Rating:
8.3
OSI - Blood
27 April 2009


Disc I
01. The Escape Artist
02. Terminal
03. False Start
04. We Come Undone
05. Radiologue
06. Be The Hero
07. Microburst Alert
08. Stockholm
09. Blood

Disc II [special edition]
01. No Celebrations
02. Christian Brothers [Elliott Smith cover]
03. Terminal (Endless) [extended version]


The name OSI refers to the "Office of Strategic Influences", an organization created by US government to do some kind of US propaganda after 9/11 (for your information, it was quickly stopped for obvious reasons...). But this is also the name of a superband composed by Kevin Moore of Chroma Key and Jim Matheos of Fates Warning. "Blood" is their new album, their 3rd one actually, and if the guys worked with Portnoy or Steven Wilson in the past, this is now the time to do something else with Gavin Harrison on the drums (Porcupine Tree) and even Akerfelt as a guest vocalist on the song "Stockholm". Ho yes, I'm already hearing the ones who want to know how the hell sounds this release, well let's go then and if you like Porcupine Tree you shouldn't be disappointed!

"Blood" is dark and yes, of course, Progressive. But even if the band worked with Mike Portnoy in the past, they're now something which can be compared with his band Dream Theater. On the other hand you'll easily hear the influences of the main band of one of their ex guest members, Steven Wilson because OSI clearly sounds like Porcupine Tree. We have dark atmosphere, the same kind of ambiances, the electronic influences etc… I won't say that it's a clone because it's not the case but "Blood" clearly plays in the same category than the last Porcupine Tree and if you like them you should like this release. Yet I think that "Blood" is probably more electronic than everything ever done by Porcupine Tree. There are electronic industrial sounds on all the songs and it's really cool actually because it gives some interesting mechanical sides to the music. Don't believe that this release is Industrial too but this is not classic Progressive Metal music and it's cool to listen to this album. Sure it's not really original nowadays because it's trendy to do something like that but it's high level music and the songs are really good so why not?

The recording is exceptional (even if it's not Steven Wilson who did it hehe) and the performances of the musicians are just perfect. The fact that Michael Arkefelt sings on (and co-wrote) the song "Stockholm" is a nice addition to the album, which also have some nice similarities with Opeth (not the violent ones of course). Really if you like dark atmospheric Prog Metal I think that you will like this album.

"Blood" is a must have for all the people who like this new wave of Prog Metal and who cannot stop to listen to Porcupine Tree and so on… I cannot say though that it's the most original CD because after all Porcupine Tree has created this kind of sound but this is really good and doesn't have to suffer of any comparison with the British band. "Blood" is a nice album, don't miss it if you're attracted by this kind of music.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: OSI
Album: Blood


 


written by Jeff | 24.05.2009



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 23  
Users visited: 149  
Search this topic:  


RockeRoy - 24.05.2009 at 23:51  
Realy, realy great album, good review to:) i don't know yet, but i think the last album was a little better, but this one different in many ways so i have to listen to it some more to give and honest opinion
Mr.Wilson - 25.05.2009 at 01:29  
Great album indeed:)
Ag Fox - 25.05.2009 at 04:57  
Thanks for the review. I really like the album and I think the electronic influences are awesome
Dane Train - 25.05.2009 at 05:01  
I have been rocking this album for the past month. I have been a huge OSI fan ever since their first album came out years ago. I even have a poster for that album signed by all three members (Portnoy was a member at that time). Just as good as the other album.

My only thing with the review is that while it does have some similarities to Porcupine Tree it is more like a heavy Croma Key (which would obviously make more sense).
Syk - 25.05.2009 at 16:35  
"...and the performances of the musicians are just perfect"
"Performance: 8 "

Huh?
Elio - 25.05.2009 at 16:39  
I need some good prog, let's see if this is worthy.
Fat & Sassy! - 25.05.2009 at 21:42  
Kevin Moore?

Yes, please.
Nimlot - 26.05.2009 at 20:32  
When I first heard about this band and their song with Akerfeldt I was really excited, but when I checked out Stockholm I was really disappointed, I found it boring, however I have only listened to this one song so I can't really comment on the whole album.
Nosurper - 26.05.2009 at 22:41  
Very spacey, very psychedelic. lyrically it is too vague and haphazard for me, there is little direction at all. It is good to leave lyrics open to interpretation, but these lyrics meander around too much and come off with a lack of purpose and creativity. the music occationally suffers from the same lack of direction as well. still, I admire some of the themes that are pursued and the addition of the electronic elements keep the music somewhat unique. 7/10 for me.
Elio - 30.05.2009 at 15:58  
Mmh.. is it only me or the singer is really bad?
ponderer - 02.06.2009 at 13:05  
You mentioned Porcupine Tree a total of 7 times in your review of OSI's Blood. Are you reviewing the new Porcupine Tree cd or OSI's Blood? I didn't find any relation whatsoever to Porcupine Tree other than having Porcupine Tree's drummer behind the kit. I actually thought it was Portnoy to be quite honest which isn't saying much for Porcupine Tree's drummer. Nice job at being totally unoriginal I guess? Anyway, OSI kicks ass mainly because Jim Matheos from Fates Warning (one of the greatest progressive metal pioneers ever) is on guitars. This is great progressive stuff with some experimental work thrown in here and there to make it interesting. Radiologue is pretty epic. Decent review.
JohnDoe - 10.06.2009 at 18:07  
Written by Elio on 30.05.2009 at 15:58

Mmh.. is it only me or the singer is really bad?


I wish I can say "it's you" but I can't. Kevin Moore's vocals are an aquired taste, the most important thing is that they fit the music nicely IMO.

I love this album, I find it better than their previous work - Free - but still pretty far from the brilliant debut album. People that like the late works of Fates Warning and Kevin Moore's project Chroma Key should try/listen to this, it's worth every minute of it.
BloodTears - 11.06.2009 at 12:01  
I'll definitely get this one.
Ag Fox - 12.06.2009 at 00:22  
Written by Elio on 30.05.2009 at 15:58

Mmh.. is it only me or the singer is really bad?
I really like his voice as it adds to that dark feeling. I prefer his voice to Steven Wilson's.
Oh boy... I totally love the song "Be The Hero". can't stop humming to it all day XD
tea[m]ster - 23.08.2009 at 18:50  
Written by ponderer on 02.06.2009 at 13:05

OSI kicks ass mainly because Jim Matheos from Fates Warning (one of the greatest progressive metal pioneers ever) is on guitars.


Agreed. As usual Fates Warning and it's members go unnoticed for its contribution to the modern prog metal genre. Between the review and all the comments Jim Matheos was mentioned ONCE - good grief
Introspekrieg - 24.09.2010 at 23:39  
Written by tea[m]ster on 23.08.2009 at 18:50

Written by ponderer on 02.06.2009 at 13:05

OSI kicks ass mainly because Jim Matheos from Fates Warning (one of the greatest progressive metal pioneers ever) is on guitars.


Agreed. As usual Fates Warning and it's members go unnoticed for its contribution to the modern prog metal genre. Between the review and all the comments Jim Matheos was mentioned ONCE - good grief


Jim Matheos is the shit, amazing guitarist/composer and the main reason I love OSI. I enjoy this album start to finish, a very chill record.
BloodTears - 14.11.2010 at 00:18  
This album is really good. Listen to it. Don't be afraid to get into the madness. While I can see the Porcupine Tree similarities, I still think there is a pretty long distance between the two bands. Beautiful songs, crunchy heavy parts that just fit perfectly with the moods of the songs, and amazing thought-provoking, nerve-wracking, intense lyrics as good as they come.

I'm glad I finally gave OSI a shot. They will stick with me, I'm sure.
tea[m]ster - 16.11.2010 at 02:42  
Written by BloodTears on 14.11.2010 at 00:18


I'm glad I finally gave OSI a shot. They will stick with me, I'm sure.



Well then, check out their previous two releases, whcih are both better than "Blood" IMO!
BloodTears - 16.11.2010 at 11:14  
Written by tea[m]ster on 16.11.2010 at 02:42

Written by BloodTears on 14.11.2010 at 00:18


I'm glad I finally gave OSI a shot. They will stick with me, I'm sure.



Well then, check out their previous two releases, whcih are both better than "Blood" IMO!


I already did actually. And you are right, they are better, which makes it all even more amazing
K†ulu - 16.11.2010 at 18:53  
Written by BloodTears on 16.11.2010 at 11:14

Written by tea[m]ster on 16.11.2010 at 02:42

Written by BloodTears on 14.11.2010 at 00:18


I'm glad I finally gave OSI a shot. They will stick with me, I'm sure.



Well then, check out their previous two releases, whcih are both better than "Blood" IMO!


I already did actually. And you are right, they are better, which makes it all even more amazing


Ok, you two made me really eager to give Blood another shot and check their self-titled out (it is also present on the famous prog list by Introspekrieg .

Bloodtears has flooded the forums with talks of OSI, so...
BloodTears - 16.11.2010 at 19:39  
Written by K†ulu on 16.11.2010 at 18:53

Written by BloodTears on 16.11.2010 at 11:14

Written by tea[m]ster on 16.11.2010 at 02:42

Written by BloodTears on 14.11.2010 at 00:18


I'm glad I finally gave OSI a shot. They will stick with me, I'm sure.



Well then, check out their previous two releases, whcih are both better than "Blood" IMO!


I already did actually. And you are right, they are better, which makes it all even more amazing


Ok, you two made me really eager to give Blood another shot and check their self-titled out (it is also present on the famous prog list by Introspekrieg .

Bloodtears has flooded the forums with talks of OSI, so...


Ahah I know, I'm sorry about that overexcitement! I'm just so happy about having discovered this stuff lately. Apparently I have been talking about OSI every day since I listened to "Free" for the first time.

Do let me know what you think about the albums when you listen to them, maybe it's just me that thinks they are good.
tea[m]ster - 17.11.2010 at 04:30  
Written by BloodTears on 16.11.2010 at 19:39

Written by K†ulu on 16.11.2010 at 18:53

Written by BloodTears on 16.11.2010 at 11:14

Written by tea[m]ster on 16.11.2010 at 02:42

Written by BloodTears on 14.11.2010 at 00:18


I'm glad I finally gave OSI a shot. They will stick with me, I'm sure.



Well then, check out their previous two releases, whcih are both better than "Blood" IMO!


I already did actually. And you are right, they are better, which makes it all even more amazing


Ok, you two made me really eager to give Blood another shot and check their self-titled out (it is also present on the famous prog list by Introspekrieg .

Bloodtears has flooded the forums with talks of OSI, so...


Ahah I know, I'm sorry about that overexcitement! I'm just so happy about having discovered this stuff lately. Apparently I have been talking about OSI every day since I listened to "Free" for the first time.

Do let me know what you think about the albums when you listen to them, maybe it's just me that thinks they are good.


I can't wait for each subsequent release because I wanna know who the next guest musician(s) are gonna be! It's a "who's who" among prog leaders!
-DC-002- - 15.04.2012 at 22:25  
Heard this and, Fire Make Thunder. Consider me a fan really well done musicianship and good harmony in the music. Of what I've heard all their songs are very listenable.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Blood Duster - Blood Duster 4.5 05.04.2007 by
Reviews Volbeat - Guitar Gangsters & Cadillac Blood 4.5 06.10.2008 by BORT
Reviews Blood Stain Child - Idolator 4.5 12.06.2011 by The Benighted
Reviews Morrah - Experiment In Blood 4.5 21.09.2006 by Herzebeth
Reviews Ken Hensley - Blood On The Highway 4.5 23.08.2007 by Spyroid



Hits total: 6590 | This month: 1