Behemoth - Evangelion review



Reviewer:
8.0

749 users:
8.31
Band: Behemoth
Album: Evangelion
Release date: August 2009


Disc I
01. Daimonos
02. Shemhamforash
03. Ov Fire And The Void
04. Transmigrating Beyond Realms Ov Amenti
05. He Who Breeds Pestilence
06. The Seed Ov I
07. Alas, Lord Is Upon Me
08. Defiling Morality Ov Black God
09. Lucifer
10. Total Invasion [Killing Joke cover][iTunes bonus]

Disc II [bonus DVD]
01. Making Of Evangelion


Behemoth must now be Poland's biggest metal export as the band have rose to fame in the last decade. It was just five years ago when the band released Demigod when the band turned all ears towards them with a death metal album of such ferocity and intensity. Three years later comes The Apostasy, and right now we have the next demonic offering with Evangelion. Since the band grasped and shook the death metal scene with Demigod, not much has changed with the Behemoth's music. Each of these three albums almost a carbon copy of each other. The style and the performance of the music is just as vicious and violent while being executed with insane precision, and even the structure of the songs on the albums seems to be very similar as they always seem to build up to a final explosive surge, this time "Defiling Morality Ov Black God" being that track.

Evangelion is the most polished album Behemoth have put out to date, the production in particular is squeaky clean as you can clearly hear each manic blast and beat from the madman known as Inferno. The whole sound comes across sometimes as perhaps too clean, although a cleaner production is preferred when considering the complex and intricate nature of Behemoth's highly accurate music. It may be easy to become spoilt when it comes to death metal these days, but you must appreciate the skill it takes to put an album of such chaos together like this, let alone actually perform it to this standard.

As always the songs vary from mid-tempo pulverising pieces to ultra fast pulverising slabs of death metal, always with the balance towards the latter. Evangelion does not let up until the last track "Lucifer" when it comes to giving the listener an ear-full of carnage, by which time you have bared witness to the epic ending of "Alas, The Lord Is Upon Me" which leads to the previously mentioned mental health patient of a track "Defiling Morality Ov Black God". Behemoth would not be what it is without the assault and battery of the presumably human Inferno.

Three albums since the world heard Demigod, and three albums of a technical and talented display of death metal. Isn't it about time Behemoth reached into its hat and pulled out something risky for a change? Even if the physical performances of the band have far surpassed all of the previous Behemoth albums, Evangelion may be angelic in the world of death metal, but we have heard this all before. Now we know just what the band can do performance-wise, it is time for them to show us something just as groundbreaking creative-wise.

-

Death metal
Nuclear Blast
Poland
Length: 41:54


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 27.08.2009 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 40   Visited by: 472 users
22.11.2009 - 22:48
METALVIKING107
I can agree with the review that they do need to take a few risks and show some more musical evolution...but my god this album is fucking amazing! I can't bring myself to say anything bad about it. I was absolutely blown away by just the first track. They could use a bit of a sound turnaround, they've done it before and I think with their level of talent they can do it again. But I still can't say anything bad about Evangelion its just goddamn awesome.
Loading...
23.11.2009 - 06:17
wormdrink414
I am now convinced that this is Behemoth's best. It'll be getting my vote for album of the year no doubt.
Loading...
09.12.2009 - 12:38
Big-Al
Very good review, and i agree with everythng everyone is saying!

So i have little to add except that Demigod was released 4 years ago and the Apostasy just 2... Behemoth seem to release an abum every 2 years with an ep inbetween each.

each album feels more like a perfection of the last, so while Evangelion feels like the band has reached it's zenith, as originality goes it feels more like an all time low.

Theoreticaly 2010 we will probably be treated to a new ep, and 2011 a full new album

(FYI: my favorite Behemoth Realese is Zos Kia Kultus)
----


I drink moosepiss
Loading...
31.12.2009 - 03:58
Nergal
Behemoth always get better, and this album is their true consacration... This is my favourite band, so I cannot be very impartial, but I really liked Evangelion, although The Apostasy has something more in terms of originality and songwriting... But, people, they know how to play!!!
Best parts : Daimonos, intro of Shemhamforash, intro and outro of Transmigrating, outro of He Who Breeds Pestilence (fu**ing epic!!!), Alas, Lord Is Upon Me.
Buy this album, it's pure evil!!!
Loading...
23.01.2010 - 15:39
cjs675
I only listened to Evangelion for the first time yesterday, and well, this is pure in-your-face aggression. Our favorite Poles have done it again.

I was never a big fan of their early work, but everything since (and including) Satanica has been top notch.

Behemoth's latest offering does not disappoint either, epic riffs and as-always-awesome vocals from Mr Nergal makes this one of my favorites of '09.
----
Ever seen a motorcycle parked outside a shrinks office????
Loading...
16.06.2010 - 01:30
Dangerboner
:D
Written by EmperorIX on 16.06.2010 at 01:27

If this was a record released by an unkown band, it would be praised very highly, yet because it is not, as it follows a linear progression in terms of originality, it is harshly critisized by some. There are very few musicians in the world who can execute such precise performances, and with crystal clear production its hard to ask for more. This is there masterpiece in my opinion.

This album gets lots of praise. Check out this poll, for example.
Loading...
07.10.2011 - 16:25
Big-Al
Everyone talks about behemoth taking a risk, but look at all the complaints morbid angel are getting having done exactly that.
----


I drink moosepiss
Loading...
01.01.2012 - 18:15
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Solid album, I'd rate it half a point lower, just due to (imo) a few filler tracks.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
03.09.2012 - 10:33
Daniell
No, you don't
Written by Big-Al on 07.10.2011 at 16:25

Everyone talks about behemoth taking a risk, but look at all the complaints morbid angel are getting having done exactly that.


You can take a risk and succeed, or you can take a risk and fail miserably.
----
Now loving:
Avatarium - Pearls and Coffins
Iron Maiden - Empire of the Clouds
Ahab - The Weedmen
Finsterforst - Mach dich frei!
My Dying Bride - Feel the Misery
Loading...
08.02.2014 - 02:39
Rulatore
Written by Big-Al on 07.10.2011 at 16:25

Everyone talks about behemoth taking a risk, but look at all the complaints morbid angel are getting having done exactly that.

Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 10644 | This month: 23