Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.7
Inquisition - Into The Infernal Regions Of The Ancient Cult
1998


01. Unholy Magic Attack
02. Those Of The Night
03. The Initiation
04. Empire Of Luciferian Race
05. Summoned By Ancient Wizards Under A Black Moon
06. Journey To Infernukeorreka
07. Into The Infernal Regions Of The Ancient Cult
08. Mighty Wargod Of The Templars (Hail Baphomet)
09. Solitary Death In Nocturnal Woodlands
10. Hail The Cult
11. Journey To Infernukeorreka [Rehearsal October 1996] [bonus]
12. Unholy Magic Attack [Rehearsal October 1996] [bonus]
13. Hail Baphomet [Unused Intro] [bonus]
14. Hail The Cult [December 1996] [bonus]


I've got a confession to make.

Every once in a while, I get sick of Metal and everything Metal encompasses. The whole shebang. All the endless blathering about Hell and Satan, and the ever-present noise, violence, hate, grief and sorrow in its extreme subgenres. And the music. It's true. I then turn to my Bruce Springsteen records, to Creedence Clearwater Revival, to Dire Straits, to Pink Floyd, to Shakira, Robbie Williams, Lady GaGa and whatever hit is on the radio at the moment. It's true, it's true, it's all undeniably honestly unashamedly true.

What also always happens is that some band gets me back into metal. Sometimes it's an old classic that does the job, but usually it's something new. And guess what? Yeah baby, Inquisition baby.

Into The Infernal Regions Of The Ancient Cult, and Inquisition in general, is one the undergrounds landmarks when it comes to Black metal. It derives much of its fame from the spectacular vocal performance, which is both highly revered and crudely mocked in the scene. Focusing on reception only, Dagon's performance is somewhat comparable to Attila's performance on De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas. Both performances are unique, perhaps one-of-a-kind, and the reason why both albums are pure love-it-or-hate-it albums. In terms of actual sound, Dagon has been described as a croaking frog and quite frankly, it's true. He sounds ridiculous, but somehow, also ridiculously awesome. You can accuse me of slapping the 'evil' tag on anything that's different, but I actually really feel the strange, strange vocals give the music a cool and dark vibe.

But Into The Infernal Regions… is more than just vocals. The level of basic skill displayed here is much higher than in your average tremolo-happy band. It is also a massive riff-fest. In fact, the style displayed is heavily inspired by eighties Thrash, judging from the kickass spews forth. Coupled with slower, darker Black metal riffs and brooding acoustic intermezzo's they make for a very diverse and ever-interesting listen.

In short: Into The Infernal Regions Of The Ancient Cult is everything a Black metal fan could possibly desire. It's dark, it's blasphemous, it's obscure and it delivers some serious kickass riffs.

Satan lives, Satan lives, Satan lives, Satan lives.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 7


Band profile: Inquisition
Album: Into The Infernal Regions Of The Ancient Cult


 



Written on 11.05.2010 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 28  
Users visited: 292  
Search this topic:  


BreadGod - 11.05.2010 at 22:10  
Sometimes, I get tired of metal as well. When that happens, I listen to music like this. (Warning: tastes like diabetes. You may die from cuteness overload.)

Back on topic, I think I have this album on my computer, but I have neglected to listen to them. Perhaps I should give this album a spin sometime soon.
Uirapuru - 11.05.2010 at 23:00  
What's up with the cover art? It's different from the one in the album page.

Yeah.. this album really good, and not the best from Inquisition tbh, there was Magnificent Glorification Of Lucifer in 2004 that blow me away.
Pato the Duck - 11.05.2010 at 23:01  
Yum, Diabetes

I can relate to only being able to take a limited amount of Satan and Darkness. Sometimes just need a good Sugary cuteness induced coma to get ready for more darkness

Although right now I can't seem to stop listening to Kraftwerk, Neu! and other krautrock. Nice change from Metal. Variety is the spice of life.

Great album though nothing quite like some solid well made black metal with no frills.
Visioneerie - 11.05.2010 at 23:59  
"Every once in a while, I get sick of Metal and everything Metal encompasses. The whole shebang. All the endless blathering about Hell and Satan, and the ever-present noise, violence, hate, grief and sorrow in its extreme subgenres. And the music. "

So true, my friend. Although I think I'll always love metal there are times where I simply don't want to listen to any of it. I mean, how much violence, hate, grief and sorrow can a human take haha. It's just natural to want variation honestly...
Right now, UK hip-hop/grime ftw !
Dani5050 - 12.05.2010 at 00:36  
Written by BreadGod on 11.05.2010 at 22:10

Sometimes, I get tired of metal as well. When that happens, I listen to music like this. (Warning: tastes like diabetes. You may die from cuteness overload.)

Back on topic, I think I have this album on my computer, but I have neglected to listen to them. Perhaps I should give this album a spin sometime soon.


Do you know how diabetes taste like???? Because I really doubt it, my daughter was diagnose with diabetes at 16 months old, almost got into a coma, she is now 20 months old, and she is too little to explain how does it taste, for her it is just getting shots 4 times a day and getting her fingers prick 10 times a day. When she gets older, I'm going to ask her how does it taste, but I doubt it taste like sugar.

The Album is great by the way, nice review.
silenius - 12.05.2010 at 00:41  
Great album, great review, and for the''getting tired of metal thingy´´ my go-to-band when that happens is and always will be Keane^^ fucking love them
BreadGod - 12.05.2010 at 01:28  
Written by Dani5050 on 12.05.2010 at 00:36

Written by BreadGod on 11.05.2010 at 22:10

Sometimes, I get tired of metal as well. When that happens, I listen to music like this. (Warning: tastes like diabetes. You may die from cuteness overload.)

Back on topic, I think I have this album on my computer, but I have neglected to listen to them. Perhaps I should give this album a spin sometime soon.


Do you know how diabetes taste like???? Because I really doubt it, my daughter was diagnose with diabetes at 16 months old, almost got into a coma, she is now 20 months old, and she is too little to explain how does it taste, for her it is just getting shots 4 times a day and getting her fingers prick 10 times a day. When she gets older, I'm going to ask her how does it taste, but I doubt it taste like sugar.

Dude, it was a joke. Calm down.
Dani5050 - 12.05.2010 at 02:01  
Written by BreadGod on 12.05.2010 at 01:28

Written by Dani5050 on 12.05.2010 at 00:36

Written by BreadGod on 11.05.2010 at 22:10

Sometimes, I get tired of metal as well. When that happens, I listen to music like this. (Warning: tastes like diabetes. You may die from cuteness overload.)

Back on topic, I think I have this album on my computer, but I have neglected to listen to them. Perhaps I should give this album a spin sometime soon.


Do you know how diabetes taste like???? Because I really doubt it, my daughter was diagnose with diabetes at 16 months old, almost got into a coma, she is now 20 months old, and she is too little to explain how does it taste, for her it is just getting shots 4 times a day and getting her fingers prick 10 times a day. When she gets older, I'm going to ask her how does it taste, but I doubt it taste like sugar.

Dude, it was a joke. Calm down.


No "Dude" I'm not going to calm down just because you think is fun to joke about other people conditions. You can't even apologize for your STUPID and out of touch comment. Let's just leave it at that.
BreadGod - 12.05.2010 at 02:08  
Written by Dani5050 on 12.05.2010 at 02:01

Written by BreadGod on 12.05.2010 at 01:28

Written by Dani5050 on 12.05.2010 at 00:36

Written by BreadGod on 11.05.2010 at 22:10

Sometimes, I get tired of metal as well. When that happens, I listen to music like this. (Warning: tastes like diabetes. You may die from cuteness overload.)

Back on topic, I think I have this album on my computer, but I have neglected to listen to them. Perhaps I should give this album a spin sometime soon.


Do you know how diabetes taste like???? Because I really doubt it, my daughter was diagnose with diabetes at 16 months old, almost got into a coma, she is now 20 months old, and she is too little to explain how does it taste, for her it is just getting shots 4 times a day and getting her fingers prick 10 times a day. When she gets older, I'm going to ask her how does it taste, but I doubt it taste like sugar.

Dude, it was a joke. Calm down.


No "Dude" I'm not going to calm down just because you think is fun to joke about other people conditions. You can't even apologize for your STUPID and out of touch comment. Let's just leave it at that.

I based it on this.
Troy Killjoy - 12.05.2010 at 02:09  
Jesus. I'm on pace for being diagnosed with diabetes and I thought it was funny. Oh well, touchy subject for some people I guess.

As for the music, I'm at work and therefore have no means of listening to it. Maybe tomorrow morning I'll give it a spin and see what I think. It sounds promising.
Dani5050 - 12.05.2010 at 02:15  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 12.05.2010 at 02:09

Jesus. I'm on pace for being diagnosed with diabetes and I thought it was funny. Oh well, touchy subject for some people I guess.

As for the music, I'm at work and therefore have no means of listening to it. Maybe tomorrow morning I'll give it a spin and see what I think. It sounds promising.


Well I hope you get diagnose as soon as posible with TYPE 1 diabetes, not TYPE 2 the one that old and fat people get. But Type 1 the autoimmune disease and I hope you get it treated with insulin because its fatal. So that way you can explain and experience first hand how diabetes taste.
Troy Killjoy - 12.05.2010 at 02:18  
Written by Dani5050 on 12.05.2010 at 02:15

Well I hope you get diagnose as soon as posible with TYPE 1 diabetes, not TYPE 2 the one that old and fat people get. But Type 1 the autoimmune disease and I hope you get it treated with insulin because its fatal. So that way you can explain and experience first hand how diabetes taste.

Chill dude. Talk about the review and stop bitching about diseases.
If you really feel the need to carry on the argument you can message me and I'll respond once I'm home from work. Good night.
Dani5050 - 12.05.2010 at 02:24  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 12.05.2010 at 02:18

Written by Dani5050 on 12.05.2010 at 02:15

Well I hope you get diagnose as soon as posible with TYPE 1 diabetes, not TYPE 2 the one that old and fat people get. But Type 1 the autoimmune disease and I hope you get it treated with insulin because its fatal. So that way you can explain and experience first hand how diabetes taste.

Chill dude. Talk about the review and stop bitching about diseases.
If you really feel the need to carry on the argument you can message me and I'll respond once I'm home from work. Good night.


No kid I'm not going to hijack this review anymore, or bitch about diseases or feelings your feble minds don't understand. Sorry to the reviewer
Metal Maiden - 12.05.2010 at 02:47  
Did you just wish somebody to die? Because forgive me if I don't feel sorry for you if you did...I do feel sorry for your daughter, but not for you...Maybe when she is older, try explaining to her that you love her so much you wished death to other people just so they can feel the same way as she does...I'm sure she'd be proud of her dad...

And yeah, it was an inappropriate joke, but wishing death to other people for hate's sake just doesn't seem like the karmic thing to wish for, at least that's how I see things...And I am just too compassionate not to say I wish you and your daughter all the best, and I hope for things to take a better turn...Not sure you deserve it if you really feel like what you said (I'd like to believe you don't, and you were speaking out of bitterness), but your daughter sure hasn't done anything to deserve her fate...

On topic, I really like the artwork, and I might check the album as well...Though at the moment I too am taking a rest from metal (a short one though) with some divine, relaxing Enya...

P.S. Troy, I hope everything turns out well, man...
Got Mayhem? - 12.05.2010 at 03:01  
I remember listening to this band on Last.fm once, it was some pretty good BM. Didn't bother looking into them any more though... I think I will now.
Dani5050 - 12.05.2010 at 04:43  
Written by Metal Maiden on 12.05.2010 at 02:47

Did you just wish somebody to die? Because forgive me if I don't feel sorry for you if you did...I do feel sorry for your daughter, but not for you...Maybe when she is older, try explaining to her that you love her so much you wished death to other people just so they can feel the same way as she does...I'm sure she'd be proud of her dad...

And yeah, it was an inappropriate joke, but wishing death to other people for hate's sake just doesn't seem like the karmic thing to wish for, at least that's how I see things...And I am just too compassionate not to say I wish you and your daughter all the best, and I hope for things to take a better turn...Not sure you deserve it if you really feel like what you said (I'd like to believe you don't, and you were speaking out of bitterness), but your daughter sure hasn't done anything to deserve her fate...

On topic, I really like the artwork, and I might check the album as well...Though at the moment I too am taking a rest from metal (a short one though) with some divine, relaxing Enya...

P.S. Troy, I hope everything turns out well, man...


Looks like you jump so quickly to defend your friend that you misread what I said, first I said " I hope you get treated with insulin" I didn't said I wish him to die, he was not the one that make the joke, but he was trying to minimized the impact of it playing that he was also sick, if you have nothing good to say, then don't say anything. Second I don't need YOU or anybody to feel sorry for me or my daughter, but thanks for wishing her well. I was not asking for compassion, just respect that was all. I understood what the original poster meant to say, but it was tasteless anyways, but I don't blame him or your friend they just acted out of ignorance on the subject, and it is a touchy subject for me and many parents out there, and Fourth: I'm a 100% sure I will make my daughter proud, I love her very much and will even give my life for her one day she will sure understand.
Daggon - 12.05.2010 at 05:25  
This conversation is off-topic, so, less diabetes, more satan, please.

The album seems promising, also if I'm not mistaken, it has been a long time since you reviewed an album with such rating Lucas, so this should be good stuff for sure.
Dangerboner - 12.05.2010 at 06:08  
Written by BreadGod on 12.05.2010 at 01:28

Written by Dani5050 on 12.05.2010 at 00:36

Written by BreadGod on 11.05.2010 at 22:10

Sometimes, I get tired of metal as well. When that happens, I listen to music like this. (Warning: tastes like diabetes. You may die from cuteness overload.)

Back on topic, I think I have this album on my computer, but I have neglected to listen to them. Perhaps I should give this album a spin sometime soon.


Do you know how diabetes taste like???? Because I really doubt it, my daughter was diagnose with diabetes at 16 months old, almost got into a coma, she is now 20 months old, and she is too little to explain how does it taste, for her it is just getting shots 4 times a day and getting her fingers prick 10 times a day. When she gets older, I'm going to ask her how does it taste, but I doubt it taste like sugar.

Dude, it was a joke. Calm down.

Comas taste like lollipops.

Oh, and this album is awesome. Probably my favorite from them
Pato the Duck - 12.05.2010 at 10:46  
This is black metal...and the internet. I'm pretty sure you need a sense of humor and the belief that everything everyone says is a joke to enjoy it.

Can't we just be friends?

On topic: I like the comparison to Atilla Csihar. Similar vocals and I like the uniquness he brought / brings to Mayhem. A nice break from nothing but mid to high pitch screeches all day long. Its kinda hard to be really different with extreme vocals.

Question though to Lucas...Where is this artwork from? In all other situations I've seen the album I've gotten this http://www.metal-archives.com/images/1/5/2/9/15296.jpg[url]
Lucas - 12.05.2010 at 14:33  
Written by Pato the Duck on 12.05.2010 at 10:46

Question though to Lucas...Where is this artwork from? In all other situations I've seen the album I've gotten this http://www.metal-archives.com/images/1/5/2/9/15296.jpg[url]


its the cover of the re-released version by Moribund Records.
Kwis - 12.05.2010 at 15:39  
Really interested in hearing this. Looking forward to the love-hate vocals. @Lucas Big up to the CCR mention. Def my favourite band outside metal!
Mr. Doctor - 12.05.2010 at 19:18  
Written by Pato the Duck on 12.05.2010 at 10:46

This is black metal...and the internet. I'm pretty sure you need a sense of humor and the belief that everything everyone says is a joke to enjoy it.

Can't we just be friends?


Oh man... Finally someone said this, thank you. People getting offended on the internet, it makes me laugh.
____

Back on topic. The riffs are the shit, really... Really good riffs and drums. The vocals emmm, Not really my cup of tea but The music is way too good so I can accept them. I mean... I do like Silencer after all!
But really guys... This band with better vocals could have been one of the greatest black metal bands ever. But oh well... Like I said, the music itself it's way too good so I can ignore the "tiny" problem.
TheBigRossowski - 12.05.2010 at 20:02  
Written by Kwis on 12.05.2010 at 15:39

Really interested in hearing this. Looking forward to the love-hate vocals. @Lucas Big up to the CCR mention. Def my favourite band outside metal!


I got that strange feeling, you abide, man, ugh...sir.

Great review, once again, Dude! I think you really hit home (to say in the parlance of our times) mentioning your distaste for metal. That applies to most people I think. I don't know anyone who JUST listens to black metal. They just won't be the first to admit it though.

Keep on, keepin' on! I saw Inquisition live at Kings of Black Metal...holy shit dick batman. AND they had no tour musicians either...just the two of them.
Ph0eNiX - 29.05.2010 at 20:45  
Alright, I checked this band out about almost 1.5yrs ago by curiosity and there damned damn damn good! The voice the singer uses is really mezmorizing to take you down into the music. The writing is pretty F-Solid too taking the "agro end" of black metal and putitng a great sound quality to it.! Really really well put together band here... especially for just two guys. It does sound like they have a full black metal band compliment.

Back to the lead singer's voice for a sec... Honestly if there were a form of buddhism that revolved around satan this is what the chanting would sound like. Since we're all very familiar with the 3 day descend into death ritual done by the Zen Buddhist monks (Sarcasm , but it's where the thought came from for me) it's really hard not to think that.
Ag Fox - 31.05.2010 at 13:58  
This album is so awesome. thanks for recommending it
Marcus - 14.10.2010 at 07:48  
I just can't get over the vocals. It's like they made a black metal album with this laid over top: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P-_Sls1LzMI
PrimalAntagonist - 27.01.2011 at 06:49  
Honest and brilliant review by Lucas.....
gryllz_wins - 14.12.2013 at 18:09  
Written by BreadGod on 11.05.2010 at 22:10

Sometimes, I get tired of metal as well. When that happens, I listen to music like this. (Warning: tastes like diabetes. You may die from cuteness overload.)

Back on topic, I think I have this album on my computer, but I have neglected to listen to them. Perhaps I should give this album a spin sometime soon.



Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Inquisition - Into The Infernal Regions Of The Ancient Cult 12 01.03.2010 by Dangerboner
Reviews Inquisition - Ominous Doctrines Of The Perpetual Mystical Macrocosm 7.5 14.11.2010 by Ag Fox
Reviews Mourning Dawn - For The Fallen... 4.5 20.10.2009 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Synaptic Fracture - The Lunatic Transmissions 4.5 04.04.2010 by spirit_inblack
Reviews Dodsferd - Suicide And The Rest Of Your Kind Will Follow 4.5 17.05.2009 by Italics



Hits total: 5559 | This month: 77