Rating:
8.5
Rhapsody Of Fire - The Frozen Tears Of Angels
30 April 2010


01. Dark Frozen World
02. Sea Of Fate
03. Crystal Moonlight
04. Reign Of Terror
05. Danza Di Fuoco E Ghiaccio
06. Raging Starfire
07. Lost In Cold Dreams
08. On The Way To Ainor
09. The Frozen Tears Of Angels
10. Labyrinth Of Madness [bonus]
11. Sea Of Fate [orchestral version] [bonus]
12. Immortal New Reign [Japanese bonus]


The mighty Rhapsody are back with a new label after years of legal battles. The question is; have the past years exhausted the band, or is The Frozen Tears Of Angels the masterpiece they claim it is?

There's no doubt that The Frozen Tears Of Angels is a Rhapsody album; flamboyant, colourful, cheesy and theatrical, the kings are back. This isn't the absolute masterpiece you might have been waiting for however, but neither is it a disappointment. Opening "Sea Of Fate" might show us that Luca Turilli's fingers haven't ceased up, and the silky smooth "Crystal Moonlight" might be mildly catchy, but these songs fall short of the wild energy and pomposity you might have experienced on the Dawn Of Victory or Power Of The Dragonflame albums for example.

Fear not mighty warriors; The Frozen Tears Of Angels has life in it yet. The following trio of songs act as backbone for the album and are pure vintage Rhapsody gems. "Reign Of Terror" frightfully opens with a scream and blasting drums, and leads into arguably the fruitiest, most dynamic piece of symphonic power metal this side of Power Of The Dragonflame. "Danza Di Fuoco E Ghiaccio" provides the mandatory folk number, and "Raging Starfire" is another top power metal classic that we'd have expected from Rhapsody in their prime years ago.

The grand and epic "On The Way To Ainor" also deserves one last honourable mention, at the end of this wonderful album. The Frozen Tears Of Angels is perhaps the band's best album since Power Of The Dragonflame. It is a good length and doesn't get bogged down with narrated interludes and other time-wasting tracks we saw with Symphony Of Enchanted Lands II, this album goes straight to the point and delivers it. With that said, The Frozen Tears Of Angels doesn't quite have the consistency or the overall solidarity of their finest days, and with a couple of exceptions aside, the album doesn't quite reach the same highs as some of the band's vast past glories.

The Frozen Tears Of Angels is a fantastic album of bombastic, flamboyant and vibrant symphonic power metal that oozes with over-the-top orchestrations and cheese - enough to satisfy anyone of the power-persuasion. Rhapsody have provided an album worth the wait; it might not be the best album they have put out over the years, but it certainly has its moments. Not perfect, not a masterpiece, but it is still a very welcome return from Rhapsody and a very fitting addition to their ranks.


Symphonic Power metal
Nuclear Blast
Italy
Length: 53:48

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 10


Band profile: Rhapsody Of Fire
Album: The Frozen Tears Of Angels


 



Written on 08.05.2010 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››

Guest review by
Parasomnia

Rating:
9.3
Rhapsody Of Fire is a name synonymous with power metal. Anyone who has ever delved even the smallest bit into this genre undoubtedly has heard of this band. This fact is with good reason: Rhapsody Of Fire is a freaking powerhouse of talent and epic ability. Unlike their last couple albums, The Frozen Tears of Angels satisfies every bit of the unicorn riding, dragon slaying fantasies of Rhapsody Of Fire nerds, while maintaining super solid, well written metal songs.

Read more ››
published 05.06.2011 | Comments (9)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 45  
Users visited: 507  
Search this topic:  


wrathchild - 08.05.2010 at 15:37  
Haven't listened to them since the Power Of The Dragonflame album but I'm quite interested in listening to this one, at least to celebrate the end of their contract with that Magic Circle label...
Fat & Sassy! - 08.05.2010 at 16:00  
Great! I needed some new cool jams to listen to as I ride my red dragon across the holy epic skies of wisdom and fiery power! >:[
JÄY - 08.05.2010 at 20:28  
Good review baz
Warrior_Of_Ice - 08.05.2010 at 20:33  
Nice review Baz
Mr. Doctor - 08.05.2010 at 23:52  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 08.05.2010 at 16:00

Great! I needed some new cool jams to listen to as I ride my red dragon across the holy epic skies of wisdom and fiery power! >:[

Where red Dragon = Walking or in a bike
Holy epic skies of wisdom and fiery Power = School/University/something
munson - 09.05.2010 at 00:34  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 08.05.2010 at 23:52

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 08.05.2010 at 16:00

Great! I needed some new cool jams to listen to as I ride my red dragon across the holy epic skies of wisdom and fiery power! >:[

Where red Dragon = Walking or in a bike
Holy epic skies of wisdom and fiery Power = School/University/something



Good news is this album is great for both! Whether conquesting to slay dragons or free an enslaved people or simply making chicken nuggets in the microwave at 3am after a day-long session of World of Warcraft, this album is perfect!
Darkside Momo - 09.05.2010 at 01:03  
Quote:
Not perfect, not a masterpiece, but it is still a very welcome return from Rhapsody and a very fitting addition to their ranks.

Exactly what I think of it.
A great Rhapsody album alweays makes want to master some epic D&D. This one does - at times
Clint W. - 09.05.2010 at 05:58  
Good review. I've never been a big fan of Rhapsody but I've always wanted to listen to more. From this review and what I've heard of the album I'll definitely have to check it out in full when and if I can.
SexyCat_1113 - 09.05.2010 at 08:51  
Great Album! Rhapsody come back with they power now£¡
Ellrohir - 09.05.2010 at 12:32  
Yes...i think i very much agree with this review now...

for the first time i was disappointed, later it improved...on the other hand for me the whole album still isnt so bombastic as older ones, so 8.5 would me more than generous rating but acceptable from me
Kingface - 09.05.2010 at 12:52  
Great review Baz, it pretty much sums up my own views on the album perfectly!
DieH@rd - 09.05.2010 at 14:12  
Really awesome album, Rhapsody came back with a bang. Im really enjoying it.
Jujitsu-man - 09.05.2010 at 14:49  
I agree with the review. Not the best Rhpasody album, but not so far away from being it!

And "Reign Of Terror" has surprised me a lot. It's an amazing powerful song.

The powermetal kings are back in the kingdom!
Zhao - 09.05.2010 at 14:50  
Perhaps this is the turning point of Rhapsody...(of Fire)?
Valaskjalf - 09.05.2010 at 16:56  
I find it hard to give an album a score of over 7/10 when it sounds exactly the way you expect it to. Crazy guitars, cheesy lyrics and vocals, bombastic and symphonic - all fine when applied in moderation but after 15 years of this it surely cant STILL be considered very good?
Dani5050 - 09.05.2010 at 18:50  
I fail to see the greatness in this album , maybe its because I'm not a power metal fan. Great review though
Lord_Regnier - 09.05.2010 at 19:33  
The album does not suck but I find it kinda bland, if you know what I mean.
I also have the feeling people tend to overrate it because the band haven't released a good album in a long time and because Powermetal albums quite often suck nowadays, so as soon as something is average, people easily think it's awesome.
It's decent but not great. Not a masterpiece.

If you want a comparison, I think Ancient Bards' "The Alliance Of The Kings" is definitely better musically. What brings it down is the female vocals that sound weak. Fabio Lione is much better than Sara Squadrani as a PM vocalist.
But put Fabio's vocals on "The Alliance of The Kings" and you would get a better album than TFTOA.
Though Ancient Bards is a rip-off of old Rhapsody, so the extent of their merit is debatable.

I never give ratings but, imo, a 6 or 7 (at max) would be right.
Fat & Sassy! - 09.05.2010 at 19:50  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 08.05.2010 at 23:52

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 08.05.2010 at 16:00

Great! I needed some new cool jams to listen to as I ride my red dragon across the holy epic skies of wisdom and fiery power! >:[

Where red Dragon = Walking or in a bike
Holy epic skies of wisdom and fiery Power = School/University/something


See? It's more relative to real life than most would think! XD
Mr. Doctor - 09.05.2010 at 20:53  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 09.05.2010 at 19:50

See? It's more relative to real life than most would think! XD


If Power Metal is relative to real life... Now I get why I listen to suicidal Black Metal.
Fat & Sassy! - 09.05.2010 at 21:00  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.05.2010 at 20:53

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 09.05.2010 at 19:50

See? It's more relative to real life than most would think! XD


If Power Metal is relative to real life... Now I get why I listen to suicidal Black Metal.


It's only relative to the ridiculous. XD Honestly dude, as much as most power metal has gotten to the point of just being tedious to me, I still think imagining flying around on dragons and shit while listening to this stuff is pretty raw. XD It's dangerous for me to listen to it when I'm out driving, because I just want to summon my car to transform into a majestic winged beast, lift off into the sky, and fight some holy warriors. Although, folk/black metal can be more dark and epic, it just doesn't have the same effect... and well, suicidal BM is just depressing (not saying that it can't be awesome though).
Lord_Regnier - 09.05.2010 at 21:11  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 09.05.2010 at 21:00

Although, folk/black metal can be more dark and epic


Glad to know I'm not the only person on earth who thinks Black Metal can be more epic than Powermetal.
People constantly refer to PM as epic while, honestly, I barely see any epicness in this genre, only cheese.
On the other hand, lots of BM or melodic Black/Death bands give me an epic feeling. I mean, I believe people confuse epicness with happiness and cheese. What I think is music can be dark and very epic at the same time.
Fat & Sassy! - 09.05.2010 at 21:16  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 09.05.2010 at 21:11

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 09.05.2010 at 21:00

Although, folk/black metal can be more dark and epic


Glad to know I'm not the only person on earth who thinks Black Metal can be more epic than Powermetal.
People constantly refer to PM as epic while, honestly, I barely see any epicness in this genre, only cheese.
On the other hand, lots of BM or melodic Black/Death bands give me an epic feeling. I mean, I believe people confuse epicness with happiness and cheese.


Yeah, I think BM, folk, and cross genre bands kinda have this more down-to-earth epicness to them (in lyrical content and mood/feeling of the music). It's a bit more realistic, I guess you could say. Although, some power metal does get it right, it's just REALLY over-the-top and like you said, cheesy.
Lord_Regnier - 09.05.2010 at 21:23  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 09.05.2010 at 21:16

Yeah, I think BM, folk, and cross genre bands kinda have this more down-to-earth epicness to them (in lyrical content and mood/feeling of the music). It's a bit more realistic, I guess you could say. Although, some power metal does get it right, it's just REALLY over-the-top and like you said, cheesy.


I think I know where you're coming from. To find music epic, I need to be able to take it seriously, at least to a certain extent. Which is something I can't do with PM because it's in general too cheesy and ridiculous.
Like you're saying, it's not down-to-earth. It's over-the-top to a laughable degree.
Fat & Sassy! - 09.05.2010 at 21:28  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 09.05.2010 at 21:23

Like you're saying, it's not down-to-earth. It's over-the-top to a laughable degree.


Yes. Yes it is. But honestly, that is what I like about it... If you couldn't tell by my previous comments. It's fun music, ESPECIALLY if you have friends you can joke around with when listening to it. XD I mean, I don't know anyone who really takes this stuff too seriously, and I don't think I want to.
Lord_Regnier - 09.05.2010 at 21:35  
It was an interesting discussion but better end it now. We're talking about genres in general, and not about Rhapsody or the new album. And it's pretty much off-topic.
Redwolf - 10.05.2010 at 14:47  
I consider myself somewhat of a cheese gourmand, however, I like my Power Metal without it
Enemy of Reality - 11.05.2010 at 15:33  
"The grand and epic "On The Way To Ainor" also deserves one last honourable mention, at the end of this wonderful album. The Frozen Tears Of Angels is perhaps the band's best album since Power Of The Dragonflame."

Exactly my opinion! Great song, great album!

Welcome back Rhapsody!
BudDa - 11.05.2010 at 17:46  
This was my first outing with this band. And I gotta ask Baz. While this album is good and all, I felt Rhapsody of Fire's music overtly relied on the skills of their guitarist Luca Turilli. Is there an album of this band where this isn't so?!
GT - 11.05.2010 at 17:51  
A nice read and I've just listened to Sea Of Fate, which was pretty good. Looking forward to listen to the whole album
Baz Anderson - 11.05.2010 at 20:38  
Written by BudDa on 11.05.2010 at 17:46

This was my first outing with this band. And I gotta ask Baz. While this album is good and all, I felt Rhapsody of Fire's music overtly relied on the skills of their guitarist Luca Turilli. Is there an album of this band where this isn't so?!

Well I'm not much of a guitar person in general really, so when I listen to Rhapsody I don't pay any special attention to the guitars. The band haven't really changed their style over the years, so however much guitar there is here, there probably is on their others. "Dawn Of Victory" and "Power Of The Dragonflame" are my favourite Rhapsody full-lengths, but the first "Symphony Of Enchanted Lands" is popular too. Just try these and see what you think.
BudDa - 11.05.2010 at 20:42  
Written by Baz Anderson on 11.05.2010 at 20:38

Written by BudDa on 11.05.2010 at 17:46

This was my first outing with this band. And I gotta ask Baz. While this album is good and all, I felt Rhapsody of Fire's music overtly relied on the skills of their guitarist Luca Turilli. Is there an album of this band where this isn't so?!

Well I'm not much of a guitar person in general really, so when I listen to Rhapsody I don't pay any special attention to the guitars. The band haven't really changed their style over the years, so however much guitar there is here, there probably is on their others. "Dawn Of Victory" and "Power Of The Dragonflame" are my favourite Rhapsody full-lengths, but the first "Symphony Of Enchanted Lands" is popular too. Just try these and see what you think.


Will do. Thanx
opeth771 - 14.05.2010 at 03:57  
I was disappointed with Rhapsody's latest releases as my favorite album is Power of the Dragonflame. Triumph or Agony was boring and did not give me the epic feeling the older albums gave me and simply put me away from Rhapsody for a while.

But the new album surprised me, in a good way! The album is refreshing and it is good to hear Luca's guitar again as it should. The songs, are fast, powerful, epic and hell, you can even hear Fabio scream in a song. I think they mixed alot of stuff in this album, I really like it so far.

Of course the lyrics are cheesy, they are supposed to be... Rhapsody is a band axed on medieval, dragon age and everything that comes with it, even though it is "cheesy" for some, I LOVE it!

My favorite track is "On The Way To Ainor" which really reminds me of the old Rhapsody, with the sick orchestrations and chorus as well as powerful vocals which gives the song an epic feeling.

9/10 for me, well done guys!
Fat & Sassy! - 14.05.2010 at 15:45  
Written by opeth771 on 14.05.2010 at 03:57

Rhapsody is a band axed on medieval, dragon age and everything that comes with it...


Pun intended? >:[
Lord_Regnier - 15.05.2010 at 05:24  
Here's an interview with Luca Turilli. Read the reply to the fourth question if you wish to know what he has to say about cheesiness.

http://www.rhapsodyoffire.com/news/44-exclusive-short-interview-with-luca-turilli.html
Fat & Sassy! - 15.05.2010 at 08:30  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 15.05.2010 at 05:24

Here's an interview with Luca Turilli. Read the reply to the fourth question if you wish to know what he has to say about cheesiness.

http://www.rhapsodyoffire.com/news/44-exclusive-short-interview-with-luca-turilli.html


I've always known that he takes their lyrics very seriously... which doesn't stop it from being kinda "cheesy". Not cheesy in the sense of the official definition (cheap, insincere), but in a campy fashion. We don't describe music as campy, so I think cheesy is an appropriate term to use to describe their music AND lyrics. ......... Even though Luca would probably drive his holy Emerald Sword through my stomach for saying so. XD
BitterCOld - 15.05.2010 at 09:20  
Mebbe he's just starting from a cinematic standpoint as opposed to a literary one, but as far as his description of the depth of their "Sagas", well, Robert Jordan (Wheel of Time) expended more effort, time, creativity, and depth in describing a shirt than was spent on the base mythos of the albums i have heard. it's cheese. no need for a multi paragraph answer.
Lord_Regnier - 15.05.2010 at 14:51  
Their lyrics, imagery, sagas, etc...Everything related to this band in fact, is pure cheese and an accumulation of stereotypes and cliché fantasy only a 10 year old kid would take seriously.

As for explaining all this, he never did, as far as I know.

And all this talk about ancient geometry, the cosmos, parallel dimensions, etc is a big pile of bull.
opeth771 - 16.05.2010 at 19:44  
If you don't like it Lord_Regnier, why do you come here to bash on the band and their work? 10 years old don't know jack sh*t about medieval and fantasy.

If you think their lyrics and everything they do is cheese, I would really like you to try and do better hahaha! Considering Rhapsody's popularity over the world, they must be doing something that people like so much.
Lord_Regnier - 16.05.2010 at 21:22  
Written by opeth771 on 16.05.2010 at 19:44

Considering Rhapsody's popularity over the world, they must be doing something that people like so much.


Yeah, sure. Britney Spears is famous worldwide and sold millions of albums. It's surely because she's very good and extremely talented.

If I commented about it, well...Let's say I had my own reasons. And it's not your business.
Nyoink - 19.05.2010 at 14:57  
Heh, in my opinion that album is easily the best work they did since Power of the dragonflame. The sound is more crystalized, the narration isn't long and tiring and there is SPEED in the songs. The production is flawless, of course. Awesome album
Andreas - 06.07.2010 at 18:04  
What can I say about this album... well, I like it very much. At the other hand, it doesn't feel very "Rhapsody", if you know what I mean. Even with TOA I had the idea I was listening to a Rhapsody record, but with this one... really weird.
Daggon - 31.07.2010 at 07:55  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 15.05.2010 at 08:30

Even though Luca would probably drive his holy Emerald Sword through my stomach for saying so. XD


It would be kinda cool to see that
Beware...
the stranger - 01.08.2010 at 07:15  
This album is fucking epic and kicks a lot of ass! Rhapsody is back. I have been waiting for a long time for them to do something as good as this album.
DeathnixDarkloid - 03.08.2010 at 17:29  
This is truly the best Rhapsody Of Fire´s album since Power of the Dragonflame
Reign of Terror rocks!! The best of this album
4look4rd - 17.12.2010 at 17:01  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 09.05.2010 at 21:16

Yeah, I think BM, folk, and cross genre bands kinda have this more down-to-earth epicness to them (in lyrical content and mood/feeling of the music). It's a bit more realistic, I guess you could say. Although, some power metal does get it right, it's just REALLY over-the-top and like you said, cheesy.


Personally, I listen to Power Metal because of musicianship and the over all happy feeling that the music transmits. I would shoot myself if I had to listen to it for over two/three hours, but it is still something that I really enjoy.

As for the cheese, yuuuummm, cheese is pretty good every now and then (black metal can be just as cheesy, if not worse than power metal). Its like watching a comedy movie or an over the top horror movie (like saw). You don't watch the movie for the realism but for the entertainment.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Rhapsody Of Fire - The Frozen Tears Of Angels 11.5 05.06.2011 by munson
Albums Rhapsody Of Fire - The Frozen Tears Of Angels 10.5 06.02.2010 by bloodlake_master
Reviews Rhapsody Of Fire - The Cold Embrace Of Fear - A Dark Romantic Symphony 10.5 28.09.2010 by csiga
Reviews Rhapsody Of Fire - From Chaos To Eternity 9 12.06.2011 by The Shape 1973
News Rhapsody Of Fire - The Frozen Tour Of Angels - First Dates 9 14.08.2010 by Daggon



Hits total: 8944 | This month: 42