Suicidal Tendencies - Suicidal For Life review



Reviewer:
10

60 users:
7.52
Band: Suicidal Tendencies
Album: Suicidal For Life
Release date: 1994


01. Invocation
02. Don't Give A Fuck
03. No Fuckn' Problem
04. Suicyco Muthafucka
05. Fucked Up Just Right
06. No Bullshit
07. What Else Could I Do
08. What You Need's A Friend
09. I Wouldn't Mind
10. Depression And Anguish
11. Evil
12. Love Vs. Lonliness
13. Benediction


This album is no doubt a Suicidal Tendencies classic!

When I was a young boy I related to this bands music because I liked Red Hot Chilli Peppers a lot and Suicidal Tendencies seemed to me to be in the same line that RHCP left in the 80's, Funk, Thrash and Hardcore Punk mix from L.A streets hell!! (of course ST is older and kept this path)

But enough bullshit, the album begins with a smooth but consistent funk intro which is musical company for a Mike's crazy monologue, showing the musical skills of the band and the self confidence because they are crazy hehe... and don't give a shit about the attitude of others. Talking about caring...the second track "Don't Give A Fuck" which is a song with brutal riffs and fine funk arrangements on the guitars, lots of back beats and fine & cool job on the bass, fast and faster scales that leave the song without an empty space. The sound of the album is huge.
So you can appreciate the good work in "No Fuck'n Problem", is a logical continuation of the 2nd song, slower but with a well done musically.

Then we have "Suicyco Muthafucka" it begins with a heavy riff with lots of breaks n' goes, and a creepy arpeggio in the background to set the atmosphere to initiate the creepiest lyrics of the album, (this guy is very disturbed!!) the song's about a guy who had been through a lobotomy and still walking around the streets!!, a catchy chorus makes the song a key for this album.

The next song "Fucked up just right" is a funk metal that reminds me a little of the early works of Faith No More and RHCP but with the brutal heaviness of Suicidal; an intricate structure, constant changes, the perfect drumming of Jimmy D'Grasso and the Mike Muir's unstoppable madness make this song memorable.

"No Bullshit" is the sixth song in this crazy album, beginning with a progressive riff and an always present chorus to enter in a deep bass driven insanity about taking no shit from the coventional and self-righteousness in society, a constant theme in punk and ST lyrics.

"What Else Could I Do?" is the perfect title to this song cause the guys begin the song with an explosion of bestial rhythms perfectly executed, the variety of musical approach is present besides the violence in the next tracks ("What You Need's A Friend", "I Wouldn't Mind" , "Depression and Anguish", "Evil"), until you get to "Love Vs. Loneliness" a song about a deeply disturbed person isolated by drugs and mental state. This album close with an outro in the same vibe as the intro telling you a non-conformist message in order to think for yourself.

Finally I have to mention the incredible job on the guitars by Rocky George doing that solos and arrangements, the killer riffs by Mike Clark and awesome bass by Rob Trujillo (I think Metallica do not deserve this guy) Dave Mustaine surely listened to this album some day and noticed how precise Jimmy D'Grasso is.

Maybe this review is long but this cyco album deserves it!!


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 10

Written by Thrash del Sur | 29.01.2010


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 14   Visited by: 88 users
29.01.2010 - 19:01
Dane Train
Beers & Kilts
A perfect 10? Really? Why do I highly doubt that.
----
(space for rent)
Loading...
29.01.2010 - 19:07
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
INteresting review. But putting Suicidal For Life on the same level as ST's TRUE classics such as "Suicidal Tendencies", "How Will I Laugh Tomorrow", "Lights, Camera, Revolution" comes across as a bit fanboyish to me.
Good album but nowhere near a perfect 10, about an 8 I would say.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
29.01.2010 - 19:15
DayFly
I usually don't pay too much attention to the rating, but seriously, if this is a good album, show me a review to a great one.
Loading...
29.01.2010 - 20:07
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by DayFly on 29.01.2010 at 19:15

I usually don't pay too much attention to the rating, but seriously, if this is a good album, show me a review to a great one.


Btw I noticed an incosistency in his voting.
He rates it a straight 10 here where in the album votes in his profile he rates a 9
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
29.01.2010 - 20:26
Deadsoulman
Lemmyng
Whaaaat?

Ok, I like this album but it's nowhere near the quality of their earlier releases like the three Marcel mentioned and The Art Of Rebellion. There's some really good songs but way too much filler. I'd give it a 7.
Loading...
30.01.2010 - 00:55
Thrash del Sur
Well, call me what you want, this album is a perfect 10 to me. A perfect sound, an impressive technique and represent the whole rebel spirit that every guy must have man...I didn't know how uptight you'd get for a rate...what a wiseasses! hahaha .i.

P.S: Lights, Camera....Revolution maybe was better sold than this but that album was bored.
Loading...
30.01.2010 - 10:56
DayFly
Don't get personal. And do explain that inconsistency Marcel mentioned.
Loading...
30.01.2010 - 15:42
Thrash del Sur
Written by DayFly on 30.01.2010 at 10:56

Don't get personal. And do explain that inconsistency Marcel mentioned.


No man I didin't take it personal, don't get me wrong, in fact it made me laughed a lot, "Inconsistency" lol. You're all too serious about a rating an album hahahaha. Okey I will be tougher in further reviews...hahaha
Loading...
31.01.2010 - 18:50
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Thrash del Sur on 30.01.2010 at 15:42

Written by DayFly on 30.01.2010 at 10:56

Don't get personal. And do explain that inconsistency Marcel mentioned.


No man I didin't take it personal, don't get me wrong, in fact it made me laughed a lot, "Inconsistency" lol. You're all too serious about a rating an album hahahaha. Okey I will be tougher in further reviews...hahaha


All I wanted was a Pepsi. Oops sorry.
I mean... all I wanted was an explanation from you why you rate Suicidal For Life a 10 here and only a 9 in your profile's album votes,
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
01.02.2010 - 21:19
Thrash del Sur
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 31.01.2010 at 18:50

Written by Thrash del Sur on 30.01.2010 at 15:42

Written by DayFly on 30.01.2010 at 10:56

Don't get personal. And do explain that inconsistency Marcel mentioned.


No man I didin't take it personal, don't get me wrong, in fact it made me laughed a lot, "Inconsistency" lol. You're all too serious about a rating an album hahahaha. Okey I will be tougher in further reviews...hahaha


All I wanted was a Pepsi. Oops sorry.
I mean... all I wanted was an explanation from you why you rate Suicidal For Life a 10 here and only a 9 in your profile's album votes,


I don't know man, I did it without think about it. I've never expect you consider that kind of details lol.
Loading...
05.02.2010 - 02:08
sn4ke
Meh. I think Lights Camera Revolution is a better album
Loading...
31.08.2010 - 19:30
JohnDoe
Account deleted
An extremely generous rating; I think i cannot throw a 10 even on some of my favourite albums

an entertaining album, full of energy.
Loading...
23.01.2012 - 18:40
Ralle
I love this album This summer my car was broken, and I had to drive old parents car. I found this album on cassette in car and played it all summer !!!

Evil,evil...
Loading...
18.02.2014 - 21:44
pkillerjp
How Will I Laugh Tomorrow was there best in my opinion..and even that has a bit of filler at the end..their albums were always mixed bags for me..some great stuff, some weird stuff, and some filler. Suicidal 4 Life was without a doubt the last album by them that anyone gave a flying f---k about.
Loading...

Hits total: 6280 | This month: 32