Rating:
8.0
Napalm Death - Time Waits For No Slave
23 January 2009


01. Strong Arm
02. Diktat
03. Work To Rule
04. On The Brink Of Extinction
05. Time Waits For No Slave
06. Life And Limb
07. Downbeat Clique
08. Fallacy Dominion
09. Passive Tense
10. Larceny Of The Heart
11. Procrastination
12. Feeling Redundant
13. A No Sided Argument
14. Ad Nauseum


I've been listening to Napalm Death since I was like 7…yes bitch I had a very happy childhood thank you very much!...So anyway, I remember the day when my cousin arrived from Europe; he had so many souvenirs for all of us (and he got me cookies, the prick!). But inside his backpack I found an LP with images so sickening that I thought I was unveiling the twisted mind of a serial killer or something…I played the album, and I immediately soaked my pants (with regular water, not pee, sometimes I'm weird like that)…the record was Napalm Death's "Utopia Banished".

Turns out last week I unwrapped my "Time Waits For No Slave" CD, and while I didn't wet my pants with water or pee this time, I realized how freaking good this band truly is…after so many years they still sound insane! And damn it, thank you guys for not including an annoying Goth chick in this album (I mean come on, why the hell did we hear that rebellious maid from The Gathering in the violent album "Smear Campaign"? that's beyond my understanding)

Anyway let's get to the point, "Time Waits For No Slave" is a freaking riff-fest, is 50 minutes of catchy riffs, brutal drumming and rabid screaming. This album is for sure one of their best efforts since the amazing "Utopia Banished" came out in 1992 (No, I didn't like "The Code Is Red" that much, and "Smear Campaign" was a failed attempt from Mark Greenway to get into Anneke's pants)

This album sounds like an angry teenager looking for marihuana after watching his hippie mother doing it doggie style with someone who isn't his father…in a porn movie…with some friends…Yes, the lyrical content is way political and biased as usual, but the music, and the way everything fits in the final product, makes me think of a bunch of kids in their mid 20's playing music they truly like…on drugs…and with a hooker dancing in front of them…a hot hooker…with a bunch of other hot hookers dancing around her naked…

In my opinion "Time Waits For No Slave" is an outstanding effort in the Grindcore scene, it's fast and it's furious and it's surprisingly catchy. To sum things up, I loved this CD, and believe me, you want to spend your money in this…besides, what else would you buy with 12 bucks…a hot dancing hooker?...yeah sure, with a penis maybe.


Band profile: Napalm Death
Album: Time Waits For No Slave


 


written by Herzebeth | 25.02.2009



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 18  
Users visited: 310  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 25.02.2009 at 20:20  
I actually liked the little lines that Anneke did for Smear Campaign. But the album itself wasn't that strong. But it grown on my after a while.

But anyway... The point is that this album really sounds better than the previous one.
And I agree... Is truly amazing how this guys can make such albums after being around so many years.

Awesome review... The hooker thing at the end... jajajajaaj
Abattoir - 25.02.2009 at 20:28  
Haha, awesome review Now I will definitely check this album, as soon as possible.
Dani5050 - 25.02.2009 at 22:51  
Great review, and yes I agreed this album is the best thing ND has put out in a while. Keep the great review coming !!!!1
LeChron James - 26.02.2009 at 04:06  
You did have an awesome childhood. i only got van halen growing up LOL.

good review too.
dancingdecember - 26.02.2009 at 06:51  
Definirtley worth checking out then since i heard nothing but good things about this album.how i regret missing the concert month ago :/

BTW awesome review dude.you really like your ho ho ho's
Murder - 26.02.2009 at 07:49  
I got this album a week ago and I've listened it 2 or 3 times this week... I really enjoy it, it's so fucking brutal, the Napalm Death sound is strong and fast like ever, and well... the lyrics ... political stuff like ever xD, this album is exactly what I was expecting


a good album IMO... and nice review too xD
Daggon - 26.02.2009 at 09:23  
OMG, If the album is as good as the review, I must start listening to Napalm Death right now!!! If the hot hooker thing is true then the album is fucking insane and great as the review. Shit, this made me laugh a lot, like 30 minutes or more hahahaha. I'll check this as soon as possible. Thanks for this very entertaining moment Herzebeth. See you on saturday.
taha_69 - 26.02.2009 at 16:22  
Good review for a good album.

Catchy, as most ND stuff is,

Improvement from Smear,

Still has the crazy artwork which I am becoming more and more interested in.

Killer live when I saw them promoting this cd.
Elio - 26.02.2009 at 17:00  
Now this is a good killer album, we needed this. Not exceptional but good to listen when you're pissed.
Talvi - 26.02.2009 at 17:46  
Why did you soak your pants?
Herzebeth - 26.02.2009 at 19:00  
I was a little kid and all....I was weird back then you know?
ThunderAxe1989 - 14.03.2009 at 01:21  
Haven't heard the album yet, but thanks, this gives me something to do this evening
Napalm Death was actually the very first real metal band I'd ever heard.
HardSide - 22.04.2009 at 17:27  
I always had Napalm Death marked as overhyped crap, I've heard better grindcore before, but this album totally changes my view about them. This album is excellent, fast, brutal, catchy, best Napalm Death album in my opinion.
Uirapuru - 17.05.2010 at 06:35  
As always a great review and a big laugh at the last sentence

I share Herzebeth's opinion about Smear Campaign and The Code Is Red, for sure not impressive works. But this one, despite the similarities, stand out as better...

The catchiness is not exaggerated (except for ''Life And Limb'' ) and we can enjoy the brutality without hassle.
vezzy - 31.05.2010 at 20:11  
I loved this album. Some of the best stuff they've put out in a while.
BoxCar Willy - 14.10.2010 at 22:21  
I downloaded a few songs just to see what they sound like. i thought they sounded.... like SHIT of the three songs i downloaded only one was sub-par... it pissed me off very much.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.10.2010 at 22:26  
I remember this one sounding pretty similar to the previous two, perhaps not quite as good. Or maybe just because I'd heard it before, but still good stuff. Modern Napalm is the perfect fighting music.
Maxx666 - 05.12.2010 at 09:10  
Written by LeChron James on 26.02.2009 at 04:06

You did have an awesome childhood. i only got van halen growing up LOL.

good review too.


Yeah i had morbid angel "Altars of Madness" when i was 7... i went insane for 3 days straight.. That was a wonderful memory...

Any ways love this album very much, solid effort and ultra successful product... Nice review as always

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Napalm Death - Time Waits For No Slave 10.5 06.05.2011 by Richard 32
Reviews Napalm Death - Scum 7.5 02.09.2006 by LethargyMan
Albums Napalm Death - Noise For Music's Sake [Compilation] 6 06.12.2012 by Big-Al
News Death - "The Sound Of Perseverance" Three-Disc Reissue Streaming Online For A Limited Time 4.5 11.02.2011 by MechanisT
News Cannibal Corpse - To Join Forces With Napalm Death And Immolation For The Decibel Magazine Tour 4.5 23.01.2013 by GoldenGod2112



Hits total: 6926 | This month: 41