Rating:
8.7
Oranssi Pazuzu - Muukalainen Puhuu
22 April 2009


01. Korppi
02. Danjon Nolla
03. Kangastus 1968
04. Suuri Pää Taivaasta
05. Myöhempien Aikojen Pyhien Teatterin Rukoilijasirkka
06. Dub Kuolleen Porton Muistolle
07. Muukalainen Puhuu
08. Kerettiläinen Vuohi


Today we're talking about Oranssi Pazuzu, kids, which means as much as 'Orange Pazuzu' but then in Finnish. And who is Pazuzu, you may ask? Well, Pazuzu is this friendly fellow. His field of expertise was being the demon of the southwest wind. His hobbies were bringing famine and locust plagues to mankind. He's not all bad though, since he -although being an evil spirit himself- drove other evil spirits away. Well kids, that's it for todays mythology lesson, don't forget to do your homework on Marduk, Tiamat, Ea and all our other Babylonian friends... remember thursday's exam...

What makes Pazuzu's music so great is that it sounds like they're jamming their way through various riffs and moodscapes and booming basslines, until they find one riff that they particularly like. They then cling onto that riff as if it's a matter of life and death, repeating it until tranceternity while enriching it with various electronic bits and bytes, pinch harmonics and what not. And you see, Pazuzu also took great care in blending each song in with the next, which has resulted in an album that has to be listened to from start to finish. That's not exactly an arduous task, once you've pressed play you'll have reached the end of "Kerettiläinen Vuohi" before you even realize what has happened. Pazazu effortlessly creates fresh music, rarely shackled by Black metal's often cramped guidelines. Stretching them up with blues, prog, electronica, krautrock and psychedelic influences, and more, they occasionally turn into somewhat of an odd beast, but wherever they go, excellent musicianship and creative ideas are there too. While they are noticably rooted in second wave Black metal, they're eager to dwell in the occasional acid flashback, too.

It can get a bit insane at times, but everything's cool to hear and the entire record is drenched in a spacey vibe, what more can you ask for? Far out man! This is The Dude gone Black metal, man! And for some reason, it sounds like ninety minutes worth of music happens in forty-five real-time minutes. Houston, we've got a serious case of profilic songwriting on our hands here. Call it "Psychedelic Black metal", call it "Avant-garde Black metal" or call it "Cosmic Black metal". Whichever you favour, fact is, Pazuzu's Muukalainen Puhuu is something weird. Weird with a capital V, really.

-----
Even if it's my greatest desire to continue boring you with my mindless drivel, it has to end somewhere. Usually reviews end with a conclusion, so um, yeah... I guess umm... I should sorta... come up with a conclusion now?
-----

If you don't like your Black experimental, steer the hell clear of this one. But if this sort of thing does happen to tickle your fancy, you're probably in the record store already. Well, la distro l'interwebz, of course. It may not be the best Black metal out there, but something about Pazuzu just straight out rocks, man. Oh, and that's one motherfucking awesome album cover. Oranssi Pazuzu is watching you.

Oranssi Pazuzu is captain cool cruise control. I seriously dig these guys and their inventive style. A bewildered and chaotic review is the only thing that could do them justice. Hahaha, what a lame excuse for being a shitty reviewer and writer.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Oranssi Pazuzu
Album: Muukalainen Puhuu


 



Written on 19.10.2009 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 23  
Users visited: 286  
Search this topic:  


TheBigRossowski - 19.10.2009 at 21:05  
I just decided to click on the URL to see if anything was up in the news section. Never expected to see this though...I just had to sign in.

Once again, outstanding review, man! The Dude would be much obliged reading this as I am myself. You can't say the word ''weird'' enough when talking about this album.
silenius - 19.10.2009 at 22:21  
Gotta check this out, sounds like something that is gonna suit me just fine:D
Fat & Sassy! - 19.10.2009 at 22:34  
XD This review was very entertaining.
Baz Anderson - 20.10.2009 at 02:18  
I've randomly had this album a while. I remember it to be quite psychedelic indeed.
I'll have to give it another go soon.
Magatouve - 20.10.2009 at 03:08  
This is a hilarious review.... specially the mythology lesson. I gotta study that very well
Just to add a little piece of information about our friend here Pazuzu
Pazuzu, as Lucas pointed out earlier, is not all bad. He is a movie star too
I think you can guess it...

Yeah.. it's this amazing scary movie... THE EXORCIST...
Pazauzu is actually the demon who possessed the poor girl. He is the one who made her 'masturbate' with the crucifix ... "FUCK ME JESUS"... what a scene... it's really a scary kvlt....

Back to the Orange Pazuzu... they appear to be interesting, from their MySpace page. I like the mixture of raw blackness and the psychedelic touches... Good review
Jon - 20.10.2009 at 04:16  
Great review man. And i agree, VERY cool band
Derwood - 20.10.2009 at 04:19  
I've given this a few spins now and still can't decide if I really like it or not. It's certainly the most intriguing album I've encountered this year.
K†ulu - 20.10.2009 at 09:14  
Interesting music. By the end of the first listen I think started digging it. Also great for reading. And the last track is amazing.
Mr. Doctor - 20.10.2009 at 17:19  
Quote:
But if this sort of thing does happen to tickle your fancy, you're probably in the record store already. Well, la distro l'interwebz, of course


Hhahahaha This shit is so true. Right after lsitening to the myspace I checked the album in the internet and I found it only for 10 euro. That psycho astronaut will be here as soon as possible.

The music is just too fucking cool tbh. I can't describe it...
It. Just. Sounds. COOL.

Great review, what a band.... And the artwork is the shit.
Daggon - 23.10.2009 at 02:53  
Nices review, I think I'll listen to them soon... Oh shit, I forgot my homework
ylside - 23.10.2009 at 04:17  
Interesting.
destroyah - 28.10.2009 at 18:03  
Well written, sir! You definitely drew me in, gonna check this band out ASAP
Ag Fox - 29.10.2009 at 15:48  
It finally opened up to me on the third listen. Great album and thanks for bringing it up to the masses, Lucas
ylside - 01.11.2009 at 14:41  
Written by ylside on 23.10.2009 at 04:17

Interesting.


Very good album, I really liked it. Recommended !
bangladesh - 02.11.2009 at 23:53  
Good album! I realy like this sort of "spacial metal" like Blut aus nord, sun of the blind, etc.
BitterCOld - 04.11.2009 at 23:44  
Weird album. it's very relaxing, in an odd way. i like the groove of the bass in the undercurrent at points, while the guitars go all spacey and atmospheric.

i dig it.
Collin - 08.11.2009 at 16:34  
Yeah, it's a nice album. I especially like the two longest songs, when the band goes less black metal and more psychedelic and experimental, with the bass lines that remind me a little of St Vitus. I think it's where the band really shows a lot of talent.
Hamird - 16.02.2010 at 00:18  
Pazuzu was the that fellow who took part in Exorcist film, and fucked with Jason Miller and Max Von Sydow..
Album is nice by the way. I'm listening to it right now. It's nearly done, and it has impressed me already..
Visioneerie - 15.03.2010 at 22:12  
This album is just way too awesome. I love the balls and the creativity these guys have for taking BM and music in general a step further. Album of the year.
Maxx666 - 05.04.2010 at 22:06  
The atmosphere in this absolutely amazing album kinda reminds me of the swamps and ravines of the Vai'kesh Forest in Dungeon Siege2.
Brilliant album indeed!!!:thumbup:
Apothecary - 14.01.2012 at 00:03  
These guys are like a black metal version of Nocturnus or something... very unique, interesting band.
snake? snaaaake! - 22.01.2012 at 20:30  
Been listening to these guys for about a month or two now. "Korppi" really blew my mind. I don't remember having my mind blown like that since I discovered metal in the first place.
Mr. Doctor - 22.01.2012 at 23:25  
Written by snake? snaaaake! on 22.01.2012 at 20:30

Been listening to these guys for about a month or two now. "Korppi" really blew my mind. I don't remember having my mind blown like that since I discovered metal in the first place.


Aye, that was the first track I heard and it still blows me away.
Brilliant stuff.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Oranssi Pazuzu - Muukalainen Puhuu 7.5 06.10.2013 by mz
Reviews Oranssi Pazuzu - Kosmonument 5.5 30.11.2011 by malaikat
Reviews Oranssi Pazuzu - Valonielu 5.5 04.10.2013 by 3rdWorld
Albums Oranssi Pazuzu - Kosmonument 4.5 01.09.2011 by strade
News Oranssi Pazuzu - New Album Streaming In Full 4.5 04.10.2013 by Vombatus



Hits total: 7584 | This month: 92