Last Warning - Throughout Time review


4 users:
Band: Last Warning
Album: Throughout Time
Release date: January 2009

01. Madness
02. Secret
03. It Slowly Dries My Tears
04. Bloody Dream
05. Throughout Time
06. For A Lifetime
07. Only Silence
08. Higher
09. In The Flood
10. Cry Out

After releasing their last album in the year 2000 Last Warning, who started out in 1987, took more than eight years before finally releasing their third album in January 2009. If this long gap is justified is another question though.

Instead of needlessly beating about the bush I'll give you my opinion at the very beginning this time. When concentrating only on the instruments this could have been a fantastic album, however the vocals completely ruin it for me. So you can get an idea, the singer sounds a bit similar to Timo Kotipelto of Stratovarius but a lot less good and with an Italian accent.

"Throughout Time" is a very melodic oldschoolish progressive metal album with a few touches of power metal, something between Queensryche, Dream Theater and the aforementioned Stratovarius. Although the musicianship is very solid and professional, the music isn't really original nowadays. In my eyes this could also have sounded a lot better with a cleaner production; unfortunately it's another thing that sounds a bit outdated on this album.

The album cover is nice, all of the songs have at least some good approaches in the songwriting, all of the instrumentalists are really good and even the singer, whose voice I really don't like, really knows how to sing from a technical point of view. However on the other side this CD really just didn't click for me. There are almost no memorable refrains or choruses on the whole album (an exception being the one on the ballad "It Slowly Dries My Tears") and the whole disc just seems a bit uninspired to me. And in addition to that there's the vocalist whose voice really annoys me. When I try to listen only to the instruments it usually works for a short time and I think "Hey, actually this is a pretty good CD!" but then the really penetrating vocals pierce through the instrumental wall again and forces me to change my mind.

Even now when I finished writing the review I'm having a hard time deciding how to rate this album, but in the end, even though there are some instrumental parts that are really awesome, for me "Throughout Time" just lacks the certain spark that can make an album special to us.

Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 6
Production: 6

Written by Bas | 16.02.2009


Hits total: 3447 | This month: 7