Rating:
9.0
Between The Buried And Me - The Great Misdirect
27 October 2009


01. Mirrors
02. Obfuscation
03. Disease, Injury, Madness
04. Fossil Genera - A Feed From Cloud Mountain
05. Desert Of Song
06. Swim To The Moon

[Deluxe Edition Bonus DVD]
+ The Making Of The Great Misdirect
+ Bonus - Gear Walk Through
+ The Great Misdirect In 5.1 Surround Sound


When I first heard that Between The Buried And Me were planning on releasing a new album, there was one big question that came to mind. Could they make an album that surpassed or even rivaled Colors, an album that was so astonishingly genre bending? The Great Misdirect is the answer to that question, and it is an emphatic yes!

On The Great Misdirect, the guys of Between The Buried And Me manage to take everything they've done throughout their career and blend it into an hour long, mind altering album; an album that represents what the progressive metal scene will look like once bands like Dream Theater have long since retired. All the elements from previous efforts are still there. There are sections that are just flat out brutal, that'll tear your head off without any hesitation, and there are still those quirky sections that, like the how down in "Ants Of The Sky", leave you wondering what the fuck just happened.

Once this albums kicks off, I would advise you to hold on to your seat, and give it a listen straight through. This is an album that, like Colors, should be listened to as one piece of music, with each track representing a different movement within the same song. Since the album is almost an hour long, it might be a hard pill to swallow all at once, but those who are willing to take the journey will be rewarded.

"Disease, Injury, Madness" is a great example of how Between The Buried And Me can be quirky and brutal all at the same time without having their songs diminish at all. "Desert Of Song" is a beautiful acoustic track that really allows Tommy Rogers cleans vocals to shine. "Swim To The Moon" is a miniature epic in its own right, clocking in at just under 18 minutes, and is a wonderful example of the unique song writing abilities that Between The Buried And Me possess.

All in all, The Great Misdirect shows that Between The Buried And Me have only just begun to scratch the surface of their potential. I expect to hear many more amazing albums from these guys in the future. If you enjoyed Colors, I'm sure you you'll be more than happy with this album as well.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Between The Buried And Me
Album: The Great Misdirect


 


written by MeloDeathViking | 14.02.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 119  
Search this topic:  


Paradox0 - 21.02.2010 at 18:00  
Swim to the Moon is a probably the best song on the album IMO, although I love the "quirkiness" of "Disease, Injury, Madness". I know I'm basing this on how people classify genres, but I can't help but feel theirs an influence of progressive Death Metal. The only metalcore element I find is in the vocals.
JordanTheBassist - 28.03.2010 at 00:42  
BTBAM is one of my favorite bands. They are insanely talented and one of the most creatives bands out there today! I love this album, they just get better and better!!
Lahiri - 18.04.2010 at 22:24  
Imho one the best album of 2009 and one of the best ever. It reminds me a modern and heavier version of In the Court of the Crimson King.
I'd give 10 to the album because when I listen to it I feel THE PERFECTION in my ears.
BtBaM are a great live band, too. I admit I really admire these guys
soadbyob - 19.04.2010 at 03:12  
Amazing album, my favorite from them. Extremely talented band!
Kap'N Korrupt - 19.04.2010 at 03:41  
I have a friend that ruined this album for me by overplaying it...
opeth771 - 14.05.2010 at 04:00  
One of the greatest albums of all times with Colors. I had heard of this band's name for quite a while and never heard their music before I played "Ants Of The Sky" on frets on fire. Since then, I have been hooked! This band is extremely talented and their songs are awesome.

I now consider them in my top5 favorite bands!

My favorite songs on this album is Fossil Genera and Swim to the Moon! Desert of Song is awesome too! You know what? They are all awesome!
BloodTears - 05.06.2010 at 00:27  
Written by Paradox0 on 21.02.2010 at 18:00

Swim to the Moon is a probably the best song on the album IMO, although I love the "quirkiness" of "Disease, Injury, Madness". I know I'm basing this on how people classify genres, but I can't help but feel theirs an influence of progressive Death Metal. The only metalcore element I find is in the vocals.


I thought the exact same thing. I saw them labelled as metalcore and then I listened to "The Great Misdirect" and i was like "are you sure"? because I do see more of a progressive death metal and even melodic progressive metal element in them. Why exactly are they classified as metalcore? Sure, the vocals but that can't be it folks.
Paradox0 - 05.06.2010 at 08:37  
Written by BloodTears on 05.06.2010 at 00:27

Written by Paradox0 on 21.02.2010 at 18:00

Swim to the Moon is a probably the best song on the album IMO, although I love the "quirkiness" of "Disease, Injury, Madness". I know I'm basing this on how people classify genres, but I can't help but feel theirs an influence of progressive Death Metal. The only metalcore element I find is in the vocals.


I thought the exact same thing. I saw them labelled as metalcore and then I listened to "The Great Misdirect" and i was like "are you sure"? because I do see more of a progressive death metal and even melodic progressive metal element in them. Why exactly are they classified as metalcore? Sure, the vocals but that can't be it folks.


Then again, there tends to be a tendency to call popular metalbands from the US as metalcore, even if they don't really sound like it, such as shadows fall
Entropic Silence - 22.07.2010 at 02:33  
On the genre note...

One of the local music stores in this country puts BTBAM in the "punk/emo" section... along with Converge, and The Dillinger Escape Plan amoung others.

I know they're hard to place... but how do you get something THAT wrong?

Love Disease, Injury, Madness.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Between The Buried And Me - The Great Misdirect 10.5 14.02.2010 by danielllewis
News Between The Buried And Me - Reveal New Album Details 7.5 16.07.2012 by J. N.
News Between The Buried And Me - Confirm North American Tour 7.5 15.06.2013 by BloodTears
News Between The Buried And Me - Announce European Tour 7.5 03.04.2012 by Unhealer
News Between The Buried And Me - Begin Recording New Album 7.5 17.05.2012 by infernaldeath87



Hits total: 3769 | This month: 49