Rating:
8.5
Limbonic Art - In Abhorrence Dementia
1997


01. In Abhorrence Dementia
02. A Demonoid Virtue
03. Descent To Oblivion [bonus]
04. A Venomous Kiss Of Profane Grace
05. When Mind And Flesh Depart
06. Deathtrip To A Mirage Asylum
07. Under Burdens Of Life's Holocaust
08. Abysmal Necromancy [bonus]
09. Oceania
10. Behind The Mask Obscure
11. Misanthropic Spectrum


I must say, it is quite odd how this band managed to escape my attention for quite this long. I barely ever heard anything about them at all, and on those rare occasions that I did, they were nothing more than a by-the-way comment. Finally, it was the mysterious, mystical names of the band itself and their albums that made me serious about checking them out. And after hearing this album, I realized exactly why they are so rarely mentioned, and I can tell you this: It's a grave injustice.

As the name of the band suggests, their music is truly.... art. No, this is not your classic Norwegian "I LOVE YOU SATAN!!" kind of black metal. In Abhorrence Dementia is something deeper, something darker... From the haunting, morbid intro on the first track, to the closing powerful, opera-like vocals with crushing guitars in "A Misanthropic Spectrum", this album manages to create a kind of darkness that is matched by a few. It is not depression, nor desolation that it invokes in you... Instead, this piece of dark art uses melodic pianos, organs (or rather, keyboards that sound just alike) mixed with with powerful guitars, pounding drums and torturing shrieks to create an intensely dark and epic atmosphere that will make you feel like you've just jumped into the middle of a black magic ritual of some medieval cult. I don't think I could go on describing just what this album feels like when you listen to it. I simply can't find the right words.

Instead, let's approach it on a more technical basis. In Abhorrence Dementia isn't going to win any performance awards for the guitars, no doubt about that. They are relatively simple and somewhat standard, almost all the way through the album. There are exceptions, of course, but they are few. Also, you will almost never hear the drums as a separate layer of the sound. But they are there, and the music just wouldn't be what it is without them. So, if they are both so not special, why am I singing praises about the album? It is because neither of the two are the stars of the show here. Indeed, that spot is reserved for the keyboards. While it is the guitars and drums that give the music necessary power and heaviness, it's the keyboards that truly capture the darkness and mysticism of the album. Of course, vocals do the job well, and appear in two forms: the classic shrieks, and the deep, clear one. The clear vocals are used for parts of the songs that resemble choruses, and really add up to the atmosphere.

Now, the most unpleasant part of my job as a reviewer of this album is to point out it's flaws. Make no mistake, I do praise the album high-and-low, but those damn flaws are always there. First off, I mentioned in the first paragraph that I understood why the band is so underrated. Here it is: the music is just too damn complicated for most people. It is not catchy whatsoever, there is rarely a song or a part of it that stands out from the rest, and it requires full concentration. This ain't like most power metal albums, where you have your favourite songs which you select and listen to while doing laundry. No, that is not how you must approach this album. The entire thing is there to paint a single picture, as the tracks simply slide one from another with you barely noticing. Close your eyes, and play the album from start to finish. It is the only way you can experience its dark magic, and be impressed with it as I was.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 8


Band profile: Limbonic Art
Album: In Abhorrence Dementia


 


written by Slayer666 | 23.09.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 98  
Search this topic:  


Uirapuru - 23.09.2009 at 17:39  
Great review man! That last paragraph was the most perfect definition of Limbonic's style, and how to listen to their music.
Motionless - 24.09.2009 at 16:00  
Well done. Very good review. The last paragraph says everrything.
Throne Dweller - 01.10.2009 at 12:40  
When mind and flesh departs, actually is a pretty catchy song. It has a chorus and everything.
It's a shame you didn't know of them before, as you captured the proper emotion pretty damn well.
Slayer666 - 01.10.2009 at 13:36  
Written by Throne Dweller on 01.10.2009 at 12:40

When mind and flesh departs, actually is a pretty catchy song. It has a chorus and everything.
It's a shame you didn't know of them before, as you captured the proper emotion pretty damn well.

Ah, yes the
"I have seen in my darkest dream
Throught the astral gate in a vortex fate
Death coldening the warrior's fire"
part. Well, that one lasts for a minute or so, and the rest of the song goes simillar to the rest.
Appreciate the positive commnets!
Stonecrush - 15.04.2010 at 01:01  
Quote:
Also, you will almost never hear the drums as a separate layer of the sound. But they are there, and the music just wouldn't be what it is without them


From what i've red Limbonic Art simply has no drummer so they use drum machine - and that is one reason to what you wrote
Lord_Regnier - 15.04.2010 at 02:36  
Written by Stonecrush on 15.04.2010 at 01:01

Quote:
Also, you will almost never hear the drums as a separate layer of the sound. But they are there, and the music just wouldn't be what it is without them


From what i've red Limbonic Art simply has no drummer so they use drum machine - and that is one reason to what you wrote


You're right, it is a drum machine. There are two things that make me unable to stand this band:
drums and vocals. I hate how they both sound.
And the reviewer is right when he says it's not catchy at all.
Imo, this band is boring and sounds artificial, electronic, synthesized.
Cryzpin - 27.01.2011 at 08:42  
Amazing album, so dark and so entertaining. I have listened to it yesterday for the second time just before the sleep, and the dreams that followed...will do it again today .
Dark†SymphonY - 12.05.2011 at 12:59  
One of the best atmospheric and raw black metal albums.
tuerda - 31.10.2011 at 06:46  
Aside from the reviews I have written myself, rarely has there been one I have agreed with this strongly.
Erik M. - 27.04.2013 at 18:47  
I agree with most of what you wrote, so good review. However, the rating is too low. I don't hand out perfect scores that often, but this is a perfect 10/10 for me. Also, how is the fact that it's NOT catchy a flaw? You don't really point out any real flaws. For me performance, originality and production are all a 10, with songwriting being a 9.
Slayer666 - 08.05.2013 at 21:37  
Written by Erik M. on 27.04.2013 at 18:47

I agree with most of what you wrote, so good review. However, the rating is too low. I don't hand out perfect scores that often, but this is a perfect 10/10 for me. Also, how is the fact that it's NOT catchy a flaw? You don't really point out any real flaws. For me performance, originality and production are all a 10, with songwriting being a 9.


I can't really give a 10 in performance to a band that uses a drum machine.

As for originality, 10 implies something completely ground-breaking, something that completely transcended anything that existed previously and started a new genre/style on its own, influencing many bands. While a sound like this is highly uncommon, it still doesn't exactly make a new genre on its own.
Erik M. - 08.05.2013 at 22:36  
Written by Slayer666 on 08.05.2013 at 21:37

As for originality, 10 implies something completely ground-breaking, something that completely transcended anything that existed previously and started a new genre/style on its own, influencing many bands. While a sound like this is highly uncommon, it still doesn't exactly make a new genre on its own.


Okay, fair enough about the drum machine. Although I don't think it's a big deal and it you don't know I don't think you'll notice or hear it's a drum machine.

I still stand by my scores, so two 9's and two 10's it is then. For symphonic black metal, this really is more unique than pretty much everything I've heard so far. For example, it beats the first two Emperor albums in my opinion, which isn't something that's easily done if you ask me. Ah well, an 8.5 is still pretty high, just 1 point too low in my opinion at least.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Limbonic Art - In Abhorrence Dementia 7.5 02.03.2011 by
Reviews Limbonic Art - Phantasmagoria 5.5 09.04.2012 by Eye-Licker
Albums Limbonic Art - Moon In The Scorpio 4.5 27.01.2013 by
News Limbonic Art - New Song Online 4.5 12.08.2007 by Katatronik
News Limbonic Art - Reunited + New Album 4.5 21.02.2007 by



Hits total: 3934 | This month: 44