Rating:
7.8
Metallica - S&M [Live]
23 November 1999


Disc I
01. The Ecstasy Of Gold [Ennio Morricone cover]
02. The Call Of Ktulu
03. Master Of Puppets
04. Of Wolf And Man
05. The Thing That Should Not Be
06. Fuel
07. The Memory Remains
08. No Leaf Clover
09. Hero Of The Day
10. Devil's Dance
11. Bleeding Me

Disc II
01. Nothing Else Matters
02. Until It Sleeps
03. For Whom The Bell Tolls
04. - Human ("Minus Human")
05. Wherever I May Roam
06. Outlaw Torn
07. Sad But True
08. One
09. Enter Sandman
10. Battery


Ten years after hitting their highest standards, Metallica felt that it was the time to make a change in their overall sound. "...And Justice for All" was certainly a major contribution to progressive music, but to their own opinion, not their best product. After having felt that they over-produced the Justice album, shorter songs, simpler riffs and less experimentation followed. The "radio-friendly" period, The 90's, were certainly the most successful and controversial times for the band.

"S&M" is the product of the 90's. For better or worse, this is the Soundtrack to Metallica.

It is a celebration of the relentless journey of what was best from the band to date. A very enjoyable and noteworthy live album. The band's instruments array were calibrated to enhance the orchestra's sound, and not the other way around. In my opinion, if they had put in the classic thrashy songs in the tracklist, the whole purpose of the orchestra would have been nil. I didn't quite like that they completely snubbed "Kill 'em All". Of course, we would've enjoyed more classic stuff.

This is a highly melodic performance. The best versions of some of their 90's songs are here. The live versions of "Hero of the Day", "Outlaw Torn" and "Until it Sleeps" are a must listen. Where is "Fade to Black"?, "The Unforgiven"?, "Welcome Home (Sanitarium)"?. It's very well known that most of those 90's songs have a more personal note within the band, enough said.

This was the first metal album that I bought ten years ago. A huge album for a first-time listener; of course, it blew me away. My opinion has somewhat changed from that first time, as I learned from the whole band timeline (completely backwards, actually -from "S&M" to "Kill 'em All"). Something remains unscathed, however. The final product and its sound is completely overwhelming, but some might say that it falls short, specially with what they had available in their catalog, as I later found out. Not everything is perfect, though; the orchestral score of some of the classic songs (such as "One" and "Enter Sandman" could have been better.

If something could be done to uplift the mixed reviews from "Load" and "Re-Load", it was this. I'd like to say that this ended Metallica's 90's with a very high note. It's an album worth listening, and a must-have in your Metal collection.


The high notes:
*Excellent and powerful sound quality;
*It is never tiresome
*"For Whom the Bell Tolls"
*Lars Ulrich never opens his mouth and behaves pretty decently.

The low notes:

*I just plain don't like "Fuel"
*Could have been WAAAAY better!!!

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Metallica
Album: S&M


 


written by Agguran | 20.07.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
The Silent Man

Rating:
6.0
Symphony & Metallica is a strange musical experiment: Metallica meets the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra.
After writing the orchestration for Nothing Else Matters, conductor Michael Kamen invited The Four Horsemen to play live with an orchestra. And seven years later here's the result: some people loves it, some other hates it. I'm neutral.

Read more ››
published 09.11.2003 | Comments (8)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 107  
Search this topic:  


Andresopeth - 20.07.2009 at 16:17  
This revirew is ok, but in my opinion it is more focused in Matallica's time line than in the album itself (Production, Sound quality, Tracklist, Arrangments and those stuffs). Even though i agree with the main point, the album is good but it could have been better. I like the songs they picked for this album, i guess were the ones that fit better with the orchestra, but i guess Fade To Black is missing. And yeah, the best song on the album is For Whom The Bell Tolls so far.
Uirapuru - 20.07.2009 at 17:43  
Perfect album to me.. i had some good times listening to this album.
Marcus - 20.07.2009 at 20:30  
Lol @ the low notes: "Could have been way better"; very specific, I like it.
Paradox0 - 20.07.2009 at 23:06  
"he band's instruments array were calibrated to enhance the orchestra's sound, and not the other way around. "

The funny thing is that I actually felt the complete opposite when listening to this album. Perhaps the instruments were tuned to work with the orchestra to form a more "harmonic" sound between the two but I just felt that the orchestra was only there to add some ziffy background layers to the music. I honestly always felt this was really over rated.
dunskii - 21.07.2009 at 06:32  
S&M was fucking amazing, the blending of the orchestrals and heavy metal riffs. what more could you ask for?
Agguran - 21.07.2009 at 18:58  
Written by Paradox0 on 20.07.2009 at 23:06

"he band's instruments array were calibrated to enhance the orchestra's sound, and not the other way around. "

The funny thing is that I actually felt the complete opposite when listening to this album. Perhaps the instruments were tuned to work with the orchestra to form a more "harmonic" sound between the two but I just felt that the orchestra was only there to add some ziffy background layers to the music. I honestly always felt this was really over rated.


The fact that they performed in a closed auditorium suggests that the leaned towards the orchestral sound. A thrash band playing as loud as usual would have drowned the orchestra.
Quinaitor - 24.07.2009 at 22:00  
Written by Andresopeth on 20.07.2009 at 16:17

This revirew is ok, but in my opinion it is more focused in Matallica's time line than in the album itself (Production, Sound quality, Tracklist, Arrangments and those stuffs). Even though i agree with the main point, the album is good but it could have been better. I like the songs they picked for this album, i guess were the ones that fit better with the orchestra, but i guess Fade To Black is missing. And yeah, the best song on the album is For Whom The Bell Tolls so far.



I agree with the part when you say that he is focused on the timeline...

to the reviewer...

are you nutts?... lyrics 7???!!! is the same freaking lyrics of studio songs -,-... shit i hate when people do this kind of things -,-... poor review... isn't it?
Andresopeth - 27.07.2009 at 17:14  
Written by Quinaitor on 24.07.2009 at 22:00

Written by Andresopeth on 20.07.2009 at 16:17

This revirew is ok, but in my opinion it is more focused in Matallica's time line than in the album itself (Production, Sound quality, Tracklist, Arrangments and those stuffs). Even though i agree with the main point, the album is good but it could have been better. I like the songs they picked for this album, i guess were the ones that fit better with the orchestra, but i guess Fade To Black is missing. And yeah, the best song on the album is For Whom The Bell Tolls so far.



I agree with the part when you say that he is focused on the timeline...

to the reviewer...

are you nutts?... lyrics 7???!!! is the same freaking lyrics of studio songs -,-... shit i hate when people do this kind of things -,-... poor review... isn't it?

Yeah, the big problem of this review is that is not a review
THE_BLACK_GOD - 07.08.2009 at 11:39  
Performance 8 ? oh god !
Production 8? maybe you have forget 90's Productions

and you have talked more about load and reload and and justice for all and.... fair enough! but why didnt you say nothin about the best song of S&M ? I mean No Leaf Clover which a lot of fans are agree with about it?
and Where is Minus Human? and originality 7? this is a Symphony and Metal as I know (plz dont answer me by Philarmonic Orchestera's which some bands did before, cause if someone knows about music he should know that Symphony is so different from Philarmonic Orchesteras)

and about old songs and 90 songs, 1/3 of songs are about 80's and 2 songs are new and one of them is intro which is about just Symphony.

just 10 song from 90, they wanted to see all fans enjoy the music not just thrashers and IMO they did it well, but to be honest Im agree with you about "Fade to Black" but as I know its very hard to play it original man, cause it needs 3 guitars as I know. and again I dont know that if they could play any song which they want in Symphony or not.
Agguran - 10.08.2009 at 18:46  
Written by Andresopeth on 27.07.2009 at 17:14

Written by Quinaitor on 24.07.2009 at 22:00

Written by Andresopeth on 20.07.2009 at 16:17

This revirew is ok, but in my opinion it is more focused in Matallica's time line than in the album itself (Production, Sound quality, Tracklist, Arrangments and those stuffs). Even though i agree with the main point, the album is good but it could have been better. I like the songs they picked for this album, i guess were the ones that fit better with the orchestra, but i guess Fade To Black is missing. And yeah, the best song on the album is For Whom The Bell Tolls so far.



I agree with the part when you say that he is focused on the timeline...

to the reviewer...

are you nutts?... lyrics 7???!!! is the same freaking lyrics of studio songs -,-... shit i hate when people do this kind of things -,-... poor review... isn't it?

Yeah, the big problem of this review is that is not a review

Fair enough. I feel that I'm being a vague. I think that the whole Metallica 'live' experience can be summarized in 'Live Shit - Binge & Purge'. Comparatively, I find that the performance in S&M is rich in sound, but I feel that some parts are just akward. Two completely different live albums. As for the lyrics, I think that I focused on Hetfield's performance rather than the lyrics themselves on the score (My mistake) -Hetfield in 'Live Shit' is a mountain of a man; I didn't quite feel the same on this album-. Should've been more specific than that. well... my first review. Need more criticism!!!
THE_BLACK_GOD - 11.08.2009 at 14:20  
Written by Agguran on 10.08.2009 at 18:46

Written by Andresopeth on 27.07.2009 at 17:14

Written by Quinaitor on 24.07.2009 at 22:00

Written by Andresopeth on 20.07.2009 at 16:17

This revirew is ok, but in my opinion it is more focused in Matallica's time line than in the album itself (Production, Sound quality, Tracklist, Arrangments and those stuffs). Even though i agree with the main point, the album is good but it could have been better. I like the songs they picked for this album, i guess were the ones that fit better with the orchestra, but i guess Fade To Black is missing. And yeah, the best song on the album is For Whom The Bell Tolls so far.



I agree with the part when you say that he is focused on the timeline...

to the reviewer...

are you nutts?... lyrics 7???!!! is the same freaking lyrics of studio songs -,-... shit i hate when people do this kind of things -,-... poor review... isn't it?

Yeah, the big problem of this review is that is not a review

Fair enough. I feel that I'm being a vague. I think that the whole Metallica 'live' experience can be summarized in 'Live Shit - Binge & Purge'. Comparatively, I find that the performance in S&M is rich in sound, but I feel that some parts are just akward. Two completely different live albums. As for the lyrics, I think that I focused on Hetfield's performance rather than the lyrics themselves on the score (My mistake) -Hetfield in 'Live Shit' is a mountain of a man; I didn't quite feel the same on this album-. Should've been more specific than that. well... my first review. Need more criticism!!!

and you did wrong, cause this is an album itself man not a Compilation !!! you havent talked about new songs and its so Weird not?
terrorist - 13.08.2009 at 19:01  
Great album.they've shown that they are fantastic musicians and that they can fit with orchestra it is realy impresive.I think James voice has reched it's maximum with whole orchestra behind him especialy on Nothibg Else Matters.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Metallica - Load 3 29.04.2010 by Knuckles3o5
News Metallica - Music Tool For Rocking Babies To Sleep? 3 31.08.2006 by NECURATU
General metal forum Metallica playing metal again? (set list "rock am ring") 3 04.06.2006 by yvesson
Events BRA, Porto Alegre - Metallica: Latin American Tour 1.5 15.01.2010 by Uirapuru
Events AUS, Perth - Metallica: World Magnetic Tour 1.5 08.10.2010 by Arcticus



Hits total: 3025 | This month: 27