Alcest - Écailles De Lune review



Reviewer:
8.7

546 users:
8.57
Band: Alcest
Album: Écailles De Lune
Release date: March 2010


01. Écailles De Lune - Part 1
02. Écailles De Lune - Part 2
03. Percées De Lumière
04. Abysses
05. Solar Song
06. Sur L'océan Couleur De Fer


Souvenirs D'Un Autre Monde was something quite new. Its combination of Black metal and Shoegaze, occasionally referred to as 'metalgaze', revealed that even metalheads occasionally dig warm, subtle music conceptually revolving around a wonderland or fairyland, where the bunnies hop through gently sloped meadows and spring is everlasting and more wonderfully jolly things. Who knows, maybe we're not as inevitably hell-bound as we think we are.

Écailles De Lune is inspired by the sea and revolves around a man that decides to leave this world for another one. Literally. Yey fairies. Neige opted for a slightly different focus in sound to match the new theme. Gone are the happy, overjoyed acoustics, in comes a more ethereal and heavenly sound. Écailles De Lune differs from its predecessor in that, where Souvenirs felt down-to-earth and "relaxing in the grass and under a warm summer sun"-human, Écailles is equally beautiful but much more angelic and thus, slightly less human. It's everything but a complaint, mind you.

Écailles De Lune is also much more diverse than Souvenirs. Whereas on Souvenirs Black metal merged with Shoegaze to a point where the Black metal was almost unrecognisable, Écailles contains a few truly dark Black metal passages. Neige proves he still has what it takes to pull off his high-pitched scream, alongside his soothing humming-like cleans. Both the shift in genre and the angelic attitude of modern day Alcest are perfectly illustrated in the track "Écailles De Lune (Part II)".

"Percées De Lumière" is the moment of transition in the storyline, and thereafter the mood changes considerably. "Abysses" is a gloomy ambient interlude, followed by "Solar Song" and "Sur L'Ocean Couleur De Fer" which get progressively more distant and hallow, until finally the last traces of, I don't know, 'Fairy Land' are gone. Lyrically cheesy, but musically, absolutely wonderful and captivating.

You might have to abandon the 'omg clean vox so ghey!' and 'br00tal metuhlz' motto's for a while in order to appreciate Écailles De Lune. Although the first half of the album might help the transition from regular metal to this, the latter part of the album might prove to be a little difficult. If you're no stranger to ethereal music, angelic atmospheres and other divine stuff, don't skip this one.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8


 



Written on 29.03.2010 by If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.

Guest review by
4look4rd
Rating:
8.9
Imagine yourself lying on the bare ground of a desolated beach, gazing at the majesty of the full moon. Now close your eyes and focus on the sound of the nearby forest and sea. Wait for the high tide to wrap your body in a blanket of warmth and blissfulness. Listen to the call of the spirits of the night; follow them into the deep sea. Finally allow the hypnotic waters to consume your mortal life and embrace the splendor of Fairyland. This is the basic essence of Écailles de Lune.

Read more ››
published 30.10.2010 | Comments (5)


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 51   Visited by: 494 users
04.04.2010 - 01:04
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Quote:
Written by Zuzuz0r on 03.04.2010 at 21:04

Well, it seems like you haven't head Alcest's debut then... Because that one is everything but dark. But yeah. This album is dark, probably because the screams are back, their debut on the other hand was 100% peaceful moments imo.


That album I think it's a borderline between metal and shoegaze, it's still "heavy" but the music itself is far from being aggresive, I'd call it a heavier version of Slowdive(for me it sounds closer to Slowdive than to MBV) or even Sigur Rós(not shoegaze, but the music is kinda similar).


Wait... what album are you talking about? Because I'm talking about Ecailles De Lune, saying that it was darker than Alcest's debut. I never called the debut or this album agressive.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
04.04.2010 - 15:53
ylside
Percees de Lumiere is my favourite track so far.
Loading...
04.04.2010 - 22:00
Zuzuz0r
Quote:
Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.04.2010 at 01:04

Written by Zuzuz0r on 03.04.2010 at 21:04

Well, it seems like you haven't head Alcest's debut then... Because that one is everything but dark. But yeah. This album is dark, probably because the screams are back, their debut on the other hand was 100% peaceful moments imo.


That album I think it's a borderline between metal and shoegaze, it's still "heavy" but the music itself is far from being aggresive, I'd call it a heavier version of Slowdive(for me it sounds closer to Slowdive than to MBV) or even Sigur Rós(not shoegaze, but the music is kinda similar).


Wait... what album are you talking about? Because I'm talking about Ecailles De Lune, saying that it was darker than Alcest's debut. I never called the debut or this album agressive.


Lol, I was just talking about both albums(on my post), about the aggresive thing, was because of the screams, but only that, just wanted to say that about the band still having "metal" elements.
----
If this grand panorama before me is what you call God
Then God is not dead.
Loading...
07.04.2010 - 20:15
Bleak_Advent
Just got my limited box set in the mail. Amazing...
Loading...
07.04.2010 - 20:18
Shadowcross
The Summoner
Killer album :banger:
Loading...
08.04.2010 - 06:34
BitterCOld
Gringo
Written by ylside on 04.04.2010 at 15:53

Percees de Lumiere is my favourite track so far.


that one sounds like it could be a Cure track at the start.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
08.04.2010 - 17:56
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by BitterCOld on 08.04.2010 at 06:34
that one sounds like it could be a Cure track at the start.


It's that a good thing or a bad thing in your opinion?
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
08.04.2010 - 18:55
BitterCOld
Gringo
Written by Mr. Doctor on 08.04.2010 at 17:56

Written by BitterCOld on 08.04.2010 at 06:34
that one sounds like it could be a Cure track at the start.


It's that a good thing or a bad thing in your opinion?


i'm a huge cure fan, so it's not a bad thing.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
25.04.2010 - 03:18
Visioneerie
Urban Monster
Écailles de lune (part II) is outstanding while the rest of the tracks are fairly enjoyable. A nod to the singing on Solar Song.
----
Any man can stand adversity, but to test his character give him power - A. Lincoln
Loading...
12.05.2010 - 00:15
-DC-002-
Mastercommander
This album, like the first LP, is really quite good. Some parts are still very underwhelming to me though, but that may be because I am not used to Shoegaze and am very used to Black Metal.
----
Coldgrits
Loading...
13.06.2010 - 17:38
MétalNoir
Fils du Lys
Written by Konrad on 29.03.2010 at 16:33

This is such a beautiful album Nice review. Are lyrics translated into english yet?


I just submitted an english translation for the lyrics
----
Notre destinée n'est pas encore tracée....
Loading...
14.06.2010 - 18:57
Konrad
Mormon Storm
Dude, awesome...thanks!
----
Brujerizmo!
Loading...
10.07.2010 - 23:58
InnerSelf
proofread free
Nice review and it sums up the whole album nicely
this is until now the album of the year for me , it puts me in a calm peaceful state of mind and some times tears of joy come rushing "WOW the last sentence sounds so ... "
anyway I still have A Forest of Stars to listen to and of course the not yet released efforts of Mar De Grises , Officium Triste and hopefully Shining and Esoteric
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
18.07.2010 - 07:02
elseif
Nice album
Loading...
01.02.2011 - 20:41
nilzardo
Account deleted
Alcest isn't about some "fairyland". This is ridiculous.
Loading...
01.02.2011 - 20:47
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by Guest on 01.02.2011 at 20:41

Alcest isn't about some "fairyland". This is ridiculous.


Okay, Jóse.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
01.02.2011 - 21:31
BitterCOld
Gringo
Perhaps nilzardo should read some interviews with Neige, eh?
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
02.02.2011 - 17:26
nilzardo
Account deleted
Written by BitterCOld on 01.02.2011 at 21:31

Perhaps nilzardo should read some interviews with Neige, eh?

Perhaps you should read some interviews with Neige, eh?
http://avantgarde-metal.com/content/stories2.php?id=202
Loading...
25.05.2011 - 10:30
Windrider
Raureif
I like this album, but the Solar Song isn't even good in my opinion, very weak and so lame that I can't keep my thoughts on it... I guess replacing it with Det Som En Gang Var would make this album perfect
Loading...
10.07.2011 - 23:06
Slayer666
This shit is even better than Souvenirs, possibly because of the slight-ish Black Metal injection.
Keep it coming, Neige!
Loading...
27.11.2011 - 02:14
Oaken
Hipster
The intro arpeggio of Percees De Lumiere is timeless. The whole album is.
----
In that case, man is only air as well.
Loading...

Hits total: 13343 | This month: 67