Rating:
8.2
Agrypnie - Exit
8 August 2008


01. Mauern
02. Die Last der Erinnerung
03. Zivilisation
04. 0545
05. Fenster zum Hof
06. Wohin
07. Während du schläfst
08. Schwarz
09. R40.2
10. In den Weiten
11. Exit


Agrypnie is a relatively young band, coming from the German Black metal scene, with ties with their country mates Nocte Obducta. Now I'm not that familiar with those now-defunct proggy Black metallers, but it appears to me they had somewhat of a cult-following going on. And from what I've heard from both bands it seems fair to say that if you like one, you'll like the other.

But now, on to Agrypnie. Their style of Black metal isn't exactly progressive, but it's still far removed from "Dark Funeral aesthetics". Don't expect non-stop high-speed blast beats. Instead, this album is filled with balanced, well-written songs, ranging from three minutes to a whopping eleven. Predictability is surely not one of the keywords here.

Torsten's vocals are quite expressive; he has that rough-but-understandable, harsh yet sad tone in his voice. Unfortunately his vocal style is marked by very short, abrupt shouts whereas lengthier, longer screams would have fitted better. He does that as well though, reminding me a little of one of Germany's best Black metal bands ever, Nagelfar. Riffwise there are is also plenty to enjoy. "Exit" has a fresh touch to it, that feeling that a few surprises are ready to jump out of the corner. That's mainly due to the riffs, which carefully crawl their way through fast and slow tempi, tremolos and parts of the chugged, meatier kind. There's also a legion of guitar driven atmospheric interludes on the album, which adds to the variety of an already diverse and interesting album.

To summarize: Agrypnie is good. For the German (Pagan) Black metal fan this is a killer album. If heroic screams, dark yet energetic riffs and a bit of epicness/drama are your keywords for success, surely give this a spin.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Agrypnie
Album: Exit


 



Written on 14.02.2009 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 5  
Users visited: 53  
Search this topic:  


lord artan - 30.06.2010 at 11:23  
Thank about this review and i love this German band
God Buster 鬼 - 23.09.2014 at 09:29  
Read your review but I think they're exactly Progressive Metal and there is no Black at all. Their music label even called them Avantgarde Black Metal...too far-fetched. The cover actually showed very clear signal ...pure progressive stuff, no Black.
Windrider - 21.10.2014 at 21:23  
Written by God Buster 鬼 on 23.09.2014 at 09:29

Read your review but I think they're exactly Progressive Metal and there is no Black at all. Their music label even called them Avantgarde Black Metal...too far-fetched. The cover actually showed very clear signal ...pure progressive stuff, no Black.

I think the proper term is post black metal, german style to be precisely for the french scene (Alcest, Les Discrets ...) has some very different approach on that.
And this german post bm is in my view indeed a mix of bm (old school but mostly attitude) and post-metal elements, which themselves feature progressive, atmospheric, avantgarde or industrial sounds. Lyrics are a whole new world ranging from hate and anger to despair. It's a nice melting pot and I really dig it, just like I like my "real bm".
So yes, there are progressive elements of course, but they are just a part of this whole post-stuff.
God Buster 鬼 - 23.10.2014 at 10:56  
Written by Windrider on 21.10.2014 at 21:23

Written by God Buster 鬼 on 23.09.2014 at 09:29

Read your review but I think they're exactly Progressive Metal and there is no Black at all. Their music label even called them Avantgarde Black Metal...too far-fetched. The cover actually showed very clear signal ...pure progressive stuff, no Black.

I think the proper term is post black metal, german style to be precisely for the french scene (Alcest, Les Discrets ...) has some very different approach on that.
And this german post bm is in my view indeed a mix of bm (old school but mostly attitude) and post-metal elements, which themselves feature progressive, atmospheric, avantgarde or industrial sounds. Lyrics are a whole new world ranging from hate and anger to despair. It's a nice melting pot and I really dig it, just like I like my "real bm".
So yes, there are progressive elements of course, but they are just a part of this whole post-stuff.

Are you saying that Opeth's Black Waterpark is Post Death Metal ?
Windrider - 23.10.2014 at 11:12  
Written by God Buster 鬼 on 23.10.2014 at 10:56

Are you saying that Opeth's Black Waterpark is Post Death Metal ?

Umm... Wut? Read carefully.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Agrypnie - Exit 4.5 23.09.2014 by God Buster 鬼
Albums Agrypnie - 16[485] 3.5 30.06.2010 by lord artan
Reviews Drudkh - Songs Of Grief & Solitude 3 18.09.2009 by Ellrohir
Reviews Church Of Misery - Houses Of The Unholy 3 15.12.2009 by Ag Fox
Reviews Various Artists - Metal Message V 3 10.06.2009 by Marcel Hubregtse



Hits total: 3408 | This month: 67