Rating:
9.5
Process Of Guilt - Erosion
June 2009


01. Dust (The Circle Part I)
02. Waves (The Circle Part II)
03. Corrosion (The Circle Part III)
04. Lava (The Circle Part IV)
05. Abandon (The Circle Part V)
06. The Circle (Erosion Part I)


Like I mentioned in my Mourning Lenore review a couple of months ago Portugal isn't too well-known for its metal scene. But it certainly seems that especially the Portuguese doom scene is starting to come of age and besides Insaniae the aforementioned Mourning Lenore this year also sees Process Of Guilt making some "Waves".

Apparently I was told about this band a couple of years ago by Ivor but somehow I had never followed up on them until they were mentioned again last year September when Lucas and I were interviewing Felix and Pim (Officium Triste) about Dutch Doom Days. At last year's Dutch Doom Days I came across Process Of Guilt's full-length debut Renounce thanks to Collin and immediately fell in love with their death/doom sound which also held some slight blackish influences.

So how does the, always so important, sophomore album hold up compared to the debut? First thing that is noticeable is that the black influences have almost disappeared completely and the band have now moved on towards to a more, what some would probably call, post-doom sound. Still death/doom to the bone but with soundscapish undertones of bands such as Isis, Mono, Pelican, Cult Of Luna and some almost Neurosis-like tribal sort of drumming at times and Draconian Times-era Paradise Lost riffing and guitar tone. Hopefully all this makes sense to you all, for I sure as hell don't know how else to describe their quite unique sound.

The first five songs form an integral part and flow neatly into each other creating the illusion of a single song. Shortest song of the album "The Circle (Erosion Part I)" closes proceedings after a couple of seconds of silence thus being a clear epilogue to this album.
So, this is clearly an album that should not be shuffled. Anyone who even thinks of playing Erosion on shuffle certainly isn't worth such great music gracing their ears.

This is an album best experienced at night with the lights out. Let the music envelop you and erode you like subsequent waves of lava corroding you to the bare essence of your soul and turning you into dust and then slowly abandoning you thus making the circle of life complete.

So, after having come to my senses again I can safely say this is one of the single best, if not best, death/doom releases of the year. I cannot see any other band, well-known or underground, even come close this year (and maybe I am being over-confident here) or even in the next couple of years, unless Process Of Guilt are about to outdo themselves. It has been quite a long long time ago that an album has had this effect on me and moved me this much.

And now it's only a matter of time before I see this band on stage and hopefully perform the entire Erosion album live. Only twelve more days before they play at Madrid Is The Dark Fest on September 12.


Band profile: Process Of Guilt
Album: Erosion


 


written by Marcel Hubregtse | 31.08.2009



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 56  
Users visited: 307  
Search this topic:  


Daggon - 30.04.2010 at 08:03  
At first listen I didn't like this album but since the first time, it grew really fast in my mind, certainly I agree with Marcel, this is for sure one of the greatest releases in the Doom scene on 2009 (Damn! 2009 was a nice fucking year for doom and for me cuz thanks to all the releases like this I'm getting more and more into the scene, oh my, I can't have enough).
Mr. Doctor - 01.05.2011 at 03:29  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.09.2009 at 19:49

And YOU won't be disappointed at all I am sure of that.


I FINALLY listened to the cd in its entirity the way it was supposed to be (ok, I did have a lamp on but only because I didn't want to pass out, it was kind of late).

And wow... This is a beautiful yet incredibly crushing masterpiece, this is indeed the kind of metal I love the most. I remember the countless times I listened to Lava from their myspace and youtube and now I see how important it is to listen to all the cd in the right order. Every intro fall into the perfect place. Lava sounded so different in terms of atmosphere from all the other times I listened to it just because I now could listen to it in the right moment.

Brilliant, just fucking brilliant.
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.05.2011 at 03:50  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 01.05.2011 at 03:29

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.09.2009 at 19:49

And YOU won't be disappointed at all I am sure of that.


I FINALLY listened to the cd in its entirity the way it was supposed to be (ok, I did have a lamp on but only because I didn't want to pass out, it was kind of late).

And wow... This is a beautiful yet incredibly crushing masterpiece, this is indeed the kind of metal I love the most. I remember the countless times I listened to Lava from their myspace and youtube and now I see how important it is to listen to all the cd in the right order. Every intro fall into the perfect place. Lava sounded so different in terms of atmosphere from all the other times I listened to it just because I now could listen to it in the right moment.

Brilliant, just fucking brilliant.


That took you two weeks to finally listen to it in its entirety
Thank God you didn't get it signed by Hugo or else it would be your favourite album ever
Mr. Doctor - 01.05.2011 at 03:53  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.05.2011 at 03:50

That took you two weeks to finally listen to it in its entirety
Thank God you didn't get it signed by Hugo or else it would be your favourite album ever


I still feel bad that I didn't ask him but I wanted to see Earth asap and I was already late. And to bring it with me just so he can sign it in the future seems a bit too fanboy for me


edit: Who the fuck am I kidding, I would bring it with me if I have the opportunity to get it signed.
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.05.2011 at 03:55  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 01.05.2011 at 03:53

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.05.2011 at 03:50

That took you two weeks to finally listen to it in its entirety
Thank God you didn't get it signed by Hugo or else it would be your favourite album ever


I still feel bad that I didn't ask him but I wanted to see Earth asap and I was already late. And to bring it with me just so he can sign it in the future seems a bit too fanboy for me


I did have the felt tip pen on me when you bought the cd from him, so had you asked right there and then it would have been sorted.
Mr. Doctor - 01.05.2011 at 03:57  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.05.2011 at 03:55

I did have the felt tip pen on me when you bought the cd from him, so had you asked right there and then it would have been sorted.


....

Ah fuck.

Oh btw it actually took me almost 2 years to lsiten to it in its entirity as I was so lazy to download it and felt like I wanted to wait until I could get a copy.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Process Of Guilt - Erosion 6 22.02.2011 by
Reviews Striker - Road Warrior 5 25.08.2009 by Marcel Hubregtse
News Process Of Guilt - European Tour Dates Confirmed 5 11.04.2013 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews The Embodiment - Legeon 4.5 23.02.2007 by APOHAKC
Reviews Nosferatus Subworld - Nosferatus Subworld 4.5 25.11.2009 by Daggon



Hits total: 9125 | This month: 34