Suffocation - Effigy Of The Forgotten review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
10

281 users:
8.66
Band: Suffocation
Album: Effigy Of The Forgotten
Release date: 1991


01. Liege Of Inveracity
02. Effigy Of The Forgotten
03. Infecting The Crypts
04. Seeds Of The Suffering
05. Habitual Infamy
06. Reincremation
07. Mass Obliteration
08. Involuntary Slaughter
09. Jesus Wept


Fine elaborated and well produced Death Metal, weird looking but very intelligent musicians, usual sometimes even funny Death Metal lyrics (there's something in "Habitual infamy" that makes me laugh I don't know why), blasphemous and ultra fast music, all this gather in one album named "Effigy Of The Forgotten".

This album is totally brilliant, every song has at least one catchy riff in the middle, for example "Liege Of Inveracity" in the minute 2:51, "Effigy Of The Forgotten" in 2:53, "Infecting The Crypts" 0:43, "Seeds Of The Suffering" 3:09, "Habitual Infamy" 2:00, "Reincremation" 1:40, well you get the idea right? Also every single intro in this album is just prodigious and phenomenal a genuine prelude for how the song will sound eventually.

I really can't say which song is the best one, every song in this album is extraordinary, for instance "Infecting The Crypts" maybe the preeminent song here, can be matched quite properly to every other song in "Effigy…" you can obtain anything from this album The experimental song "Infecting The Crypts"(this is maybe the first time I ever hear a bass line competing brutally with the drums) the ultra fast brutal song "Mass Obliteration", the technical, complex and catchy one "Jesus Wept" (please hear the chorus and leads in this one, breathtaking), etc.

Something I can say with certainty, if you don't have this album buy it, believe me you won't regret it, in my opinion the best Suffocation album (It's a shame that Barohn is no longer the bassist he was truly a master musician and a great composer), and one of the best albums in Death Metal for sure. This one deserves a straight 10.

Written by Herzebeth | 17.08.2004


 


Comments

Comments: 21   Visited by: 163 users
23.05.2006 - 21:30
Ridden Disease
Account deleted
I woudent give it a 9.9...
9.5 will do it lol...
Great Brutal any ways, One of my Fav in the genre
Loading...
25.05.2006 - 06:59
Dangerboner
:D
I'd give it a 10.

It's their best album by far, but I think the vocals are tremendously overlooked. They are known for their great instruments, but I think the vocals on this album are great.
Loading...
05.06.2006 - 07:13
Xtreme Jax
Psycroptipath
One of the best Technical Death metal albums out there. The music and the vocals are brutal and faultless. I'd give it close to a 10
----

Hellcunt Smurf
Loading...
17.07.2006 - 15:42
lordz
IzZo
One of the best brutal death metal albums out their
I would give it a 10 tooo but this is my opinion as a death metal freak
Loading...
22.07.2006 - 10:32
Megadeth88
I'd give it a 9.1. The album kicks serious ass but it doesn't come close to "Pierced From Within".
Loading...
26.07.2007 - 03:48
theflyingmachine
This is a definite classic. But, I actually prefer the remastered version of Human Waste to this. The vocals and production on that album are superior IMO. But, of course, Human Waste doesn't have four of the songs which helped this album become a classic.
Loading...
24.07.2008 - 19:48
Visioneerie
Urban Monster
This must be the best brutal death album out there, i haven't yet heard anything that beats it. Straight 10 no doubts, a masterpiece of the genre.
----
Any man can stand adversity, but to test his character give him power - A. Lincoln
Loading...
09.09.2008 - 01:06
Yuma Murata
Account deleted
I agree about the vocals, Frank Mullen is often overshadowed by other legendary DM vocalists such as John Tardy, David Vincent, Max Cavalera etc. They're great too but Mullen deserved to be added to that list! Probably my favourite example of 'cookie monster' style growling.
Loading...
13.10.2008 - 14:19
BurbotsRevenge
Foetal Butchery
definately one of the best death metal albums ever made just so brutal all the way through!! not a single bad song...
Loading...
20.10.2008 - 16:30
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
This is a godd album. I believe I would love this if the vocals were like the next albums. To me this is a very weak point... To only to be honest.
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
05.03.2009 - 01:21
Gabo
Account deleted
Best suffocation album and a classic of brutal death. The best songs must be infecting the crypts, jesus wept, liege of inveracity and habitual infamy. I put it a 9!:banger:
Loading...
16.03.2009 - 10:07
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Classic Death... not my favorite genre, but this album is great... ''Habitual Infamy'' best track by far.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
23.04.2009 - 00:58
Eddgore
I would definitely give it a 10...:banger:
Loading...
18.03.2010 - 09:56
RELIC
A well-deserved 9 is in order.
Loading...
26.08.2011 - 21:38
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
I think this album kinda wrecked death metal for me in a way. After this nothing else seemed to sound good enough.
Loading...
26.08.2011 - 22:40
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Guest on 26.08.2011 at 21:38

I think this album kinda wrecked death metal for me in a way. After this nothing else seemed to sound good enough.


Those albums are quite a mess... You love them and hate them at the same time because of how awesome they are.
I haven't listened to it yet. I own Pierced From Within though and I adora that album. So I can agree, Suffocation kind of kills the rest of the brutal death competition.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
26.08.2011 - 22:44
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.08.2011 at 22:40


Those albums are quite a mess... You love them and hate them at the same time because of how awesome they are.
I haven't listened to it yet. I own Pierced From Within though and I adora that album. So I can agree, Suffocation kind of kills the rest of the brutal death competition.

Even Pierced From Within I wish sounded more like this, this has a great bassy production and drums sound really prominent whereas Frank Mullen's vocals are kept back slightly, almost on a leash as if the band weren't sure the world could take vocals that nasty!
Loading...
26.08.2011 - 23:26
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Guest on 26.08.2011 at 22:44

Even Pierced From Within I wish sounded more like this, this has a great bassy production and drums sound really prominent whereas Frank Mullen's vocals are kept back slightly, almost on a leash as if the band weren't sure the world could take vocals that nasty!


Sometimes that's for the best, it gives the albums a little more personality when they are not so similar to each other.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
27.08.2011 - 21:11
Mikyz
Written by Guest on 26.08.2011 at 21:38

I think this album kinda wrecked death metal for me in a way. After this nothing else seemed to sound good enough.


Agreed. This blows away all the Brutal Death Metal that followed or preceded it, not even Cryptopsy comes close.
----
Laugh and the world laughs with you. Weep and you weep alone.
Loading...
14.01.2012 - 15:30
algirdongas
Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.08.2011 at 22:40

Written by Guest on 26.08.2011 at 21:38

I think this album kinda wrecked death metal for me in a way. After this nothing else seemed to sound good enough.


Those albums are quite a mess... You love them and hate them at the same time because of how awesome they are.
I haven't listened to it yet. I own Pierced From Within though and I adora that album. So I can agree, Suffocation kind of kills the rest of the brutal death competition.

Well Cryptopsy's None So Vile kinda comes close to this imo.
Loading...
14.01.2012 - 15:41
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by algirdongas on 14.01.2012 at 15:30
Well Cryptopsy's None So Vile kinda comes close to this imo.


Well, not to me anyways I never really cared for Cryptopsy, I was kind of bored with most of the albums that were considered "classic" and ended up quite digging the latest one which I still makes me laugh how SO many people got butthurt about it
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...

Hits total: 9617 | This month: 32