Rating:
7.8
Mourning Dawn - For The Fallen...
18 May 2009


01. In Flanders Fields
02. God Damn The Sun
03. Sick
04. Epitaph
05. The Rivers Flow
06. For The Fallen
07. Dead Youth
08. Ashes


France's Black metal scene is still booming and blooming and new bands pop up seemingly every day. Mourning Dawn aren't exactly newcomers to the game, but with their post '00s birth date still a part of this Black metal revival, if we can call it that. Mourning Dawn and I have met before: with their self-titled debut album under their belt I saw them at the Dutch Doom Days VII and more recently at DelftDoom II – a few months after the release of their second album For The Fallen.... DelftDoom II saw a much tighter band for sure, so my expectations for the new album rose. And I was not disappointed.

It's not really hard to describe what these guys do. Their mixture of Black and Doom reminds of old Shining and old Forgotten Tomb with the sick guest vocals of Marquis to top it off. A massive iron wall complemented by wretched and deformed spikes, skewers and pegs. Not the prettiest sight, but a goddamn efficient tool after all. It's a plus that they don't rely solely on ugliness, the music gets a much sicker vibe from the dynamic tempos used. "God Damn The Sun" is a good example of this, the slow start and gradually increasing pace and tension result in a wicked symphony of hatred and madness. These guys understand constant hyper blasting does not equal intense music.

It's also not really hard to come up with a conclusion for For The Fallen. When the musicians are technically skilled, when the experience is there, when the band members known there classics and are capable of writing fresh music themselves, it is hard to come up with a bad album. For The Fallen may not be as good the originals, but it is a damn enticing piece nonetheless.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Mourning Dawn
Album: For The Fallen...


 



Written on 20.10.2009 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 88  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 20.10.2009 at 21:49  
Agreed. A really nice album and imo better than there self-titled debut.
Thanntos - 20.10.2009 at 22:43  
Good album, would give it a 7-7.5 though in terms of other doom released this year.
Marcel Hubregtse - 20.10.2009 at 22:51  
Written by Thanntos on 20.10.2009 at 22:43

Good album, would give it a 7-7.5 though in terms of other doom released this year.


Imo that would be a bit too low. I would rate it between 7.8 and 8.2 I think.

I prefer it to Ea II by far, but still ahevn't heard Arcana Coalestia aarrrggghhh
Thanntos - 21.10.2009 at 00:05  
Not just Arcana, but Mournful Congregation, Ahab, Procession, Process of Guilt, Altar of Oblivion, Longing for Dawn were all stronger imo.
O and Marcel, check out The Morningside too. Really awesome death doom with some Agalloch influence.
Also, this is the album that uses the exact same intro (the wind) as EA II's first song, which I find somewhat shocking and interesting...perhaps this is the origin of some of the mysterious EA band members?
Marcel Hubregtse - 21.10.2009 at 00:20  
Written by Thanntos on 21.10.2009 at 00:05

Not just Arcana, but Mournful Congregation, Ahab, Procession, Process of Guilt, Altar of Oblivion, Longing for Dawn were all stronger imo.
O and Marcel, check out The Morningside too. Really awesome death doom with some Agalloch influence.
Also, this is the album that uses the exact same intro (the wind) as EA II's first song, which I find somewhat shocking and interesting...perhaps this is the origin of some of the mysterious EA band members?


Oh I agree about Mournful CongregationC, Ahab, Procession, Process Of Guilt (best album of the year for me), being stronger still have to check Altar and Longing though, also Griftegard is stronger as is Candlemass and Profetus and Aathma and Unsilence and some others. By no means is Mourning Dawn in the top 10 for me, but I find it extremely enjoyable, and like I said a lot stronger than Ea II. All in all it has been great year for doom thus far.
Merchant of Doom - 22.10.2009 at 13:35  
I think it's a great album, much better than MC, Ahab or PoG... but then, as usual, it boils down to taste... and only 7.8?
Mr. Doctor - 22.10.2009 at 18:06  
I think the rating is good. I mean, the music is nice and all but definitely not as original and mindblowing as what process of Guilt and Ahab did on their albums.

Standing on it's own, the album is great indeed, but nothing way too awesome for my tastes.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Hallowed Butchery - Funeral Rites For The Living 6 29.08.2009 by gid
Reviews Ash Pool - For Which He Plies The Lash 6 05.09.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Dark Covenant - Eulogies For The Fallen 5.5 05.04.2012 by Merchant of Doom
Reviews Mourning Beloveth - A Disease For The Ages 5.5 27.05.2008 by Collin
News Mourning Beloveth - Touring Europe With Longing For Dawn 5 09.03.2009 by Marcel Hubregtse



Hits total: 4378 | This month: 61