's easier to side with the majority, and to go along with the group think mentality, therefore this is what many people do. Even if deep down inside, they know their actual opinion is different to the one they're outwordly expressing. It's just the need to fit in, that so many seem to have.
Troy Killjoy - 16.12.2011 at 20:38  
Written by Angelic Storm on 16.12.2011 at 20:35
It's just the need to fit in, that so many seem to have.

Exactly. This review actually does a good job at stepping outside the trve circle and voicing an opinion that clearly opposed the majority here.

That being said, the lot of us shit on it for saying it contained sheer violence.
Angelic Storm - 16.12.2011 at 20:47  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.12.2011 at 20:38
Exactly. This review actually does a good job at stepping outside the trve circle and voicing an opinion that clearly opposed the majority here.

That being said, the lot of us shit on it for saying it contained sheer violence.


I think it says that lot that as soon as I read the review, I pretty much knew the tone that most of the comments were going to take. Seeing as the reviewer is young (and even younger at the time he made the review), whether he knew what to expect as far as the negative nature of many of the comments, I don't know.

But what I think was more telling was the answer he gave to what he thinks of Slipknot now. The predictable answer would have been to rubbish his own review, and blame his age on why he viewed the album the way he did. Especially now knowing how vilified Slipknot are within sections of the metal community. So reading his views on it now a couple of years on was very refreshing.
Troy Killjoy - 16.12.2011 at 20:49  
Written by Angelic Storm on 16.12.2011 at 20:47
So reading his views on it now a couple of years on was very refreshing.

That's exactly what prompted my question in the first place. I wanted to see if he managed to avoid being corrupt by the rest of us.
Angelic Storm - 16.12.2011 at 21:00  
Quote:
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.12.2011 at 20:49
So reading his views on it now a couple of years on was very refreshing.

That's exactly what prompted my question in the first place. I wanted to see if he managed to avoid being corrupt by the rest of us.


Ahhh....

It definitely wouldn't have surprised me at all had he decided to blast the album now, in fact the answer he gave was way more surprising, which I think says an awful lot. It actually reminded me a lot of my own attitude towards the bands I grew up with, particularly the "gateway" bands. I don't think my tastes in metal ever really changed, they merely expanded, as I liked more bands and sub-genres as I explored metal further. But the bands I loved when I first discovered metal, I still love, and I'm waaay older than Slayer666.
!J.O.O.E.! - 16.12.2011 at 21:10  
I firmly believe that the internet is not merely reflecting what already is (while not wrong that's a huge oversimplification) but an integral force in creating new kinds of personality. The internet is an entirely new social construct which has brought about new social identities amongst people that didn't exist before it. It's completely logical to surmise that the kind of bodiless interaction that occurs over the internet is more or less unprecented in human history, and completely different to physical interaction. It's no secret that many people spend more time online than off and their personalities are shaped accordingly. Psychologically speaking its totally different than just mirroring past attitudes. It's not just a need to fit in that's being manipulated, it's also the reprogramming of yourself in being convinced that something is fact (like Slipknot is shit).
Void Eater - 16.12.2011 at 21:11  
It is true. Slipknot are musical geniuses whose music has the power and passion to part the seas and flood the earth, and who are only disliked by those damn TRVE KVLT ELITISTS, who definitely exist in huge numbers and have massive influence on the musical tastes of others, who only listen to bedroom black metal demos limited to 666 demos on black viyl and 333 coppies on red goat blood vinyl signed by the artist, Nekrocunt666. I pray for the day that the world opens their eyes and places Slipknot on par with the classical composers in the days of yore, for they will end up being the musical voice of the millenium; an international treasure.
Troy Killjoy - 16.12.2011 at 21:34  
Written by Void Eater on 16.12.2011 at 21:11
It is true. Slipknot are musical geniuses whose music has the power and passion to part the seas and flood the earth, and who are only disliked by those damn TRVE KVLT ELITISTS, who definitely exist in huge numbers and have massive influence on the musical tastes of others, who only listen to bedroom black metal demos limited to 666 demos on black viyl and 333 coppies on red goat blood vinyl signed by the artist, Nekrocunt666. I pray for the day that the world opens their eyes and places Slipknot on par with the classical composers in the days of yore, for they will end up being the musical voice of the millenium; an international treasure.

The site will implode from sarcasm overload in 3...2...
Angelic Storm - 16.12.2011 at 21:44  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 16.12.2011 at 21:10

I firmly believe that the internet is not merely reflecting what already is (while not wrong that's a huge oversimplification) but an integral force in creating new kinds of personality. The internet is an entirely new social construct which has brought about new social identities amongst people that didn't exist before it. It's completely logical to surmise that the kind of bodiless interaction that occurs over the internet is more or less unprecented in human history, and completely different to physical interaction. It's no secret that many people spend more time online than off and their personalities are shaped accordingly. Psychologically speaking its totally different than just mirroring past attitudes. It's not just a need to fit in that's being manipulated, it's also the reprogramming of yourself in being convinced yourself that something is fact (like Slipknot is shit).


What new kinds of personality do you think the internet is creating? To me, the internet shines a beacon and spotlight on the most unsavoury, and extreme aspects of humanity. It's easier to coccoon yourself from that offline, whilst it's extremely difficult to do online. I think anonymity of the internet is a major reason for this, as many people behave and act in ways that they may think twice about, or even not do at all, when not online. But the reprogramming and manipulating of mindsets is hardly unique to the modern computer age. The internet merely makes those things much easier to do, and almost as a matter of course in some quarters.

@Void Eater: Grow up...
Troy Killjoy - 16.12.2011 at 21:48  
Written by Angelic Storm on 16.12.2011 at 21:44
...

You guys should take that question to a new topic. I think it would make for a good serious discussion, but not in a Slipknot review thread.
!J.O.O.E.! - 16.12.2011 at 21:49  
Written by Angelic Storm on 16.12.2011 at 21:44

What new kinds of personality do you think the internet is creating? To me, the internet shines a beacon and spotlight on the most unsavoury, and extreme aspects of humanity. It's easier to coccoon yourself from that offline, whilst it's extremely difficult to do online. I think anonymity of the internet is a major reason for this, as many people behave and act in ways that they may think twice about, or even not do, when not online. But the reprogramming and manipulating of mindsets is hardly unique to the modern computer age. The internet merely makes those things much easier to do, and almost as a matter of course in some quarters.

Personalities that allow of a total abandonement of the physical self. Where one's online identity is a polar opposite of the real self. Do you think 99% of internet arseholes are anything like that in real life? You get people who troll and insult over the internet that in real life wouldn't dream of treating someone that way. I can think of nothing else in history which gives a person that kind of skewed, personal reality. For that reason alone internet personas should be regarded as something new.
Angelic Storm - 16.12.2011 at 21:50  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.12.2011 at 21:48

Written by Angelic Storm on 16.12.2011 at 21:44
...

You guys should take that question to a new topic. I think it would make for a good serious discussion, but not in a Slipknot review thread.


That's a fair point. I would be happy to continue this discussion in a more appropriate thread, but it probably has gone a bit too far off-topic for this thread.
Slayer666 - 17.12.2011 at 11:24  
Written by Angelic Storm on 16.12.2011 at 20:47

The predictable answer would have been to rubbish his own review


Actually, looking back at it now, it does deserve to be rubished. It's quite poorly written and not very informative. The album deserves a better review, fo' sho'.
Angelic Storm - 17.12.2011 at 11:49  
Written by Slayer666 on 17.12.2011 at 11:24
Actually, looking back at it now, it does deserve to be rubished. It's quite poorly written and not very informative. The album deserves a better review, fo' sho'.


I think you're being a bit harsh on yourself there. And considering you were probably just 14 or 15 at the time the review was written, I''ve seen far worse writing in reviews from people much older. Sure, you can get better, but I think you have the makings of a good reviewer.

Anyway, I wasn't really meaning you rubbishing your writing and grammatical content of the review, rather your opinion of the band and album. The fact you still feel more or less the same way about them now, is what I found refreshing.
BoxCar Willy - 26.06.2012 at 17:44  
Written by Void Eater on 16.12.2011 at 21:11

who only listen to bedroom black metal demos limited to 666 demos on black viyl and 333 coppies on red goat blood vinyl signed by the artist, Nekrocunt666.


You love my demos.
Void Eater - 27.06.2012 at 00:12  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 26.06.2012 at 17:44

Written by Void Eater on 16.12.2011 at 21:11

who only listen to bedroom black metal demos limited to 666 demos on black viyl and 333 coppies on red goat blood vinyl signed by the artist, Nekrocunt666.


You love my demos.

You have potential, young one.
BoxCar Willy - 27.06.2012 at 00:36  
Written by Void Eater on 27.06.2012 at 00:12

Written by BoxCar Willy on 26.06.2012 at 17:44

Written by Void Eater on 16.12.2011 at 21:11

who only listen to bedroom black metal demos limited to 666 demos on black viyl and 333 coppies on red goat blood vinyl signed by the artist, Nekrocunt666.


You love my demos.

You have potential, young one.

Oh, I guess you missed it, When I quoted you, I changed my User to Nekrocunt666.
deadone - 13.01.2014 at 06:53  
Very good album. Never heard it until now save for the All Hope Is Gone song which was on a Terrorizer sampler many moons ago.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Slipknot - All Hope Is Gone 7.5 19.06.2010 by Jay-WalKeR
Events CAN, Toronto, ON - Slipknot: All Hope Is Gone World Tour 2009 6 14.03.2009 by Doc Godin
Events ESP, Madrid - Slipknot: All Hope Is Gone World Tour 6 14.10.2010 by Vikcen
Reviews Krypteria - All Beauty Must Die 4.5 13.11.2011 by Milena
Reviews Dolorian - When All The Laughter Has Gone 4 20.08.2006 by Passenger



Hits total: 6935 | This month: 1