Rating:
8.0
Ihsahn - After
25 January 2010


Disc I
01. The Barren Lands
02. A Grave Inversed
03. After
04. Frozen Lakes On Mars
05. Undercurrent
06. Austere
07. Heaven's Black Sea
08. On The Shores

Disc II [Limited Edition DVD - Live At The Rockefeller Festival In Oslo]
01. Intro
02. Invocation
03. Called By The Fire
04. Scarab
05. Emancipation
06. Unhealer
07. Misanthrope
08. Thus Spake The Nightspirit [Emperor cover]
09. Outro
+ Interview
+ Studio Reports


After marks the third solo release of the former Emperor front man. I think, as the saying goes, "the third time's the charm" is fitting here. Ihsahn's prior two solo efforts were cerebral affairs that at times seemed perhaps too heady and just didn't click. This one seems to have fallen into place quite nicely.

The musical approach varies from track to track. In some, such as "A Grave Inversed" and bits and pieces elsewhere, as in sections of "Undercurrent," you can clearly hear the similarities with Emperor (the later years), whereas others are of a less frantic and frenetic pace and show off a proggy approach. The title track, "After" is damn near a ballad… though, fortunately, not in the cheesy hair-metal sense.

Vocally, Ihzzy's approach varies as well, depending on the music. His familiar screeching is present on the faster, harsher tracks and passages, though he shifts to a flat-out pleasant "clean" voice where warranted - namely the slower sections. Frankly, both approaches work and fit within the framework of the music.

"Frozen Lakes On Mars," my favorite track on the album, is a good showcase for the varying approaches. The build up and verse riffs are quite Emperor-esque, aggressive complex riffs with screeched vocals, giving way to a slower, catchy, clean-voiced chorus.

The production is great, each component is audible, clear, and with adequate "space" … it is almost sterile, in a way. Not the bad, bland, overdone sterile that some black metal bands have adopted - but rather coldly clinical, cerebral. This approach is fitting, given the nature of the artist.

The use of an eight string guitar gives the music additional depth. And, as is oft mentioned, there is also a saxophone present on many tracks. Zomg! A saxophone! How unique. How outside the box! How progressive of him!

I kid, I kid. Despite being possibly the most mentioned/talked about part of the album from what I've read elsewhere, it does bring a great element to the music that is (almost) worthy of the hype. For the most part, it fits in quite nicely, whether adding texture over some of the more mid-paced, open riffs, such as in the midsection of "Undercurrent" and "Heaven's Black Sea" or chaotically blowing away in place of a guitar lead over ripping riffs as in "A Grave Inversed". The sax does seem clumsy and awkward, however, when chugging along trying to match along with the intense Emperor style riffing in "A Grave Inversed." Overall it's a welcome addition, though, lending additional atmosphere and peculiarity to the tracks which feature the instrument.

Sure, some of the songs take a while to develop and seem to lag a bit, particularly "After", which at times makes me want to hit the 'next' button to see what is, well, after… but these are minor quibbles. All in all this is a fairly mammoth album with lots of different facets to keep the listener enthralled.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Ihsahn
Album: After


 



Written on 25.02.2010 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 46  
Users visited: 426  
Search this topic:  


Valaskjalf - 25.02.2010 at 23:09  
Id expect from what you said and from your individual ratings of each section of the album that 8/10 is too little? And id expect the album to chalk up a bit more on the originality scale...8? This is the most diverse album he has done and a lot different and heavier than his previous two albums. Ihsahn himself is one of the most original artists in the metal scene today, so I question where you think his originality went on this album.

9/10 from me overall for sure and to date the best album of the year.
BitterCOld - 25.02.2010 at 23:36  
8.0 is an overall rating and not entirely based upon solely those four components. it's a general feeling score. to me, it was a very good album, i'm glad i spent the $15 on it, but not one that i'd find leapfrogging the bulk of my cd collection in the royal rumble for play time on my stereo.

also those subscores can only take whole numbers, so if something is in between an 8 or 9, i generally rounded up.

i can separate whether or not a song is well crafted or shows good musicianship from whether or not i actually like the song itself.

for example, "After" might be well composed and well executed, sure, but that doesn't mean i don't want to skip it when it comes up.

as far as originality goes, there was nothing that was jawdroppingly unique. different approach than past albums? sure. better put together? undoubtedly. but nothing that surprised me or blew me away.

i find it a very good album. hooray. you might find it your album of the year thus far, that's great. i'd give the nod to High On Fire. hooray for different tastes.
Baz Anderson - 26.02.2010 at 00:29  
I really should listen to this, I am a huge Emperor fan after all.
Windiz - 26.02.2010 at 01:09  
10/10 easy It's good to hear something new & mixed with the old: Ihsahn delivers a better packaged than last time!
BudDa - 26.02.2010 at 07:41  
"there is also a saxophone present on many tracks. Zomg! A saxophone! How unique. How outside the box! How progressive of him!"Haha

Anyway, I loved the saxophone on this album. Its the sole reason why I keep coming back to After..
Clintagram - 26.02.2010 at 08:08  
From what I've heard, the instrumentals sound much better than before. Of course, I've only heard two songs, but I liked those more than other Ihsahn songs I've heard. I actually really enjoyed the clean vocals on "After." It reminded me of a Devin Townsend/Garm type song. Really good, unfortunately I'm not a fan of his harsh vocals, so most of material never really hits home for me.

Good, revealing review.
RimV - 26.02.2010 at 08:45  
Rating is as usual subjective but good review overall.

9 / 10 for me
Konrad - 26.02.2010 at 10:02  
I respect the review and think BitterC0ld was fair in giving Ihsahn an 8. I gave the album a 10, because I think it helps the metal genre enter an entirely new area. The sax was also used in the drowned at sea 3 pt. epic from nachtmystium...so it isn't anything new...but as a jazz fan who has always thought the instruments, musicianship, and overall song structure were similar b/t jazz and metal...this album is the beginning of the two genres starting to merge. I respect Ihsahn for what he has done throughout his entire career. He not only produced what is arguably one of the best black metal albums of all time (welkin...) but has now arguably written, recorded, and mastered an album that carries metal into the new decade.

Coming from someone who lives in the city of jazz, what Ihsahn has accomplished here is far from pretentious. He was innovative with his concepts and has invited countless musicians to enter the world of metal. Thank you Ihsahn!
finenecroshine - 26.02.2010 at 10:04  
Well, I DO think this album deserves a 9/10. I mean - he DID try to make this the best it can be made. He almost overdid himself and I ... Well, I do respect those things. This is his most serious album, it is modern but it's not Nu metal, it' s not Emperor (and I also think it shoult not even be Emperor in any way) it's really very subtle floating between genres and this should please any metal-head inteligent enough to see the differrence between them. In my opinion - he succeeded. One of the very best metal albums in the last 3-4 years.
Eddie Misery - 26.02.2010 at 14:52  
I gave the album a 10, but I thought this was a great review. More importantly, a FAIR review. I was nervous that we'd get someone to review this album that fit right in with all those people who hated Emperor's "Prometheus" album, and thinks of all of Ihsahn's solo work as somehow "overindulgent", bla bla, etc. etc........I actually read that somewhere yesterday, somebody saying that.

How can a solo project be OVERindulgent?? It's a SOLO project, which people do for the chance to INDULGE themselves, to do something they might not otherwise have the time or the opportunity to do with other bands/artists.

Haha -- anyway -- awesome review. Great album. Anyone who's curious should just cave in and pick it up, it's WELL worth it. It has quickly become not only one of my most favorite recent albums, but also one of my favorite albums period.
Baz Anderson - 26.02.2010 at 15:00  
I hate brass instruments.
I think I was let down by how un-Emperor it was. Not that I expected it to be "Prometheus Mk II" or anything, but I wouldn't say any of this album reminded me of Emperor apart from his vocals (obviously).
frankeli - 26.02.2010 at 17:39  
The album is a pure 10, no more, no less. Yes, it is an oppinion, and oppinions are like assholes, but this time, damn it, Ihsahn has nailed a perfect album!!!
BitterCOld - 26.02.2010 at 18:05  
In regards to solo projects being over indulgent - that's easy. the musician could be one of those types that needs band members to try and rein them in when they go overboard. without the counter, they could easily overdo it and just make a sonic mess.

as for the Emperor comparison, it's not an overwhelming or overarching similarity, but an occasional one. it's clear in "An Inverted Grave" (sax aside) and sporadically elsewhere, like around the 5:38 mark of "Undercurrent"
Aeox - 26.02.2010 at 18:56  
A masterpiece in its own right. Great closing to the trilogy.
annodomini - 26.02.2010 at 19:44  
Written by Baz Anderson on 26.02.2010 at 15:00

I hate brass instruments.
I think I was let down by how un-Emperor it was. Not that I expected it to be "Prometheus Mk II" or anything, but I wouldn't say any of this album reminded me of Emperor apart from his vocals (obviously).


ANd why does it have to remeber Emperor. Insahn is not Emperor.
Baz Anderson - 26.02.2010 at 20:13  
Written by annodomini on 26.02.2010 at 19:44

ANd why does it have to remeber Emperor. Insahn is not Emperor.

Obviously...
Black metal I like... half extreme progressive metal with a saxophone, not so much...
finenecroshine - 27.02.2010 at 12:47  
Oh, man ... No. You'll miss the point, which is [at least in my opinion]: This should, hopefully, encourage other musicians to experiment more, include some interesting instrument[s] in their own music, become wider, broader-sounding metal and music in general. THAT is important, not the damn saxophone. Metal has never EVER been so sterile, so secure and almost miserable like it is nowadays. We need something different. I do. I really do need something new in metal, something sharper, more dangerous and edgy. "After" does bring something new and as far as I am joyful for that I am even more saddened by the fact that there are no new bands that can bring the new current. No, it's the Slayer that are moving the limits, Metallica, Iron Maiden, Ihsahn and so on. What happened, for God's sake!? Where is METAL? Not the production, not the cover art, not the make-up or the hair or anything else, where is the fuckin' METAL?
Slyfang - 27.02.2010 at 14:14  
Written by Baz Anderson on 26.02.2010 at 20:13

Written by annodomini on 26.02.2010 at 19:44

ANd why does it have to remeber Emperor. Insahn is not Emperor.

Obviously...
Black metal I like... half extreme progressive metal with a saxophone, not so much...


stop whining baz, he's not making music to please your narrow minded ilk. if you want black metal, go listen to black metal instead of expecting Ihsahn to grant your wishes
Lord_Regnier - 27.02.2010 at 15:24  
Written by Slyfang on 27.02.2010 at 14:14

stop whining baz, he's not making music to please your narrow minded ilk. if you want black metal, go listen to black metal instead of expecting Ihsahn to grant your wishes


It's a shame to see how people throw this ridiculous 'open-mindedness' argument at your face each time someone states he doesn't like something.
The most stupid, shallow, void argument one can find.
Like I said on the Helloween album thread, I'm proud of being 'close-minded' for some reasons.
And one of those reasons is I can defend what I like without using the lamest argument of all that only puts the blame on the other person without solving anything.
Baz Anderson - 27.02.2010 at 15:30  
Written by Slyfang on 27.02.2010 at 14:14

stop whining baz, he's not making music to please your narrow minded ilk. if you want black metal, go listen to black metal instead of expecting Ihsahn to grant your wishes

I have not once claimed that he is making music for me.
I know how things work, I know he's doing his own thing - and I knew that it wouldn't be my ideal album before I even heard it. Come on, give me a little more respect than that.
Slyfang - 27.02.2010 at 15:36  
Written by Baz Anderson on 27.02.2010 at 15:30

Written by Slyfang on 27.02.2010 at 14:14

stop whining baz, he's not making music to please your narrow minded ilk. if you want black metal, go listen to black metal instead of expecting Ihsahn to grant your wishes

I have not once claimed that he is making music for me.
I know how things work, I know he's doing his own thing - and I knew that it wouldn't be my ideal album before I even heard it. Come on, give me a little more respect than that.


give some respect for the musician at least. your comment basically like you dislike the album because it doesn't sound enough like emperor.. it's ridiculous to expect black metal from Ihsahn when he hasn't been doing it for years
Baz Anderson - 27.02.2010 at 15:46  
Written by Slyfang on 27.02.2010 at 15:36

give some respect for the musician at least. your comment basically like you dislike the album because it doesn't sound enough like emperor.. it's ridiculous to expect black metal from Ihsahn when he hasn't been doing it for years

You're not understanding me. I didn't expect black metal from this. Like I said, I knew it wouldn't exactly be my cup of tea before I even heard it...
Lord_Regnier - 27.02.2010 at 15:49  
Written by Slyfang on 27.02.2010 at 15:36

give some respect for the musician at least. your comment basically like you dislike the album because it doesn't sound enough like emperor.. it's ridiculous to expect black metal from Ihsahn when he hasn't been doing it for years


It would have been much better to explain things this way right from the start, instead of blaming Baz for his supposed narrow-mindedness, isn't it?

Now it's easy to understand your point of view. And it really makes sense.
Slyfang - 27.02.2010 at 15:57  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 27.02.2010 at 15:24

Written by Slyfang on 27.02.2010 at 14:14

stop whining baz, he's not making music to please your narrow minded ilk. if you want black metal, go listen to black metal instead of expecting Ihsahn to grant your wishes


It's a shame to see how people throw this ridiculous 'open-mindedness' argument at your face each time someone states he doesn't like something.
The most stupid, shallow, void argument one can find.
Like I said on the Helloween album thread, I'm proud of being 'close-minded' for some reasons.
And one of those reasons is I can defend what I like without using the lamest argument of all that only puts the blame on the other person without solving anything.


don't get all dramatic now. it's clearly not a stupid or shallow argument BECAUSE open minded people can actually see music for what it is instead of CONSTANTLY comparing everything to their unchanging expectations.

there's nothing to be proud of about narrow-mindedness, and by this i don't mean conservativism. don't confuse the two. i'm assuming that you're a conservative in this case, because narrow-mindedness is just ignorant
Lord_Regnier - 27.02.2010 at 16:48  
Written by Slyfang on 27.02.2010 at 15:57

don't get all dramatic now. it's clearly not a stupid or shallow argument BECAUSE open minded people can actually see music for what it is instead of CONSTANTLY comparing everything to their unchanging expectations.


Most of the time, when I see people use the open-mindedness argument, it's from fanboys who can't find anything better to defend their beloved bands even when those bands are quite shitty, so they blame others for their close-mindedness.
Slyfang - 27.02.2010 at 18:57  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 27.02.2010 at 16:48

Written by Slyfang on 27.02.2010 at 15:57

don't get all dramatic now. it's clearly not a stupid or shallow argument BECAUSE open minded people can actually see music for what it is instead of CONSTANTLY comparing everything to their unchanging expectations.


Most of the time, when I see people use the open-mindedness argument, it's from fanboys who can't find anything better to defend their beloved bands even when those bands are quite shitty, so they blame others for their close-mindedness.


i hope you're not insinuating that i'm a fanboy, and Ihsahn is shit.. i was defending him against meaningless criticism
Lord_Regnier - 27.02.2010 at 19:34  
Written by Slyfang on 27.02.2010 at 18:57

i hope you're not insinuating that i'm a fanboy, and Ihsahn is shit.. i was defending him against meaningless criticism


No, no, no. I wasn't talking of you. It was a general comment.
I don't know if you're a fanboy or not, so I won't make accusations.
As for meaningless criticism, however, I would say that it can appear meaningless to you but it has a meaning for the person who posts the criticism.
Slyfang - 27.02.2010 at 19:39  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 27.02.2010 at 19:34

Written by Slyfang on 27.02.2010 at 18:57

i hope you're not insinuating that i'm a fanboy, and Ihsahn is shit.. i was defending him against meaningless criticism


No, no, no. I wasn't talking of you. It was a general comment.
I don't know if you're a fanboy or not, so I won't make accusations.
As for meaningless criticism, however, I would say that it can appear meaningless to you but it has a meaning for the person who posts the criticism.


criticism is only valid when it's objective. when it's subjective, it becomes meaningless. but i can admit that what he said might have not been meant as criticism, but as a comment
BitterCOld - 27.02.2010 at 19:49  
Written by Slyfang on 27.02.2010 at 19:39

criticism is only valid when it's objective. when it's subjective, it becomes meaningless. but i can admit that what he said might have not been meant as criticism, but as a comment


in regards to music, isn't it all subjective, based upon the listener?

and golly, he admitted it wasn't HIS cup of tea... but please continues useless keyboard pounding.
Slyfang - 27.02.2010 at 21:05  
Written by BitterCOld on 27.02.2010 at 19:49

Written by Slyfang on 27.02.2010 at 19:39

criticism is only valid when it's objective. when it's subjective, it becomes meaningless. but i can admit that what he said might have not been meant as criticism, but as a comment


in regards to music, isn't it all subjective, based upon the listener?

and golly, he admitted it wasn't HIS cup of tea... but please continues useless keyboard pounding.


i STOPPED already, so shut up. and no it isn't all subjective
Baz Anderson - 27.02.2010 at 21:46  
Written by Slyfang on 27.02.2010 at 21:05

i STOPPED already, so shut up. and no it isn't all subjective

Opinions can only be subjective... what else could they be?
BitterCOld - 28.02.2010 at 01:26  
Written by Slyfang on 27.02.2010 at 21:05

i STOPPED already, so shut up. and no it isn't all subjective


so shut up? me? you are the one with a handful of useless posts in this review huh? sorry, i posted within 10 minutes of your last ... there was no clear cut "i'm done here" remark on your end, and your discussion is going in on the thread regarding the review i posted. i don't see what's wrong with me retorting.

and please tell me what objective forms of rating music exist. i am eager to hear.
Slyfang - 28.02.2010 at 06:40  
Written by BitterCOld on 28.02.2010 at 01:26

Written by Slyfang on 27.02.2010 at 21:05

i STOPPED already, so shut up. and no it isn't all subjective


so shut up? me? you are the one with a handful of useless posts in this review huh? sorry, i posted within 10 minutes of your last ... there was no clear cut "i'm done here" remark on your end, and your discussion is going in on the thread regarding the review i posted. i don't see what's wrong with me retorting.

and please tell me what objective forms of rating music exist. i am eager to hear.


yes, shut up as in i don't appreciate your condescending sarcasm. i admit i explained myself very badly and wrote carelessly. the "i'm done here" was clear cut enough for the person i was talking to earlier when i admitted my mistake.. there was no need for you to start poking

as for how to judge music objectively, i shouldn't have to explain it to you. objective doesn't mean being based on cold empirical fact, objective means detached, unbiased, it means judging something for what it is, and not looking at something through the distorted lens of preference. objective criticism looks at progression, structure, technical and harmonic achievement, innovation, creativity, lyrical skill and more, all within proper context of course, and within the context of music in general if needed.. it doesn't have to be perfect. in reality most objective judgements have something subjective in them, but you know what i mean

now enough. no need to waste more space here
K†ulu - 28.02.2010 at 07:29  
Written by Slyfang on 28.02.2010 at 06:40

...as for how to judge music objectively, i shouldn't have to explain it to you. objective doesn't mean being based on cold empirical fact, objective means detached, unbiased, it means judging something for what it is, and not looking at something through the distorted lens of preference. objective criticism looks at progression, structure, techical and harmonic achievement, innovation, creativity, lyrical skill and more, all within proper context of course, and within the context of music in general if needed.. it doesn't have to be perfect. in reality most objective judgements have something subjective in them, but you know what i mean...


This is great. The explanation is perfect or at least it's a very good try; the only thing that mars it is the fact that you missed 'n' in 'technical'.
Doc Godin - 28.02.2010 at 08:35  
@Slyfang: The moment music is judged "objectively" by physical skill and structured/uber-technical ability is the moment you know music as we know it is dead. Your criteria for judging music with objectivity pretty much contradicts a vast majority of punk rock, and I bet I can find a couple hundred thousand people on this planet who would disagree with you.

You were wrong, admit it and knock off the overly-defencive back pedalling. Sometimes condescending sarcasm is warranted.
Valaskjalf - 01.03.2010 at 00:06  
Im enjoying this album very much...also agree with what Konrad said - the album is pushing metal into new avenues and experimenting and evolving which I think is great. Ihsahn is trying his hand once more at marrying different styles of music into a very coherent whole, with impressive lyrics, and interesting concept and musicianship which as always is supreme. This is what I call interesting metal and what Ive always meant when talking about my preference to bands not stagnating. I love this..
Baz Anderson - 01.03.2010 at 01:09  
Written by Slyfang on 28.02.2010 at 06:40

objective means detached, unbiased, it means judging something for what it is, and not looking at something through the distorted lens of preference.

Humans are incapable of doing this. Especially with something as subjective as musical enjoyment.
Slyfang - 01.03.2010 at 04:35  
Written by Baz Anderson on 01.03.2010 at 01:09

Written by Slyfang on 28.02.2010 at 06:40

objective means detached, unbiased, it means judging something for what it is, and not looking at something through the distorted lens of preference.

Humans are incapable of doing this. Especially with something as subjective as musical enjoyment.


well i wasn't talking about simply enjoying music, by objective i meant of course fairly judging the music, based on the music itself, not one's own expectations or emotions only, which humans are definitely capable of. for example understand why opera is a great form of music, but i just don't enjoy listening to it. i'm not attacking you, simply explaining what i was talking about
K†ulu - 06.03.2010 at 14:49  
Good stuff. A 9 from me. Got into it fairly quickly... need to check his earlier releases...
Daydream Nation - 31.05.2010 at 23:54  
The only album in the top 20 of 2010 at the moment that I truly believe should stay there in the end. Very well done...this may even crack the top 5 for me!

I play the saxophone myself and I thought that incorporation was killer; not too self indulgent or detracting but providing an interesting atmosphere as the original reviewer suggested. Great work, Ihsahn!

Rating (compared to 2010 so far): 10.
Actual Rating compared to all metal: 8.8.
Daydream Nation - 31.05.2010 at 23:55  
Oh, and this goes out to Baz and Slyfang and every one else arguing over the stupidest stuff... STFU and enjoy the music.
BitterCOld - 01.06.2010 at 00:00  
Written by Guest on 31.05.2010 at 23:55

Oh, and this goes out to Baz and Slyfang and every one else arguing over the stupidest stuff... STFU and enjoy the music.


Hey, thanks for responding to an argument that is, what, 90 days gone now? nice work, we really needed that input.
Daydream Nation - 01.06.2010 at 03:54  
Written by BitterCOld on 01.06.2010 at 00:00

Written by Guest on 31.05.2010 at 23:55

Oh, and this goes out to Baz and Slyfang and every one else arguing over the stupidest stuff... STFU and enjoy the music.


Hey, thanks for responding to an argument that is, what, 90 days gone now? nice work, we really needed that input.


Ahahahaha...nice sarcasm. I just find that whole sort of argument to be pretentious and interfering. When I want to look through comments I want to look at different reactions to the music, the good and bad qualities of the review, and other recommendations or similar artists.

Anyway, I quite enjoyed the album and this review actually summed it up pretty nicely. Ihsahn's song-writing is quite amazing and surprisingly coherent; it could have been a disaster, but he honed in his sound and kept it from becoming repetitive to me. I also like, as you addressed, After, which was almost a ballad. The fresh ways of changing his sound and keeping the listener's attention make this one of the most coherent works in 2010 I have come across. I also enjoyed Alcest's newest, although that is in a completely different category. Both managed to make fresh, interesting metal, and I certainly can't wait to see the other works that come to the same level of quality in 2010. Nice review.
Darkside Momo - 13.12.2010 at 00:26  
Written by Konrad on 26.02.2010 at 10:02

I respect the review and think BitterC0ld was fair in giving Ihsahn an 8. I gave the album a 10, because I think it helps the metal genre enter an entirely new area. The sax was also used in the drowned at sea 3 pt. epic from nachtmystium...so it isn't anything new...but as a jazz fan who has always thought the instruments, musicianship, and overall song structure were similar b/t jazz and metal...this album is the beginning of the two genres starting to merge. I respect Ihsahn for what he has done throughout his entire career. He not only produced what is arguably one of the best black metal albums of all time (welkin...) but has now arguably written, recorded, and mastered an album that carries metal into the new decade.

Coming from someone who lives in the city of jazz, what Ihsahn has accomplished here is far from pretentious. He was innovative with his concepts and has invited countless musicians to enter the world of metal. Thank you Ihsahn!

Sorry, but I have to remind you some snippets of jazz/metal lore (among others)
- Pan.Thy.Monium had a sax since the very beginning (1991). Totally not in a jazz way, but still.
- Both Cynic (check Focus) and Atheist (check Unquestionable Presence) used jazz song structures and playing in the early nineties.
While these examples are not the only ones, they do show that the jazz/metal fusion is nothing new. I don't say this to critisize Ihsahn, on the contrary, because he does this in his own, personal way, which is always nice.
Apothecary - 02.10.2011 at 17:56  
Why does this album have the lowest rating of Ihsahn's albums (I'm talking about overall, not just this review)?
It's the best, imo
Troy Killjoy - 02.10.2011 at 20:24  
Written by Apothecary on 02.10.2011 at 17:56
imo

Because all votes are based on opinion. And majority rules.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Raventale - After 4.5 04.03.2011 by wormdrink414
Albums Ihsahn - After 4.5 11.01.2010 by RockeRoy
Reviews Bolt Thrower - ... For Victory 3 10.09.2008 by Richard
News Ihsahn - New Track Available For Streaming 3 13.10.2013 by LeKiwi
Albums Ihsahn - Eremita 3 25.01.2012 by Apothecary



Hits total: 6423 | This month: 57