Rating:
9.1
Amon Amarth - Twilight Of The Thunder God
17 September 2008


Disc I [CD]
01. Twilight Of The Thunder God [feat. Roope Latvala]
02. Free Will Sacrifice
03. Guardians Of Asgaard [feat. Lars-Göran Petrov]
04. Where Is Your God?
05. Varyags Of Miklagaard
06. Tattered Banners And Bloody Flags
07. No Fear For The Setting Sun
08. The Hero
09. Live For The Kill [feat. Apocalyptica]
10. Embrace Of The Endless Ocean
11. Valhall Awaits Me [Live at Summer Breeze Open Air 2007] [Vinyl bonus]
12. Runes To My Memory [Live at Summer Breeze Open Air 2007] [Vinyl bonus]
13. Cry Of The Black Birds [Live at Summer Breeze Open Air 2007] [Vinyl bonus]
14. Asator [Live at Summer Breeze Open Air 2007] [Vinyl bonus]
15. Pursuit Of Vikings [Live at Summer Breeze Open Air 2007] [Vinyl bonus]
16. Fate Of Norns [Live at Summer Breeze Open Air 2007] [Vinyl bonus]
17. Without Fear [Live at Summer Breeze Open Air 2007] [Vinyl bonus]
18. With Oden On Our Side [Live at Summer Breeze Open Air 2007] [Vinyl bonus]
19. Where Silent Gods Stand Guard [Live at Summer Breeze Open Air 2007] [Vinyl bonus]

Disc II [CD: Live At Summer Breeze 2007][Limited Edition bonus]
01. Intro
02. Valhall Awaits Me
03. Runes To My Memory
04. Cry Of The Black Birds
05. Asator
06. Pursuit Of Vikings
07. Fate Of Norns
08. Without Fear
09. With Oden On Our Side
10. Where Silent Gods Stand Guard
11. An Ancient Sign Of Coming Storm
12. Victorious March
13. Death In Fire

Disc III [DVD: Live At Summer Breeze 2007][Limited Edition bonus]
01. Intro
02. Valhall Awaits Me
03. Runes To My Memory
04. Cry Of The Black Birds
05. Asator
06. Pursuit Of Vikings
07. Fate Of Norns
08. Without Fear
09. With Oden On Our Side
10. Where Silent Gods Stand Guard
11. An Ancient Sign Of Coming Storm
12. Victorious March
13. Death In Fire

+ 40 page booklet [Limited Edition bonus]


I used to like a lot of music, but after finding MetalStorm, I discovered many new bands I had not heard before, including Amon Amarth. Seeing "With Oden On Our Side" on the MS Random Album feature started my interest about this band, and from there my position on "extreme metal" was changed.

So, this is my fourth album of AA and have to say, that I crowd it into my head two times a day. The voice of Johann Hegg is fantastic, in melodic passages sounds really amazing. I already like the album "With Oden on our side", but "Twilight of the Thunder Gods" I now prefer.
For long-time fans of Amon Amarth this album certainly does not bring anything new, but for me, as mostly fan of heavy and power metal, that kind of melodeath caught me. The tempo and melody of the songs on this album are very catchy. Title song "Twilight..." is real energy kick with very catchy refrain and classic guitar solo, 2nd song "Free Will Sacrifice" takes us into the front of the battlefield, 3rd Guardians of Asgaard is really masterpiece, probably the best song of this album...and so on, that´s enough this isn´t "song by song". I know it's nothing new under the Sun, but with these ingredients their music becomes more accessible to other, not-deathmetal audience.

The album brings nothing new and is very similar with previous "With Oden..." but I think that Amon Amarth doing what it does best and doesn´t try to change it. Perhaps only the songs are more melodic than before. For older fans may be just an "another piece" of Amon Amarth, for me, the new AA fan, this means that I like Amon Amarth a bit better,well done!

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 10


Band profile: Amon Amarth
Album: Twilight Of The Thunder God


 


written by Heart_of_METAL | 15.04.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Fane

Rating:
8.3
Amon Amarth is a name that makes every true viking look up from their mead tankards. Unlike Ensiferum or Turisas these guys leave weaponry home and hop into a car instead of saddling their horses. They don't need props as they are vikings by heart and their album Twilight Of The Thunder God shows this more than well.

Read more ››
published 02.01.2011 | Comments (15)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 209  
Search this topic:  


Kasper - 25.04.2009 at 21:25  
After listening to this album, I would have to say that score is a bit to high IMO. The albums flows in the same repetive rhythms, there isn't that much difference between each songs. The only songs that I REALLY like are Varyags of Miklagaard, Tattered Banners and Bloody Flags, and Embrace of the Endless Ocean. The others aren't bad, not at all, just not as good IMO.

I prefer With Oden On Our Side so much more. And I hope the next album will be the real follow-up to With Oden On Our Side.. But alas, thats properly not gonna happen.

Anyway, a fine melodeath album. But 9.1 seems just a tad too much really.
Lord_Regnier - 25.04.2009 at 22:15  
Written by Kasper on 25.04.2009 at 21:25

The albums flows in the same repetive rhythms, there isn't that much difference between each songs.


The exact feeling I have with "Versus The World" and the main reason why I've never been able to like it. I liked "With Oden On Our Side" but it's the only Amon Amarth album I kinda enjoy. As for "Twilight Of The Thunder God", I haven't listened to it yet.
tulkas - 26.04.2009 at 03:08  
Well, i thugh of this review more like a personal comment from someone who just discovered the band (just like he says), rather than a review made by someone who kows more the band and as been familiar with it for more time. still, like lord reiner says, i think the score is a bit too high, i'm not saying the albm is bad, not at all, it is actually really good, but just like they said, it really doesn't bring anthing new, altough i like the fact that they have a lot of interesting collaborations throughout the album.
still, AA is one of my fav bands of all time and this album certaily didn't let me down at all
Lord_Regnier - 26.04.2009 at 03:19  
@tulkas: I know in what sense that you agree with me but I never spoke of the score. I already explained in two other threads that I don't care at all for album ratings and never debate on them.

Personally, I don't care much if albums don't really bring anything new but I think Amon Amarth's albums suffer from a lack of variation between songs. It's too similar from beginning to end though, like you said, far from being bad.
tulkas - 26.04.2009 at 03:30  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 26.04.2009 at 03:19

@tulkas: I know in what sense that you agree with me but I never spoke of the score. I already explained in two other threads that I don't care at all for album ratings and never debate on them.

Personally, I don't care much if albums don't really bring anything new but I think Amon Amarth's albums suffer from a lack of variation between songs. It's too similar from beginning to end though, like you said, far from being bad.


in terms of the score, i just look at it to see what people think of the album, but on reviews it's more a subjective thing, 'cause it's really based on the test of the reviewer and on his liking or not liking of the band. but yeah, i believe we agree on most of the stuff here. specially on how they manage to still be far from being bad
Alive.Corpse - 27.04.2009 at 21:54  
Amon Amrath is perfect. this album is perfect too.
Devilspeed - 18.07.2009 at 00:16  
Talk about overrated. Amon Amarth fans are beginning to annoy me. 7/10.
Piro - 18.07.2009 at 00:57  
It's not the best album ever, but songs like Live for the Kill and Tattered Banners and Bloody Flags make it worth it IMO.
Uirapuru - 17.12.2009 at 07:16  
As always mantaining their good quality albuns. For me thats enough to give it a high score
Windrider - 13.07.2010 at 20:46  
Love this album, especially Tatteres Banners And Blood Flags, I always start to dream then lol...
Same with Where Is Your God?!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Amon Amarth - Twilight Of The Thunder God 11.5 02.01.2011 by MechanisT
News Amon Amarth - Video Recording For Twilight Of The Thunder God 10.5 27.08.2008 by MetalSpider
News Amon Amarth - Cover Art For "Twilight Of The Thunder God" Revealed! 10.5 28.07.2008 by Warman
News Amon Amarth - Twilight Of The Thunder God Release Dates 10.5 16.07.2008 by Ulv
Albums Amon Amarth - Twilight Of The Thunder God 10.5 14.01.2010 by



Hits total: 5177 | This month: 39