Rating:
8.8
Apothys - Advent: Doom [EP]
29 September 2009


01. Venomcrest
02. Cacophony Rising
03. Of Writhing Eyes


Recorded and mixed at Assembly Line Studios.


To get anywhere these days, your music needs to hit hard, have some degree of melody in it, sound clear and perhaps be slightly over the top in some way. Advent: Doom is amazingly Apothys' first release outside of demos, but this EP has all these things. The reason that is amazing, is because the band sound as tight and accomplished together as a band who have done this all their lives. Not only do the band sound great delivering their slightly melodic, slightly blackened, slightly technical death metal, but the three songs on this CD have been composed with a great deal of care and attention to detail.

Apothys make death metal interesting. The growled and snarled vocals sound brilliant, but the guitar work on this EP is the star of the show. Melodic and slightly over the top in a very Dethklok kind of way, the guitars really are wonderful. The solos in general, but the second half of "Cacophony Rising" has such a great thrash-tinged solo blasting back into death metal for more carnage. The CD only picks up more pace with the last song on the album leaving you quite astounded as to the quality of music we have here.

Advent: Doom is at the same time something that will appeal greatly to both avid and casual death metal listeners. It is accessible. Technical, melodic, crushing and wild; this will have you hooked and begging for more. The three songs almost reach a twenty minute total, but judging from this EP, Apothys have the ability and that spark it takes to create some genuinely top class metal. Saying these are a band to watch out for does no justice to the music, just listen to it yourself and see.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 18.02.2010 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 6  
Users visited: 122  
Search this topic:  


Dark Blood - 18.02.2010 at 21:14  
Nice review. It got me listening to their myspace songs and looking into the band. They really sound good, and Im not even a Death metal fan.
Its just me or the vocalist has an acc here on MS...? Just wondering
Who'sRichard? - 18.02.2010 at 21:16  
Great to see they're doing well. Come back to Jaxx!
Carrion Misery - 19.02.2010 at 16:03  
@Dark_Blood, yes, I'm the vocalist. Eddie the guitarist and our bassist, Pyr (under the name "Kvltmaster") are on here as well.

I thought this was a great review. Baz actually reflected exactly what we are trying to accomplish with our music. We want the most elitist bastards, people who don't really listen to the more extreme side of metal and of course our target audience to enjoy it . Thanks Baz, you rule.

@Who'sRichard?, We love Jaxx, but we're always looking for other venues. Let me know if you have any in mind. Spread the word!
broken goddess - 26.02.2010 at 09:08  
Good Review! I can't count the number of times I've seen Apothys play, and they're always a good show.
kurotenshi - 27.02.2010 at 02:54  
You guys are here so we can't say anything bad anymore right? lol kidding.
My compliments, the songs are really cool I would just say that the voice kind of stands out a bit to much and takes some focus from the instrumental but hey, that could be your intention. (only heard on MySpace)
Carrion Misery - 01.03.2010 at 20:02  
Thanks Broken Goddess. It's always good to see you at shows. We still need to head up to Maryland!

Kurotenshi, we'll take all criticism. Glad you like the songs! We're all about balance so having the vocals stand out more than the rest wasn't our plan. It could be the myspace, but I don't hear them overbearing here though.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Bereavement - The Advent Of Loss 6 07.09.2007 by Aylee_Bodom
Reviews Sepia Dreamer - The Sublime 4.5 05.07.2007 by
Reviews Krisiun - The Great Execution 4.5 28.10.2011 by JD
Reviews Rhapsody Of Fire - From Chaos To Eternity 4.5 12.06.2011 by The Shape 1973
Reviews Hacksaw To The Throat - Wastelands 4.5 23.08.2007 by Aylee_Bodom



Hits total: 3566 | This month: 1