Rating:
8.0
Redemption - Snowfall On Judgment Day
28 September 2009


01. Peel
02. Walls
03. Leviathan Rising
04. Black And White World
05. Unformed
06. Keep Breathing
07. Another Day Dies [feat. James LaBrie]
08. What Will You Say
09. Fistful Of Sand
10. Love Kills Us All / Life In One Day


I remember that I discovered Redemption with their second album The Fullness Of Time. It was probably one of the best surprises for me, and one of my favorite albums since that day. After a really good third release, the Americans are back with their new baby, Snowfall On Judgment Day. One more time the band confirms that they're among the best progressive Metal act and if you still don't know them, I will ask you to check this release to finally discover a really nice band.

Snowfall On Judgment Day features ten long complex songs. This is pure classic Prog Metal with all the ingredients that you want to hear when you listen to such kind of music. Nice clean vocals, powerful riffs but with a lot of variation, complex guitars and keyboards solos and of course a ton of breaks and several orientations in each tracks. The music flirts with Power Metal but the melodies are definitely not "happy" and at the opposite there is a certain melancholy in this release. Snowfall On Judgment Day is dark actually, not extreme, "gothic" or whatever else but when I listen to this release I don't have the feeling that I'm listening to something which will make me smile. You know what? I like to listen to this kind of Prog and the great thing with Snowfall On Judgment Day is that you will not be bored by this album or have the feeling that this guys try to give some music lessons. This is just good songs from the beginning to the end and it simply works despite a certain lacks of originality.

The production is solid and the performance of ALL the musicians and singer is just perfect. One more time the voice of Ray Alder fits perfectly to the music. This is emotive without being too "nice", his voice is deep and never monotonous. He is what I call a great singer. But the other members don't have to be ashamed of their work, the solos, guitars like keyboards are perfectly done and extremely technical without being pompous, and the bass and drums are two real metronomes but don't forget to have complex arrangements. Even the cover art looks cool actually, the only problem with this album is that Redemption doesn't do propose anything new. This is classic US Prog a la Dream Theater (without being a clone don't worry) and even if after all it's probably better to do classic Prog in a good way than in a bad way it's a bit sad too that Redemption cannot be more surprising. I like the music of Snowfall On Judgment Day but well a lot of other bands found a way to propose something else lately and I think that Redemption could do it too without any problem and that's a bit frustrating.

Ok, Snowfall On Judgment Day is not so surprising in the end. I mean that all the people who liked the previous albums and know the band will not discover something else this time. But still, Redemption is not disappointing and it seems that these guys remain in the category of the bands which only do solid music and cannot disappoint their fans. Snowfall On Judgment Day is a really good album of powerful Prog Metal, intelligent, technical without being indigestible. Now I hope that metalheads will finally understand that Redemption must be considerate like one of the main progressive act and I hope too that Redemptionwill understand that we believe in the capacity to kick our asses with something a bit more "crazy". They can do it to finally be in the top 5 of the best Progressive bands!

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 9


Band profile: Redemption
Album: Snowfall On Judgment Day


 


written by Jeff | 02.11.2009



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 212  
Search this topic:  


annodomini - 03.11.2009 at 10:27  
Very good review, Jeff. I had high expectations for this album, and it could become a great masterpiece, but the songwriting ruined it. It just had to be better.
Promonex - 03.11.2009 at 13:20  
"The Origins of Ruin" is one my fav prog albums, especially because of the divine "Memory." Actually half of that album consisted of standout songs. Somehow this album however lacks those killer songs. Or at least I haven't really noticed any after five spins. A very good album nonetheless, but not good enough to justify the "brilliant" tag. Fair rating and good review.
Ag Fox - 03.11.2009 at 14:41  
Written by Promonex on 03.11.2009 at 13:20

"The Origins of Ruin" is one my fav prog albums, especially because of the divine "Memory." Actually half of that album consisted of standout songs. Somehow this album however lacks those killer songs. Or at least I haven't really noticed any after five spins. A very good album nonetheless, but not good enough to justify the "brilliant" tag. Fair rating and good review.
totally agree. In fact, I was listening to "The Origins Of Ruin" last night and had the exact same feeling
opeth771 - 03.11.2009 at 22:17  
I don't understand the low reviewsas I consider this album one of the best of all times, any genre confounded... Love Kills us all/Life in one day is a masterpiece! This should be at least a 9.0/10
Valaskjalf - 04.11.2009 at 15:25  
Thanks for the review, for some reason I havent heard of them before your review even though prog metal is probably one of my favourite genres lol So i check the album out and its good, musically its pretty good and like most good prog bands they have more than enough skill on their intruments so in that regard its very impressive...my only gripe is that the songs never really reach the great heights one would expect (when I compare the "epicness" of some albums such as most of the Symphony X albums, "Waiting in the Wings" by Seventh Wonder, "Isolate" of Circus Maximus and the incredible "When Time Fades" by Suspyre....and some others."

Its a good album but there seems to be an opportunity lost to where the songs dont seem to reach their full potential and a bit of "sameness" to the songs - no real killer choruses that make you wanna go wild. It starts off good and carries through on the same level so prob around 7.5/10 from me. Thanks for the review btw, will check out their older stuff as well...
opeth771 - 04.11.2009 at 20:58  
Valaskjalf: I am a Symphony X fan too. Before you judge Redemption, please at least give "The Origins Of Ruins" and "The Fulness Of Time" at listen because they are masterpieces!
Valaskjalf - 05.11.2009 at 15:15  
Written by opeth771 on 04.11.2009 at 20:58

Valaskjalf: I am a Symphony X fan too. Before you judge Redemption, please at least give "The Origins Of Ruins" and "The Fulness Of Time" at listen because they are masterpieces!


yeah dont worry Ive already started trying to get hold of "The Origins Of Ruins", I saw a few people suggest this instead of the new one so I will try to give it a listen
JohnDoe - 05.11.2009 at 17:11  
I enjoyed the last Redemption album a lot, it's catchy yet complex, great musicianship and Ray Adler's vocal performance is amazing, to me at least. In fact I like it more than Dream theater's last album.

I wish Adler and Matheos would get together and work on a Fates Warning, get Joey Vera and Mark Zonder, maybe get Kevin Moore to help with the keyboards, that would be great. I don't think it would happen any time soon though because Ray is successful with Redemption and Matheos with OSI. But hey, I'm hopeful.
BloodTears - 05.11.2009 at 18:39  
I have this album. Never heard of this band before but I'm gona check it out.
Nicko's Nose - 15.11.2009 at 09:23  
It's awesome! Deserves atleast 9.
opeth771 - 26.12.2009 at 05:52  
One of the best songs of all times is in this album: Love Kills Us All / Life In One Day
GT - 30.12.2009 at 11:10  
A good review as always Jeff. I like you really like this album, but yes it's not anything new or groundbreaking. It's just solid prog the way it should be. It lacks those killer songs as Promo said, but the overall quality is certainly there
Powerslavex - 06.09.2010 at 16:43  
Just got my hands on it, cant wait to give it a try
Powerslavex - 10.09.2010 at 03:47  
Jeez what an album 9/10 well now i have get the other 2 albums

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Redemption - Snowfall On Judgment Day 7.5 07.02.2010 by Daggon
Reviews Redemption - The Fullness Of Time 6 23.10.2006 by JohnDoe
Reviews Walls Of Jericho - Redemption 4.5 29.04.2008 by BestMetalstormer
Reviews Anorexia Nervosa - Redemption Process 4.5 19.11.2006 by
Reviews Tangaroa - Day 4.5 07.02.2007 by Black_Handed



Hits total: 5764 | This month: 21