Rating:
7.0
Katatonia - Night Is The New Day
2 November 2009


01. Forsaker
02. The Longest Year
03. Idle Blood
04. Onward Into Battle
05. Liberation
06. The Promise Of Deceit
07. Nephilim
08. New Night
09. Inheritance
10. Day And Then The Shade
11. Departer
12. Ashen [Swedish & Special Tour Edition bonus]
13. Sold Heart [Special Tour Edition bonus]
14. Day And Then The Shade [Frank Default remix] [Special Tour Edition bonus]
15. Idle Blood [Linje 14] [Special Tour Edition bonus]


There has been a lot of buzz about the new album, Night is the New Day, by Katatonia and I honestly have to say that I was looking forward to this release. My first exposure to the band was their previous studio release, 2006's The Great Cold Distance, which enticed me more than a fat kid in a candy store. So naturally I was excited to hear another album from a band who had captured my attention a few years ago.

This album comes across as a mediocre and almost passé. Now before you all start hurling insults at me and informing me that I "don't know anything about music," just calm down. Katatonia has had the same line up for a decade now, and the majority of the band has been together for even longer than that. This situation brings both a positive and negative aspect with it: your musicianship becomes tighter and more solid but your creative juices begin to run dry. In all honesty, I think this is what has happened here.

Night is the New Day features that familiar moody and Gothic feel that the band has been focusing on for a while. The hypnotic melodic atmospheres of this album are driven by some of the most beautiful guitar tones I've heard in a long time. The vocals are still haunting and convey a lost and hopeless feeling which blend great with the Massive Attack style of keyboards. The rhythm section is very solid with some very graceful and tasteful drumming throughout the album. Katatonia has proven to be an outfit that knows how to play as one solid unit.

On the downside, these songs just don't have the same impact that past material has had. The great hooks that subtlety wove in and out of darker passages are gone. Virtually none of the guitar riffs are memorable and the ones that are I feel like Opeth has already played them. Lyrically there is no depth; a bunch of depressive cliché lines about being sad coming across as a very smart and well crafted Emo album at times. The album is too depressive to be any fun but not haunting enough to be enjoyable.

If you are looking for a doomy-Gothic Metal album that is inspired by The Cure with a dash of Portishead, this is probably for you. Bets are that most of the Katatonia fans already have it or are planning on getting it, which is fine. This is a solid album with outstanding musicianship and production that would be a great asset for any fans collection. At the same time if you're not really big on the doom and gloom type music this probably isn't for you.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 8


Band profile: Katatonia
Album: Night Is The New Day


 



Written on 02.12.2009 by
Dane Train
Dane hails from Asheville, NC which is Beer City, USA. When he is not drinking various craft and micro brews, Dane fronts the Stoner Doom Metal band, The Quick. He also has a massive collection of Hellboy comic books.
More reviews by Dane Train ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2
Comments: 84  
Users visited: 486  
Search this topic:  


Ozman - 02.12.2009 at 23:21  
The first spot-on review of this album I have read. All others were praising it into high heaven whilst I had the exact same feelings about this one as you (apparently)
Ozman - 02.12.2009 at 23:21  
Oh btw, I do find it a slight imrpovement over theior previous one which totally bored me to tears and death.
TheCybershifter - 02.12.2009 at 23:25  
I think that this album in natural continuation of their previous album The Great Cold Distance... While I agree with you, that it isn't on the same level as mentioned previous album, I think it is not "too depressive to be any fun but not haunting enough to be enjoyable". It is true that album is not haunting but it is enjoyable because of other factors... I also think that their kind of "depressivness" cannot be compared to emo "depressivness", same as doom metal "depressivness" cannot be compared with emo or emo with grunge etc... But if this album is "based" on the style of the previous one, the next one will probably have to be something completly new if they want to stay fresh, so I also agree on the lack of originality but I wouldn't be that harsh. Expressed in numbers: 8.5 for me overall.
oroboros - 03.12.2009 at 10:13  
Nothing else needed to be said....i wanted to like the album..but something jus didnt feel right...now i knw wat it was..
Damned-In-Black - 03.12.2009 at 11:46  
Have to agree with Marcel - actually I was thinking the exact same words as I read the review - spot on. Particularly the first three paragraphs. My first impressions didn't entice me to listen repeatedly so I put it aside a week or two. Came back to it for a number of spins yesterday and today because they're one of my favourite bands, but repeated listening has only reinforced my initial impression.
THE_BLACK_GOD - 03.12.2009 at 13:54  
"depressive cliché" totally agree but I think even this album cant make you depress. its just a copy of recently albums but has a nice name a artwork. it has made me disapointed to be honest.
Ozman - 03.12.2009 at 14:54  
Written by Guest on 03.12.2009 at 13:22

So what i think is, that the problems people have with this record, are because of not understanging the soundscape of Katatonia or not playing it enough.


Why do people always assume that because someone finds an album meandering, boring etc. it is because they don't so-called understand the soundscapes or haven't played the album enough? Sorry, but there is nothing to understand about Katatonia's soundscapes cause they are extremely shallow and easy to grasp. And secondly... not having played the album enough? I have kept track and I have played the album 43 times now and imo it only gets more boring and meandering with each subsequent listen. My first impression was much more positive than the one I hold now.
Katatonia's music for me actually never was growing music at all. ALL of their albums can be fathomed within three listens at most. It isn't the most deep music around imo. Especially on their newer material they have grown more shallow than before.

The main problem with this album is that when I listen to all the tracks apart from each other they are very nice but when listening to the album as a whole it gets immensely boring. I wish they had released 13 singles of it instead of one album.
Mr. Doctor - 03.12.2009 at 17:20  
Written by Ozman on 02.12.2009 at 23:21

Oh btw, I do find it a slight imrpovement over theior previous one which totally bored me to tears and death.


I have a question... I actually liked the previous one quite a lot, while far from being one of the best it's still very enjoyable for me... So yeah, Do you think that I could like the new album? In what way it is an improvement?
Ozman - 03.12.2009 at 17:25  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.12.2009 at 17:20


I have a question... I actually liked the previous one quite a lot, while far from being one of the best it's still very enjoyable for me... So yeah, Do you think that I could like the new album? In what way it is an improvement?


Most people who like the previous one really like this one. This one is a little more varied (though only marginally and still borign as fuck imo) and has a darker atmosphere to it.
Mr. Doctor - 03.12.2009 at 17:31  
Written by Ozman on 03.12.2009 at 17:25

Most people who like the previous one really like this one. This one is a little more varied (though only marginally and still borign as fuck imo) and has a darker atmosphere to it.




Seems fair enough, and I'll be sure to get the Swedish version since I saw it at the store and it was a very nice package... Although I still believe it's a bad artowrk and they should've use the one with the moon ín the middle of the city.
White Metal - 03.12.2009 at 18:33  
Compared to the great cold distance , this one is lame , I agree with ur review and rating , well written and honest .
I'm really disappointed especially with all the hype that came before this one .
Jeff - 03.12.2009 at 19:11  
Finally one good review yes!

I'm a big Katatonia fan, all their period, but this album album is just average and boring. I'm sorry I don't understand how people praise it so much, really I can't understand.

And btw, Marcel, I didn't find the previous one so good at first but with time it was not so bad, this one is just so so nothing more.

@Mr Doctor: you should listen to all their albums before The Great Cold Distance, that's great really.
Sunioj - 03.12.2009 at 19:16  
This is album is a helluva lot better than their previous album. To be honest, I found this to be my favorite album of theirs and also to be very catchy in all aspects. Yeah, I was never huge on their prior - sue me.
MetalManic_Joel - 03.12.2009 at 20:36  
Written by Jeff on 03.12.2009 at 19:11

Finally one good review yes!

I'm a big Katatonia fan, all their period, but this album album is just average and boring. I'm sorry I don't understand how people praise it so much, really I can't understand.

And btw, Marcel, I didn't find the previous one so good at first but with time it was not so bad, this one is just so so nothing more.

@Mr Doctor: you should listen to all their albums before The Great Cold Distance, that's great really.

Vitriolic Hate - 03.12.2009 at 21:03  
It's just a good album nothing more nothing less & good review as well
Daniell - 03.12.2009 at 21:12  
Katatonia moves away from metal more and more with each new release. I think the metal genre was too narrow for them, and they want to expand their sound. "Night Is the New Day" is the expansion of their sound towards very enticing directions. Most songs are quite delicate, especially when one compares them to Katatonia's older releases. Heavy, distorted guitars are now one of the elements of Katatonia's sound, not the dominating part. And you know what, I don't miss them in songs like "Departer".
I love this album. And I find it really great that there are such varied reactions to it. There's more to this music than meets the ear.
finenecroshine - 03.12.2009 at 21:22  
A good review, really. Music is dull and completely uninspiring and this has been a boring and depressive metal year since it almost had no decent album for like 11 months. Awful. It's not the "metal" that lacks in here, it's the music itself. A 7? Yes, the right mark for this record.
Daniell - 03.12.2009 at 21:40  
In alphabetical order:
Ajattara, Arghoslent, Artillery, Behemoth, Candlemass, Dream Theater, Drudkh, Forsaken, Hollenthon, Immortal, Isole, Kalisia, Katatonia, Kreator, Mastodon, Megadeth, My Dying Bride, Procession, Samael, Slayer.
Plenty of good albums this year...
Pétur - 03.12.2009 at 22:10  
Written by Ozman on 03.12.2009 at 14:54

Written by Guest on 03.12.2009 at 13:22

So what i think is, that the problems people have with this record, are because of not understanging the soundscape of Katatonia or not playing it enough.


Why do people always assume that because someone finds an album meandering, boring etc. it is because they don't so-called understand the soundscapes or haven't played the album enough? Sorry, but there is nothing to understand about Katatonia's soundscapes cause they are extremely shallow and easy to grasp. And secondly... not having played the album enough? I have kept track and I have played the album 43 times now and imo it only gets more boring and meandering with each subsequent listen. My first impression was much more positive than the one I hold now.
Katatonia's music for me actually never was growing music at all. ALL of their albums can be fathomed within three listens at most. It isn't the most deep music around imo. Especially on their newer material they have grown more shallow than before.

The main problem with this album is that when I listen to all the tracks apart from each other they are very nice but when listening to the album as a whole it gets immensely boring. I wish they had released 13 singles of it instead of one album.


Check his very objective voting of Katatonia.
ioannisk - 03.12.2009 at 22:51  
You have pointed it very accurately...but still this band is much better than any other one you'll find out there, and this album has some really great songs. the previous one raised the barrier too high!!!so this is worse only by comparison...an 8/10 for me! songs like the longest year, idle blood, nephilim an onward to battle are majestic!!!
IronAngel - 04.12.2009 at 00:04  
For the most part, I agree with Dane. Well, I think this is an improvement from TGCD, which was just noisy and boring. This one has some good moments, like Nephilim, but it's overall rather undistinguished. It's a pretty nice album, but nowhere near their best work, or that of many other bands. It feels too neat and clean, with none of that emotional edge.
ravendeath - 04.12.2009 at 00:51  
I completely agree with Array! 10/10. Amazing piece of art. Please reviewers, if you don't understand this kind music or simply can't get into it don't write such shity reviews.
Damned-In-Black - 04.12.2009 at 01:35  
Written by ravendeath on 04.12.2009 at 00:51

I completely agree with Array! 10/10. Amazing piece of art. Please reviewers, if you don't understand this kind music or simply can't get into it don't write such shity reviews.

As the reviewer explained that they're a big fan of the previous album, which is essentially the same kind of music as this one - calling your comment ridiculous would be a fair assessment. As was noted earlier, music isn't usually all that difficult to 'get' - and Katatonia is not one of the exceptions to this rule. And I'm not calling them shallow. I'm a huge fan of the band and have been for years, but this is the first release of theirs that I'm not very fond of. It has nothing to do with being unable to understand their music, quite obviously.

@Pétur: Though that is probably a bit over the top, it is conceivable he considers all of their stuff to be that worthy - and if so there's nothing wrong with that. Also, voting should be (and is, no matter what you attempt) subjective, not objective.
dismaleuphony - 04.12.2009 at 06:31  
Smart review Dane, I'd give it an identical rating as well. "Liberation" is the only track I've cared for outside of a passing interest, though yeah, you're right, the musicianship is of high caliber. This disc is just not that interesting for me either in the end. All I hear is everything I expected to hear and nothing else, or new.
BudDa - 04.12.2009 at 06:46  
I felt the same way too the first time I spun this album. I found it boring, mundane and really not offering much to what Katatonia had already done. Probably coz I had very high expectations for "Night is the New Day" and also probably coz after listening to forsaker..I thot Katatonia could do no wrong..

I don't think this album offers anything new to Katatonia fans..but I felt the album is a good album none the less. It has great stand out individual tracks like the aformentioned forsaker, Onward into Battle and the opening of Day and then the Shade is engraved in my brain

I didn't find anything wrong with the lyrics. I thot they were a great fit to the album. Overrall I would give this record an 8
Fat & Sassy! - 04.12.2009 at 10:02  
The handful of songs I've heard by this band have sounded fairly generic to me... Like a sadder Breaking Benjamin. Is all their stuff like this? :/
Wes - 04.12.2009 at 13:08  
Seems like it's just different music.
I hated all previous Katatonia, yet I love Night is The New Day.

I DO NOT like emo, I don't like the cure either.
Mr. Doctor - 04.12.2009 at 13:37  
Written by Jeff on 03.12.2009 at 19:11

@Mr Doctor: you should listen to all their albums before The Great Cold Distance, that's great really.


I've listened to all their albums already. Except this one of course since I'm notreally into downloading, especially this kind of stuff that is too easy to buy..
enumaelis - 04.12.2009 at 16:45  
I think the 2 first songs are quite good, very in the vein of their previous, but from the 3rd it is getting a bit boring finally. While I am listening I am thinking "I have heard this before.. but it was like more inspired or Idk".
I realise that sometimes it is like a sacrilege for some people to say that an album of "typical well-considered" bands is not good or inspired, and many of those fans would say "you have no idea" or "you dont understand this music". This is simply the worst album Katatonia made in my opinion (and I LOVE The Great Cold Distance, just saying that to not to make a different idea about if I like more or less the old Katatonia).
So, mostly I agree with the review.
Slayer666 - 04.12.2009 at 17:25  
I can't say I agree so much with the rating (seeing as how a great number of medicore albums have much better grades), but the review is good. For me, this is their best since "Discouraged Ones", but it does suffer from inconsistancy. While some songs are just plain awesome, others are tiresome and boring.
Anyway, my rating would be around 8.0. I'd just love to see an album filled awesome songs such as "Forsaker".
Sunioj - 04.12.2009 at 19:02  
Written by Wes on 04.12.2009 at 13:08

Seems like it's just different music.
I hated all previous Katatonia, yet I love Night is The New Day.

I DO NOT like emo, I don't like the cure either.


I'm with you on that one.. even though I don't hate their previous stuff, this one just caught my attention a lot more.
Jeeers - 04.12.2009 at 20:29  
Not so good as previous album, but still a solid one. Yes, some songs are boring and some unoriginal, but rest are a little jewels in Katatonia musical history. At first I was dissapointed, but after some 10 listens I begin to like this one pretty much.
Renkses vocals are nice, but too monotone, he should think about changing intonation sometimes, maybe give faster pace to singing...
I liked his vocals in Discouraged Ones. And a little growling somwhere would be very welcome and fresh. C'mon, I know you can do it more agressive!!! Or else listening to their next album will put me to sleep, I'm afraid . I give it 8. (better 7,6)
Pétur - 05.12.2009 at 00:00  
I find it funny how the new Katatonia seems to get more hyped then the new Slayer.
Troy Killjoy - 05.12.2009 at 01:38  
Thank you for voicing my opinion on this. I couldn't explain for the life of me what I didn't enjoy about this album, and then I read it.

"...these songs just don't have the same impact that past material has had."
Azhidahak - 05.12.2009 at 17:19  
Ok Ive read the review and opinions in there, and I couldnt disagree MORE. Its not strange that not everyone likes it, after all people have different taste and opinion. But the thing is, you have to judge every album/music in its OWN category. For example, if you listen to a power metal album you have to compare it in its own category, you cant say its bad if youre not into POWER metal music in general.

It is VERY obvious to me that when people picked up this album they are comparing it with Katatonias older stuff and with other doom metal music. What people dont realize is that this album isnt even doom metal, and its definetely not gothic. Hell, Im not even sure if it even really is metal. Like another guy said, Katatonia has just moved on and have a new sound, you must compare it in their "new" category now, and I dont think many "metalfans" are into this kind of music and are judging and comparing this album in the wrong music category.

Its like you are going out to buy candy and you get a really good cheese instead, its maybe the best cheese ever but you say "this is not good candy"
pdepmcp - 06.12.2009 at 01:50  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.12.2009 at 17:20

Written by Ozman on 02.12.2009 at 23:21

Oh btw, I do find it a slight imrpovement over theior previous one which totally bored me to tears and death.


I have a question... I actually liked the previous one quite a lot, while far from being one of the best it's still very enjoyable for me... So yeah, Do you think that I could like the new album? In what way it is an improvement?


I personally feel no relation between TGCD and NITND. While the previous was the most metal-oriented work in years (and to me their worst album since their funeral-doom era ended), if you exclude 3-4 songs this one is not a metal album.
I feel this last one closer to TD/LFDGD era with many more orchestrations.

This release is at most an enjoyable album for "relaxing" moments and nothing more. And it's a bit boring too...
Azhidahak - 06.12.2009 at 06:26  
Some other reviews:

* Powerplay (10/10) - "…an inspiring, near-flawless metal tour-de-force that threatens to leave most of their competitors way behind and choking on their melancholic dust…"
* Guitarist (5/5) - "…the standard never drops from truly masterful…"
* Rocksound (9/10) - "…the Swedes have quite possibly penned their very own masterpiece here…"
* Terrorizer (8/10) - "…Night is the New Day fills the vast space opened by 'Distance'…"
* Metal Hammer (8/10) - "…If this album is the result of Katatonia confronting their inner demons, let's hope they never cheer up…"
* Ultimate Guitar (9/10) - "Katatonia return with one of their most complete and gratifying efforts yet…"
* Scratch The Surface (8/10) - "…it's a unique and intense set of songs…"
* One Metal (4.5/5) - "…Katatonia's finest work to date - an album staggering in both its ambition and its accessibility, showcasing beauty and despair in equal measure…"
* Thrash Hits (5/6) - "…Katatonia stand proud as one of the fore runners of the doom laced rock movement. Night Is The New Day delivers a blindingly good orchestrated soundscape. It is a perfect example showing how Jonas Renkse and Co not only helped define the genre but they also have a massive influence in shaping its forward movement…"
* Kerrang (3/5) - "…keeps a creative light burning throughout…"
* Shake N Stir (4/5) - "…It's nothing short of remarkable…"
Slayer666 - 06.12.2009 at 09:57  
Written by Pétur on 05.12.2009 at 00:00

I find it funny how the new Katatonia seems to get more hyped then the new Slayer.

Maybe it's because this one is something different, while Slayer is just same old-same old?
Damned-In-Black - 06.12.2009 at 11:11  
Written by Azhidahak on 05.12.2009 at 17:19

Ok Ive read the review and opinions in there, and I couldnt disagree MORE. Its not strange that not everyone likes it, after all people have different taste and opinion. But the thing is, you have to judge every album/music in its OWN category. For example, if you listen to a power metal album you have to compare it in its own category, you cant say its bad if youre not into POWER metal music in general.

It is VERY obvious to me that when people picked up this album they are comparing it with Katatonias older stuff and with other doom metal music. What people dont realize is that this album isnt even doom metal, and its definetely not gothic. Hell, Im not even sure if it even really is metal. Like another guy said, Katatonia has just moved on and have a new sound, you must compare it in their "new" category now, and I dont think many "metalfans" are into this kind of music and are judging and comparing this album in the wrong music category.

Its like you are going out to buy candy and you get a really good cheese instead, its maybe the best cheese ever but you say "this is not good candy"

The fact that something may be 'VERY obvious to you' doesn't make it any more true, I suppose. You said that all people have different taste and opinion. Good observation, and your post should have ended there.

You said the reviewer and subsequent comments are comparing the album with early Katatonia. The reviewer professed to having got into Katatonia relatively recently with The Great Cold Distance - which is as close in style to Night Is The New Day as one can possibly get, and thus is THE logical comparison. He didn't make any mention of their early material and it could well be that he has only heard two albums. Even if he has heard all their material, it didn't make an obvious impact on the review. What appeared as being so-called "very obvious" to you, was in fact imaginary, or vastly exaggerated. Same goes for the other comments. Comparisons with post-2000 Katatonia are all valid and I don't think anyone was comparing with anything earlier than that. Sure, they have progressed since then but not so much that you could mistake them as being a different band.

It was a mostly positive review with a fair score for what he considered to be an average to good album. I don't see the controversy there. No baseless or unjustified comparions were made.
Ozman - 06.12.2009 at 14:51  
Written by pdepmcp on 06.12.2009 at 01:50

Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.12.2009 at 17:20

Written by Ozman on 02.12.2009 at 23:21

Oh btw, I do find it a slight imrpovement over theior previous one which totally bored me to tears and death.


I have a question... I actually liked the previous one quite a lot, while far from being one of the best it's still very enjoyable for me... So yeah, Do you think that I could like the new album? In what way it is an improvement?

(and to me their worst album since their funeral-doom era ended),


Since when did Katatonia play funeral doom
Their really early work was either black/doom (Dance Of December Souls) or death/doom (Brave Murder Day) but nothing funeral doom about it and after Brave Murder Day they changed gradually into what they are now.
Azhidahak - 06.12.2009 at 16:15  
Written by Damned-In-Black on 06.12.2009 at 11:11




You said the reviewer and subsequent comments are comparing the album with early Katatonia. The reviewer professed to having got into Katatonia relatively recently with The Great Cold Distance - which is as close in style to Night Is The New Day as one can possibly get, and thus is THE logical comparison.


Hmmm, can you point to me exactly where I said that "the reviewer is comparing the album with early Katatonia"

I clearly said PEOPLE are doing this comparison and wasnt pointing at this reviewer in particular. In fact, I was mostly posting here because "some people" told me there were many comments here not so much because of the review and reviewer in particular.

As for the review in particular though, I respect his opinion, but Ive always had the belief (as Ive been reviewing a lot before myself also and written reviews for magazines) that you should never review a new album before youve listened to most of the bands earlier work (80-90% and not 1 out of 7 older albums) and done a lot of research and homework. So as soon as I saw he admitting he hasnt heard much of Katatonia before and he hasnt done his homework I didnt really put much more energy into the review itself (with all due respect)

This is something me and Marcel always used to discuss before
Slayer666 - 06.12.2009 at 23:14  
Written by Ozman on 06.12.2009 at 14:51

Written by pdepmcp on 06.12.2009 at 01:50

Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.12.2009 at 17:20

Written by Ozman on 02.12.2009 at 23:21

Oh btw, I do find it a slight imrpovement over theior previous one which totally bored me to tears and death.


I have a question... I actually liked the previous one quite a lot, while far from being one of the best it's still very enjoyable for me... So yeah, Do you think that I could like the new album? In what way it is an improvement?

(and to me their worst album since their funeral-doom era ended),


Since when did Katatonia play funeral doom
Their really early work was either black/doom (Dance Of December Souls) or death/doom (Brave Murder Day) but nothing funeral doom about it and after Brave Murder Day they changed gradually into what they are now.

So, tell me something, Маrcel. Since you are already on the subject (their early work), I'm curious about something. What do you think about "Sounds of Decay"? It's a somewhat... odd release, I think.
Damned-In-Black - 07.12.2009 at 00:53  
Written by Azhidahak on 06.12.2009 at 16:15

Written by Damned-In-Black on 06.12.2009 at 11:11

You said the reviewer and subsequent comments are comparing the album with early Katatonia. The reviewer professed to having got into Katatonia relatively recently with The Great Cold Distance - which is as close in style to Night Is The New Day as one can possibly get, and thus is THE logical comparison.


Hmmm, can you point to me exactly where I said that "the reviewer is comparing the album with early Katatonia"

I clearly said PEOPLE are doing this comparison and wasnt pointing at this reviewer in particular. In fact, I was mostly posting here because "some people" told me there were many comments here not so much because of the review and reviewer in particular.

As for the review in particular though, I respect his opinion, but Ive always had the belief (as Ive been reviewing a lot before myself also and written reviews for magazines) that you should never review a new album before youve listened to most of the bands earlier work (80-90% and not 1 out of 7 older albums) and done a lot of research and homework. So as soon as I saw he admitting he hasnt heard much of Katatonia before and he hasnt done his homework I didnt really put much more energy into the review itself (with all due respect)

This is something me and Marcel always used to discuss before

"Ok Ive read the review and opinions in there, and I couldnt disagree MORE". This indicated to me that the remainder of the sentence and paragraph were inclusive of both the review and the comments. And thus when you later said 'people' - it was natural to assume you were also referring to the reviewer as the point was a continuation of your previous one.

Also, it was an assumption on your part that the reviewer hasn't heard anything of earlier Katatonia (I did have this thought too, but thought little of it and now think it's incorrect). Having just read the review again I'm inclined to think now that he has done. This: "that familiar moody and Gothic feel that the band has been focusing on for a while." - among other comments would indicate he's familiar with more than just the one previous release.

Anyway, I still don't see where people are comparing the sound of Night Is The New Day to early Katatonia, either. These comments don't exist. A number of people referred to The Great Cold Distance, which is recent and valid. A couple mentioned Discouraged Ones, but not as a 'comparison'. No, I don't really get where you were coming from with your comments.
Ozman - 07.12.2009 at 07:49  
Written by Slayer666 on 06.12.2009 at 23:14


So, tell me something, Маrcel. Since you are already on the subject (their early work), I'm curious about something. What do you think about "Sounds of Decay"? It's a somewhat... odd release, I think.


Yes, imo it is an odd release as well. Clearly a transitional e.p. between Brave Murder Day and Discouraged Ones
Dangerboner - 07.12.2009 at 09:29  
I agree with the review. Night is the New Day serves as great background music, but I'd be bored to death if I focused all of my attention on this album. Still fairly decent overall I'd say
Mr. Doctor - 07.12.2009 at 16:37  
Written by Ozman on 07.12.2009 at 07:49

Yes, imo it is an odd release as well. Clearly a transitional e.p. between Brave Murder Day and Discouraged Ones


yeah... It really feels like they put the music from DO and the vocals and overall feeling of BMD. I still don't know if I really like it or don't
Dane Train - 07.12.2009 at 20:45  
@Damned-In-Black and Azhidahak

Let me just clear up a few things real quick for you:

It is true that I first heard Katataonia when Great Cold Distance came out. After I heard that album and really enjoyed it I bought all their other material, including live material and the DVD. I own their whole discography.
Slayer666 - 07.12.2009 at 20:53  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 07.12.2009 at 16:37

Written by Ozman on 07.12.2009 at 07:49

Yes, imo it is an odd release as well. Clearly a transitional e.p. between Brave Murder Day and Discouraged Ones


yeah... It really feels like they put the music from DO and the vocals and overall feeling of BMD. I still don't know if I really like it or don't

Well, I didn't after one listen or two. In fact, I was certian it was their crappiest ever. But it grew on me eventually. In fact, the song "Inside The Fall" is one of their best, alongside "Without God", "Palace of Frost", "Velvet Thorns", "Murder".....
pdepmcp - 07.12.2009 at 21:44  
Written by Ozman on 06.12.2009 at 14:51

Written by pdepmcp on 06.12.2009 at 01:50

Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.12.2009 at 17:20

Written by Ozman on 02.12.2009 at 23:21

Oh btw, I do find it a slight imrpovement over theior previous one which totally bored me to tears and death.


I have a question... I actually liked the previous one quite a lot, while far from being one of the best it's still very enjoyable for me... So yeah, Do you think that I could like the new album? In what way it is an improvement?

(and to me their worst album since their funeral-doom era ended),


Since when did Katatonia play funeral doom
Their really early work was either black/doom (Dance Of December Souls) or death/doom (Brave Murder Day) but nothing funeral doom about it and after Brave Murder Day they changed gradually into what they are now.


Ok, call it however you like, I'm probably wrong. I ment the first 2 releases. Brave murder day is indeed different and it's a great album.
Gradually? After Brave Murder Day they turned to gothic rock for 3 records with no "passage" (and almost no metal in them)...
Azhidahak - 08.12.2009 at 02:58  
Written by Dane Train on 07.12.2009 at 20:45

@Damned-In-Black and Azhidahak

Let me just clear up a few things real quick for you:

It is true that I first heard Katataonia when Great Cold Distance came out. After I heard that album and really enjoyed it I bought all their other material, including live material and the DVD. I own their whole discography.


Ahh ok thanks for clearing that up its a bit misleading otherwise when reading the review one can get the impression you are really new to this stuff/music. Its a good review however, in the end not everyone can agree.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Katatonia - Night Is The New Day 9 30.06.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Becoming The Archetype - Dichotomy 6 18.05.2009 by K†ulu
Reviews The Coffeen - You Must Be Certain Of The Coffeen 6 02.05.2013 by Ace Frawley
Albums Katatonia - Last Fair Day Gone Night 6 16.08.2014 by J. N.
Events NED, Amstelveen - Katatonia: New Night Over Europe 2010 6 18.03.2010 by Therapy?



Hits total: 11313 | This month: 71