Rating:
N/A
My Dying Bride - For Lies I Sire
20 March 2009


01. My Body, A Funeral
02. Fall With Me
03. The Lies I Sire
04. Bring Me Victory
05. Echoes From A Hollow Soul
06. ShadowHaunt
07. Santuario Di Sangue
08. A Chapter In Loathing
09. Death Triumphant


Look, I just cut myself, this violin sounds like a razor blade slicing my arteries. Now let me read some Shakespeare to you. Pain. Suffering. My ex-girlfriend. Religion. Violins as razors again. Crimson red drops of blood meandering like the wine from the Holy Grail. Your ex-girlfriend. Pain. Violins. Shakespeare. Latin references, look how deep I am. Bleeding love. Now look, I'm angry for a moment!!! Speed. I'm angry!!! AAAAA... OK, now, I'm sad again. Depression. Shattered passion. Violins. Pain. Goodbye.

Come on, we all know this is precisely what My Dying Bride does on every single album including the more experimental ones. If this is your kind of thing, For Lies I Sire will be right up your alley, just like all the other albums by this band. It's not my kind of thing though. To me, pseudo-romantic, overwrought whining like this is quite annoying, frankly. Truly depressed people don't broadcast their pathetic stories in 10 albums, don't recite Shakespearean poetry and don't threaten to commit suicide. They just fucking do it. Preferably in an amusing way, such as by jumping from a building on an old lady. Or by running into a mall with dynamite up their ass. Life is just a cruel joke anyway, right? Well, laugh at this, society!

For Lies I Sire is the first My Dying Bride album to feature violins since Like Gods Of The Sun and as a consequence sounds quite similar to that record. In other words, it is slightly faster and more straight-forward than usual, has more crunchy riffs and steers clear of growled vocals. The exception to this is "A Chapter In Loathing", a weird song with blastbeats and strangely screeched vocals, ironically the only enjoyable piece here. The other tracks follow the band's trademark template as described above and they do it... averagely at best. So if you love this band, the album will be a decent one, or perhaps a slightly above average one for you.

The music on For Lies I Sire has some moments but that doesn't take away from the fact that still, after all these years, the best My Dying Bride songs are those that throw their formula out of the window. Which is what I will happily do now with this CD. Hopefully it will hit an old lady right on the head.


Band profile: My Dying Bride
Album: For Lies I Sire


 



Written on 22.04.2009 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››



Comments page 4 of 4

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
Comments: 176  
Users visited: 422  
Search this topic:  


the stranger - 10.12.2009 at 16:49  
This review is excellent.
THE_BLACK_GOD - 10.12.2009 at 16:52  
Hands up, this is a good review and I recommend everyone to write such reviews about all big famous bands. then we can have more ppl over here. I dont know how much ppl were escaped from metal storm cause of this review but I know there are some. I mean the new ppl who likes MDB and new to this site.

we need normal reviews and fair reviews. and why this is not a normal review:

@BitterCOld:

"To me, pseudo-romantic, overwrought whining like this is quite annoying, frankly. Truly depressed people don't broadcast their pathetic stories in 10 albums, don't recite Shakespearean poetry and don't threaten to commit suicide."

in this phrase our respectful reviewer is talkin about 10 albums by MDB.
so this is a review about all MDB's works. but this is the wrong place. here we need a review about this album but jupitreas has a ridiculous view about MDB's 10 albums. at least in this review this is the feeling which I can get.
THE_BLACK_GOD - 10.12.2009 at 16:55  
Written by the stranger on 10.12.2009 at 16:49

This review is excellent.

ok Im waiting to see such a review about "Virgin Black". then you can say its excelent or not. cause they are really depresed as MDB and if they continue this way after 10 albums they are nothin more than a whining band.
Ozman - 10.12.2009 at 17:33  
I doubt anyone actually left MS because of this review. And even if anyone did... it is stupid to leave a site because someone disagrees with a review. Good riddance I'd say.
THE_BLACK_GOD - 10.12.2009 at 17:41  
Written by Ozman on 10.12.2009 at 17:33

I doubt anyone actually left MS because of this review. And even if anyone did... it is stupid to leave a site because someone disagrees with a review. Good riddance I'd say.

I think, for the very first time its a very bad memory Marcel. oppinion? about 10 albums ok then. I remember that you were reading a review about "Master of Puppets" in Metal-Archives. and I remember that how you laughed at that review. cause it was so pesimist and brutal. now I (and a lot of others) found this review a little un real and brutal. thats all.
Ozman - 10.12.2009 at 18:46  
Written by Guest on 10.12.2009 at 17:41

Written by Ozman on 10.12.2009 at 17:33

I doubt anyone actually left MS because of this review. And even if anyone did... it is stupid to leave a site because someone disagrees with a review. Good riddance I'd say.

I think, for the very first time its a very bad memory Marcel. oppinion? about 10 albums ok then. I remember that you were reading a review about "Master of Puppets" in Metal-Archives. and I remember that how you laughed at that review. cause it was so pesimist and brutal. now I (and a lot of others) found this review a little un real and brutal. thats all.


First off I am not a member of MA and secondly i keep on reading there. Btw In that review the reviewer clearly missed the point about that album. He reviewed years and years after its release. But he is still entitled to his opinion. As is any of the official (and guest) reviewers here. My point is that it is STUPID to stop visiting a site just because you disagree with a review. This review is well-written wheereas the MoP one at MA isn't
Xnoybis - 10.12.2009 at 19:07  
You're my favorite little wind-up toy on this site. say something about a band you like - even warranted (this album is dire, the production on death magnetic ruined an otherwise ok album) and just step back and watch you meltdown.

you still froth at the keyboard here months after the review was published, you link it to other sites to froth more. just too funny.

Jupe's opinion is perfectly acceptable and i get the point he's making. it stems from consistently writing on the same lyrical themes over 10 albums makes those themes boring, safe, and cliche... SSDD... Same Shit, Different Disk.

he takes underlying issues with prior albums, points to the history of it, finally how those issues culminate in this album.
the stranger - 11.12.2009 at 07:32  
Written by Guest on 10.12.2009 at 16:55

Written by the stranger on 10.12.2009 at 16:49

This review is excellent.

ok Im waiting to see such a review about "Virgin Black". then you can say its excelent or not. cause they are really depresed as MDB and if they continue this way after 10 albums they are nothin more than a whining band.


If it is honest as this one, then it will be excellent. Also, maybe this a bit off-topic but anyway, I'll say it, I have heard so many bad opinions about Virgin Black being the greatest of them all "I can make better music with my dick". And it made me laugh a lot. And yes, they're a whining band, but I like them.
So, don't worry if somebody else has a different opinion.
THE_BLACK_GOD - 12.12.2009 at 10:37  
@Marcel Hubregtse

"this is a an official review" doesnt mean that it has to be good and it doesnt mean that you have to take its back.

@BitterCOld

I didnt like this album just for enlighten you. DM is good or not hasnt nothin with this one.

Edit: its not bad to take a look at here: http://www.doom-metal.com/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=3846&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=80
Ozman - 12.12.2009 at 18:00  
Written by Guest on 12.12.2009 at 10:37



Edit: its not bad to take a look at here: http://www.doom-metal.com/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=3846&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=80


That doesn't mean a thing. There are quite a lot of MDB fanboys on there.
THE_BLACK_GOD - 12.12.2009 at 18:02  
Written by Ozman on 12.12.2009 at 18:00

Written by Guest on 12.12.2009 at 10:37



Edit: its not bad to take a look at here: http://www.doom-metal.com/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=3846&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=80


That doesn't mean a thing. There are quite a lot of MDB fanboys on there.

ok Marcel Im not MDB's advocate over here and enjoy this brilliant review but no one can change the facts man. ppl like this album and its not as bad as this review for sure.
Headbanger009 - 20.01.2010 at 16:11  
Yeah, as I have said, if you don't like MDB no one is fucking forcing you too!
Headbanger009 - 20.01.2010 at 16:18  
Ahab are good. But has nobody heard of Draconian or Novembers Doom here? Or old classic Paradise Lost? Or Virgin Black, would it stun some of you to know that Virgin Black are from Adelaide?
Xnoybis - 23.01.2010 at 07:48  
Written by Headbanger009 on 20.01.2010 at 16:18

Ahab are good. But has nobody heard of Draconian or Novembers Doom here? Or old classic Paradise Lost? Or Virgin Black, would it stun some of you to know that Virgin Black are from Adelaide?


what does any of this have to do with MDB's album? there are plenty of various doom threads around... post in one of those.
Kennoth - 04.10.2010 at 16:19  
What's with jupitreas and all the unrated albums? I personally find it slightly annoying. If you don't like it, rate it badly.

Anyway, I'm planning on checking this out before making any judgments about it.
Mr. Doctor - 04.10.2010 at 19:19  
Written by Kennoth on 04.10.2010 at 16:19

What's with jupitreas and all the unrated albums? I personally find it slightly annoying. If you don't like it, rate it badly.

Anyway, I'm planning on checking this out before making any judgments about it.


"I no longer rate albums because people get too obsessed with the rating and forget to read the actual review. Read the review, it will give you a much better idea if an album is worth your time than a rating will."

From his profile, it's a good answer imo considering how many people just fucking troll a lot of reviews here just because of the rating.
Kennoth - 04.10.2010 at 20:22  
Doesn't that defeat the very purpose of rating an album? It's like baking cookies without turning the oven on first.

Sure, some people will always bitch about the rating, and frankly, that's perfectly fine with me. Surely, there can't be all too many people out there that don't read the review at all just because they're not satisfied with the rating...
jupitreas - 04.10.2010 at 20:29  
Written by Kennoth on 04.10.2010 at 20:22

Doesn't that defeat the very purpose of rating an album? It's like baking cookies without turning the oven on first.

Sure, some people will always bitch about the rating, and frankly, that's perfectly fine with me. Surely, there can't be all too many people out there that don't read the review at all just because they're not satisfied with the rating...


You'd be surprised.

Anyway, the main reason why I don't rate albums is that opinions are not quantifiable. A rating is, at best, a very vague representation of what a reviewer thinks about an album; however, most users argue about this arbitrary value the most. I just can't be bothered with such pointless discussions so I don't rate albums.
Milena - 20.12.2011 at 20:43  
My second favorite review on this site.
Mr. Doctor - 28.12.2011 at 14:22  
Written by Guest on 28.12.2011 at 05:39
One of the worst reviews on the site.

It would match the album in that case... Which is far worse. God, how low they have fallen.
jupitreas - 28.12.2011 at 16:55  
Written by Guest on 28.12.2011 at 05:39

...Apparently. He also writes: "Come on, we all know this is precisely what My Dying Bride does on every single album..." And how would you know this (if My Dying Bride is so utterly repulsive for you)?


Well done, you have publicly committed a logical fallacy. How does it feel?
Slayer666 - 28.12.2011 at 19:24  
Written by Milena on 20.12.2011 at 20:43

My second favorite review on this site.


I actually prefer all the bitch-fests to the review, but yeah, great one.
Mr. Doctor - 28.12.2011 at 19:28  
Written by Guest on 28.12.2011 at 19:20
Quite low. Have to say that The Barghest O' Whitby EP was surprisingly good.


Them EP was surprisingly not bad, I'll give you that. They just have to continue like and improve a little more and we're back to the good MDB.
E†han1994 - 27.12.2012 at 23:21  
That opening paragraph made me laugh, even though I love MDB, and I like this album (although I admit, it's not their best).
Erik M. - 25.06.2014 at 23:11  
Written by Guest on 28.12.2011 at 19:20

Quite low. Have to say that The Barghest O' Whitby EP was surprisingly good.


It's indeed a great EP. Too bad The Manuscript sounds a lot more generic and and much less interesting.

Curious to MDB's next album in any case, which is apparently coming this year.
Erik M. - 25.06.2014 at 23:13  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 28.12.2011 at 19:28

Them EP was surprisingly not bad, I'll give you that. They just have to continue like and improve a little more and we're back to the good MDB.


I like how you make it seem you agree yet you word it differently.

Anyway, For Lies I Sire is their worst album for me. The whole sound of it is just annoying to my ears. Wouldn't go as far as calling it outright bad, but it's just way less great than pretty much everything they ever did.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums My Dying Bride - For Lies I Sire 9 10.04.2010 by babak-sdn
News My Dying Bride - Entire Concert Available For Streaming Online 6 28.04.2007 by Katatronik
Reviews My Dying Bride - Like Gods Of The Sun 5.5 06.07.2006 by Lucas
News My Dying Bride - Hamish Glencross Leaves, Calvin Robertshaw Rejoins 4.5 09.06.2014 by Erik M.
News Shaun Steels Leaves My Dying Bride 4.5 02.10.2006 by DerRozzengarten



Hits total: 12681 | This month: 67