Advertise on Metal Storm
Elysion - Silent Scream review



Reviewer:
8.1

75 users:
7.61
Band: Elysion
Album: Silent Scream
Release date: December 2009


01. Dreamer
02. Killing My Dreams
03. Never Forever
04. Weakness In Your Eyes
05. Don't Say A Word
06. The Rules
07. Bleeding
08. Walk Away
09. Loss
10. Far From The Edge
11. Erase Me


It's rare for me to receive a gift from anyone that, from the first moment I open it, it's exactly what I hoped for. Gazing upon the simple, yet enigmatically dark artwork of Silent Scream, courtesy of Natalie Shau, I knew what I expected from Elysion's debut. And, after numerous listens, I'm confident the band's mix of accessible gothic, hard rock, and electronic and synth touches are the album the band had hoped to deliver.

Coming from a band formed as recently as 2006, the crystal clear sound quality and thoroughly worked arrangements surprised me, as well as the consistently high quality of songs from the start to the finish of Silent Scream. There's some smart variations of styles, which gives me the same feeling as a cold, starlit night as a calm tide pushes in the black waters. At once there is a methodical and structured pace that numerous soft waves push in, and then there is that series of moderate crashes that remind you that the sea is just full of some mysterious energy waiting beneath. Silent Scream is not an album for someone needing an aggressive shove down a rocky cliff, but instead is intended for someone content on reflecting upon the stars, with a pleasantly melancholic mood mixed with those occasional stings as a memory washes over.

With songwriting centered around guitarist and programmer Johnny Zero, this eleven songs of simple yet addicting melodies, many of which feature some short solos, or industrial and symphonic touches that add some necessary diversity. Drumming style is straightforward and built around adding some anticipation to the central points of the songs, and to highlight the powerfully somber vocals of Christianna.

You know how when you hear a vocalist that first time, you wonder if each song he or she sings in is going to match that first impression? Sometimes it's a disappointment, other times a vocalist surprises you, and other times that vocalist stays true to that first impression. Christianna is in that final category, never straying far away from the tight focus that Elysion's music has. She lays out beauty, longing, and darkness, but without the demands that other singers put on the listener. There's no need to adjust, no need to learn her style. In a sense, it's a classy female vocal style that could fit perfectly behind the mask that stares back at you on the cover of Silent Scream. She never falters, and, while she doesn't experiment much, she is as consistently strong as the rest of the album is throughout.

Some recommended tracks are "Killing My Dreams" and "Never Forever" for solid hits, and I personally enjoy "Erase Me" a lot and "Walk Away," as they have some of the album's more unusual flair and added foundation of aggression. I think this is a top notch album for fans of the style looking for a perfect production and a new voice in the female fronted scene. And though it may not convert metal fans averse to this type of music much, I'm fully satisfied with an album that delivers exactly what I wanted, without strings or without mistakes.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 10


 



Written on 28.12.2009 by Music and the written word are two of my passions in life, so I figured, why not combine the two?


Comments

Comments: 18   Visited by: 275 users
28.12.2009 - 18:52
Fastnetter
Great Musik !!
Loading...
28.12.2009 - 19:55
Mechanixxxx
Great album and a solid debut. Kudos to the guys of Elysion..and of course to Christianna as well XD
Loading...
28.12.2009 - 20:57
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Eh... This stuff is too Evanescence-ish for my tastes. :/
----
"Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST..." ____Frank Zappa
Loading...
28.12.2009 - 21:36
Permafrost
For me there is nothing wrong with that, but on MS the word Evanescense seems to be simular to blasphemy.
Nevertheless this Elysion album is great.
Loading...
28.12.2009 - 21:55
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Written by Permafrost on 28.12.2009 at 21:36

For me there is nothing wrong with that, but on MS the word Evanescense seems to be simular to blasphemy.
Nevertheless this Elysion album is great.


Well, to me that is just another way of calling it another generic alt. rock/metal piece of music. It's funny though, because a lot of people who rag on Evanescence like every power metal band under the sun. :/
----
"Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST..." ____Frank Zappa
Loading...
29.12.2009 - 20:00
Ragana
Rawrcat
I think I'll give it a look. Yes, yes. (and after that I'll spam here)
Loading...
03.01.2010 - 09:38
Lupas
Maximus
Indeed , this album is just a great one . A must have for all female fronted metal fans .
----
"For what point has this life if you can't realise your dreams?" -- The Divine Comedy
Loading...
08.01.2010 - 12:55
metalbrat
Indeed it sounds like Evanescence. Nothing more, nothing new, but good music overall.
Loading...
09.01.2010 - 22:14
THE_BLACK_GOD
Account deleted
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 28.12.2009 at 20:57

Eh... This stuff is too Evanescence-ish for my tastes. :/

totally agree with you, but Evanescence is much better I think.
Loading...
12.01.2010 - 20:36
Dustspell
Nothing much....And a lot of lack of originality...And comparing ..Try Emerald Mind that could have also a lack of originality but a lot better than this ones...
Loading...
19.01.2010 - 14:41
=maD.Doc:.
Melodeath Master
Yes, it has some similarities with Evanescence debut album, Fallen, which is a good thing. Fallen is a masterpiece compared to the second album The Open Door which doesn't have anything interesting, it's an OK album, but Elysion have music that is similar to the Evanescence masterpiece Fallen, just a few similarities according to me. Great album!
Loading...
23.01.2010 - 23:07
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
Oh goodie...another Lacuna Coil knock off band...just what we need. You gotta love corporate "world" = One's band success reaps other bands fortunes. Wash, rinse, repeat. This genre of music is taking the same path as post-metal = diluted.

7/10
----
rekt
Loading...
03.02.2010 - 15:10
BudDa
Just listened to 'Killing My Dreams' and I like it. I'll let u know how the rest of the album goes..
----
Freeze! Step away from the hubris.
Loading...
09.02.2010 - 20:47
Paradox0
Unasuming Madnes
Not a bad album, but just not adventurous enough for me. The songs, although sometimes having some interesting keyboard elements and above-average short solos, just any attempt at taking a risk. Sure, Christianna's voice is nice, but its not particularly anything out of the ordingary. Pretty average album if you ask me.
Loading...
23.07.2010 - 20:44
Cassian
Really good debut album!
It's like a mixture of Evanescence and Lacuna Coil, but darker in some aspects.
Enjoyable.
Loading...
13.09.2010 - 22:14
iaberis
Advice Troll
Yeah great debut indeed!
----
Bitch! Please
Loading...
13.06.2011 - 03:01
morghanphoenix
Written by =maD.Doc:. on 19.01.2010 at 14:41

Yes, it has some similarities with Evanescence debut album, Fallen, which is a good thing. Fallen is a masterpiece compared to the second album The Open Door which doesn't have anything interesting, it's an OK album, but Elysion have music that is similar to the Evanescence masterpiece Fallen, just a few similarities according to me. Great album!


Fallen is about as much of a falloff from Origin The Open Door is from Fallen.

I rarely listen to Fallen and never listen to The Open Door. Evanescence, Origin and Sound Asleep/Whisper find themselves on much more often.

It's a shame you can't find them anywhere now except on eBay for an insane price.

I'd rate Silent Scream somewhere between the new Evanescence and the Old stuff, better than Fallen, but not as good as Origin.
Loading...
20.07.2011 - 19:50
Milena
Learning To "X"
The Natalie Shau cover sells this for me *digital art fangirl*
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...

Hits total: 9939 | This month: 27