Rating:
9.7
Summoning - Let Mortal Heroes Sing Your Fame
31 October 2001


01. A New Power Is Rising
02. South Away
03. In Hollow Halls Beneath The Fells
04. Our Foes Shall Fall
05. The Mountain King's Return
06. Runes Of Power
07. Ashen Cold
08. Farewell


It is always kinda weird to post a review of an album which means so much for you, you will place ultimate rating just because "you feel it so". I will try to state my reasons why I am rating this album so high anyway.

I know many people who claim Summoning are an uninteresting band whose best works were the first ones, when it still was "black enough". I have listened to almost all their works including very first demos, when it was nothing but "ordinary" black metal. As the time flows, they began to develop their specific style, different to almost all other bands. And in my opinion, Let Mortal Heroes Sing Your Fame, is the flashing point of their carrier. Yes, the rest of their albums are great too and I would rate each of them (except Lugburuz) at least 9.5 at once, but LMHSYF means the most for me.

Each time when I am listening to the opening of "South Away", it is like I am riding horseback into the storm of battle. The atmosphere built by usually often repeated, but genially designed music themes concluding (not very marked) harsh guitars, artificial drums, synth melodies is simply great, especially when amplified by some well placed spoken samples (as far as I know mostly taken from some 70ties radio adaptation of LOTR) and of course by Silenius' vocals. Someone should say "artificial drums are crap, a live drummer is always better", but I cannot agree. Just listen to the beginning of "Ashen Cold" and tell me...

Another aspect why Summoning is so unique and great are lyrics. Usually they are not long and verses are often repeated, but I would say genius 4 rhymes are always better than 2 pages of crap. And those lyrics simply are wonderful. They are always muffled and never explicit. Even when you know the words, you have to think what the song is really about and what each verse stands for. It is dark poetry par excellence. In literature lessons, their texts should be analyzed, not some boring poems by crazy modern authors...

To sum it all up - when you are listening to this masterpiece, you are watching how a new power is rising, while you are marching south away to approach the hollow halls beneath the fells, knowing our foes shall fall there. You are witnessing the mountain king's return, seeing heroes casting for runes of power. And ashen cold awaits you before you can say your last farewell. And the only thing you can in the end is - let these (im)mortal heroes sing me again!

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 8


Band profile: Summoning
Album: Let Mortal Heroes Sing Your Fame


 


written by Ellrohir | 18.08.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 218  
Search this topic:  


Introspekrieg - 19.08.2009 at 00:23  
I like this album also, the medieval atmosphere just sucks you in.
Mr. Doctor - 19.08.2009 at 00:35  
Mmmm I will give it around 8,7-9,0 but I don't really care for the rating because the review is important and you explained your points well.
I liked your words so that why I don't care of your rating.

And damn, I think the music is great. Just hear the chorus on Farewell... Those chants are fucking EPIC. I almost felt like I was gonna cry the first time I listened to them.
Smurfophagist - 19.08.2009 at 17:17  
Great review man. rating does seem a bit too high tho.
AiwiAstwihad - 19.08.2009 at 19:47  
I'm not a fan of this kind of music but the last song, Farewell, is really impressive and for some irrelevant reason reminds me of the movie "Is Paris Burning?"....
quirin - 20.08.2009 at 22:05  
I agree on all counts. Unbeatable in its own, very particular style.
Asitis - 27.08.2009 at 03:44  
Amen to this
BudDa - 11.09.2009 at 15:37  
Follow me through the darkness..
Lord_Regnier - 12.09.2009 at 02:52  
Though I tend to prefer Summoning's older albums (until "Stronghold" included), LMHSYF is definitely a great album I like to listen from time to time.
Oerath Windsoul - 14.07.2010 at 18:55  
A very good review in my opinion, and you gave this album what it deserved: enough high ratings, it is definitely one of the best albums of Summoning, though as a 'life-sworn' fan I cannot really find a single bad song from all of their albums, nor from both Protector's and Silenius' side-projects and their albums. But if someone asked me that 'What is your favourite album from Summoning?' I would answer without any kind of hesitation: 'Well, it's Stronghold, what else it could be?.'
Ellrohir - 15.07.2010 at 00:36  
Written by Oerath Windsoul on 14.07.2010 at 18:55

what else it could be?


Dol Guldur

at least nowadays i would answer so...you know, it is already one year since this review and times they are a changin' but still this album "means the most for me", because it brought me and bound me to Summoning

p.s. also half of the songs from Oath Bound are indescribably majestic, in fact Northward is currently my most favorite Summoning song ever...but there are couple of "weaker" tracks, which means i cant place this album at the very top...on the other hand it has the best cover art
Wes - 07.05.2014 at 18:38  
Great review. It's a true 10/10 for me on a personal level. Looking at it again, I would say that the only thing now I want to see improved is production, and they DID improve production exactly how I wanted them to with Old Mornings Dawn. Now I can't honestly tell you whether I would want them to re-record this album or not, but I would certainly be glad to have another version : ). Even so, I rate this a 10, one of the few albums I truly consider to be perfect.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Summoning - Let Mortal Heroes Sing Your Fame 12 02.09.2013 by Alex Fenger
Albums Summoning - Of Pale White Morns And Darkened Eves [EP] 3 11.11.2013 by Himedal
Albums Summoning - Dol Guldur 3 15.03.2011 by Luneth
Lists Let The Instruments Sing 3 01.09.2011 by
Reviews Steven Wilson - The Raven That Refused To Sing (And Other Stories) 2.5 24.05.2013 by Unhealer



Hits total: 4893 | This month: 43