Weakling - Dead As Dreams review



Reviewer:
9.0

60 users:
8.53
Band: Weakling
Album: Dead As Dreams
Release date: 2000


01. Cut Their Grain And Place Fire Therein
02. Dead As Dreams
03. This Entire Fucking Battlefield
04. No One Can Be Called As A Man While He'll Die
05. Disasters In The Sun


Weakling are one of the most important bands in the United States Black metal scene. Dead As Dreams, their post-mortem debut album, is both emotionally riveting and intensely raw. And although it is hard to get because of its limited release, with five songs clocking in over 75 minutes, it's worth every penny!

Weakling's main characteristic is their frequent juxtaposing of galloping and droning riffs. They run off into a blood-hungry battlefield-riff just as easy as they dwell in drawn-out multi-layered drones. But there's more.

Starting off with "Cut Their Grain And Place Fire Therein", with its ten-minutes the shortest track on the album, you immediately know you're in for a treat. The distortion is raw and ravished, the production likewise and the mood is set. A lead guitar gradually becomes more prominent until it evolves into an ugly, dirty solo. The title track is next and - clocking in at twenty minutes - the longest track. It starts off with a gray, hazily-distorted intro, which is surprisingly beautiful after the rage and ugliness of the opener. It quickly morphs back into pure hatred again, though, only allowing the listener a quick breath. And we continue this way - intense Black metal alternated by sections of beauty and / or calmness. The great thing about Weakling is that the raging Black metal still sounds beautiful and the calm parts still sound bleak and wretched.

My only point of criticism focuses on the vocals. John Gossards screeches are definitely not among the best the genre has to offer. Often yelling rather than screaming, he sounds weak and occasionally even awful. But looking at it from a different angle, he does fit with the general concept and music of Weakling. It'll just take a while to get used to them.

Dead As Dreams is an incredibly varied release which never drags during the entire seventy-five minutes. They go from droning to raw and wild to epic to heart-wrenching in a matter of moments. Although it has the sound of a Second Wave worshipper, it is actually quite progressive at heart. Weakling's Dead As Dreams is a captivating album and a must-check for the seasoned Black metal fan. It's one of those albums you have to hear while sitting in a comfy chair, in the dark, with full volume. Then you'll know what it is like to be dead but dreaming...


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 8


 



Written on 08.03.2010 by If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.


Comments

Comments: 16   Visited by: 198 users
08.03.2010 - 19:21
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
How did I ever miss this? I looked into their MySpace and listened to a few tracks... This is what black metal should be. As for the vocals, I think they fit the music perfectly as they come off very "dirty" or "rough", which really benefits the more eerie atmospheric sections. A 9.0 indeed. I have no ways or means to actually obtain the album, so I guess I'll have to keep it in good memory.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
08.03.2010 - 19:43
BitterCOld
Gringo
It's a great album that can at least be obtained virtually if not physically. nice work with the review.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
08.03.2010 - 19:46
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Bona fide classic.
Loading...
13.04.2010 - 09:34
Mikyz
Classic BM album, the musicianship on this and the mood it creates is astounding, overwhelmingly suffocating. As for the vocals, I read in some interview that they were actually looking for a vocalist before recording but they never actually found one so Gossard was pushed into a corner and didn't have any other choice than doing the vocals himself. But now that i got used to his vocals I can't imagine it otherwise it would ruin the overall image imo. Great review btw
----
Laugh and the world laughs with you. Weep and you weep alone.
Loading...
19.04.2010 - 23:20
HardSide
One of the best BM albums made. Ironically the album is made by band members that are not in black metal bands, and they mastered what most BM musician been trying to master for years.
Loading...
20.04.2010 - 21:43
Maxx666
Meshuggahian
A classic release indeed.
Loading...
21.04.2010 - 19:55
HardSide
Written by Guest on 21.04.2010 at 19:15

Weak.


Go back and listen to more of your H.I.M., don't rate a genre that you clearly dont appreciate. And no please dont reply and tell me cradle of filth is bm.
Loading...
21.04.2010 - 20:32
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Hey hey, let's not attack each other on taste here. Although a one-word comment IS spam and that IS forbidding. Even if the one word is 'fantastic' or 'amazing'.

So please, elaborate.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
05.09.2010 - 04:23
-DC-002-
Mastercommander
I never had a problem with the vocals on this. They fit perfectly to the music, very sorrowful and full of lament and anguish. Great CD I'm glad I was able to get a hard copy.
----
Coldgrits
Loading...
10.11.2012 - 01:59
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Guest on 21.04.2010 at 19:15

Weak.

Don't understand this at all. This is probably one of the best black metal albums around. Please, explain yourself.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
10.11.2012 - 02:05
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Boxcar Willy on 10.11.2012 at 01:59

Don't understand this at all. This is probably one of the best black metal albums around. Please, explain yourself.

Indeed. I'm not as crazy about this as I used to be but it's very good and one of the most influential albums for modern black metal.
Loading...
10.11.2012 - 14:16
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Guest on 10.11.2012 at 02:05

Written by Boxcar Willy on 10.11.2012 at 01:59

Don't understand this at all. This is probably one of the best black metal albums around. Please, explain yourself.

Indeed. I'm not as crazy about this as I used to be but it's very good and one of the most influential albums for modern black metal.


Same... I don't get my panties wet over it but when I heard it the first time the first thing I thought it's how incredibly solid this is. So far from weak.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
10.11.2012 - 15:47
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Guest on 10.11.2012 at 15:12


Here's my explanation:





an answer such as this is not allowed.

If you post pictures as an answer words have to accompany it in a meaningful manner.

Just " Here's my explanation" and then posting cryptic and vague pcitures does not consitute a proper answer on this forum.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
10.11.2012 - 17:30
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
^^Okay...?

Really wish i could find this on Cd too, but fat chance of that happening.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
10.05.2013 - 00:55
mz
I think the vocals fit perfectly with music and atmosphere. Could not imagine this album without them
----
Giving my ears a rest from music.
Loading...
29.06.2013 - 15:11
J. N.
Written by Boxcar Willy on 10.11.2012 at 17:30
Really wish i could find this on Cd too, but fat chance of that happening.

Search for the band here and thou shalt receive.
----
Demetrius: Villain, what hast thou done?
Aaron: That which thou canst not undo.
Chiron: Thou hast undone our mother.
Aaron: Villain, I have done thy mother.
- William Shakespeare's Titus Andronicus: Act 4, Scene 2 (1593)
Loading...

Hits total: 6907 | This month: 26