Manowar - The Triumph Of Steel review



Reviewer:
8.4

381 users:
8.11
Band: Manowar
Album: The Triumph Of Steel
Release date: 1992


01. Achilles, Agony And Ecstasy In Eight Parts
    1 - Hector Storms The Wall
    2 - The Death Of Patroclus
    3 - Funeral March
    4 - Armor Of The Gods
    5 - Hector's Final Hour
    6 - Death Hector's Reward
    7 - The Desecration Of Hector's Body
    8 - The Glory Of Achilles
02. Metal Warriors
03. Ride The Dragon
04. Spirit Horse Of The Cherokee
05. Burning
06. The Power Of Thy Sword
07. The Demon's Whip
08. Master Of The Wind


In many ways, "Triumph Of Steel" is the closest thing to a consistent Manowar album. Everybody but the staunchest of fans will agree that the average Manowar album sports more than a couple killer tracks but is just the same riddled by fillers and silliness. However, on "Triumph Of Steel" Manowar manage to package every aspect of the latter category into the opening "Achilles, Agony and Ecstasy in Eight Parts", allowing the listener to comfortably ignore it and enjoy the remaining seven tracks. This is actually quite a pity since the album's would-be center point does have some really catchy and punchy heavy metal to it and certainly some of the best lyrics bassist and chief songwriter Joey DeMaio has ever penned down. But the grating bass solo and the even worse drum solo alone (not that those are the songs only faults) suffice to tip the scales in favour of the skip button.

The rest of the album showcases the band in top form. The heavy power/thrash tinged days have been over for quite some time and Manowar does what Manowar have been doing best lately, which is mighty, charmingly overblown, epic heavy metal with just enough accessibility to let anyone enjoy the experience. The songs are generally rather long and often have a bit narration, but that is just part of the band's strange charisma. Plenty of heavy metal pride is offered by the concert favourite "Metal Warriors" while "Master Of The Wind" is one of Manowar's better ballads. "Spirit Horse Of The Cherokee" and "Burning" are two crunchy, mid paced numbers and singer Eric Adams gets to have some fun with the speed metal of "Ride The Dragon" and "Power Of Thy Sword". So there you have it, folks. Nothing wrong with buying this album if you are indeed into heavy metal. If not, get out and leave the hall!

Written by DayFly | 17.03.2009


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 9   Visited by: 87 users
18.03.2009 - 02:10
quirin
As a dedicated Manowar fan, I believe that beyond what you call silliness lies a deep concept of purity of essence and integrity.

However, I understand your point : they should take it easy on the fantasy crap, so they would gain some more credibility. Still, such is the metaphor through which Manowar teaches the way a metlhead should lead his life. I doubdt it was ever meant to be taken by the letter, for I clearly saw a deeper meaning behind the childish facade.

One more thing : I'm trying to identify those fillers you were telling about. And from the beginning of their career until Triumph Of Steel, I really couldn't find any. Other bands play, MANOWAR KILLS!
Loading...
18.03.2009 - 02:28
DayFly
Written by quirin on 18.03.2009 at 02:10

As a dedicated Manowar fan, I believe that beyond what you call silliness lies a deep concept of purity of essence and integrity.

However, I understand your point : they should take it easy on the fantasy crap, so they would gain some more credibility. Still, such is the metaphor through which Manowar teaches the way a metlhead should lead his life. I doubdt it was ever meant to be taken by the letter, for I clearly saw a deeper meaning behind the childish facade.

One more thing : I'm trying to identify those fillers you were telling about. And from the beginning of their career until Triumph Of Steel, I really couldn't find any. Other bands play, MANOWAR KILLS!


I originally intended to write a long-winded answer, but I think I can also capture the essence of Manowar's silliness with two words: Pleasure Slave.
Loading...
18.03.2009 - 03:10
quirin
Written by DayFly on 18.03.2009 at 02:28


I originally intended to write a long-winded answer, but I think I can also capture the essence of Manowar's silliness with two words: Pleasure Slave.


Hehe, you summarised precisely my ex-girlfriend's opinion on the band.
Loading...
28.09.2009 - 09:14
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
What has Pleasure Slave from previous album in common with this release

great songs here are Achilles, Master Of The Wind, Power Of Thy Sword (one of Manowar's best)
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
29.09.2009 - 06:40
GamlaSonn
Written by Ellrohir on 28.09.2009 at 09:14

What has Pleasure Slave from previous album in common with this release

great songs here are Achilles, Master Of The Wind, Power Of Thy Sword (one of Manowar's best)


I know what you mean, I'm just getting into Manowar and I instantly heard Power of thy Sword was a classic
Loading...
30.05.2010 - 12:00
Valentin B
Iconoclast
Written by quirin on 18.03.2009 at 03:10

Written by DayFly on 18.03.2009 at 02:28


I originally intended to write a long-winded answer, but I think I can also capture the essence of Manowar's silliness with two words: Pleasure Slave.


Hehe, you summarised precisely my ex-girlfriend's opinion on the band.

no wonder you broke up with her, she was a wimp and a poser!
----
Sing me a song, you're a singer
Do me a wrong, you're a bringer of evil.
Loading...
30.05.2010 - 16:22
Lord_Regnier
The only listenable Manowar album, imo.
Heavier, faster and less over-the-top cheesy.
Far from great (it's still Manowar, after all- a shit band from my point of view) but at least this album doesn't totally suck like the others.
And Rhino on drums makes a big difference, compared to Scott "what's a drum fill?" Colombus.
----
"Why would we fear death, when life is so much more frightening?"
Loading...
01.08.2011 - 01:50
Void Eater
Crunkcore Fan
For some reason this seems to be looked upon by a fair amount of people who dislike Manowar as their only decent album, and by fans as an underrated gem. I find it to be one of their more dull releases. Ride the Dragon sounds like a weaker Wheels of Fire, The Demons Whip just plods for far to long, the narraration goes on for far to long, Metal Warriors is just boring, ect. Power of Thy Sword's main riff sounds quite similar to that of Riding the Dragon, and the chorus is quite similar to that of Black Wind Fire and Steel. Not a bad album, but not some sort of hidden gem.
----
Loading...
01.08.2011 - 07:35
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Void Eater on 01.08.2011 at 01:50

For some reason this seems to be looked upon by a fair amount of people who dislike Manowar as their only decent album,



Mmm. For most people like me their decent albums are their first three but certainly NOT Triumph Of Steel
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...

Hits total: 6093 | This month: 25