Rhapsody Of Fire - The Frozen Tears Of Angels review



Reviewer:
8.5

423 users:
8.09
Band: Rhapsody Of Fire
Album: The Frozen Tears Of Angels
Release date: April 2010


01. Dark Frozen World
02. Sea Of Fate
03. Crystal Moonlight
04. Reign Of Terror
05. Danza Di Fuoco E Ghiaccio
06. Raging Starfire
07. Lost In Cold Dreams
08. On The Way To Ainor
09. The Frozen Tears Of Angels
10. Labyrinth Of Madness [bonus]
11. Sea Of Fate [orchestral version] [bonus]
12. Immortal New Reign [Japanese bonus]


The mighty Rhapsody are back with a new label after years of legal battles. The question is; have the past years exhausted the band, or is The Frozen Tears Of Angels the masterpiece they claim it is?

There's no doubt that The Frozen Tears Of Angels is a Rhapsody album; flamboyant, colourful, cheesy and theatrical, the kings are back. This isn't the absolute masterpiece you might have been waiting for however, but neither is it a disappointment. Opening "Sea Of Fate" might show us that Luca Turilli's fingers haven't ceased up, and the silky smooth "Crystal Moonlight" might be mildly catchy, but these songs fall short of the wild energy and pomposity you might have experienced on the Dawn Of Victory or Power Of The Dragonflame albums for example.

Fear not mighty warriors; The Frozen Tears Of Angels has life in it yet. The following trio of songs act as backbone for the album and are pure vintage Rhapsody gems. "Reign Of Terror" frightfully opens with a scream and blasting drums, and leads into arguably the fruitiest, most dynamic piece of symphonic power metal this side of Power Of The Dragonflame. "Danza Di Fuoco E Ghiaccio" provides the mandatory folk number, and "Raging Starfire" is another top power metal classic that we'd have expected from Rhapsody in their prime years ago.

The grand and epic "On The Way To Ainor" also deserves one last honourable mention, at the end of this wonderful album. The Frozen Tears Of Angels is perhaps the band's best album since Power Of The Dragonflame. It is a good length and doesn't get bogged down with narrated interludes and other time-wasting tracks we saw with Symphony Of Enchanted Lands II, this album goes straight to the point and delivers it. With that said, The Frozen Tears Of Angels doesn't quite have the consistency or the overall solidarity of their finest days, and with a couple of exceptions aside, the album doesn't quite reach the same highs as some of the band's vast past glories.

The Frozen Tears Of Angels is a fantastic album of bombastic, flamboyant and vibrant symphonic power metal that oozes with over-the-top orchestrations and cheese - enough to satisfy anyone of the power-persuasion. Rhapsody have provided an album worth the wait; it might not be the best album they have put out over the years, but it certainly has its moments. Not perfect, not a masterpiece, but it is still a very welcome return from Rhapsody and a very fitting addition to their ranks.


Symphonic Power metal
Nuclear Blast
Italy
Length: 53:48


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 10


 



Written on 08.05.2010 by Member of Staff since 2006.

Guest review by
Parasomnia
Rating:
9.3
Rhapsody Of Fire is a name synonymous with power metal. Anyone who has ever delved even the smallest bit into this genre undoubtedly has heard of this band. This fact is with good reason: Rhapsody Of Fire is a freaking powerhouse of talent and epic ability. Unlike their last couple albums, The Frozen Tears of Angels satisfies every bit of the unicorn riding, dragon slaying fantasies of Rhapsody Of Fire nerds, while maintaining super solid, well written metal songs.

Read more ››
published 05.06.2011 | Comments (9)


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 45   Visited by: 510 users
11.05.2010 - 20:42
BudDa
Written by Baz Anderson on 11.05.2010 at 20:38

Written by BudDa on 11.05.2010 at 17:46

This was my first outing with this band. And I gotta ask Baz. While this album is good and all, I felt Rhapsody of Fire's music overtly relied on the skills of their guitarist Luca Turilli. Is there an album of this band where this isn't so?!

Well I'm not much of a guitar person in general really, so when I listen to Rhapsody I don't pay any special attention to the guitars. The band haven't really changed their style over the years, so however much guitar there is here, there probably is on their others. "Dawn Of Victory" and "Power Of The Dragonflame" are my favourite Rhapsody full-lengths, but the first "Symphony Of Enchanted Lands" is popular too. Just try these and see what you think.


Will do. Thanx
----
Freeze! Step away from the hubris.
Loading...
14.05.2010 - 03:57
opeth771
I was disappointed with Rhapsody's latest releases as my favorite album is Power of the Dragonflame. Triumph or Agony was boring and did not give me the epic feeling the older albums gave me and simply put me away from Rhapsody for a while.

But the new album surprised me, in a good way! The album is refreshing and it is good to hear Luca's guitar again as it should. The songs, are fast, powerful, epic and hell, you can even hear Fabio scream in a song. I think they mixed alot of stuff in this album, I really like it so far.

Of course the lyrics are cheesy, they are supposed to be... Rhapsody is a band axed on medieval, dragon age and everything that comes with it, even though it is "cheesy" for some, I LOVE it!

My favorite track is "On The Way To Ainor" which really reminds me of the old Rhapsody, with the sick orchestrations and chorus as well as powerful vocals which gives the song an epic feeling.

9/10 for me, well done guys!
Loading...
14.05.2010 - 15:45
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Written by opeth771 on 14.05.2010 at 03:57

Rhapsody is a band axed on medieval, dragon age and everything that comes with it...


Pun intended? >:[
----
"Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST..." ____Frank Zappa
Loading...
15.05.2010 - 05:24
Lord_Regnier
Here's an interview with Luca Turilli. Read the reply to the fourth question if you wish to know what he has to say about cheesiness.

http://www.rhapsodyoffire.com/news/44-exclusive-short-interview-with-luca-turilli.html
----
"Why would we fear death, when life is so much more frightening?"
Loading...
15.05.2010 - 08:30
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Written by Lord_Regnier on 15.05.2010 at 05:24

Here's an interview with Luca Turilli. Read the reply to the fourth question if you wish to know what he has to say about cheesiness.

http://www.rhapsodyoffire.com/news/44-exclusive-short-interview-with-luca-turilli.html


I've always known that he takes their lyrics very seriously... which doesn't stop it from being kinda "cheesy". Not cheesy in the sense of the official definition (cheap, insincere), but in a campy fashion. We don't describe music as campy, so I think cheesy is an appropriate term to use to describe their music AND lyrics. ......... Even though Luca would probably drive his holy Emerald Sword through my stomach for saying so. XD
----
"Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST..." ____Frank Zappa
Loading...
15.05.2010 - 09:20
BitterCOld
Gringo
Mebbe he's just starting from a cinematic standpoint as opposed to a literary one, but as far as his description of the depth of their "Sagas", well, Robert Jordan (Wheel of Time) expended more effort, time, creativity, and depth in describing a shirt than was spent on the base mythos of the albums i have heard. it's cheese. no need for a multi paragraph answer.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
15.05.2010 - 14:51
Lord_Regnier
Their lyrics, imagery, sagas, etc...Everything related to this band in fact, is pure cheese and an accumulation of stereotypes and cliché fantasy only a 10 year old kid would take seriously.

As for explaining all this, he never did, as far as I know.

And all this talk about ancient geometry, the cosmos, parallel dimensions, etc is a big pile of bull.
----
"Why would we fear death, when life is so much more frightening?"
Loading...
16.05.2010 - 19:44
opeth771
If you don't like it Lord_Regnier, why do you come here to bash on the band and their work? 10 years old don't know jack sh*t about medieval and fantasy.

If you think their lyrics and everything they do is cheese, I would really like you to try and do better hahaha! Considering Rhapsody's popularity over the world, they must be doing something that people like so much.
Loading...
16.05.2010 - 21:22
Lord_Regnier
Written by opeth771 on 16.05.2010 at 19:44

Considering Rhapsody's popularity over the world, they must be doing something that people like so much.


Yeah, sure. Britney Spears is famous worldwide and sold millions of albums. It's surely because she's very good and extremely talented.

If I commented about it, well...Let's say I had my own reasons. And it's not your business.
----
"Why would we fear death, when life is so much more frightening?"
Loading...
19.05.2010 - 14:57
Nyoink
Heh, in my opinion that album is easily the best work they did since Power of the dragonflame. The sound is more crystalized, the narration isn't long and tiring and there is SPEED in the songs. The production is flawless, of course. Awesome album
Loading...
06.07.2010 - 18:04
Andreas
What can I say about this album... well, I like it very much. At the other hand, it doesn't feel very "Rhapsody", if you know what I mean. Even with TOA I had the idea I was listening to a Rhapsody record, but with this one... really weird.
Loading...
31.07.2010 - 07:55
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 15.05.2010 at 08:30

Even though Luca would probably drive his holy Emerald Sword through my stomach for saying so. XD


It would be kinda cool to see that
Beware...
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"

Loading...
01.08.2010 - 07:15
the stranger
This album is fucking epic and kicks a lot of ass! Rhapsody is back. I have been waiting for a long time for them to do something as good as this album.
----
http://aljao.blogspot.com/(it's in Spanish)
Loading...
03.08.2010 - 17:29
DeathnixDarkloid
This is truly the best Rhapsody Of Fire´s album since Power of the Dragonflame
Reign of Terror rocks!! The best of this album
Loading...
17.12.2010 - 17:01
4look4rd
The Sasquatch
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 09.05.2010 at 21:16

Yeah, I think BM, folk, and cross genre bands kinda have this more down-to-earth epicness to them (in lyrical content and mood/feeling of the music). It's a bit more realistic, I guess you could say. Although, some power metal does get it right, it's just REALLY over-the-top and like you said, cheesy.


Personally, I listen to Power Metal because of musicianship and the over all happy feeling that the music transmits. I would shoot myself if I had to listen to it for over two/three hours, but it is still something that I really enjoy.

As for the cheese, yuuuummm, cheese is pretty good every now and then (black metal can be just as cheesy, if not worse than power metal). Its like watching a comedy movie or an over the top horror movie (like saw). You don't watch the movie for the realism but for the entertainment.
----
Loading...

Hits total: 9868 | This month: 19