Children Of Bodom - Skeletons In The Closet review


120 users:
Band: Children Of Bodom
Album: Skeletons In The Closet
Release date: September 2009

01. Lookin' Out My Back Door [Creedence Clearwater Revival cover]
02. Hell Is For Children [Pat Benatar cover]
03. Somebody Put Something In My Drink [Ramones cover]
04. Mass Hypnosis [Sepultura cover]
05. Don't Stop At The Top [Scorpions cover]
06. Silent Scream [Slayer cover]
07. She Is Beautiful [Andrew W.K. cover]
08. Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In) [Kenny Rogers cover]
09. Bed Of Nails [Alice Cooper cover]
10. Hellion [W.A.S.P. cover]
11. Aces High [Iron Maiden cover]
12. Rebel Yell [Billy Idol cover]
13. No Commands [Stone cover]
14. Antisocial [Trust cover]
15. Talk Dirty To Me [Poison cover]
16. War Inside My Head [Suicidal Tendencies cover]
17. Ooops!… I Did It Again [Britney Spears cover]

Extreme Power metal
Spinefarm Records
Length: 1:05:45

It is no secret that Children Of Bodom are a massive force in the metal world with legions of young fans ready to snap up anything with Alexi's name on it. Cover albums are in general unnecessary releases, but more times than not the band pleases their fans as they experience the band in a completely different light putting their own spin on songs that may well have influenced them while growing up.

There is no reason to suspect otherwise with Skeletons In The Closet as this release shows Children Of Bodom rip and tear through a very bizarre set of songs ranging from old rockers to fast and hard thrash hits. The seasoned Children Of Bodom fan will know that a lot of the covers on this album are not exclusive to it, and can actually be found on various singles and as bonus tracks on albums. Skeletons In The Closet therefore ties up into a neat and tidy package all of the covers the band want you to hear.

The rock songs don't sound like rock any more with Alexi's unnecessary harsh vocals and keyboards overbear everything, and the heaviest tracks such as Sepultura's "Mass Hypnosis" sound like a watered down shadow of the original. Slayer's "Silent Scream" is one of the best covers included, accompanied by "She Is Beautiful", originally from Andrew W.K. which suits Alexi's punkish attitude perfectly. Alice Cooper's classic "Bed Of Nails" is suitably butchered illustrating when harsh vocals should not be used, as well as the obligatory Iron Maiden cover of "Aces High" at twice the speed and with harsh vocals doesn't quite suit.

No one outside of the fanatic should expect anything great here, and it would be wrong to over analyse such a release. Children Of Bodom have had some fun covering some of their favourite songs and have decided to compile them all onto one handy disc. Some songs work, some don't, that is the nature of cover albums. The most important thing is that the disc entertains the listener. With Skeletons In The Closet, it is hard to find much entertainment apart from watching your friend's reaction to a metal version of Britney Spears' "Ooops!… I Did It Again", but there is no doubt that the Children Of Bodom legions, the Hate Club, will lap this album up like cream to a cat. Casual listeners stay away.


Written on 14.10.2009 by Member of Staff since 2006.

Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 31   [ 1 ignored ]   Visited by: 461 users
09.02.2011 - 15:08
Learning To "X"
Written by ImNotMetal on 08.12.2009 at 14:53

I heard that they covered europe's final countdown and iron maiden's the trooper. But i can't find at whole discography.

The Final Countdown is by Norther and The Trooper is by Sentenced I believe.
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."

Hits total: 8699 | This month: 30