Suffocation - Pierced From Within review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
10

309 users:
8.70
Band: Suffocation
Album: Pierced From Within
Release date: 1995


01. Pierced From Within
02. Thrones Of Blood
03. Depths Of Depravity
04. Suspended In Tribulation
05. Torn Into Enthrallment
06. The Invoking
07. Synthetically Revived
08. Brood Of Hatred
09. Breeding The Spawn


"Memories of my future Welcome to my church" Pierced From Within, after their Full-Length debut album "Effigy Of The Forgotten" and "Breeding The Spawn" Suffocation released a Masterpiece, a godly Album named "Pierced From Within". Enough of ass kissing, this album indeed is great but let's stop for a minute and lets analyze why's that.

For the music matter: "Pierced From Within" is better than the previous albums, the production makes the sound a lot more "Clean", the instruments can be appreciated one by one and simultaneously as a whole piece. The leads and solos are more complex and longer; the drumming has less regular beats and more difficult ones, the bass lines where in charge of Chris Richards (there's nothing godly in his execution, not bad at all but I still prefer Barohn in that instrument). And finally the music per se is multifaceted and talented.

For the lyrical content and vocals: Even when some lyrics have the usual Death Metal content they can be better planned and structured, and in this album the lyrics reflect that in a lot of ways, every single song has a particular theme but all the songs are in a way linked with each other. As For The vocal matter, Frank Mullen worked hard for this one; his vocals are more comprehensible and furious at the same time.

For the artwork: in this album all of the drawings where in charge of Hiro Takahashi, the cover is a great allusion of the album title, it shows a dead forest and one hanged person with pikes pierced all over his body. Serious but cool stuff.

So what more can you ask for in an album, "Pierced…" is really a must have album so if you don't own a copy what are you waiting for man go right now and buy one. This is in fact not an ordinary piece that deserves all the attention it can have.

Written by Herzebeth | 17.08.2004


 


Comments

Comments: 12   Visited by: 177 users
29.08.2006 - 16:58
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
Suffocation's best, a truly groundbreaking Death Metal album.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
30.08.2006 - 00:33
Dangerboner
:D
My second favorite Suffocation album, behind Effigy. Great review.

\m/ WELCOME TO MY CHURCH \m/
Loading...
25.07.2007 - 22:45
Sunioj
Masterpiece...listening to Suffocation is like entering another world...
Loading...
26.07.2007 - 03:43
theflyingmachine
Not to jump on the bandwagon, but this is my favorite death metal album right now. It sucks that it was one of the first death metal albums I got because it makes the others pale in comparison.
Loading...
26.07.2007 - 21:24
Infurnace
This is a classic! Absolutely great. One of the best Death Metal releases ever.
Loading...
06.10.2008 - 08:21
Shadowcross
The Summoner
this album is so good!
like the review too.
Loading...
18.01.2009 - 15:44
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
Maybe my favorite album ever! The songs have great riffs, the production is perfect, the lyrics are great, the vocals are also super! In that album there is no mistake. There are songs with 10 riffs or songs without chorus. And this is the coolest about that album. It's difficult to understand it but when you do that you'll love it forever!!!

"Mankind was created to be violent and sick"!!!
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
18.03.2009 - 07:31
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Absolutly the best from Suffocation. Amazing riffs, vocals, drums, very close to a masterpiece..
The two previous albuns were boring as hell to me (''Effigy kinda disappointed me, aftar all the wonderful things that everyone told me about Suffocation), its from this to on that i could really enjoy Suffocation with their best.
I never cared much for lyrical content, so it doesn't matter, the thing that blow me away with this work were the amazing solos.. damn, they are just perfect!
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
08.11.2009 - 16:36
Megadeth88
Pierced From Within.....

All I can say is that it's fucking AMAZING!

Every time I hear one of the solos it sends chills down my spine. There's not many death metal albums I can say about that.

THRONES OF BLOOD!!!!:banger2:
Loading...
16.08.2010 - 11:48
thehamburglar
One of the best deathmetal albums ever
Loading...
16.08.2010 - 11:49
thehamburglar
Written by Sunioj on 25.07.2007 at 22:45

Masterpiece...listening to Suffocation is like entering another world...

about time a metalstorm loser that i can agree with you are awesome and so right about this album
Loading...
07.02.2013 - 20:58
bblitz
Truly amazing piece of work.Death metal heaven I must say.Brutal heavy riffs
with amazing solos and pounding drumming and of course with heavy vocals.
With the cherry on top album cover is evil as hell!!
Loading...

Hits total: 7076 | This month: 25