The Devil's Blood - The Time Of No Time Evermore review



Reviewer:
8.2

41 users:
8.56
Band: The Devil's Blood
Album: The Time Of No Time Evermore
Release date: September 2009


01. The Time Of No Time
02. Evermore
03. I'll Be Your Ghost
04. The Yonder Beckons
05. House Of 10000 Voices
06. Christ Or Cocaine
07. Queen Of My Burning Heart
08. Angel's Prayer
09. Feeding The Fire With Tears And Blood
10. Rake Your Nails Across The Firmament
11. The Anti-Kosmik Magick


Having to review a good and original album is always a nice thing, even if said record isn't of your favored style(s). Case in point, The Devil's Blood with this The Time Of No Time Evermore (TTONTE for short), and their psychedelic and melodic hard-rock.

Or something like that anyway. So let's elaborate… We're talking about hard-rock, right, very melodic at that, with catchy melodies and guitar lines; Thin Lizzy is obviously an influence here (among others). Speaking of the guitars, they can become pretty heavy at times, with dueling solos reminiscent of Thin Lizzy (again) or Iron Maiden (listen to "I'll Be Your Ghost", just for example.
And then, psychedelia. The - vintage - sound of the whole stuff just plunges the listener back in the 70'… Or sometimes even farther away in time, as the moods are reminiscent of old black-and-white horror movies. Add to this the strange, often distant, sometimes ethereal or haunted, relatively high-pitched vocals vocals of F (she's the vocalist, and as anonymous as all other bandmembers), and you have a pretty unique mix. And, I said it before, I have to say it again, but that stuff is downright catchy. Mostly mid-tempo, but catchy.

The other noteworthy thing about The Devil's Blood is that they might well be the proverbial wolf in sheep's clothing… After all, we metalheads are used to hear lyrics about satanism and other dark, occult stuff, in extreme metal, right? Well, melodic hard rock can be a vessel for those ideals too. Oh, it can sound so shiny, beautiful, and entrancing… But beware: evil inside! Coven was certainly a big influence, and it's no wonder Erik Danielsson from Watain wrote a song ("The Yonder Beckons") for them.

However great it is, this album might be a bit long, with its 55 minutes, for those of you who like their music to be extremely fast and aggressive. For the others, whether you like hard rock, trippy stuff and/or dark lyrics, you just have to listen to this TTONTE. Entrancing? Yep, for sure! One of the best hard rock releases this year? Indeed.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Production: 8


 



Written on 23.12.2009 by Once your regular Hellfest reporter, now retired. I (strangely enough) listen to a lot of metal. And enjoy good beers, comics, novels and role-playing games.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 138 users
23.12.2009 - 02:54
Dane Train
Beers & Kilts
This sounds like an album I really should pick up. Thanks for reviewing it.
----
(space for rent)
Loading...
23.12.2009 - 10:56
Darkside Momo
Retired
You're welcome
----

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you" - Ray Bradbury

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I'm awake now"
Abney Park (Letter Between A Little Boy & Himself As An Adult)
Loading...
23.12.2009 - 11:20
Valentin B
Iconoclast
This album is extremely good from what i've listened to so far, it's got this awesome sound about it that screams 70s. and that's why i would have given it less points in originality, imo it doesn't bring anything new, sure, it's awesome, but to me it sounds like many other prog/hard/whatever rock from that era. i can't really name which, it just sounds generic sometimes to me.
----
Sing me a song, you're a singer
Do me a wrong, you're a bringer of evil.
Loading...
23.12.2009 - 16:10
Darkside Momo
Retired
Written by Valentin B on 23.12.2009 at 11:20

This album is extremely good from what i've listened to so far, it's got this awesome sound about it that screams 70s. and that's why i would have given it less points in originality, imo it doesn't bring anything new, sure, it's awesome, but to me it sounds like many other prog/hard/whatever rock from that era. i can't really name which, it just sounds generic sometimes to me.

I rated originality quite high not because of the sound only (or else it would have been lower), but because of the mix between this 70's sound + the pretty strange vocals + the great guitar work.
----

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you" - Ray Bradbury

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I'm awake now"
Abney Park (Letter Between A Little Boy & Himself As An Adult)
Loading...
25.12.2009 - 18:15
Promonex
Cathemeral
I also thought it sounds astoundingly refreshing despite of having that vintage sound. I don't think an 8.5-9.0 is too high for originality.
----
All life begins with Nu and ends with Nu... This is the truth! This is my belief! ...At least for now.
- The Mystery of Life, Vol. 841 Ch. 26
Loading...
30.12.2009 - 23:22
Valentin B
Iconoclast
I only now realize, but this record would sound incredible through some good headphones, i see the vocals are very "left-right-left-right" if you know what i mean.
----
Sing me a song, you're a singer
Do me a wrong, you're a bringer of evil.
Loading...
06.07.2010 - 17:56
In_tallica
About fucking time someone added the devils blood on metalstorm!!!

The album is fucking amazing and so is their EP and their first demo. Very exciting band, I really hope for their success with forthcoming releases.
Loading...
01.08.2011 - 07:04
Jan
Just discovered this band, damn it's good. Can't wait to see them live later this year.
Loading...

Hits total: 6788 | This month: 23