Hypocrisy - A Taste Of Extreme Divinity review



Reviewer:
8.0

383 users:
8.29
Band: Hypocrisy
Album: A Taste Of Extreme Divinity
Release date: October 2009


01. Valley Of The Damned
02. Hang Him High
03. Solar Empire
04. Weed Out The Weak
05. No Tomorrow
06. Global Domination
07. Taste The Extreme Divinity
08. Alive
09. The Quest
10. Tamed (Filled With Fear)
11. Sky Is Falling Down
12. The Sinner [digipack bonus]


It may come to some surprise just how prolific Hypocrisy have been over the years. For all the experience Peter Tägtgren has playing in bands and producing albums, it may however not come as a surprise that this latest instalment from the Swedish death metallers is another neatly packaged pillar of professionally performed modern metal.

In times where death metal can often be regarded as a battle of the fastest drummers, Hypocrisy do things their own way by pacing themselves with crunching songs of modest pace. A Taste Of Extreme Divinity is an album that doesn't blow all its energy in the first few songs, but rather keep a consistent flow of quality crushers.

There's no mistaking that this is a death metal album, but Hypocrisy throw a bucket-load of melody on top of it all. A Taste Of Extreme Divinity bears all the hallmarks of a modern death metal album from the infectious melodic side to the clean and crisp production allowing the listener to fully appreciate each element of the band, perhaps however at the expense of any atmosphere or feeling the album may have conjured.

What the production does more than anything though, is make the guitars sound so menacing and evil, and at the same time heavy as hell. Title track "A Taste Of Extreme Divinity" shows off the intimidating guitar sound in one of the albums faster tracks, but pounder "Hang Him High" takes the gold medal for heaviness and will no doubt stand up to be one of the band's classics. Horgh from Immortal doesn't go unnoticed sat behind the drum kit either, bringing his distinguishable style and sound to Hypocrisy. Most apparent is during the slower, more melodic "Solar Empire", which under different circumstances could even be passed off as work of the Norwegian black metallers themselves.

Hypocrisy know what they are doing and don't beat around the bush to get it done. A Taste Of Extreme Divinity is a water-tight release of solid modern death metal sure to please all concerned. The melodic elements and slower tempo of some songs may aid and abet the dispersal of some of the hard-worked energy the speedier songs created, but more often than not there will be pounding double bass drums and something with a bit more bite around the next corner.

Nothing mind-blowing, nothing terrible. A Taste Of Extreme Divinity is another offering of value and worth in the Hypocrisy catalogue that is sure to be a popular hit as an album of the times.

-

Melodic Death metal
Nuclear Blast
Sweden
Length: 50:05


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 22.10.2009 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 39   Visited by: 502 users
03.11.2009 - 08:44
Metalbound7
Valley Of The Damn, No Tomorrow and Solar Empire are my favorites so far, But The Whole album is Amazing, probably a future classic . BTW wtf with Conservationist? the dude said it sould like, hardcore and metalcore?... hahahah this guy just make my day.
Loading...
08.11.2009 - 19:17
terrorist
Man this albums is great.I'am not a big fan of Hypocrisy but this album is verry good.I've noticed that they are always changing their style,not whole of it but this album is more melodic and it has thrash elements.Definitley 9 for me.
----
Will the ones who live after our end
Worship the goddamn cross again?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hnlG0h7YN_8&feature=related
Loading...
11.11.2009 - 13:26
terrorist
Metal core hm....no.Melodic death metal definitely.
----
Will the ones who live after our end
Worship the goddamn cross again?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hnlG0h7YN_8&feature=related
Loading...
16.11.2009 - 22:03
Jason W.
Razorbliss
Written by Guest on 01.11.2009 at 05:46

Hypocrisy used to be my favourite band back in the years (you can even see how much I suck their dick in the thread I started about them), but after passing more than one year without listening to them I downloaded this album and found it extremely unispired, with bad lyrics, boring, middle-of-the-road....

Yes, exactly my thoughts as well regarding the new album. A least the last album had a few tracks that I feel were of high quality, but this time around, not so much. I miss the innovation.
----
"After silence that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music." - Aldous Huxley
Loading...
05.01.2010 - 05:10
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Baz practically write reviews about every popular album of 2009. All Shall Fall, Days of Greys, From Afar, Necropolis, Evangelion... now this one. Nice dude

And this one is like you said, nothing ground-breaking, nothing horrible. A nice melodeath album
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
08.01.2010 - 16:59
Syk
myspace/bonerama
Written by Uirapuru on 05.01.2010 at 05:10
Baz practically write reviews about every popular album of 2009. All Shall Fall, Days of Greys, From Afar, Necropolis, Evangelion... now this one. Nice dude
Blame it on the label: ../../bands/index.php?b_where=p.label&b_what=Nuclear+Blast
----
death thrash death/doom/prog Hail Zoldon!

he's not the kind you have to wind up on Sundays
Loading...
24.02.2012 - 17:47
DeathGhoul5656
Hypocrisy is the best band in the world
Loading...
25.02.2012 - 03:29
WorpeX
Written by Mr.Wilson on 31.10.2009 at 17:34

This guy is actually a reviewer from some website, and he writes like he knows what he is talking about, that what makes it so funny..LOL..metalcore dude?...seriously?..

i think this album is very enjoyable, it's simple and complex at the same time, that's the peter's way:), some of you are tired of the alien inspired lyrics, but i think is a must have in the concept that is Hypocrisy, peter is fascinated by aliens, and i think he enjoys a lot to write about it, it's part of what hypocrisy is, it's like we ask Nile not to write lyrics about Egyptian themes. the songs are not all about aliens, they mainly focus in religion.

for example: "There is a new religion coming around the bend

And it's called fuck you" how cool is this?...peter rocks:)

my favorite songs are Global Domination and Weed out The Weak


Love those lyrics and I love those songs too! Just gotta add Hang Him High to that list and those are my favorites.
Loading...
26.02.2012 - 13:45
Coconut Racecar
I found that 'Alive' was one of the better tracks, but i also have a habit of appreciating the less popular songs. either way, this is a solid album and i honestly would have to rate it among my favorite releases from Hypocrisy.
Loading...

Hits total: 11784 | This month: 25