Rating:
8.2
Arrayan Path - Terra Incognita
16 February 2010


01. Cassiopeia
02. Molon Lave
03. Terra Incognita
04. Open Session
05. Ishtar
06. The Blood Remains On The Believer
07. Elegy
08. Angel With No Destination
09. Minas Tirith
10. The Mind [bonus]


I started writing official reviews for Metal Storm in 2008 and each year so far I've received a Cypriot album of a different band, each with the brothers Nicholas (vocalist) and Socrates (guitarist) Leptos on board. You can check the 2008 review for Diphtheria here and the 2009 review for Prodigal Earth here. Now one could muse that as Cyprus isn't very big, they might not have enough singers and guitarists to fill all their metal bands with, but let's just consider the two brothers as very busy metalheads for now.

The only album from Cyprus I'll be reviewing today though, is Arryan Paths ('Arryan' with two 'R's is apparently a type of flower by the way, and has nothing to do with nonsensical 'Aryan' (one 'R') ideology) second album; Terra Incognita.

Starting off with a over nine-minutes beast of a song, the band sets things straight right away, proving to be fully capable of writing well-structured, catchy and slightly progressive heavy metal goodness. Sprinklings of middle-eastern sounds, as suggested by the artwork and a good lesson in epicness are added in for free! Although the opening song is the one that impressed me most, the follow-ups are no slouches either. The music has a slightly oldschoolish feeling to it at times, as well as a small nod to Iron Maiden here and there.

Originality in metal is rare nowadays and Arryan Path is no exception. Production and music are top notch though, so if you're into epic/melodic heavy/power metal, I can't see a reason for you not to pick it up. A highly enjoyable album, which leaves me wondering what Cypriot album I'll be reviewing in 2011.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 8


Band profile: Arrayan Path
Album: Terra Incognita


 


written by Bas | 21.03.2010



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 184  
Search this topic:  


Bad English - 21.03.2010 at 23:25  
Road to Macedonia vs this, whitch is better wher emore Hellenic feelings?
yeah we all know what is Greeks
Ellrohir - 22.03.2010 at 00:16  
Anyone can tell me, which flower is this "arryan"?
Troy Killjoy - 22.03.2010 at 15:43  
Written by Ellrohir on 22.03.2010 at 00:16

Anyone can tell me, which flower is this "arryan"?


Apparently it's a North American wildflower, but I searched through 10 pages of Google (keywords: Arryan +flower), various wildflower websites, and even Wikipedia.

None of the above attempts resulted in finding this Arryan flower. In fact the only mention of such a flower existing comes from the band (and therefore reviews of the album), so maybe it's just a hoax. I'll read further into their lyrics...
Bas - 22.03.2010 at 19:26  
This is the official statement from the label:

"Hoping to clear the controversy surrounding the band's name once and for all, first and foremost PITCH BLACK RECORDS has a zero tolerance on racism and is very firm on NOT collaborating with anyone lacking respect for different races and ethnicities. "Arryan" (double 'r') is simply a type of flower and has NOTHING to do with "Aryan" and its associations with Nazism. "

So I have no idea if such a flower really exists, like Troy I could also imagine that it doesn't exist, but I don't believe the band embraces aryan ideology either.
Bad English - 22.03.2010 at 20:53  
Written by Bas on 22.03.2010 at 19:26


"

So I have no idea if such a flower really exists, like Troy I could also imagine that it doesn't exist, but I don't believe the band embraces aryan ideology either.


band idiology is Hellenic, ancient greece, all who's comnnected whit culture they proudly can say Macedinonia is Greece , all idea is connected wht helenic and there nothing to do whit NS
Damn Leptos is AEK
Got Mayhem? - 22.03.2010 at 21:28  
It seems odd that a label with such a firm stance on racism would have a band with such an easily misunderstood name. It really appears to me that it's a headache that could have been easily avoided with a simple change of name.
Ellrohir - 22.03.2010 at 22:12  
Well there are some so called "NS" bands who are playing about greek mythology...this is not the determining factor...

but i have found, that "Arryan" should be some kind of transcription of "Arrayan" which is much more common word used for various shrubs from Myrtaceae family...

but it is strange to use such a name...they should called them "Myrtle Path" then and it would mean the same...but it wont be so "provoking"...
Introspekrieg - 22.03.2010 at 22:19  
I don't see what the problem is: Link
Marcel Hubregtse - 22.03.2010 at 22:42  
Written by Introspekrieg on 22.03.2010 at 22:19

I don't see what the problem is: Link


Of cours eit is alright for INdian to use it cause the Arayan people are from the north of India. Nothing more nothing less
Bas - 22.03.2010 at 23:10  
Written by Got Mayhem? on 22.03.2010 at 21:28

It seems odd that a label with such a firm stance on racism would have a band with such an easily misunderstood name. It really appears to me that it's a headache that could have been easily avoided with a simple change of name.

The band is a couple years older than the (tiny) label, which exists since 2008, the mastermind of Arryan Path being on three of the five albums the label has released so far, whatever that might imply... nontheless I agree with you that the name simply isn't a good choice.


And I wonder if anyone is going to comment the music instead of the band name any time soon. Not that I'm counting on it anymore though
Ellrohir - 23.03.2010 at 00:22  
Written by Bas on 22.03.2010 at 23:10

And I wonder if anyone is going to comment the music instead of the band name any time soon. Not that I'm counting on it anymore though


its like me asking MS staff to judge those "NS" bands like Temnozor or Nokturnal Mortum according to the music they produce and not the things the band members say - for some reason it doesnt work so here...so why i cannot troll a little about this band? i am pretty sure, there is an intention of provoking behind this name...
VaronoZz - 23.03.2010 at 18:07  
Written by Bad English on 21.03.2010 at 23:25

Road to Macedonia vs this, whitch is better wher emore Hellenic feelings?
yeah we all know what is Greeks


no, they are CYPRIOTS who admire a little bit more greek mythology than others ;p
Bad English - 23.03.2010 at 18:38  
C mon its Arryan whit 2 RR but thet aryan what we all think first is whit one R

Music I can judge it because I know onl 1th album
GT - 16.01.2011 at 00:19  
Just heard the album today and I really like it. Reminds me a bit of Bloodbound and that's not bad at all

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
News Arryan Path - Premiere Debut Video 4.5 10.08.2013 by Angel_Lament
Reviews Strider - Gearheart - One Man's Path From Sorrow To Redemption 4.5 11.05.2008 by enumaelis
Reviews Nihil Novi Sub Sole - Promo '09 [Magazines Only] 3 13.09.2009 by Lucas
Reviews No Remorse No Retreat - Warbringer 3 07.01.2010 by GT
Reviews Dperd - Io Sono Un Errore 3 20.06.2010 by Got Mayhem?



Hits total: 5592 | This month: 39