Rating:
9.3
Slayer - Show No Mercy
3 December 1983


01. Evil Has No Boundaries
02. The Antichrist
03. Die By The Sword
04. Fight Till Death
05. Metal Storm/Face The Slayer
06. Black Magic
07. Tormentor
08. The Final Command
09. Crionics
10. Show No Mercy
11. Haunting The Chapel [1987 re-issue bonus]
12. Captor Of Sin [1987 re-issue bonus]
13. Chemical Warfare [1987 re-issue bonus]
14. Aggressive Perfector [1994 re-release bonus]
15. Chemical Warfare [1994 re-release bonus]
16. Aggressive Perfector [vinyl & 1983 cassette bonus]


Slayer have become one of the most respected bands in the metal scene by the fans and their peers. They've just released their eleventh studio album, World Painted Blood, and show no sign of stopping. This relentless career started back in 1983 with an album titled Show No Mercy, and it did exactly what it said on the cover.

Show No Mercy is a one off in the career of the band, its sound is nothing like anything else they have done and can be seen as a transcendent passage from heavy metal to thrash. The album is packed with NWOBHM inspired riffs and Araya often pulls out high pitched screams that are not normally associated with the thrash scene. What differences this from the conventional heavy metal of the early 80s is the faster paced more aggressive style with which Slayer play. Venom and Diamond Head had done this before but Slayer took it to whole new levels. The band's characteristic sound was not yet found but Show No Mercy is not to be ignored by any means.

It contains songs that have become classics and fan favourites, such as "Die By the Sword", "Black Magic" or "Fight Til' Death"... But the album doesn't just contain a couple of decent tracks; it is a well worked ensemble which is probably overlooked because of the success and strength of the bands later material. I'd add a special mention for "Tormentor" which is my all time favourite Slayer song that, I also find best sums up the album's spirit.

Show No Mercy is without doubt my favourite Slayer album, why? Probably because of the 80s feel it has, which to some may make the record seem slightly outdated. However, the digitally remastered version, released in 2004, brings the sound slightly more up to date, and helps to fully appreciate the talent and effort put into the music.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 8


Band profile: Slayer
Album: Show No Mercy


 


written by Haddonfield | 16.11.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Clintagram

Rating:
8.4
"Blasting our way through the boundaries of hell, no one can stop us tonight..."

Slayer, the now legendary Thrash act that needs no introduction, has been putting out fairly consistent music for over 25 years. However, the old farts we know as kings of thrash these days, started somewhere in time, and that's where this album comes into play.

Read more ››
published 29.03.2008 | Comments (12)

Guest review by
Stuart

Rating:
7.5
San Francisco and Los Angeles must have been an exciting places to live in the early 80's. Thrash Metal was in its formative years and the scene was absolutely massive in the Bay Area and LA. Great bands were coming out of every dark corner and none more so than LA based ex-Deep Purple cover band Slayer.

The main difference between Slayer and the other bands in the scene was that from the very beginning they were covered in satanic imagery and mysticism which made them stand out from the crowd but also alienated them from ever achieving superstar status. Controversial from the start, Slayer released their debut "Show No Mercy" in 1983 on new label, Metal Blade Records, who had already helped get Metallica noticed on a compilation released the previous year.

Read more ››
published 03.04.2008 | Comments (0)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 113  
Search this topic:  


Warlock84 - 16.11.2009 at 23:09  
Their newest album is called World Painted Blood
Haddonfield - 16.11.2009 at 23:11  
Yep, a mistake that should have been corrected. I'd just been speaking about World Painted Blood in PM's, for some reason I wrote Blood Painted Red, probably thinking about Blood Red when I wrote those words.
Ernis - 16.11.2009 at 23:43  
It's ok now...sorry for me being muddle-headed too....
Daggon - 17.11.2009 at 00:19  
As you said on my FB: Old skool!!!!
ponderer - 17.11.2009 at 02:35  
Since you are making corrections, your use of "differences" is wrong. What you want to use is something like, "what makes this cd different from..." or possibly "the main differences between this and..."

Just some suggestions. Good review of a classic man!
Haddonfield - 17.11.2009 at 02:40  
Written by ponderer on 17.11.2009 at 02:35

Since you are making corrections, your use of "differences" is wrong. What you want to use is something like, "what makes this cd different from..." or possibly "the main differences between this and..."

Just some suggestions. Good review of a classic man!


Yep. Well spotted, my writing's a bit rusty, people round here talk like that so if you don't keep on top on your writing, you wind up writing like people speak around you. I should have used distinguishes, if I wanted to use a verb directly.
ponderer - 17.11.2009 at 02:58  
Another good choice! I know what you mean about having your English polluted. I live in a foreign country and don't spend as much time as I'd like to speaking my native tongue
Syk - 17.11.2009 at 08:13  
The lost word is probably differentiates

No bonus tracks, huh? Is the remaster by Metal Blade?
Haddonfield - 17.11.2009 at 12:16  
Written by ponderer on 17.11.2009 at 02:58

Another good choice! I know what you mean about having your English polluted. I live in a foreign country and don't spend as much time as I'd like to speaking my native tongue


I do speak English all the time, but up in the North of England were people don't really speak English just a local dialect, The main problem is I don't watch much TV to so I don't hear any other English, and I'm picking it up which is killing me.
Haddonfield - 17.11.2009 at 12:18  
Written by Syk on 17.11.2009 at 08:13

The lost word is probably differentiates

No bonus tracks, huh? Is the remaster by Metal Blade?


Yep no bonus tracks, which I personnally like, it spoils the original album to me. And yep it was realised by Metal Blade with a cool Digipack though.
Koen Smits - 17.11.2009 at 17:30  
Good review for an excellent album.
I can't get enough of "The Antichrist"
bodomroy - 18.11.2009 at 15:37  
Good review. it's true that the guitar sound and composition is unique in slayer's career
Lord_Regnier - 22.11.2009 at 22:10  
Am I the only one who think the raw production of this album gives it a slight Black Metal-ish touch?

It's probably why it is my favorite Slayer album.
Mr. Doctor - 23.11.2009 at 17:15  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 22.11.2009 at 22:10

Am I the only one who think the raw production of this album gives it a slight Black Metal-ish touch?


Nah, you're not the only one, I also felt that when I was listening to the album the first time. It gives a touch that makes the album easy remember.

Although I would say that the rating is too high, I would probably give it a 8,0. My favorite Slayer cd is Hell awaits though. But I really like this one too.
Good review.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Slayer - Show No Mercy 7 12.02.2009 by Valentin B
Albums Slayer - Show No Mercy 6 15.02.2011 by Phantom Lord
News Slayer - North American Fall Tour Confirmed 3 05.09.2013 by mikeprado30
Albums Slayer - Hell Awaits 3 21.11.2011 by musicalkaratekid
Events GBR, London - All Day Zero Tolerance Xmas Show 1.5 14.10.2008 by Baz Anderson



Hits total: 4128 | This month: 51