Rating:
5.0
Void Of Silence - Human Antithesis
May 2004


01. Human Antithesis
02. Grey Horizon ( M.P.H. MMIV )
03. Untitled
04. To A Sickly Child
05. Dark Static Moments
06. CXVIII


Human Antithesis is the name of this release by Void Of Silence, Italian Doom Metal, strange Doom Metal that's for sure, and Antithesis is the word that would define the music contained in this Cd, because each element doesn't match the other, each element differs much from the other, thus creating an Antithesis of music, resulting, a boring album.

Industrial landscapes, ambience noises, dark calmer parts combined with some singing (done by Alan Nemtheaga from Primordial) is what you'll receive here, non conventional song structures with weird instrumentation is what makes this album so original, and so boring.

Both a curse and a blessing, both genius and insane, this album has 2 sides that need to be explored, the one containing landscapes, voids of music and a lot of spoken parts, and other that have some decent music with lack of linearity in the songwriting…

This a very hard album to review, took me more than a couple of spins to come up with something to say about this, and still is not that useful what I got to say… so, after some time trying to understand it, I couldn't. I don't get this album, is so strange, so boring, so unusual, most of it doesn't have music mostly sounds…

If I wanted to loose 1 hour of my life I would find better ways to do it rather than sitting on my bed trying to figure out what the hell is sounding on the stereo. Void Of Silence won't see the light out of my Cd shelf in a while I fear, Recommended for the braver souls that like to wonder beyond the borders of normal music…


Band profile: Void Of Silence
Album: Human Antithesis


 


written by Undercraft | 27.09.2004



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 5  
Users visited: 84  
Search this topic:  


velvet - 16.01.2008 at 14:31  
Hmm - I've really grown to love this album. I entirely agree it's not going to appeal to everyone, but my tastes definitely run in this direction so i was ecstatic to get this delivered (and yes, it's seen more playtime than any Maiden album, guilt guilt guilt).

If you like theatrics, sound effects, clean vocals in doom and just good old despair you should love Human Antithesis. Funeral Doom at its most exciting.
† RaVeN † - 13.02.2008 at 14:13  
This is one of the most amazing albums i've ever heard. Void of Silence took their sounds to another level by merging avant-garde influences with doom metal.

From start to finish, i have enjoyed every bit of this album. The opening tack itself blew me away, Human Antithesis :
' This is where the dream ends
where the soul of every man and woman is broken
where you carry your crippled children in hope of salvation
and lay them down to die'

Portraying darkness, pain and suffering ... like an apocalypse nearing.

Don't be put off by the review. Music is all about experimenting new levels, different soundscapes and Void of Silence have done a perfect job. This album is far from being boring. For those of you who aren't afraid to look beyond for new sounds, you should definitely give this album a try.
W-Lash - 15.02.2008 at 01:27  
5 for this album? Seems like you hate Void Of Silence...I'd like to say that everything by Void Of Silence is great.
This album is the worst (that's only my opinion. Most of listeners somehow like this one the best) of all stuff done by VoS but it still deserves more than fucking 5.
Dangerboner - 08.04.2008 at 01:11  
I remember liking their debut album to some extent, but this one is a little harder for me to get into. Some parts are good, but some of the vocal styles really bother me, especially the whispering and spoken passages, but other times the vocals sound great. I fucking love the echoing audio clips they randomly use though.

I'd give it around a 7, but this album seems like it's a grower.
DyingInSin - 31.05.2009 at 19:29  
This is not boring album at all....I love it

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Void Of Silence - Human Antithesis 7.5 03.09.2011 by Human Antithesis
Reviews Void Of Silence - The Grave Of Civilization 5.5 18.09.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Void Of Silence - Toward The Dusk 5.5 12.03.2008 by Dangerboner
Reviews Estertor - Between Silence And Light 4.5 16.02.2009 by iaberis
Reviews Falling Silence - Another day, Another Dollar 4.5 25.12.2011 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 2593 | This month: 22