Life's Decay - Dysrieuses review



Reviewer:
8.0

5 users:
7.80
Band: Life's Decay
Album: Dysrieuses
Website: http://www.lifesdecay.com
Release date: November 2009


01. Etasthesie
02. Emerance
03. Eabelia
04. Sulvisyan
05. Viversie
06. Ambrause
07. Iristhetique
08. Etesse
09. Elystea
10. Exalyne
11. Evarestique
12. Inkerosa


Dysrieuses is dark, eclectic, delicate and eluding, it's soft, graceful and experimental, but more than anything else, it's most likely nothing at all like the bands you usually listen to, yes you.

It's very hard to put this album in drawers genre-wise, but a few of the influences that can be pinpointed include industrial, ambient and classical music, as well as dark pop and to a lesser extent metal and gothic. Despite the wide range of influence the two-piece band draws from, this is a very homogenous record. Some songs pack a bit more aggression, while others might be more industrial or even slightly minimalist; still they are all in the band's very distinctive personal sound, whatever that might be.

While the most important instrument at the group's disposal is clearly Alea's voice (and the lyrics are all in French, mind you) Dysrieuses relies heavily on the atmosphere created by instruments like piano and cello. The drumming is always very industrial and guitar and bass guitar are highly saturated, at the times they're even audible in any case.

Life's Decay isn't exactly your everyday band and as such I don't really expect most of you to like them. But if you don't believe music must be metal to even have a chance at being awesome and are looking for something new and different every once in a while, why not give Dysrieuses a spin? Greatly recommended to anyone looking for something interesting to listen to.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 7
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Production: 7

Written by Bas | 09.02.2010


 


Comments

Comments: 13   Visited by: 132 users
09.02.2010 - 18:44
silenius
Hmm, gonna check it out, but only due to the linked pics included!Nah but it sounds pretty nice so im gonna give it a chance. good review dude!
Loading...
09.02.2010 - 18:51
Bas
Retired Staff
Written by silenius on 09.02.2010 at 18:44

Hmm, gonna check it out, but only due to the linked pics included!Nah but it sounds pretty nice so im gonna give it a chance. good review dude!

Thanks,I already included such pictures in reviews multiple times, but unfortunately only few people seem to notice it every time, glad to hear it's being appreciated

Let us know what you think of it after giving the album a listen
----
BAS - Beautifully Accented Sexiness
Loading...
09.02.2010 - 18:56
silenius
Haha yea i know dude, ive noticed it a couple of times before aswell, a very nice touch mate^^ I will, just need to get my hands on it first:D
Loading...
09.02.2010 - 20:14
Jason W.
Razorbliss
This band is quite busy. I thought I recognized the artwork, but I was remembering their Eklaasera cover! In fact, I love the artwork style - it was so appealing to me the first time I saw it that I nearly bought the disc blindly

I wish I knew French for this band, however, as it's so vocally driven as you say. There are plenty of bands that I enjoy (Eths, Dark Sanctuary, Kells, etc.) fully even though I know nothing of the language, but perhaps I can find a translation for Life's Decay somewhere to help me.

Thanks for reminding me of them, now I'm reconsidering buying a disc of theirs
----
"After silence that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music." - Aldous Huxley
Loading...
09.02.2010 - 20:24
Mikyz
Pretty unique sound, thanks for the spot-on review, another great discovery I'm going to check their whole discography and I find the vocals to be really alluring and beautiful.
----
Laugh and the world laughs with you. Weep and you weep alone.
Loading...
09.02.2010 - 21:37
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Their stuff on their MySpace sounds very interesting, but I'm not sure why this band is on Metal Storm... Am I missing something here? :l
----
You do you, brozzio.
Loading...
09.02.2010 - 21:49
Bas
Retired Staff
Written by Jason W. on 09.02.2010 at 20:14

This band is quite busy. I thought I recognized the artwork, but I was remembering their Eklaasera cover! In fact, I love the artwork style - it was so appealing to me the first time I saw it that I nearly bought the disc blindly

As far as I know all of their artworks look pretty similar, fits the music pretty well though
Written by Mikyz on 09.02.2010 at 20:24

Pretty unique sound, thanks for the spot-on review, another great discovery I'm going to check their whole discography and I find the vocals to be really alluring and beautiful.

No problem
Agreed with the alluring, her voice just seems to have a strong, mysterious charm to it
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 09.02.2010 at 21:37

Their stuff on their MySpace sounds very interesting, but I'm not sure why this band is on Metal Storm... Am I missing something here? :l

It's definitely not metal, you're right on that one. But if non-metal bands that we think could appeal to metal fans as well ask us for a review, we often do them anyway. The comments so far prove that it was correct to review this too
By the way it's also nice for me to review something "different" every once in a while, that's why I wanted to do this one
----
BAS - Beautifully Accented Sexiness
Loading...
09.02.2010 - 22:03
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Written by Bas on 09.02.2010 at 21:49

It's definitely not metal, you're right on that one. But if non-metal bands that we think could appeal to metal fans as well ask us for a review, we often do them anyway. The comments so far prove that it was correct to review this too
By the way it's also nice for me to review something "different" every once in a while, that's why I wanted to do this one


Ah, I see. I suppose that's why they're "invisible" on the site too. Didn't notice that before.
----
You do you, brozzio.
Loading...
10.02.2010 - 08:04
BudDa
Am going to take you on your word Bas and try them. I'll let u know..
----
Freeze! Step away from the hubris.
Loading...
10.02.2010 - 17:50
Burning Winter
Written by Jason W. on 09.02.2010 at 20:14

This band is quite busy. I thought I recognized the artwork, but I was remembering their Eklaasera cover! In fact, I love the artwork style - it was so appealing to me the first time I saw it that I nearly bought the disc blindly

I wish I knew French for this band, however, as it's so vocally driven as you say. There are plenty of bands that I enjoy (Eths, Dark Sanctuary, Kells, etc.) fully even though I know nothing of the language, but perhaps I can find a translation for Life's Decay somewhere to help me.

Thanks for reminding me of them, now I'm reconsidering buying a disc of theirs


Their lyrics are really metaphoric and poetic from what I can read of some songs lyrics from their site, they mainly express feelings from the past, questioning the future, some are also about sorrow.

Even for me, french native speaker, some of the lyrics are hard to understand in the meaning, but the image they create with words are great.

I should hear this album soon
----
We just have one life... SO LISTEN TO METAL!!!!
Loading...
11.02.2010 - 09:25
Jason W.
Razorbliss
Written by Burning Winter on 10.02.2010 at 17:50


Their lyrics are really metaphoric and poetic from what I can read of some songs lyrics from their site, they mainly express feelings from the past, questioning the future, some are also about sorrow.

Even for me, french native speaker, some of the lyrics are hard to understand in the meaning, but the image they create with words are great.

I should hear this album soon

Yes, I really enjoyed the translation one our MSers sent me for the song "Emerance". It is cryptic yet full of imagination and very poetic! In fact, I've now ordered this new CD and the Eklaasera disc I probably should have ordered when I first saw it. Hopefully I'll have it within the week to check out the rest of the tracks
----
"After silence that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music." - Aldous Huxley
Loading...
13.02.2010 - 11:59
Merchant of Doom
Is this the new Kate Bush's album in French?
Loading...
15.02.2010 - 07:44
BudDa
Written by BudDa on 10.02.2010 at 08:04

Am going to take you on your word Bas and try them. I'll let u know..


I really like this album. "Emerance" was the stand out track for me. I can't really point a finger to what it is but for some reason I found myself coming back to the album.
----
Freeze! Step away from the hubris.
Loading...

Hits total: 3767 | This month: 4