Rating:
9.0
Armour - Armour
3 January 2010


01. Rock 'n' Roll Tonite
02. The Time Is Right
03. Sex Demon
04. Roll Out (Or Get Rocked)
05. Satan's Knights
06. Can't Resist Your Spell
07. Magick Armour
08. Hellfire
09. Ready To Attack
10. Heavy Metal Drinkers


Let's face it, heavy metal is goofy as shit, one has to be either in complete denial or completely ignorant to think otherwise. For all those in denial about the comedic appeal of even the most "serious" metal acts, Finland's Armour is a healthy reality check. It's silly, ridiculous, and surprisingly hauls a lot of ass.

Armour almost seem to be a science experiment of some kind, as if someone said "What happened if we took heavy metal classics, but stripped away all the parts that we can all do without?" This band seems really down to earth with their music, they focus more on the memorable hooks instead of bullshitting themselves into thinking people care about an over-indulgent extended guitar solo. The guitar solos are kept to a minimum and only where they flow seamlessly with the rest of the song. With their self-titled debut, Armour are ready for the big stage right off the bat, putting out an album that's pretty much 100% big-crowd anthem material. The vocals are what really push this album one step higher - basically just picture Brian Johnson and Udo Dirkschneider simultaneously knocking up Rob Halford, the offspring is Mr. Vince Venom. An additional aspect of this album that doesn't escape notice is the fact that Armour don't get caught in any boring ruts, stuck in one tempo throughout the entire album (as so many heavy metal acts do). There's everything from the semi-thrash speed of "Painkiller" with some more laid back cruisers a la AC/DC.

The only way any heavy metal fan couldn't enjoy this would be a lack of sense of humour. One has to be prepared for tracks like "Satan's Knights" and "Sex Demon" (not to be confused with Spinal Tap's "Sex Farm"). It's a tongue-in-cheek album...Or at least I hope it is. It just goes to show, you don't have to be serious to be seriously awesome.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 10.03.2010 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 224  
Search this topic:  


DayFly - 10.03.2010 at 02:21  
Somehow I am not surprised that you've already reviewed this. And somehow I get the feeling I just might enjoy this.
Doc Godin - 10.03.2010 at 02:22  
Written by DayFly on 10.03.2010 at 02:21

Somehow I am not surprised that you've already reviewed this. And somehow I get the feeling I just might enjoy this.

Judging from our previous conversations, I think you would probably enjoy it.
Fat & Sassy! - 10.03.2010 at 04:06  
I could always use some more good ol' heavy metal like this. I will definitely be checking this out.
Dark Blood - 10.03.2010 at 06:48  
Very nice find Doc. These guys really bring back the good ol heavy metal shit. This made my day.
Valentin B - 10.03.2010 at 09:02  
Thanks for the recommendation dude! this sounds seriously awesome.

edit: lol i'm listening right now to this and the music is really great but the lyrics are a bit too non-serious for me. i mean, i'm all for partying and metal and shit but these guys turn the tongue-in-cheek knob up to eleven and i'd bet if you asked them why they'd say "because 11 is louder than 10!". the lyrics are quite frankly Alestorm if you swapped the pirate theme with metal, sex, demons and rock n roll.

and i'm sorry to hear that "Ready To Attack" clearly has borrowed the main riff from Saxon - Denim and Leather. but i guess looking at White Wizzard's last album(more precisely the song "40 Deuces", you'll recognize the song from where they borrowed the main riff pretty much instantly) i guess that's the trend nowadays.

also i disagree about the vocalist, he's something like a cross between King Diamond(low vocals) and Cam Pipes(especially the high vocals) actually you being a 3IoB fan i'm surprised you haven't noticed that yourself.
Metal Maiden - 10.03.2010 at 18:11  
After White Wizzard outranked Cauldron in my mind about being the best Maiden clone there is (In the very BEST meaning of the word, that is... ), it's a bit too early for another shift...But I'm so hooked on classic heavy metal at this very moment, that I am bound to check these guys out...Meanwhile, any band classy enough to be mentioned alongside the above-mentioned will be a welcome recommendation...
Doc Godin - 10.03.2010 at 23:48  
Written by Valentin B on 10.03.2010 at 09:02

also i disagree about the vocalist, he's something like a cross between King Diamond(low vocals) and Cam Pipes(especially the high vocals) actually you being a 3IoB fan i'm surprised you haven't noticed that yourself.

I find hes got a little more range than Cam Pipes, also a little more gravelly. I find Pipes to be more smooth and a wee bit higher pitched.
Vombatus - 13.05.2011 at 21:19  
Enjoying this one alot. Nazgul's voice reminds me of Mr. Blackie Lawless (in is old times )
Daggon - 08.05.2013 at 07:07  
As you said, this is like something to have some fun, and they can be kinda cheesy without playing lame music, that's something great. Some catchy tunes here and there. It's a quite enjoyable album if you ask.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Cardinals Folly - Our Cult Continues! 4.5 15.08.2014 by Mattybu
Reviews Northern Oak - Of Roots And Flesh 4.5 17.09.2014 by WinterMadness
Reviews Charlotte - Medusa Groove 4.5 20.05.2010 by Xnoybis
Reviews Black Sabbath - Paranoid (Classic Albums) 4.5 25.08.2010 by vezzy
Reviews Autopsy - The Headless Ritual 4.5 25.07.2013 by Boxcar Willy



Hits total: 4109 | This month: 23