Rating:
5.8
Self-Inflicted Violence - A Perception Of Matter And Energy
1 December 2009


01. Liquids
02. Artificial Phenomenon
03. Eugenics
04. A Mental Cancer II
05. Comfort In Insomnia
06. Realisation


Self-Inflicted Violence is, and this shouldn't surprise anyone, Depressive Black metal. The current line-up of this British twin-headed monster consists of "1,4,1,13" and "V11". So uhm... yeah... No, wait. Seriously. What the fuck is up with people not being able to think of proper stage names these days? Is 'Necrobutcher' not good enough anymore these days for all you damned hippies? What about 'Blasphemer'? Or 'Dead', for christ's sake. Or damned 'Caller of the Storms' if you must, but V-fucking-11?! What are you trying to say here? Ahum. Depressive Black metal. You hate yourself so you shouldn't really be bothered if I hate you as well, right? Well, I don't really hate you as such, but come on.

It's not my job to judge lyrical content or stagenames though, so no more ranting. A Perception Of Matter And Energy is best described as a poor man's Drudkh in their Forgotten Legends and Autumn Aurora phase. SIV utilizes a lot lot of meandering, droney riffs but wraps them in a stammering and stuttering jacket much too often. Occasionally they flow nicely, but mostly I'm annoyed at how messed up the potentially great riffs are. Sometimes they're badly played, sometimes they're badly produced and sometimes they're badly written.

There's not much to say about the drums or the bass, they were present at the time of recording and played their parts, so let's move on the vocals. They remind me of the guitar riffs in the sense that they are almost very good, but somehow end up being bad. Sometimes they're dodgy, sometimes they're just over-the-top, sometimes they're weak, I don't know what the hell is going on here, but there's always something wrong with the vocals.

A Perception Of Matter And Energy is a strange album. When playing this album I cannot stop thinking that the members fucked it up on purpose. There's always something that annoys me, bothers me or irritates me. And I like to think of myself as a pretty easy-going dude. If stripped of all this annoying bits and bytes it might even be quite good. But who cares, Drudkh and Burzum did it a whole lot better anyway.

Performance: 6
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 5
Production: 6


 



Written on 15.12.2009 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 99  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 15.12.2009 at 21:52  
Nothing to see here then. Thanks for the warning.
Ilham - 16.12.2009 at 02:59  
Listening to that is some self-inflicted violence. They got that straight.
BreadGod - 16.12.2009 at 03:06  
Written by Ilham on 16.12.2009 at 02:59

Listening to that is some self-inflicted violence. They got that straight.

I was about to make that very same joke.
spirit_inblack - 16.12.2009 at 04:45  
If I ever have a depressive black metal band, my pseudonym shall be VIII and I shall sing about how people should commit suicide because they didn't have a V8 when they could have... xD
Grand Funk! - 16.12.2009 at 05:13  
I guess that none listened to the album here!
I don't consider it as depressive black metal but a fantastic piece of dark metal with some post-rock influences! A surprise!
Ilham - 16.12.2009 at 05:45  
Written by BreadGod on 16.12.2009 at 03:06

I was about to make that very same joke.


Great minds think alike!


Written by Grand Funk! on 16.12.2009 at 05:13

I guess that none listened to the album here!
I don't consider it as depressive black metal but a fantastic piece of dark metal with some post-rock influences! A surprise!


I listened to the first track twice. It was enough for me to tell it was masturbation. With no orgasm in the end.
And what the hell is dark metal? What are you putting behind the word "dark"?
Grand Funk! - 16.12.2009 at 15:00  
Your reply is enough to understand why you don't like this album... or better you don't like the first track.
Anyway, i guess that comments should be posted by people inside a music genre... it's like if i comment a Nocturnal Fear album when i'm not into thrash metal, the feedback can just be bad and surely ironic to be popular... but very unprofessional!
Marcel Hubregtse - 16.12.2009 at 19:48  
How cute... the label defending the artist on a webzine.
Always good to know there are actually labels still backing their artists.

But to call something unprofessional just because you disagree is just as unprofessional.
Ilham - 16.12.2009 at 23:03  
Written by Grand Funk! on 16.12.2009 at 15:00

Your reply is enough to understand why you don't like this album... or better you don't like the first track.
Anyway, i guess that comments should be posted by people inside a music genre... it's like if i comment a Nocturnal Fear album when i'm not into thrash metal, the feedback can just be bad and surely ironic to be popular... but very unprofessional!


Oh yeah, I just can't understand the beauty of it. I'm wrong, have no taste, and know nothing about music.
EDIT: I'm not at all into Black Metal, don't look at my profile. I was just passing by, thought I could bash some random obscure band, and did it, for fun. Right....
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.12.2009 at 09:50  
OKay I checked it out, the only thing black metal about it are the vocals imo. The rest I would call post-punk with post-rock and some metal thrown in. And actually not as bad as you describe it, Lucas. Mmm, actually the term Dark Metal fits quite appropriately here I would say.
Grand Funk! - 17.12.2009 at 16:59  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 16.12.2009 at 19:48

How cute... the label defending the artist on a webzine.
Always good to know there are actually labels still backing their artists.

But to call something unprofessional just because you disagree is just as unprofessional.


Unprofessional isn't to express a different opinion (what i'm doing me to) but the practice to judge an album or a band after listening to 1 track.

"Unfortunately" i'm just a customer and a dark metal worshipper, Bethlehem docet, and when i've read the blog ive felt the need to express my opinion.
And exactely, it's labelled as depressive black metal, but i guess it's a wrong way to describe it!
Troy Killjoy - 26.12.2010 at 03:02  
Looked into this a couple weeks back... Not as bad as I was expecting; currently this sits at about a 6.5 - 7 for me. Somewhat blah, but not entirely off-putting.
Haiwaan Das - 12.12.2011 at 14:59  
One word --->"DEPRESSIVE"
JD - 06.10.2012 at 18:28  
Written by Grand Funk! on 16.12.2009 at 05:13

I don't consider it as depressive black metal but a fantastic piece of dark metal with some post-rock influences!

I definetly agree with you. Nice album 7/10 from me.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Nocturnal Fear - Code Of Violence 4.5 07.03.2009 by Syk
Reviews Skitliv - Kristiansen And Kvarforth Swim In The Sea Of Equilibrium While Waiting 4.5 07.09.2008 by Doc Godin
Reviews Dodsferd - Suicide And The Rest Of Your Kind Will Follow 4.5 17.05.2009 by Italics
Reviews Iron Maiden - A Matter Of Life And Death 4 06.02.2007 by Marcel Hubregtse
Articles Welcome To My Nightmare... (An Introduction To The Sick And Twisted) 3.5 21.01.2009 by Darkside Momo



Hits total: 3693 | This month: 42