Rating:
6.1
Led To The Grave - Led To The Grave
1 October 2008


01. No Choice But To Kill
02. Hellbound
03. BTK
04. Pummel
05. Portrait Of Evil
06. Speed Junkie
07. Lords Of War
08. Feed The Demons
09. Cutthroat
10. Hit And Run


Led To The Grave is one of those bands that's better when you're not listening to them. Led To The Grave, or well, their nameless debut, looks so delicously amateuristic and underground with its cheesy album art, concert flyer photoshop-mash-up in the booklet and the awesome songtitles on the back. "Speed Junkie", "Lords Of War" and "Feed The Demons"? Nuff said. I got pretty excited before popping in the disc, I must admit.

But then, the music. It's not above decent during any given moment. It's Thrash, let's get that out of the way first, with a Punk-y vibe. I'm not sure if that was really the intention, or if that's just because of the simplicity of the riffs. The riffs just have 'sixteen year olds in their garage' stamped all over it. That in itself isn't too bad, but coupled with the unimaginative vocals and ditto drums, it just becomes too much and too monotone to last the entire ride (fourty-one minutes). It all becomes a blur and hey, guess what? That's not the purpose of Thrash metal, is it?

Led To The Grave is a definite miss. What we have here are enthusiastic musicians with a good dose of skill that write terribly uninspired and bland music. I'd prefer bland musicians with enthusiastic music, to be honest. Meh. I hate it when Thrash bands disappoint me.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 4
Production: 6


 



Written on 25.03.2010 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 87  
Search this topic:  


Doc Godin - 25.03.2010 at 22:16  
Sounds like a weak Municipal Waste/Toxic Holocaust hybrid from what I could tell. Their songs are too long for this type of music.
Troy Killjoy - 25.03.2010 at 22:22  
That's one hell of an introductory statement! I haven't heard this but something tells me I don't want to.
Fat & Sassy! - 25.03.2010 at 23:23  
As cheesy as it is... I love this album's cover art.
Metal Maiden - 25.03.2010 at 23:47  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.03.2010 at 23:23

As cheesy as it is... I love this album's cover art.


Lol, me too, I kinda got excited, though it was some old-school DM...
Doc Godin - 26.03.2010 at 08:31  
Yeah, I enjoy the artwork as well. Admittedly, I also enjoy the music to some degree. I like the punk influence, but there definitely is room for improvement. Probably enjoy the music more than Lucas, but I wouldn't say he's far off. Somewhere between a 6.5-7ish for me.

The actual review is funny though. I prefer it when Lucas gets albums he thinks are shit, it's always good for a laugh.
Doc Godin - 23.04.2010 at 11:35  
Scratch that, after a fuck-tonne of serious listening, I'm really digging this one. It's become my new staff pick.
Daggon - 16.05.2013 at 08:36  
"I hate it when Thrash bands disappoint me"

This last line of the review sums very well what I feel about this album, it's not bad, but it isn't good either. The main problem is that after listening to the album a couple of times, I can't remember any memorable song, even if there are some cool riffs here and there.

NEXT!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Austere - Only The Wind Remembers / Ending The Circle Of Life 4.5 10.11.2008 by BestMetalstormer
Reviews Hyatari - The Light Carriers 4.5 26.03.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Acid Bath - When The Kite String Pops 4.5 06.07.2008 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Ash Pool - For Which He Plies The Lash 4.5 05.09.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Dead Beat Project - Breaking The Shell 4.5 15.01.2009 by Collin



Hits total: 3517 | This month: 1