Rating:
6.6
Fuelblooded - Off The Face Of The Earth
6 October 2009


01. The End Starts Here
02. Discounted Dormancy
03. When Passion Dies
04. Recipe For Demise
05. The Cult Of Ego
06. Off The Face Of The Earth
07. The Wrath Of A'ath
08. Pandemic Persecution
09. Demonized


To be honest I've never been a big fan of melodic death metal. Sure, it has cool riffs sometimes and I can appreciate a few of the bands. But the majority of the style has always seemed really bland to me. So there it was, a couple days ago, in an envelope addressed to Bas / Metal Storm lay the new output of the Dutch melo death band Fuelblooded. Of course I did what I always do, tried to give it an open-minded shot, listen to it a few times and hope for the best.

Ok, enough of my personal life, regardless of how cool and exciting it may be, now to describe the album at hand. As already mentioned the band plays melodic death metal, the thrashy sort to be exact, and from what I gathered Trivium, Darkane and Arch Enemy served as role models. Off The Face Of The Earth is their second full-length after 8 years of existence and contains a huge amount of melodic guitar solos.

The drumming is usually pretty fast, but pretty monotone as well, and not in the pretty way. Some of the riffs are really good, but the majority of them are just too soft for my taste. After all melodic death metal should be a lot death with a bit of melody, not a whole lot of melody with a smidgen of death, if you ask me.

Now the vocals are the most interesting issue that's up for discussion. Vocalist Peter Brinkman can put out some decent growls, but it turns out he prefers singing cleanly. His clean singing is pretty good, but it really doesn't fit. Somewhere in between heavy metal (ever heard of Iced Earth?) and alternative metal a ton of bands would be happy to have him. But well, the rest of the music is melodic death metal, and even though it's very melodic, his clean voice just doesn't really fit.

The production of the album is great and the musicianship is pretty tight too, but in the end this is just another of many many unimpressive bands in the world of metal.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 5
Production: 9


Website: http://www.fuelblooded.com


 


written by Bas | 04.03.2010



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 5  
Users visited: 71  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 05.03.2010 at 01:56  
Mmm, you name Trivium, Arch Enemey and Darkane and not a single one of them plays melodic death metal. So how come you think Fuelblooded plays it? I have seen the band a couple of times and nothing melodic death metal about them. MOdern thrash, yes. But NOT melodic death metal.

Btw, guitarist Danny Tunker is also part of Detonation.
BudDa - 05.03.2010 at 11:38  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.03.2010 at 01:56

Mmm, you name Trivium, Arch Enemey and Darkane and not a single one of them plays melodic death metal. So how come you think Fuelblooded plays it? I have seen the band a couple of times and nothing melodic death metal about them. MOdern thrash, yes. But NOT melodic death metal.

Btw, guitarist Danny Tunker is also part of Detonation.


What do Arch Enemy Play?! and what does Modern Thrash entail..examples?!
Troy Killjoy - 05.03.2010 at 12:28  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.03.2010 at 01:56

I have seen the band a couple of times and nothing melodic death metal about them...


They label themselves as melodic death / thrash and I'd have to agree. Maybe they aren't Cannibal Corpse+melody+Exodus, but they are that new brand of melodic death metal infused with the clean thrash sound (like a "modern Gothenburg" style). It's hard to explain.

Descriptive enough review. I'd rate it 5/10, mainly for those out-of-place clean vocals and bland musicianship. Some of the riffs are okay.
silenius - 05.03.2010 at 13:45  
Arch enemy and their likes do NOT play melodic death metal, we´ve had this conversation before and it will keep on going to eternity, but they dont play melodic DEATH metal.
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.03.2010 at 14:51  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.03.2010 at 01:56

Mmm, you name Trivium, Arch Enemey and Darkane and not a single one of them plays melodic death metal. So how come you think Fuelblooded plays it? I have seen the band a couple of times and nothing melodic death metal about them. MOdern thrash, yes. But NOT melodic death metal.

Btw, guitarist Danny Tunker is also part of Detonation.


Then what exactly would you say Darkane's modern thrash side project Non Human Level is then?

Melodic death metal is one of those non-literal tags that points to a band that has a particular sound and one that rarely has anything to do with death metal. Like in the way industrial black metal is never really industrial, not in the Throbbing Gristle sense, it's just an abstract term used to coin a particular sound.

I'll admit that Darkane has always had a thrashier sound (and most people regard them so) but Arch Enemy, especially in their early days fits the popular notion of melodic death metal.

Slaughter of the Soul? That was a thrash album in my mind.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Clairvoyants - Word To The Wise 4.5 30.03.2009 by Susan
Reviews Arch Rival - In The Face Of Danger 4 09.12.2009 by Daggon
Articles Bas' Best of the decade! My top 100 albums 2000-2009 3.5 14.12.2009 by Bas
Albums We Lost The Sea - The Quietest Place On Earth 3 25.12.2012 by who_cares
Funny stuff Iced Earth - The Dark Sega 3 15.06.2008 by Nickferatu367



Hits total: 4988 | This month: 44