Rating:
N/A
Sonic Syndicate - Rebellion [EP]
6 November 2009


01. Burn This City
02. Rebellion In Nightmareland
03. Burn This City [radio edit]


How close can metal get to pop music? According to Sonic Syndicate, very. Rebellion is a short EP released to showcase the band's new singer, a Mr Nathan Biggs from Shrewsbury, England. Excitement is high in the band as they comment that Nathan is the best thing to happen to the band since distorted guitars.

This EP includes two new songs; sugary "Burn This City" and generic "Rebellion In Nightmareland". It is fair to say that if Sonic Syndicate were your kind of thing, they probably still will be, but this band aren't going to gather any new following over the age of 14 with these songs.

The songs are performed well and presented to the listener perfectly, "Burn This City" especially however has such a sweet chorus that you don't know whether to shudder and turn away slowly or embrace the teenager within and pull out some pink pom-poms. It is very catchy and very radio-friendly, and Sonic Syndicate know this. This band has the archetypal sound that is the face of commercial metal today. Screams and growls accompanied by those sickly sweet clean vocals in the chorus, the rest of the band playing some form of mildly up-tempo metal as lackadaisically as music can be played in the background.

No, this doesn't have the spirit of metal, but what it does have is marketability. We should be praising bands like these for bringing the younger audiences in to metal, but at the same time just look at what it is turning our "metal" in to.

-

Gothenburg metal
Nuclear Blast
Sweden
Length: 11:21


Band profile: Sonic Syndicate
Album: Rebellion


 



Written on 06.11.2009 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 227  
Search this topic:  


FeskarN - 06.11.2009 at 19:16  
"Burn This City" is the worst song ever by Sonic syndicate. Chorus is so popish..Can't stand it. Lame guitar work & just keyboards and vocals are doing the melodies. That's so boring. Seems like they will never return to the "old sound" :/
Fat & Sassy! - 06.11.2009 at 23:19  
Written by FeskarN on 06.11.2009 at 19:16

Lame guitar work & just keyboards and vocals are doing the melodies. That's so boring.


Yeah. This is my biggest beef about most mainstream rock/metal. Just because it's easier to put a melody over stupid guitar distortion (instead of interesting guitar riffs and melodies) doesn't give these bands an excuse to be lazy assholes and do it.

"We should be praising bands like these for bringing the younger audiences in to metal"

I'm not so sure about that. I think bands like Iron Maiden are still doing a fine job at being accessible and appealing to younger audiences. :/
METAL! - 06.11.2009 at 23:57  
Quote:
Written by FeskarN on 06.11.2009 at 19:16


"We should be praising bands like these for bringing the younger audiences in to metal"

I'm not so sure about that. I think bands like Iron Maiden are still doing a fine job at being accessible and appealing to younger audiences. :/



x2
FRIENDSHIP - 06.11.2009 at 23:59  
WHAT ARE THEY DOING? Are they trying to pick up Good Charlotte fans? This sounds icky, and definitely insincere.
K†ulu - 07.11.2009 at 01:36  
"Nathan is the best thing to happen to the band since distorted guitars." - classic. Not checking this EP by the way (duh).
Shadowcross - 07.11.2009 at 12:07  
'We should be praising bands like these for bringing the younger audiences in to metal, but at the same time just look at what it is turning our "metal" in to.'
Sickening! Their last record sucked!
Legendary - 07.11.2009 at 18:48  
It's true that Burn This City is a bit too poppish, but Rebellion in Nightmareland still is a great song, just like all the older Sonic Syndicate songs, its just sad how people are always looking for ways to whine on bands like these that use clean vocals and have some commercial succes, especially when they probably haven't even listened to their music.....
Metal Maiden - 07.11.2009 at 19:17  
OK, I can put up with their crappy music, 'cuz I couldn't really care less about them, being the disgrace they are for Sweden, however, what I can't put up with, is the wise guy who thought that they play Gothenburg...I mean, wtf!!?The fact they sound like recent Soilwork and In Flames does NOT make them Gothenburg at all...
Aladin - 08.11.2009 at 10:10  
This EP is bad... REALLY BAD...
That's all I can say.
Mr. Doctor - 08.11.2009 at 15:20  
Aaaaaaarrrrrrghhh, the chorus of Burning This City is SOOOOOOOOO bad. It rapes my erar to a whole new level. I can't believe people as old as me hear this stuff, even a ten year old could understand how cheesy this shit is.
silenius - 08.11.2009 at 19:00  
To call this...thing metal is a disgrace.
Întunecatul - 22.12.2009 at 20:31  
Damn,and I liked this band,now I don't like their new sound ...wtf man...I'll stick to their old stuff ...oh and by the way,the music video to "burn this city" is just stupid IMO
Thor arise - 26.12.2009 at 18:09  
I saw them live(one of the opening bands) they were horrible!!! And so are their albums!!!! Just listen to the songs...they all sound the same!!! This band is a disgrace to metal!!
shine - 13.01.2010 at 21:01  
I like Power Shift and some other stuff on their album "Love and other Disasters". The new singer and song is too lame, sorry!
Burning Winter - 14.01.2010 at 22:26  
This is like listening to pop... but with some growls... -_-

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Sonic Syndicate - Rebellion [EP] 6 25.03.2010 by Justicelust
Reviews Rebellion - Miklagard: The History Of Vikings Part II 6 29.07.2007 by
Reviews Aborted - Slaughter & Apparatus: A Methodical Overture 4.5 01.03.2007 by Herzebeth
Reviews Oakenshield - Gylfaginning Demo 4.5 04.06.2007 by GT
Reviews Ensiferum - Unsung Heroes 4.5 27.08.2012 by Loathera



Hits total: 4798 | This month: 1