Rating:
9.0
Jesu - Opiate Sun [EP]
27 October 2009


01. Losing Streak
02. Opiate Sun
03. Deflated
04. Morning Light


A couple years ago, a lover of big bottoms, Justin Timberlake, decided he was "bringing sexy back."

In the fall of 2009, another lover of big bottoms, Justin Broadrick, decided he was bringing the low end back.

Before you get too excited and run screaming to the nearest record store (or your favorite illegal download site) thinking this EP is Streetcleaner MMIX, get a hold of yourself.

Opiate Sun has the clean, subdued vocals, all the sustained chords allowing washes of feedback, and clean guitar tones rest atop the wash providing additional atmosphere and adding the dream-like quality that is familiar to anyone who has picked up anything the band has done since the self-titled release back in '04.

The difference between this and the couple previous Jesu EP's (and Conqueror) is that this time it seems like Justin stumbled onto some of his old Godflesh-era gear while cleaning out the garage one dreary afternoon and decided to lug it into the studio with him for his next recording session.

Underneath those aforementioned melancholic-yet-dreamy elements lies a dark undercurrent. The drums/percussion have been ramped up in depth and intensity and, just under the wash of noise and feedback, there are actual riffs reminiscent of the Godflesh years.

Frankly, it's the best of both worlds and amongst Justin's best work.

If you are a fan of Justin's various works, I now give you permission to run screaming to the nearest record store and pick it upů and if anyone gets in your way, elbow them in the melon.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 10


Band profile: Jesu
Album: Opiate Sun


 



Written on 05.11.2009 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 187  
Search this topic:  


Visioneerie - 06.11.2009 at 06:38  
Short but descriptive review. I'm on to this, but I won't break into my record store while it's closed... not for an EP.
Lamahe - 06.11.2009 at 11:52  
Somehow I miss more general info (for ex. wich subgenre Jesu belongs to)...I know I can find it somewhere else, but as whol ereview is based on comparation with previous Jesu work, it's good to include for someone like me who's not familiar with the band so I don't need to browse through some other sites
BitterCOld - 06.11.2009 at 18:39  
Written by Lamahe on 06.11.2009 at 11:52

Somehow I miss more general info (for ex. wich subgenre Jesu belongs to)...I know I can find it somewhere else, but as whol ereview is based on comparation with previous Jesu work, it's good to include for someone like me who's not familiar with the band so I don't need to browse through some other sites


in reviewing it i did make the assumption that people would likely be somewhat familiar with Jesu. probably not a good move on my part, in retrospect.

Jesu is post-rock/post-metal with both industrial and shoegaze influences, although apparently Justin sat behind the kit for this rather than using a drum machine.
Lamahe - 07.11.2009 at 00:38  
Written by BitterCOld on 06.11.2009 at 18:39

Written by Lamahe on 06.11.2009 at 11:52

Somehow I miss more general info (for ex. wich subgenre Jesu belongs to)...I know I can find it somewhere else, but as whol ereview is based on comparation with previous Jesu work, it's good to include for someone like me who's not familiar with the band so I don't need to browse through some other sites


in reviewing it i did make the assumption that people would likely be somewhat familiar with Jesu. probably not a good move on my part, in retrospect.

Jesu is post-rock/post-metal with both industrial and shoegaze influences, although apparently Justin sat behind the kit for this rather than using a drum machine.


Thanks a lot! Now the review makes more sense to me, I think I will try this out!
LeChron James - 07.11.2009 at 11:20  
Doesnt approve of the beginning of this review. timberlake and justin broadrick shouldnt even be mentioned in the same state together, much less the same article
BudDa - 09.11.2009 at 14:05  
This is my first encounter with the band. Opiate is dreamy, slow and melancholy. This would probably depend on the mood with which u listen to this album. i like it though and an EP is great coz its just 4 songs which is perfect. I can't imagine sitting through an entire album of this. Neither do I have the discipline to do so..
PJFilth - 10.11.2009 at 09:46  
Jesu never disappoints. I own everything they have created, and it's all great. The earlier albums were more doom sounding, but somewhere along the lines - it became happier doom. This EP is excellent.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Jesu - Ascension 6 30.06.2011 by Ag Fox
Albums Jesu - Sun Down/Sun Rise [EP] 4.5 04.03.2012 by musicalkaratekid
Reviews Absentia - Our Bleeding Sun 4.5 08.01.2012 by NocturnalStalker
Reviews 40 Watt Sun - The Inside Room 4.5 21.04.2011 by Mikyz
Reviews Indian - Guiltless 3 07.06.2011 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 5353 | This month: 50