Rating:
8.5
Whyzdom - From The Brink Of Infinity
21 September 2009


01. The Witness
02. The Train
03. Everlasting Child
04. The Power And The Glory
05. Freedom
06. Escaping The Ghosts Of Reality
07. Atlantis
08. The Old Man In The Park
09. The Seeds Of Chaos
10. Daughter Of The Night part I
11. Daughter Of The Night part II
12. On The Wings Of Time


About one and a half years ago the young French band Whyzdom sent me their first demo for a review. Hooked after the first listen, I soon came to consider it one of the best demos I've ever heard. It still had a couple of flaws, but the potential the band seemed to radiate was enormous; their first demo already sounding better than most female-fronted symphonic bands could ever hope to be.

Since a short while I have Whyzdom's first album From The Brink Of Infinity and to be honest it felt like a severe disappointment. Vocalist Telya Melane didn't seem to have made any progress since the demo and even worse; my first impression of the full-length was that the songs on it that were already on the demo were by far the best tracks on the album. Now a few spins later I'll have to revise my opinion.

Whyzdom are still able to wipe the floor with most other female-fronted bands. The music isn't that easy to get into - notably due to the absence of the catchy choruses common in the genre - but it's well worth it. The core of their sound is the fantastic and varied keyboard-work, often complex and multi-layered. Great drumming and simple but effective riffing supports the synths and a few nice guitar solos round off the instrumental section. Above it we have the female vocals, which are usually the most important ingredient in similar bands. In Whyzdom however, I think despite some majestic passages where she really shines, Telya is the weakest part of the band. There are parts where she sounds awesome, yet most of the time her voice either doesn't sound strong enough, or doesn't support the music very well. The aforementioned lack of catchy choruses and refrains doesn't really help the vocal-section either.

Unfortunately the album also contains a fair amount of filler (with a running time of about 70 minutes cutting the weakest songs like 'Everlasting Child' shouldn't have been a problem) and the production isn't really top-notch either. Still From The Brink Of Infinity is a very strong album for fans of slightly progressive symphonic metal. This isn't the simple and catchy type of female-fronted metal like Nightwish or Within Temptation and needs some getting into, but the reward is well worth it. If the band and main songwriter Vynce Leff work a bit more on their writing skills and Telya works a bit more on her voice, Whyzdom could become a big name in the world of symphonic metal.The successor of After Forever? Very possible, time will tell.

Favourite tracks: 'The Witness', 'The Power And The Glory' and 'Daughter Of The Night Part II'

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 6


Band profile: Whyzdom
Album: From The Brink Of Infinity


 


written by Bas | 03.10.2009



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 146  
Search this topic:  


Fat & Sassy! - 04.10.2009 at 10:32  
Sounds promising. I'll have to check this out. Still love the band name though. I'm a sucker for lame puns... or shorthand... which is it?
The Shape 1973 - 04.10.2009 at 13:26  
I think that you have got the successor to After Forever bit right, but I think that Telya's vocals give it a more emotional quality, as though she really means and feels what she is singing, rather than the over polished and produced vocals of current female fronted goth bands, just listen again to the end of The Old Man In The Park.

I quite liked the production as well, it feels more organic than the overly perfect production on Delain or Within Temptation.
For me the choirs and the orchestration give the album a haunting and dramatic quality, listen to it in the dark and it sends a chill down your spine, along with the power of the riffing and the crisp drumming set the release apart from the current crop of similar bands.

The strongest tracks on the album are Atlantis, which has a really driving riff and Everlasting Child. I could only really pick out two fillers, Freedom and the first half of Escaping The Ghosts Of Reality which then kicks in towards the end of the track.
This is one of the best albums of the year for me, something not seen from this genre for a few years, something a bit different, so if you miss old school After Forever or Within Temptation, or just want an alternative to Epica, then buy it, you will not be disappointed.
Lupas - 06.10.2009 at 19:00  
A very well review ! I had also known this band through their Ep and than their first Album. As you said Bas Telya's voice needs to be more trained and i think that by time she would be one of the top female fronted metal scene. My fav.song is and remain : Daughter of the night >
Bas - 08.10.2009 at 16:25  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 04.10.2009 at 10:32

Sounds promising. I'll have to check this out. Still love the band name though. I'm a sucker for lame puns... or shorthand... which is it?

Let us know what you think of them
Rather lame pun, but hey, it's the music that counts

Written by The Shape 1973 on 04.10.2009 at 13:26

and Everlasting Child.

Really? Actually I consider Everlasting Child one of the worst tracks on the album. Interesting how we both like the album but our thoughts on single songs can be very different

Written by Lupas on 06.10.2009 at 19:00

A very well review ! I had also known this band through their Ep and than their first Album. As you said Bas Telya's voice needs to be more trained and i think that by time she would be one of the top female fronted metal scene. My fav.song is and remain : Daughter of the night >

Thanks
Although I doubt she could be considered one of the top female metal singers any time soon. She has potential, but she'd still need quite some training to get there. Then again in Whyzdom I think the symphonics and orchestration are more important that the vocals.
annodomini - 09.10.2009 at 13:17  
Well i am also a bit dissapointed. The demo was even far better than the album. But music and compositions are very good. The onbly problem is vocals for me. Female vocals are somehow progressive style, they are really good, but just don't fit for this music IMO.
The Shape 1973 - 16.10.2009 at 15:55  
Someone has voted 2 for this album, 2, for the best album of the year, fucking idiot.
albatros - 25.10.2009 at 22:54  
In Wieze a few days ago they put on a pretty impressive show. Obviously they have their fans, as could be seen during their gig and in this thread. However I think they wouldn't "wipe the floor" with any of the bands present at this years Female Voices festival and neither are they a second coming of After Forever. I guess they are about to secure their specialised fan base like everybody else in this genre did before.
Dark†SymphonY - 14.05.2010 at 16:04  
If they work on their sound and vocals, they could become a great band.
Wishmaster - 01.09.2010 at 14:14  
They seem energetic, but something is missing. Still, a good review for a good album. I hope the new singer would be better than Teyla.
I agree with annodomini about the vocals not fitting for the music. I hope their sophomore effort would own this.
I still think that this is a very good debut.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Whyzdom - From The Brink Of Infinity 9 01.09.2010 by
Reviews Whyzdom - Daughter Of The Night 7.5 26.03.2008 by Lily_Lazer
Reviews Moongarden - Songs From The Lighthouse 6 07.09.2008 by Lily_Lazer
Reviews Aura - A Different View From The Same Side 6 19.02.2009 by Dane Train
Reviews Mistweaever - Tales From The Grave 4 09.08.2010 by Vitriolic Hate



Hits total: 5587 | This month: 38