Rating:
7.5
Immolation - Majesty And Decay
5 March 2010


01. Intro
02. The Purge
03. A Token Of Malice
04. Majesty And Decay
05. Divine Code
06. In Human Form
07. A Glorious Epoch
08. Interlude
09. A Thunderous Consequence
10. The Rapture Of Ghosts
11. Power And Shame
12. The Comfort Of Cowards


Despite being one of the longest running death metal bands from the United States, Immolation just haven't had anywhere near the same amount of success as such bands as Deicide and Cannibal Corpse. Album number eight Majesty And Decay breaks no boundaries stylistically, but it does provide another brutal crushing in Immolation's own subtle style.

The drums especially are ravenous as they not so much blast, but bludgeon their way through the album. Vocally, Ross does a great job, although his dry death growls hold little variation. The guitars along with the drums provide the main meat of the album, the guitars harbouring a somewhat old-school, slight Morbid Angel-esque tinge to them.

Immolation however, do not present themselves as being as approachable as the previously mentioned bands. Immolation provide the most crushing death metal by far, but it is presented in an unrelenting assault to the ears that can be at times overbearing. The quality of death metal here is superb, but Majesty And Decay is almost forty-five minutes of solid punishment. A short interlude does provide a little chance to catch your breath, but on the whole this album is too dense and can be a little challenging to properly digest.

There is no doubt that Majesty And Decay has had a great deal of care and attention gone into it, and the quality here speaks for itself. This is an extremely solid, hard worked album that definitely has its highlights from the opening blasts of impending doom in "The Purge" to the slight tempo changes and perhaps most interesting track on the album "Majesty And Decay". There's certainly enjoyment to be had throughout the album.

The production has been nicely fitted to the style of the band. The growls, drums and guitars all sound clear and are exemplified wonderfully, while the whole album together sounds nice and dirty, but quite clear at the same time. Majesty And Decay is a great album that will certainly please the band's regulars but the solid-wall-of-chaos approach the band put into practise could still be a little off-putting to newcomers. Consumed with digestive power of steel however, and Majesty And Decay could be a dark horse. It is about time Immolation got the credit they deserve.

-

Death metal
Nuclear Blast
U.S.A.
Length: 45:03

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Immolation
Album: Majesty And Decay


 



Written on 04.03.2010 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 26  
Users visited: 366  
Search this topic:  


₣rost Giant - 04.03.2010 at 16:48  
Would have liked to have seen a little bit higher of a score considering how you praised it at some points and i dont understand how you gave it an 8 8 8 9 and then a 7.5 overall... enlighten me if you would. Also i dont see how immolation could be off putting to any true death metal fan looking for a new band, first time i heard them i would have to say i fell in love but i suppose it is personal opinon. Overall great review Baz i enjoy reading all of yours.
Baz Anderson - 04.03.2010 at 16:56  
Thanks!! Well 7.5 is still a good rating... I'm huge on death metal too, the more brutal the better... but I just felt this album is a little bit too full on without being too diverse.
Those scores at the end never tell the full story of an album.
₣rost Giant - 04.03.2010 at 17:54  
I see now, i think if i had to choose an album id tell someone to listen to and see if you like immolation it would be failures for gods. For me thats what got me into them.
Thryce - 04.03.2010 at 18:14  
Only listened to the album once so far, but it seemed indeed quite dense - and pretty diverse IMO. Though I think I like it that way. Seems like a good album thus far.

A solid middle finger to all the modern, easily accessible death(core) bands out there.
Troy Killjoy - 04.03.2010 at 18:44  
Written by Thryce on 04.03.2010 at 18:14

Only listened to the album once so far, but it seemed indeed quite dense - and pretty diverse IMO. Though I think I like it that way. Seems like a good album thus far.

A solid middle finger to all the modern, easily accessible death(core) bands out there.


You can make that two middle fingers. This album owns.

Great review Baz!
Mr. Doctor - 04.03.2010 at 19:51  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 04.03.2010 at 18:44

Written by Thryce on 04.03.2010 at 18:14

Only listened to the album once so far, but it seemed indeed quite dense - and pretty diverse IMO. Though I think I like it that way. Seems like a good album thus far.

A solid middle finger to all the modern, easily accessible death(core) bands out there.


You can make that two middle fingers. This album owns.

Great review Baz!


I'll third that opinion. Immolation is for those that likes their death metal the way death metal should sound: Dense, dark and terrifying... The "death"-feeling from the modern bands is gone and Immolation really puts the hellish atmosphere, damn. People should listen to the song Close To A World Below in a dark room... THAT is what I call Death fucking Metal...

And guys... The vocals are not varied, but they are so goddamn amazing that I don't want any single change... So hellish.
Metal Maiden - 04.03.2010 at 20:01  
Two more thumbs up for the review - extremely enjoyable, and easily accessible high quality death metal...Don't think I've had this much fun listening to an album for quite a while now, it hooked me up only after one spin...
8.5, maybe 9 from me...
RafaRata - 04.03.2010 at 20:35  
8,5 for me.
BitterCOld - 04.03.2010 at 21:09  
Written by ₣rost Giant on 04.03.2010 at 16:48

Would have liked to have seen a little bit higher of a score considering how you praised it at some points and i dont understand how you gave it an 8 8 8 9 and then a 7.5 overall... enlighten me if you would.


Those four areas do not reflect the only criteria for the overall rating. When filling in a review you are asked for the following:

Performance How well the band plays their music.
Songwriting The quality of music and lyrics.
Originality How original this piece of work is.
Production The quality of sound.

Total rating Your final rating, based on the overall impression.

You'll notice the first four are all largely based upon the band's composition skills, execution, and the knobfiddling.

At no point do those sub-criteria actually ask whether or not you like the album.

it's completely possible that the band can craft a well structured song, do something a bit daring instead of tried and true, color by numbers music, play it really well, and have sound fantastic coming out of your speakers... but bore you to tears.

That's where the overall impression comes in. When i assign that figure, i look beyond just the other four bits and factor in how much i actually liked the album and whether or not it was likely to be something i pull from my collection and listen to again.
Amatsu Mikaboshi - 04.03.2010 at 21:45  
Now this is both a solid review coming straight after a solid album. This album suprised me quite the fair amount after hearing it straight after Close To A World Below before finding it. So far "A Glorious Epoch" is the standout song for me by it's such dark and dirty melodies similiar in prescence to "Unpardonable Sin".

Well... I men, that's what I could find in it.

The only real question I was going to ask was what was basically Frost Giant's comment before I read it afterwards.

Still as of now... I'm waiting for this alongside Immortal's "Sons of Northern Darkness".
sancho666 - 04.03.2010 at 22:09  
One of the best Immolation albums:) 9,5/10
Enigma - 05.03.2010 at 01:14  
Very Undearrated. Majesty and Decay deserves, at least, 8. One of the best albuns i've heard this year, with Overkill, Dark Tranquillity and Rotting Christ.
BurbotsRevenge - 05.03.2010 at 07:48  
Really awesome album imo, killer riffs, brutal as always, one of the best albums of 2010 so far
the only thing i really hate about this album is the ending to "A Token Of Malice" - i just think it sounds pretty lame
Baz Anderson - 05.03.2010 at 13:29  
Written by BurbotsRevenge on 05.03.2010 at 07:48

the only thing i really hate about this album is the ending to "A Token Of Malice" - i just think it sounds pretty lame

Yeh, that bugged me too.
theflyingmachine - 05.03.2010 at 21:34  
This is a good album. It seems like Immolation has really varied their sound over their career, and there is a lot of disagreement as to which is their best. I personally don't like Close to a World Below or Unholy Cult too much, although there are a lot of people saying those are their best. Anyways, this is their best album since Failures for Gods in my opinion, and I think 7.5 is just a little low...but to each their own.
Raiden - 06.03.2010 at 04:32  
Written by BitterCOld on 04.03.2010 at 21:09

Written by ₣rost Giant on 04.03.2010 at 16:48

Would have liked to have seen a little bit higher of a score considering how you praised it at some points and i dont understand how you gave it an 8 8 8 9 and then a 7.5 overall... enlighten me if you would.

You'll notice the first four are all largely based upon the band's composition skills, execution, and the knobfiddling.

At no point do those sub-criteria actually ask whether or not you like the album.

it's completely possible that the band can craft a well structured song, do something a bit daring instead of tried and true, color by numbers music, play it really well, and have sound fantastic coming out of your speakers... but bore you to tears.

Surely this wouldn't happen all that often would it?
frankeli - 06.03.2010 at 09:07  
Well satisfied with the album. It is Immolation ... although I would like to hear something new, but, hey, it is their music, not mine
Dangerboner - 10.03.2010 at 17:39  
This album is more brutal than farting out of your wiener
Maxx666 - 19.03.2010 at 21:06  
Immolation keeps on making masterpiece. There's nothing stopping them, that's for sure
MeTalRea|istiK - 02.10.2010 at 18:11  
I think 8 more appropiate..agree..immolation never stops making masterpiece..
Baz Anderson - 03.10.2010 at 14:37  
If I were to review this album again right now, it will get a much better review...
Mr. Doctor - 03.10.2010 at 16:22  
Written by Baz Anderson on 03.10.2010 at 14:37

If I were to review this album again right now, it will get a much better review...


From 7,5 to 10? Wow, you sure changed your opinion bro
What happened? It was too much to bite the first time? It's nice when albums do grow on you a lot.
Baz Anderson - 03.10.2010 at 16:49  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.10.2010 at 16:22

From 7,5 to 10? Wow, you sure changed your opinion bro
What happened? It was too much to bite the first time? It's nice when albums do grow on you a lot.

Not really. I gave it a lot of listens before I reviewed it.
What happened? I don't know... I just gave a bit more time to the band.
Sulac - 20.08.2011 at 08:20  
This is the album that got me to start branching out into death metal.
BeastOfMetal456 - 01.09.2011 at 04:37  
Written by Sulac on 20.08.2011 at 08:20

This is the album that got me to start branching out into death metal.

Great album, I agree. It's a great gateway into the genre. If you'd like some easy-to-get-into death metal, I could help you.
pkillerjp - 06.03.2014 at 00:28  
I actually rank this as one of their better albums, which seems like a rare opinion. Their early stuff is quite good, but I always considered it a little over praised, it never held my interest for the length of the album in full. This one does.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Immolation - Majesty And Decay 7.5 11.02.2010 by Ithyphallic
Reviews Immolation - Providence 7.5 27.10.2011 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Success Will Write Apocalypse Across The Sky - The Grand Partition And The Abrogation Of Idolatry 6 09.04.2009 by munson
Reviews Exodus - Shovel Headed Tour Machine (Live At Wacken And Other Assorted Atrocities) 6 05.01.2010 by Baz Anderson
Reviews Rex Mundi - Balance Between Madness And Hope 6 23.04.2007 by Damnated



Hits total: 6710 | This month: 51