Rating:
9.1
Heaven And Hell - The Devil You Know
28 April 2009


01. Atom & Evil
02. Fear
03. Bible Black
04. Double The Pain
05. Rock & Roll Angel
06. The Turn Of The Screw
07. Eating The Cannibals
08. Follow The Tears
09. Neverwhere
10. Breaking Into Heaven


Have you ever sat back listening to your old school Black Sabbath records wondering what it would sound like had they the same production abilities we have today? Well, if you have, this is your answer - so have a fresh pair of undies ready, there's a likelihood your bowels might get ruptured.

OK, you can rename it anything you like, we all know this is the resurrection of Dio-era Black Sabbath. This album really makes up for any shortcomings the albums Dehumanizer, Mob Rules, and Heaven & Hell may have had. Whether you enjoyed the albums or not, its hard to deny that the signature depressive guitar work of Tony Iommi wasn't as present as it was in previous albums. Ironically this album sounds more Sabbath-y than when they were using the Black Sabbath moniker.

But enough about the past, here we have a fresh new album. Tony & Geezer continue to prove to be the core of the band with crushing, plodding riffs, and bass-lines capable of causing earthquakes that read somewhere at about a 9.5 on the Richter Scale. Mix these kind of abilities with some thick, top-notch production and what you've got is some pure, solid heavy metal. What about the vocals? Regrettably enough its easy to overlook Dio for once when we have such incredible riffs presented to us. That doesn't mean the vocals are lacking, in fact they are great, Ronnie puts forth his haunting, foreboding tone for this album which makes the perfect fit, but all in all this album is dominated by Tony Iommi and Geezer Butler.

The Devil You Know does have its lacking points, few as they are. Basically the album has its inconsistent parts. With the crushing doomy songs like "Atom And Evil", "Bible Black", and "Follow The Tears" the band seems to have unmatchable chemistry, its the more upbeat tracks that hold the album back. They aren't terrible, but a little bit of that signature sound is lost, sounding more like Dio's backing band than a collaborative effort.

Definitely one of the must have albums of 2009, damn near perfect in this reviewers honest opinion. Tony and Geezer are back, baby!

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 10


Band profile: Heaven And Hell
Album: The Devil You Know


 


written by Doc Godin | 03.08.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 224  
Search this topic:  


Biedrik - 04.08.2009 at 03:31  
While I didn't like the album as much as you did, you overall did a good review.
davidharris - 04.08.2009 at 16:13  
For me (compared to their potential and other 2009 albums too):

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 1
Production: 9

But your review was good
Elio - 04.08.2009 at 17:28  
I don't want to sound repetitve but even if I liked the review, I found the album a bit bland, sometimes boring and uninspired.
Marcel Hubregtse - 04.08.2009 at 17:49  
I am with Elio for some parts. It has a couple of great songs but quite a few are uninspired. The more doomy songs are the stand out tracks and the rest is just boring albeit non-flowery power metal at most. Shame.

@Rock, I did like your review though.
Ag Fox - 04.08.2009 at 18:57  
I agree with Elio too
Fat & Sassy! - 27.09.2009 at 00:23  
Written by Guest on 04.08.2009 at 16:13

For me (compared to their potential and other 2009 albums too):
Originality: 1


What the hell? What were you expecting this album to be like? It's Sabbath... playing Sabbath. In terms of originality, you can't compare them to anyone else. They are one of the pioneers of heavy metal. :/

Nice review. Describes the album well. I really enjoy this release. Classic metal ftw. >:[
Troy Killjoy - 23.01.2010 at 05:34  
Not the biggest Dio fan, but my manager played a live recording of "Follow the Tears" on Youtube and it's definitely a song I can appreciate. As for davidharris rating their originality a 1: that's just moronic.

This band isn't some extreme progressive sludge / avantgard doom-inspired thrash metal with post-jazz influences. It's Heaven And Hell. The band's genre is listed as "heavy metal", and that's exactly what they play. Great shit for people into old school metal with a modernized production, as stated by Doc.

On a side note, shouldn't you at least be considered like a semi-staff reviewer? The "guest review" tag seems kind of...harsh. Elite review disclaimer! Do it!
Doc Godin - 23.01.2010 at 05:54  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 23.01.2010 at 05:34

On a side note, shouldn't you at least be considered like a semi-staff reviewer? The "guest review" tag seems kind of...harsh. Elite review disclaimer! Do it!

It was written before I became elite.
Troy Killjoy - 23.01.2010 at 14:35  
Ah I just checked your Darkology review and there's no guest review disclaimer. That's cool then. I didn't realize this was published back in August '09.
Slinky666 - 14.12.2011 at 04:51  
How should I put it? This album has strong legs but no wings. Yes, that's right.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Heaven And Hell - The Devil You Know 12 23.05.2010 by SBGMetal
Lists Best To Worst Black Sabbath Albums (including Heaven And Hell - The Devil You Know) 10.5 07.05.2013 by Lumpcicle
News Heaven And Hell - Tony Iommi Talks About The Future 7.5 12.07.2010 by Parazyd
Reviews Five Finger Death Punch - The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell - Volume 1 7 02.12.2013 by R Lewis
Reviews Five Finger Death Punch - The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell - Volume 2 7 05.12.2013 by BoxCar Willy



Hits total: 4601 | This month: 45