Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.5
Svart - Förlorad
20 March 2010


01. Förlorad I (Lost I)
02. Förlorad II (Lost II)
03. Förlorad III (Lost III)


Funeral doom metal
Sweden
Frostscald Records

Line-up on the CD:
Draug - vocals, all instruments


In a surprising turn of events, Draug's expressive outlet, Svart, has morphed from a bland depressive black metal band into a mesmerizing funeral doom monster with the release of Förlorad. In this release you won't find the out-of-place blastbeats, the unfitting production value, nor the individualistic journey approach of Våran Tid Är Förbi that left its listeners in the dark. Instead Draug chose to maintain the burdensome atmosphere and to eliminate the elements that intruded on his aspirations. Yet, while the daunting atmosphere remains, the album presents a more minimalistic approach and builds on the repetition found on Svart's earlier releases, making for a more complete - and consequently enjoyable - listen.

While we're on the subject of change, it should be understood that Förlorad is a more genuine output by the workaholic Swede, and within the bowels of its hypnotic foundation you will discover a slow-paced destruction of self, which gathers much of its flair from the limitation of Draug's vocals. This allows the listener to focus more extensively on the instrumentation, which in my opinion is Draug's defining asset. Förlorad isn't completely devoid of his delightfully deep growls, but they are used in such restricted capacity that the 75 minutes it takes to successfully listen to the album will pass by without any memory of Draug's guttural expression. There are moments where Draug's clean vocals (usually more along the lines of spoken word) come out - a welcome addition by my ears. There is a hidden relaxation in his voice, like he knows something terrible is about to happen but enjoys giving it to us in a riddle that can't be solved.

Svart's presentation on this album is that of pure negativity and droning self-hatred. In addition to its already bleak outlook, Förlorad manages to construct an aura of passionate hopelessness. All that remains at the end is a bitter feeling of isolation and emptiness, one that Draug ensures this time around will be a mutual suffering.


Website: http://www.myspace.com/svartband

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Svart
Album: Förlorad


 



Written on 19.05.2010 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 69  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 20.05.2010 at 16:22  
Mmmm, what I have heard of it (exceprts that is, mind you) I would say it is more black metal than funeral doom.
Troy Killjoy - 20.05.2010 at 16:34  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 20.05.2010 at 16:22

Mmmm, what I have heard of it (exceprts that is, mind you) I would say it is more black metal than funeral doom.

I think it's a mixture of funeral doom and depressive black, but in my opinion (especially on Förlorad III) there are stronger elements of funeral doom like Shape of Despair and Ea.
Marcel Hubregtse - 20.05.2010 at 16:37  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 20.05.2010 at 16:34

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 20.05.2010 at 16:22

Mmmm, what I have heard of it (exceprts that is, mind you) I would say it is more black metal than funeral doom.

I think it's a mixture of funeral doom and depressive black, but in my opinion (especially on Förlorad III) there are stronger elements of funeral doom like Shape of Despair and Ea.


I'll see if I can get hold of it. The excerpts albeit imo more black sound nice.
Mikyz - 20.05.2010 at 18:40  
This album is more Funeral Doom than Black Metal in my opinion, well first because of the clear/not gritty production and second Black Metal fans might find this to be boring. It's very minimalistic and entrancing at the same time. I think that it's more accessible than some other Funeral Doom/Ambient Black and might have a higher play count value.
All in all, the review describes very accurately the content of the album but imo in the end I think that only a small number of atmospheric/ambient BM fans will enjoy this because it lacks rawness, in return funeral doomsters should enjoy it.
Draug - 09.06.2010 at 00:00  
I'm glad you like the new style. I'd appreciate if you posted this review at the Metal Archives page.
Cheers.
Lucas - 10.06.2010 at 13:02  
Written by Draug on 09.06.2010 at 00:00

I'm glad you like the new style. I'd appreciate if you posted this review at the Metal Archives page.
Cheers.


I'll answer for Troy here. Welcome to the website, first of all. And sorry, but this review can't be published on Metal Archives. Metal Storm demands its publications to remain exclusive.
Draug - 10.06.2010 at 18:56  
Written by Lucas on 10.06.2010 at 13:02

Written by Draug on 09.06.2010 at 00:00

I'm glad you like the new style. I'd appreciate if you posted this review at the Metal Archives page.
Cheers.


I'll answer for Troy here. Welcome to the website, first of all. And sorry, but this review can't be published on Metal Archives. Metal Storm demands its publications to remain exclusive.


Yeah, I was informed about it earlier. It's alright to link it from my Myspace or website, right?
Lucas - 10.06.2010 at 18:58  
Written by Draug on 10.06.2010 at 18:56

Written by Lucas on 10.06.2010 at 13:02

Written by Draug on 09.06.2010 at 00:00

I'm glad you like the new style. I'd appreciate if you posted this review at the Metal Archives page.
Cheers.


I'll answer for Troy here. Welcome to the website, first of all. And sorry, but this review can't be published on Metal Archives. Metal Storm demands its publications to remain exclusive.


Yeah, I was informed about it earlier. It's alright to link it from my Myspace or website, right?


Link it, yes, please do actually. As long as you mention the source and possibly, the reviewer & score.
Ag Fox - 22.02.2011 at 17:08  
It's so hypnotic in a positive manner. Especially the last track ^^
Marcus - 23.03.2011 at 05:54  
This album has some killer atmospheres and thankfully manages to stay varied enough to avoid becoming a bore.
Troy Killjoy - 23.03.2011 at 12:37  
Written by Marcus on 23.03.2011 at 05:54

This album has some killer atmospheres and thankfully manages to stay varied enough to avoid becoming a bore.

Glad to hear you agree!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Svart - Våran Tid Är Förbi 7.5 21.04.2010 by Fat & Sassy!
Reviews Svart - Namnlös Och Bortglömd 7.5 31.05.2010 by silenius
Reviews Domgård - I Nifelhels Skygd 4.5 26.08.2010 by JÄY
Reviews Eternal September - Your Computer Lies 4.5 30.06.2010 by Visioneerie
Reviews Gris - Il Était Une Forêt... 4.5 22.05.2010 by Mikyz



Hits total: 3323 | This month: 46