Bandcamp music player

Rating:
N/A
To-Mera - Earthbound [EP]
24 October 2009


01. Mesmerised
02. Earthbound
03. Arcane Solace
04. Another World


To-Mera's music is generally not easily accessible. From the first demo To-Mera has required a considerable effort to get into the vibe. If you picture their music as a steep hill that's hard to climb on its own even when employing four-limb drive, it was made harder to grasp by someone throwing rocks at you from the top of the hill. It required a fair amount of concentration to listen to them. Now the band are back with the new EP called Earthbound.

From the first riffs you can hear that music sounds different. The steep hill is there alright but someone flinging rocks down at you has gone out to lunch. The music has calmed a bit, lost some of the edges and corners and become generally smoother. You can still find heavy riffs and changing song structures that have already become familiar on Transcendental and Delusions, and Julie's vocals still soar over the music making you navigate two changing currents at the same time when listening.

However, it's the calmer parts where you can hear the changes that have taken place in the line-up after Delusions was released. When I listened to Earthbound I was taken by surprise how good those calm parts sounded. Jazzy interludes have been previously present but they have been more like breathers in-between the turmoil. Those jumps are still there but more noticeable, smoother and maybe more prog rock like with a better blend of keyboards and guitars. The new keyboard player Richard Henshall has added quite a bit in general to the background keyboard sound.

I don't know where To-Mera are heading with their music. I don't think they know it themselves as this EP is more of an interlude to unload the ideas. However, I do like the current approach. Blending their generally harsh-toned music more with melodic elements from jazz/fusion and prog rock, elaborating more on such brief encounters of the past seems to unveil more of the band's musicianship and song-writing skills. Solo spots in "Earthbound" and "Arcane Solace" are just excellent.

In the end I want to say that there are times on Earthbound that To-Mera remind me of Estonian prog metal band called Echosilence and some elements on their MCD Distorted Horizons. Unfortunately, this will bear any real meaning mostly to Estonians. Both stuff is excellent, though.


Band profile: To-Mera
Album: Earthbound


 



Written on 22.11.2009 by
Ivor
I shoot people.

Sometimes, I also write about it.
More reviews by Ivor ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 143  
Search this topic:  


tea[m]ster - 23.11.2009 at 12:06  
I really like Delusions - the only release I have from this band - so I will have to check this out. Also, I have that EchoSilence cd Distorted Horizons and I think that one is brilliant...too bad they broke up!
Baz Anderson - 23.11.2009 at 16:12  
Who broke up, exactly?

Well I'm listening to "Arcane Solace" on the myspace and it does sound quite nice indeed. Actually, probably To-Mera at their best as far as I am concerned.
K†ulu - 23.11.2009 at 17:31  
Wow, great, articulate review. Checking this out ASAP. I didn't the new EP was on the way.
Ivor - 23.11.2009 at 20:33  
Written by tea[m]ster on 23.11.2009 at 12:06

I really like Delusions - the only release I have from this band - so I will have to check this out. Also, I have that EchoSilence cd Distorted Horizons and I think that one is brilliant...too bad they broke up!

It's actually pretty amazing that you have heard of Echosilence. They are good, no doubt there.

Written by Baz Anderson on 23.11.2009 at 16:12

Who broke up, exactly?

That goes for Echosilence.

I.
BudDa - 24.11.2009 at 06:28  
Dude, which lunch?! The guy is still there!! Only that this time, IMO, hes thrown down pebbles with less ferocity.lol. I like this release. Its easier to get into than the first two. I like your review too..
albatros - 24.11.2009 at 19:57  
Educating and skillfully written review. Thanks.
tea[m]ster - 25.11.2009 at 11:56  
Written by Ivor on 23.11.2009 at 20:33

Written by tea[m]ster on 23.11.2009 at 12:06

I really like Delusions - the only release I have from this band - so I will have to check this out. Also, I have that EchoSilence cd Distorted Horizons and I think that one is brilliant...too bad they broke up!

It's actually pretty amazing that you have heard of Echosilence. They are good, no doubt there.

Written by Baz Anderson on 23.11.2009 at 16:12

Who broke up, exactly?

That goes for Echosilence.

I.


Yea, I wish we could have seen more from EchoSilence. Their 4-track EP release was very promising!
dismaleuphony - 27.11.2009 at 09:08  
Definitely in agreement with your review here. The first thing I noticed was the immense changes the sound had with Richard's keyboard style; it's so different yet equally as interesting and it makes the music come at me with a new feel.

Julie's lyrics and her style have been a favorite of mine since the start (and with her old band Without Face) of To-Mera, and I'm still pondering the ideas she put into this EP. Also, I am impressed that Tom's style remains so consistent, even with a new production and the softer sound. I know it's him and the arrangements are so good. I think this EP will keep me occupied for quite awhile into next year

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews To-Mera - Delusions 6 18.02.2008 by Spyroid
Reviews To-Mera - Exile 6 04.11.2012 by Unhealer
Reviews To-Mera - Transcendental 6 01.11.2006 by Baz Anderson
Albums To-Mera - Earthbound 5 22.04.2011 by tea[m]ster
News To-Mera - Recording Finished; Keyboardist Leaves Band 3 02.10.2007 by Bad English



Hits total: 4578 | This month: 39